OMG!
SENATE Leader, Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba, on Wednesday, said Nigeria is at the verge of losing the popular Obudu Resort and eight local government areas in Criss Rivers State to Cameroon, if the ongoing boundary adjustment by the United Nations (UN) sails through.
The senator, in an interview with newsmen in Abuja, said the boundary adjustment between Nigeria and Cameroon, being coordinated by the UN, could amount to a great disadvantage for the country.
The boundary adjustment is being undertaken in respect of the 2002 judgment of the International Court of Justice, which ceded the oil-rich Bakassi Peninsula to the Cameroon.
Senator Ndoma-Egba said already, the people of the state were gripped with tension, following the visit of the UN boundary adjustment team led by Mr Isaac Baya of Zimbabwe.
He said the team was in Nigeria and Cameroon to implement the Green Tree Agreement, based on the ICJ verdict.
“There are some boundary delineation exercise going on as a result of the Green Tree Agreement, which was the consequence of the judgment of the International Court of Justice on what we call Bakassi.
“The agreement necessitated some boundary adjustments and that exercise started somewhere from Lake Chad and it supposed to go right down to the Atlantic Ocean in the South, so the exercise is going on in a place called Danari, in Boki Local Government in my constituency.
“The Anglo/German boundary of 1913 has been there and a particular beacon stone, beacon 113, we heard, cannot be found. The rest has been found and that is the one they are trying to locate. The UN team is insisting on taking a straight line. Now the communities believe that beacon is somewhere furthering in the Cameroon.
“If they do a straight line as they want to do, then we will be losing some communities to Cameroon, including the famous Agbokim Water Falls. I am in touch with the Cross River State government and the community, we are looking at it, so that I will bring a formal motion to the floor, you know I came under Order 42 the last time just to give notice about my intension to bring a motion,” he said.
He said he wanted to make a case for the UN team to just accept the traditional boundaries that the two communities agreed on and “let the sleeping dogs lie.”
“What is even more worrisome is that few days ago, the team was there (Danari) with soldiers and we have been wondering where these soldiers come from, without informing the local and state governments,” he said.
The Senate Leader also ruled out the possibility of Nigeria returning to a unicameral legislature, adding that a multi-ethnic and multicultural country like Nigeria could only practice bicameral legislative system.culled
Dat will be rily bad if we loose obudu cattle ranch. May God help us.
ReplyDeleteIt will not be really bad in any way, Nigeria is a country that don't appreciate what God has blessed them with, the reason why Nigerians want that bakassi region is because of its oil potentials, all the resources we have in Nigeria, how have we utilised it well? how has it benefited the Nigerian population? The discovery of oil in Nigeria has been more of a curse than a blessing, it has not benefited the masses in anyway, but has succeeded in making a microscopic few millionaires and billionaires, and has made our leaders corrupt, and politicians selfish, greedy and tyrants, We can't even manage what we have and we are looking for more. Please let it go, the land mass in that area belong to Cameroon, Nigerian is not into tourism, and besides we have other tourist attraction site, let's us concentrate on strengthening our security, let us concentrate on building better infrastructure on the lands we have, let's us try to concentrate on making our health sector, educational sector, electricity sector and other meaningful sectors Better, and stop fighting for land when we already have enough, the girls kidnapped has not been rescued for more than one month now, and nobody even knows their fate, if they are dead or still alive, if they are even pregnant from series of sexual abuse by boko haram, if they are even healthy, and more girls are kidnapped everyday, polytechnic and colleges of education has been on strike for the past 8 month, and the government is not doing anything about it, and here we are fighting for more land, when we have not managed or utilised the vast expanses of Virgin land we have in other parts of the country. Not only is that land be ceded to Cameroon, Nigeria should split, Nigeria should be divided into 2,3,4 or more. God bless me and heal Nigeria
DeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
It is only nigeria under obasanjo that upheld the rulling of a quack court like the international court of justice. Obasanjo cowardly ceded our oil rich land of bakassi and our brothers living in calabar , to cameroun even when its glaring the land belonged to nigeria. He wanted to be called africa's statesman and now after giving them bakassi, they have crossed over to calabar to want to claim obudu. During abacha's tenure, camaroun tried laying claims to bakassi, abacha sent troups there and chased them back to their 'holes' country. When they went to icj, abacha ignored them and nothing happened. America,uk,france and some other western countries do not ever go to icj nor accept their verdicts, why then is our own different?? Why must nigeria accept their rulling by cowardly giving away our pple and their lands?? I also learnt obasanjo didn't appeal the rulling after judgement was given, is there something he isn't telling us?? A true nigerian son will never giving out his father's lands nor give out his pple so cheaply.
Deletethis is nt goodnews @ al o! If we lose obudu cattle ranch 2 cameroon,wil dey pay us d "monies" dat we have invested in d place? Dnt d pple in dat region have a say in al of dis? Wat if dey do nt want 2 go 2 cameroon? Hmmmm.....too many questions on my mind mhen!
ReplyDeletePls sum1 shld kindly xpantia8
Blue Ivy
Oh wow!.......Shak!
ReplyDeleteAh...they shd fight for dis one o n not let go like bakassi penisular dat obj let go
ReplyDeleteThis is indeed crazy. Its still part of the Bakassi deal gone wrong. It should not have happened in the first place if not the actions of Gowon against Biafra in those years of the war. Gowon asked the Cameroonians to block all forms of food aid to Biafra from their country in exchange of bakassi and today Nigeria is feeling the pains. OBJ should not have allowed the ceding of bakassi to take place in the first place. Now they want more...sighs
ReplyDelete#God answers all prayers#
Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
Every moment - Thank God.
This cameroon people are so annoying. #donotstealourobuducattlerange.
ReplyDeleteLet nigerian government do something about it. Besides I smell something fishy. Y r they favouring this small cameroo?
Haha we are small but we don't abduct our girls and burn down institutions and state properties.
Delete*We are small but we don't have a president who is unable to sacrifice his personal greed and ego just to pursue an Emir who blew a whistle on him.
* We are small but we have a president who is very diplomatic, level headed and unmediatised, who has succeeded to consolidate national peace,unity and security for 32 years uninterrupted even once.
* We are small but we don't have an international bad reputation and international suicide bomber.
* We are small but no matter what our father; President Paul Biya does, we don't abbreviate his name, we don't come on the media and call him names such as petty, woman wrapper, Jonathrash, Badluck and all the like. We don't shit-talk him.
* We are small but although our first lady is not perfect, we don't reiterate her mistakes such as "diaris God ooo", we protect our own, we don't wash our dirty linens in public.
* We are small but we don't disregard, disrespect and render our spiritual leaders homeless.
* We are small but we have signed more bilateral agreements with more countries than Nigeria.
I wished you Nigerians could learn from us little countries; Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Chad and Gabon.
Even though you insult us, I shall wish NIGERIA A QUICK RECOVERY because I am proudly Cameroonian, we love, we kiss, we forgive and we let go!
Omo see washing' of nigerian/nigerians o!Mr Tabi e be like say na only u waka come from Cameroun abi?dia is God o,so take ya time!
DeleteWaoooo ,Tabe u must be really feeling like a deep political analyst spewing all this false comparison btw Nigeria and Camaroon knowing fully well its not comparable at all in any way.lol.But if this false comparison that holds no water makes you sleep well at night all I can say is enjoy your dream please cause its a deep illussion.Do not $ake me remember all those hungry gals I see in most salons in calabar mbok.If ur camaroon is so perfect ehy do they keep crossing the border and coming to calabar to bother us with their headache inducing english?The number of frustrated camaronians u see in the most remote part of Paris where we buy african foodstuffs is appalling,they pick pockets and r a huge nuisance in paris.Abegi when u come on a blog like this be waened that not everyone is ignorant ok!!! P.S I have never visited camaroon and don't intend to cause the few people I know in Lagos haven't motivated enough to go there cause I fear it will be too populated with ladies with no morals errrr I could be wrong Take care
Delete@ Tabe, Pls are you studying Nigeria as a course in Uni? You sure know a whole lot about Nigeria. I am sure a whole lot of Nigerians don't have time to follow what's happening in your country. Smh.
DeleteAnd you believe that this Tabe is Cameronian right? Of course NOT
DeleteThis one na Gobe.
ReplyDeleteOriginal Gobe...
DeleteI know i sound foolish but wetin concern me? @least there will be less money in circulation for our randy politicians if obudu is cut off. Its existence adds nothing to my life so loosing it will remove nothing.
ReplyDeleteBtw i m d first to comment right?
Haney
Please don't let ignorance get the better of you. Tourism might not bring in as much as oil to the economy, but it's part of what makes our economy diversified. Like it or not your life revolves around the economy. So obudu going to Cameroon should disturb you.
DeleteThis is nonsense! They should just take the entire country.
ReplyDeletethat is bad.but i dnt trust nigeria govt,they might hv sold the place to cameroon who knows,just the way they did to bakassi peninsula,i pray thats nt the case
ReplyDeleteOh no! Dis is so not qood! Dis ppl sure kn wen to hit us hard!
ReplyDelete#aqqressiveprayerforniqeriaisneededurqently!
Ds is ridiculous, so d bakassi peninsula we Let go is not enuf okwaya? FG had better not let ds happen
ReplyDeleteNot when we are still hurting over the loss of bakassi .. This shld not happen oo
ReplyDeleteSo cos they asked for bakassi and we gave them without resistance,they want more abi?#oliver twist tins ko?
ReplyDeleteThey shouldn't try dat shit o!make d missing beacon be forever missing and let sleeping dogs lie,are the going to pay us all we have put in to make all dose places world class tourist locations or wat?so they like better thing,they should come and collect Sambisa forest free of charge!#namsense
When we need our FG n leaders to fyt 4 us they won't. If na to fight for political gains, Pdp n Apc wars na there u will see there wisdom. They beta dnt let that go. Afterall many western countries r still fytin 4 there boundries n land interests. China japan argentina etc. Coming to think of it y is senator Ndoma already declaring cold feet and defeat already? Dis guys r just foolish n unpatriotic. I dnt blame dem de sqaunder wots meant 4 d masses so no tym 4 bakassi headache.
ReplyDeleteWhen a country who already has a huge crisis like terrorism in its hands snowballing outta control starts having biundary crisis so huge like taking away a chunk of its landmass that add value economically to the country(tourism) ,then the citizens should worry.I don't want the grapevine info I have been getting that war might be imminent in this country to come to pass.Its time for the government to act fast,how dare they come into our country with soldiers in d name of searching for a beacon without duely informing d local authorities?? Can they try that in America?I think they r on a mission to gather intelligence too the ministry of defence should ask for serious explanation and send a strong warning to d so called boundary commission its totally unacceptable.They should do their measurements and use our security men.Period! #SayNoToLosingObuduRanchResort
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
This doesnt sound gud one bit and jonah should do something and very fast b4 is too late abeg....
Obasanjo allowed the initial succession because he was hoping to become a big wig in UN I guess ...so taking the verdict then was the easy way out. I have seen how people have lost their homes believe me some people are refugees in their own towns. Cameronians are so arrogant about it all. To cut the long story short the bottom line is this btwn Donald, Obasanjo and liyel they could have appealed the supposed judgement they had 10yrs.the appeal is already status barred as at last year. So now the plans of doing boundary adjustment was obvious from the onset but they Still ignored it. They have plans but whatever it is I suggest they save the land and stop acting like they are invincible.shameless govt ordinary cameroun is chancing Nigeria later they will say giant of Africa, mouse ni..FLAMEs
ReplyDeleteSeriously I don't care and am fed up.
ReplyDeleteYou worry about your personal issues and worry about the country all the time? Haba!
There is no time I pray that I don't pray for the country and I mean serious prayers.
Selfish corrupts leaders that need to die or retire from politics before this country can breathe.
Mstchew
Haba! Not again! Nigeria must not allow that to happen!
ReplyDeleteTabe Yaounde yes you people are small. It's our land, our oil, our everything. Is it because we are a friendly people, is that why your country is taking us for granted???
ReplyDeleteWhy is your country still trying to steal some more lands from us? Why? Is it because the ICJ gave u guys Bakassi?
This is disgusting, annoying, disheartening. Do you know how many Nigerian citizens live as refugees right in their fatherland because of that verdict?
Please enough is enough. Even if Nigeria has a billion oil wells scattered all over the country, it's a gift from God and not man. And no country deserves to steal it away from us.