*Oh no,oh no!!!
Edo State Government has reversed the planned competency test for teachers in the state and recalled the 936 teachers whose names were deleted from the payroll over certificate discrepancies and age falsification.
Government also announced the immediate extension of the relativity to teachers in the state public schools.
Making the announcements Thursday, Governor Adams Oshiomhole during a meeting with the Nigeria Union of Teachers [NUT] and the Nigeria Labour Congress [NLC] said “On assumption of office, it was very clear to me and my colleagues that our future is defined by the level of investment in education and the quality of the basic education we provide for our children and that is why we have devoted resources to the rebuilding of our Primary Schools, Junior and Senior Secondary Schools.
“For me, it was clear coming from my own background, I had obligation to restore dignity to the educational sector in the state. Basic education is like the foundation of a house. If the foundation is weak, the building will collapse but if the foundation be strong, it will withstand the test of time. It is easier to re roof than to re build a complete house”
He said the need to ensure the future of the state is not by compromising the future of the Edo child, but the necessity and action to redefine the educational system in the state, He said this was why the state government was committed to carry out competency test.
Oshiomhole however, noted that having discovered that some of our teachers were not qualified or up to date with recent teaching methods, government insisted that competency test must be seen in this light.
“But having listened to all suggestions and consultations with various groups, government has agreed to set aside the competency or assessment test in order to re assure Edo workers that government has no intention to sack anyone”, he stressed.
*This is crazy!
so the incompetent teachers will continue to work?to teach students?..It is better to rebuild than to re-roof..I disagree with you sir!..patching a house only means the roof will come crashing down soon!
what do you think with the governors school of thought?
Na wa oh. Dey have politically put fire in his bumbum..It is well
ReplyDeleteDis is wrong nau.
DeleteOhhh u guys shud all shut up! U r not in Edo state nd u dnt knw wts goin on der. D competency test was of no use in d ist place. Oshiomole has bin dealin wif d innocent teachers since he got into power like he has sumfin against em. Am glad he has come to hs sences!
DeleteAnonymous 2:28pm shut that anus u call a mouth... What has he done but clean up a system? U think the developed countries got where they are by sentiments? Teachers who cannot defend their qualifications.... Change comes with a price and if standard of education has to change for the better then they have to sacrifice for it
DeleteIt's not his fault...else they vote out apc...
ReplyDeleteThe type of politics we do in Nigeria has really blinded us from facts. How can you do this Oga Governor?
ReplyDeleteBLOG ANALYSER: really osho Baba don fall my hand ooh. Kai women like that woman that couldn't read are not supposed to be in service.
ReplyDeleteThis news is incomplete pls! He agreed to train and retrain teachers from time to time not that incompetent teachers will go back to the classroom. Instead of test he opted for Training!
Deletehaven't u heard about what happened in ekiti state. they won't risk losing any more state.
ReplyDeleteHe has made amistake he should have gone ahead with the test.wht he should have done if he wanted to recall the sacked 936 teachers was to educate them and make them do a crash course on teaching does that do well at the end shld be employed back into the system.what he has just done by this action is politics bad decision
ReplyDeleteThis is what Fayemi tried to do, but he was voted out. I shake my head...
ReplyDeleteOluyomi Odukoya
*coughs*
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
Bleh! The real reason is that APC controlled States are afraid that what happened in ekiti might repeat itself.
ReplyDelete2015 thinqs on point and y'all be condeminq pdp... Is apc a different breed?
ReplyDelete2015 is coming so they don't want to lose election. Smh for my country.
ReplyDeleteThis one Oshiomhole is saying is just a coverup and not the issue at hand. The fear of being voted out like his party brother Fayemi is the beginning of wisdom for APC.
ReplyDeleteShut up what do u know? The cry of the teachers has been that they will be out of jobs.... People have been appealing to the governor without thinking of the long te benefit.... If he doesn't listen it's the same idiots that will condemn him for being too draconian
DeleteThe reason why naija can't move forward.... Too much sentiments and political meddling.....anyway na dem poor people Wey dey make noise go still dey suffer..... Thank God I can afford private schools for my kids.....
ReplyDeleteOne word: bullshit!
ReplyDeleteI disgaree with their school of thought.
That's why there are many dullards in edo, my friend serving in benin says she can't wait to complete her service their because the school she is teaching in benin town is nothing to write home about, with over grown kids not less than 20yrs of age numbering above 200 per class in a junior secondary level. The students are so unserious about their education n seeing this, I no longer blame them but the goverment who force half baked teachers upon these little ones.
ReplyDeleteU fully baked human being, wat have u got to show for it? Shut up if uv got nothin to say
DeleteI see that you are so intelligent by your write up..
DeleteHow dare you come to that illogical conclusion??? I am so pissed right now but I won't pass any further comments on this issue because it ain't worth it
I disagree with your biased opinion about Edo people being dull.
I demand a sincere apology on this..
We all complain about our country's situation and here we are casting aspersion on one another in terms of our cultural, social, political and religious differences..
Queen amy I am soo disappointed by this comment. Let's give constructive criticism and what will bring positive results always!!!
#peace Ambassador #sdk blog#proudly Edo
Madam stells with all respect pls hush it. Do you know how many peoples lives depend on that job? If you own a business you'll know somethings should be left alone for a while and instead of sacking them he shld train them.
ReplyDeleteAPC are afraid of losing Edo State. His children are not in those schools. I am ashamed of Adams Oshiomole
ReplyDeleteWith the overwhelming dissent towards the test and the outcome in Ekiti...he like Pilate had to release Barabas and crucify Jesus...the paradox called nigeria
ReplyDeletei dont blame him, that is what people want, that is the major reason APC lost in ekiti, because the ex gov was trying to improve quality of education. nigerians are not ready for progress.
ReplyDeleteOnly sensible comment. Nigerians keep screaming change change but when laws are put in place to do that they start asking why? Nigerians don't deserve change cuz they're not ready
DeletelWKMDOOO!!!! THE FEAR OF EXPERIENCING THE SAME FATE AS FORMER EKITI GOVERNOR IS D BEGINNING OF WISDOM....DUDE HAD TO RESTRATEGIZE. HE KNEW THIS WAS WHAT MADE FORMER EKITI GOVERNOR TO LOSE TO THE INCUBENT ONE.
ReplyDeleteTHIS IS NAIJA OOO....U GATZ TO MAKE PROPER USE OF UR COMMON SENSE IF U WANA SURVIVE. DUDE, E REMAIN RICE WEY U GO SHARE FOR UR PEOPLE O. ALTHO, I'D SUGGEST U SHARE CONDOMS IF U WANT AUTHOMATIC VICTORY CUS EDO NA ANODA SODOM AND GOMORRAH IN D MAKING.
a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
Only God go help naija o....
Politics, he doesn't want to lose the state to PDP. The incompetent teachers know this and are using it against him... by pitching tent with the opposition party. so he had to succumb to the mediocre and let them keep their jobs.... his popularity took an all time nose dive lately. I for one see his intentions are great for the state going forward (in the long run)... but when the multitude want to settle for less with only short term goals... this is what becomes of "good policy". it is a shame.
ReplyDeleteHmm, election is coming..
ReplyDeleteI don't blame Mr Edo Governor. His mate Fayemi lost the election partly for his insistence that teachers should be competent. Nigerian society is dead, take it or leave it! we love half measures here. We prefer thugs who will smoke garri with us in the market and give us bags of rice for our votes. We don't want meritocracy, we celebrate mediocrity. We are Nigerians, we would rather want to 'hammer'(steal) from whomever, than work hard, bit by bit to make it. Until heads roll again, this time not Nigeria/Biafra, but Nigerians against Nigeria(Revolution) we will not arrive to our supposed destination.
ReplyDeleteOSho is sceared of losing his state to PDP.naijia politics, nobody really carry the poor ones for mind after all his children are not there.
ReplyDeleteNonsense.....all na political gimmick so that he can be re-elected.....politicians have no conscience and so do nothing for free...
ReplyDelete#Namaste#
ReplyDeleteThis is babaric,you can imagine a situation whereby a student ask one of the teachers question and he only gawk at the student bcos he dosen't understand wat d student is saying.Mr Oshiomole;I am not buying your idea on this!
All for 2015 election.....must he compromise? Niger politician i salute oo
ReplyDeleteI'm sure people are prressuring him from all angles, that's why he cancelled it but it's so unfortunate that it had to be at the expense of Edo children's future! #One Love#
ReplyDeleteD fear of Fayose, d beginning of second term or end of it! D dilemma in Ekiti shocked even Jagaban and term d freest election in ds part of d world. U shd ask Fayemi how and why he lost dat election. APC, now u know better!!!
ReplyDeleteStella, election dey come ooo.
ReplyDeleteHe has learnt from Fayemi.
See this useless man..... I laff at his folly.... Anyway most people in Edo state believe in been out of the country after all....1usd is equal to 162nn..so dey can afford to have half baked teachers.... I pity the children of our generation
ReplyDeleteOrela as useless as your father..... The same edo people pressuring him to go back on the decision and u come here to talk trash..... Sad it's the same masses they r trying to help complaining
DeleteHehehehehehe......as useless as you think my father is he still gave birth to.someone...who is useful.... But as usefulll as your father is he wasted a sperm procreating a useless you....that's why you are so unknown
DeleteOrela for some reasons i like you.
DeleteYou sound matured and intelligent.
Hmmm...
ReplyDeleteKool blend is bak
ReplyDeleteU do what d people want nd not d rite ting,rili sad d people don't want d rite thing...ekiti d state of d most learned people voted a working governor cos of smtin like dis,d apc has learnt nd it would definitrly affect governance in nigeria. In other news,oau shld pls call off d strike
ReplyDeleteStella, he's just being a politician. Fayose's win has struck fear into APC governors. Unless you massively rig, you cannot win an election in the south without support of civil servants and the politicians know this.
ReplyDeleteThough Oshiomole had good intentions, the 936 sacked teachers only see a governor who has declared war on civil servants and he'll pay dearly during the election.
My guess is the APC chieftain called Oshiomole and be like "...o boy if you wan win, you better drop all those clean Edo State agenda."
You think the people are ready for change? We are, as long the change doesn't affect us.
i dont blame the Governor, second term is around the corner so he'll want to do everything he could to make sure the civil servant likes him. 900+ vote is something to him ooo.
ReplyDeletebut its time we start thinking of building this COUNTRY NO MATTER WHAT IT TAKES.
Oshiomhole dismissed teachers and every Nigerian curse rained on him for sending bread winners home without alternatives. Now he has called them back, he is still not right. WHAT DO NIGERIANS WANT????
ReplyDeleteYou know, one thing about politicians in Nigeria is that they NEVER do any thing in the interest of the common man, it is always about themselves. It is politics as usual.
ReplyDeletethis is bcos of the upcoming 2015 election, all APC governors are eating back their words just cos they want to come back they dont want wat happened in Ekiti happen to them, recently all of them are coming back to the civil servants, but this Adams decision on this is bad lets call a spade a spade.
ReplyDeleteNo unqualified person should be doing such a job.
ReplyDeleteagakata n'ihu, agaba azu. odiegwu. Obodo bu igwe, ndi no na ya buru iron.
ReplyDeleteMedicine after death! If Edo people know what's good for them, they should not be deceived by this move! This is a Greek gift!
ReplyDeleteWhat do we expect him to do. The APC governors are trying to sanitize and rebuild the nation but what do they get,names calling tagging them Boko Haram and anti people. Until we the electorate know what we want then we will continue to be living in backwardness. People should keep voting for tuggs because of there stomach and take back to lack of development we had during the government of PDP especially in the west. GEJ have no plan for this states he is given rogues he only want them to give him the west vote whatever happens later is known of is business.