Political activities ahead of next year’s governorship race in Abia State are becoming pulsating with indications that former Chief of Army Staff, Lieutenant-General Azubuike Ihejirika (retd) has joined the fray.
Daily Sun gathered that the ambition of the retired army boss was made known in faraway Maryland, USA on June 1 at the residence of Dr. Okey Nwadiuko, a native of Isikwuato.
A source said that at the meeting in Maryland, Ihejirika told the gathering of Isikwuato people and their in-laws that he would contest the 2015 governorship election in Abia State.
At the meeting, it was gathered, an Ngwa man married to an Isikwuato woman asked about the Abia Charter of Equity, which reportedly zoned the governorship in the state outside Isikwuato, but the former army boss just waved it aside.
Ihejirika, Daily Sun learnt authoritatively, had the support of Abia State governor, T. A. Orji’s son, Chinedu and the state’s First lady, Mrs Mercy Orji.
A source said the duo had agreed to bankroll the project to ensure that Ihejirika’s ambition sailed through.
The former army chief is already making efforts to build bridges of friendship among stakeholders in the state.
Governor Orji is from Abia Central, while his predecessor, Dr. Orji Kalu, is from Abia North Senatorial zone.
Ihejirika is the immediate-past Chief of Army Staff. He was recently hosted to a civic reception in Isikwuato, after his retirement, during which some people openly urged him to join the contest for the state’s number one position.
*Hmmmmm.....I hope he wins if he joins,i can attest that i know him personally and he is a GOOD MAN,a man of his words....what more does one need to become governor?
All this their political thingz seff, me don tire! Na walka I dey walka pass!
ReplyDeletePepper ose oku!
So much for security vote!
DeleteNo be only u tire, we Abians done tire sef. I done carry my bumper go panel beater tire(bad roads), sotey i come learn to d work by myself to save cost. He should better work better dan the 1 we av now.
Delete9ja no dey win by how GOOD u are oh! If na lie make him ask Dora
ReplyDeleteStella he r u different from a thief and sychophant yourself?There u go supporting Ihijerika,a man who has stolen all d defence money and repeatedly raped d Nigerian army jus like d service chfs B4 himand yet u speak so highly of him?Shame on u Stella.Big shame.
DeleteWell Stella,hes truely a gud and straightforward man and he also served the country to the best of his ability as a chief of army staff,but in nigeria it's like wen pple join politics they become evil men,is there an evil pact they sign to dat or wat?keeps me wondering.
ReplyDeleteWish him luck sha.
Smh, this are greedy people, greedy politicians, his ambition is selfish motivated I know that
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
all this military men should go and rest .
ReplyDeleteyou know him personally fa? you don date am before? na ask i dey ask.
ReplyDeleteSend ur CV I'll get an answer soon
DeleteStella, i am hearing kefee is dead, please confirm this news
ReplyDeleteStella Dimoko Korkus,take heart abeg. All our prayers for kefee should be that her soul finds peace with GOD. Stella please don't cry,my condolences to kefee family. (Renegade)
ReplyDeleteOMG! Am shocked! Kefee rest on! May God console her loved ones.
DeleteIs it our same Dr. Okey?
ReplyDeleteHe said he was going to US and he is from Abia
a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
Am wishing him gudluck but thank God nobi my state he go govern shah....
SDK, i know i'm going to get a lot of backlash from my comment but so be it. I'll be called names but it doesn't really matter. For a man who in less than three years as Nigeria's chief of army staff came out as the richest chief of army staff in the world according to reports, he can contest for the president of Nigeria. He stole enough and his people are daily celebrating him. That's the hallmark of poverty and an impoverished people. This is a man who took advantage of the money government pumped into the army to fight Boko Haram and made billions. You needed to see the level of mindless wastage and crass display of ill-gotten wealth when this same man buried one of his parents. Now Boko Haram is still raging, the army rank and file is daily crying of hunger and neglect, their for Oga at the top wants to lead a state. Nija, i hail thee. Tualle.
ReplyDeleteHarry.
In Jesus name you will not succeed after stealing our money , you want to use it to join politics devil punish your life and that your wife . Useless man may you be court marshaled .
ReplyDeleteHehehe...pipi lee ( we know y i'm calling u) mimi
ReplyDeletePipi's fada
DeleteOnce he join's politics he will become EVIL like the rest of them.
ReplyDeleteBig uncle go! U rock!!!
ReplyDeleteE don belle full nau! "goodman" huh? Ok oh!
ReplyDeleteSo this is the man T A wants to give the leadership to, abi? Well, so sad to know that, Ihejirika, u will faill cos the ukwa/ngwa wont let it happen. We want someone who will make Aba better not someone who doesnt even know of aba or the plight and the messy condition that TA left it.
ReplyDeleteYou are very silly! TA Orji did well in Aba Ngwa at least he stopped your barbaric Ngwa people from killing and
DeleteWho are the Ukwa Ngwa? Ngwa can not lead Abia state until they stop their fake life, rubbery and kidnapping. My husband has two four decking in Aba and i know wht he pass tru. I rest my case
ReplyDeleteWhat happens to my Boss Dr Alex? Ok oh. Waiting
ReplyDeleteihejirika should go and rest after saving the army for longtime. he emulate the likes of retired air chief marshall paul dike. any way the iboman is always after money and power. they will just eat his stolen money and throw him out. he should take a look at former cbn governor Charles soludo and now late dr dora akunyili.
ReplyDeleteGosh!
ReplyDeleteWho are all these bitter people?
Ukwa/Ngwa indegenes I guess, cos no Son/daughter of Abia won't support this positive movement.
This is d best thing that is about to happen to this state, I stand solidly by my word.
Meanwhile Ndi Ovom ndewo nu oooo
Dr okey I dey hail you o
Mimi Wossup
This man stole the defense ministry blind. He failed as an army chief. He will fail yet again. Vote wisely people. Stella pls try to do background check.
ReplyDeleteWow who's this Pipi Lee? I guess you're my sister. I knw okey the last born and twins. I support you, Azubike my uncle is going ohhhhh. Ndi ovum ekelekwara mu unu ooooooo. Unu omere anunu ?
ReplyDeleteStella u sure u know him personally? He must have av cut part of the money he stole for u to praise him this much. A CDS who in his regime terrorism was at its peak but kept building estates all over Abuja? Where did he het the money if not money meant to equip the army? I weep for those supporting this ambition bc he won't do any better and his wife will keep loading make up on her face yet has a stern look. May he not win bc that is Nigeria's money and guys forget this 'he was sacked' story bc GEJ likes him n they want him to go n rest so much blame won't be on his head n d only way to do that before his retirement was to forcefully retire him(sack). He is friend to GEJ n co!
ReplyDeleteIJN he will succeed and thunder fire them haters. What is all these?? According to wat most of you are saying; u don't want Abia state to be ruled properly. GOV TA has given his support and d D-day is coming. All these talk wouldn't change a thing.
ReplyDeleteMy dear brothers and sisters. This man will win. Military or not. Nobody talked about how bad he is when he was living his life. Until now that he wants to become governor. No matter wat u do people will always talk. The Governor of Abia state has indeed made a right choice.
ReplyDeleteIts only in this country that everyone will say am the man of my words and still do the other, if he is sure he will deliver like Ochendo then make God give am the seat :)
ReplyDeleteThis man be like person wey go deliver sha...
ReplyDeleteWhat has the Gov got to do with all these issues, his desire is for the next the governor to come from Ukwa Ngwa, base on zoning
ReplyDeleteThe Sun Newspaper is trying to cause Trouble in Abia by this fake story. Ihejirika is a good man but TA never endorsed anybody. Orji Uzor Kalu and his newspaper should allow Abia peace. The people of Abia will choose who governor will be at the right time
ReplyDeleteIMO, Ihejirika would really do well in Abia. He brought loads of discipline to the Army. He has a mind of his own. I really don't think it's necessary if the incumbent Governor endorses him or not.
ReplyDeleteWhen peoples ask about charter of equity, I laugh. Tell me which governorship election we didn't have an Ngwa contestant. Where was charter of equity then? Ngwa has been unfortunate not to win and that's the truth. Personally, no chart exists. I say may the best man win.
ReplyDeleteAbia governor is busy delivering his democratic mandate across all section of Abia state..His legacies projects and to delivered before the end of his tenure rank the top most for now.Nigeria constitution guarantee its citizens from the age of 35years and above with prerequisite of WASC the power to contest to any position he wish.So it could not be an exaggeration for anybody willing to declare interest.The governor in many occasions made his mind known that he will support whoever emerged as PDP flag bearer.The governor as number one citizen is the father of all and will received and offer advice to anyone weather contesting or not that come to him.
ReplyDeleteLeave Ochendo and his family out of his ambition, if he wants to contest that's up to him.
ReplyDeleteI like Ihejirika as a person but to insinuate anybody in power is backing him isn't true.
ReplyDeleteI dont kw where some of us use to get our news from. But all I know is that the governor has not endorsed anybody for governorship in Abia. Governor T.A is a man of his words
ReplyDeleteBeen Abia born and dully official retired from the military,Ihejirika has the right to vote or to be voted for as a Nigeria citizen.PDP will give all qualified person same enabling ground to contest for the primaries and whosever emerged the flagebearer will compete with others from other party that's the beauty of democracy and the stand of Abia governor including his family members. Sun paper is only created tension to the polity and should be disregarded
DeleteAbia governor is busy delivering his dividends of democracy to all section of the state,that's why we hear OCHENDO legacy.He never endorsed or made anybody promise of succeeding him when there are a greater numbers of person vieying for the same position. He always made his opinion know that he will support any candidate that emerge PDP flagbearer
DeleteOchendo, as Pragmatic as he is, knows the best for the State. But he has not endorsed any body yet.
ReplyDeleteGovernor t a orji has not appointed any candidate for 2015 election
ReplyDeleteWhen peoples ask about charter of equity, I laugh. Tell me which governorship election we didn't have an Ngwa contestant. Where was charter of equity then? Ngwa has been unfortunate not to win and that's the truth. Personally, no chart exists. I say may the best man win.
ReplyDeletehis
ReplyDeleteexcellency, chief sir T A ORJI, OCHENDO is too busy with legacy
projects across the state to be associated with this news, pls whoever
that has interest in governorship race in abia state is free and the
person and his/her supporters should do that without the name of the
state governor and his family . #WELOVEOCHENDO !
his
state governor and his family . #weloveochendo !
his
state governor and his family . #weloveochendo
Dude is 100% Abia, and as such has every right to contest. most of you here running your mouth are the same people who will go with their great grandfathers to go and ask for jobs is he succeeds after contesting. SMH typical Nigerian behavior
ReplyDeleteSo hes a bad man now? he wasn't a bad man when he was in the military?, why is it now that you are all running your mouth?, metechew!!!!, bloody lying COWARDS!!, i hope he wins so all you haters can go eff yourselves.
ReplyDeleteI believe Abia needs a very strong hand, take nothing away from the current administration, they have done their possible best. Anyway i believe Ihejirika would also do a good job, we'd all just have to wait and see.
ReplyDelete@Stephen your comment is the best ever. Uncle Ihejirika go ahead ndi ovum no gi n' azu. U people should pray let him win because I know what he can do. He's a good man ever...
ReplyDeleteOchendo has no hand in this..Ihejrika stop involving Ochendo!..God bless Ochendo....
ReplyDeleteNonsense, some comments here are absurd, you guys free him and his political ambitions please
ReplyDeleteLet the man be, plus i don't see why TA.Orji is being drawn into this issue, if you have the bank teller he used to sponsor IHejirika, please bring it forward.
ReplyDeleteIts sad that they can't leave Orji out of these issues. Goodluck Ihejirika, Abians are proud of you.