Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG Drops N446.3bn Theft Charges Against Mohammed Abacha.

Thursday, June 19, 2014

FG Drops N446.3bn Theft Charges Against Mohammed Abacha.

The Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Mr. Mohammed Adoke yesterday withdrew the N446.3bn theft charges instituted against Mohammed Abacha,son of former Head of State,the late Gen. Sani Abacha.

The Federal Government had preferred the nine counts of stealing against Abacha in February 2014 where the prosecution accused Abacha of unlawfully receiving about N446.3bn allegedly stolen from government’s coffers between 1995 and 1998.

But Adoke, acting for the Federal Government, asked Justice Mamman Kolo of the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory, in Wuse Zone 2, Abuja, to strike out the charges on the grounds of “fresh facts” that just emerged concerning the case.

Efforts to arraign Abacha on two previous occasions were unsuccessful because of his repeated absence from court but he was present in court on Wednesday when the private prosecuting counsel, Mr. Daniel Enwelum, informed the court of Adoke’s instruction to discontinue the case.

Applying to court for the withdrawal of the case, Enwelum said, “I have been instructed by the AGF and Minister of Justice to withdraw the charges as presently filed before this court, because there are fresh facts and documents available to him.
“In this circumstance, he instructed me to file a notice of withdrawal without prejudice to future cause of action to be taken by his (AGF’s) office.
“In the light of that, I have filed a notice of withdrawal dated June 17, 2014. I humbly apply to withdraw the charges accordingly.”

Abacha’s lawyer, Abdullahi Haruna, did not oppose the application for withdrawal.
Justice Kolo subsequently, in a ruling on the application, made an order striking out the charges against the accused person.

In the nine counts, the Federal Government accused Abacha of “dishonestly receiving stolen property” and “voluntarily assisted in concealing money”.
The charge replaced a previous one of 121 counts, in which Mohammed was charged with Atiku Bagudu. The government has now excluded Bagudu from the fresh charge, leaving only Mohammed.

According to the new charge, marked CR.21-24/2008, the stolen money allegedly received by Abacha, which he was accused of concealing included 141,100,000 and $384,353,000 made up of cash and travellers cheques...punch

*Mohammed 'CONGRAT'

42 comments:

1. Yeah, heard that yesterday. Very soon, they will drop ALL charges. Lemekwa anya.

1. Inshort this country issue taya me

2. the happiest girl in the block19 June 2014 at 10:20

Hia!! Anty stella pls do u have time table for ur blog? Y evils.
      2day's posts are all about politics politics. I want 2 laugh oo.

2. Such huge amount for one man alone...Taaaa! Poverty na disease.Return so that you criminals will slip in..May God punish all of una..idiots!

3. 9ija I hail! But a guy who steals an ordinary hegoat will b sentenced 2 prison! Dz country is so messed up! ......Mz BAUER

4. IYALAJE OF SDK BLOG19 June 2014 at 07:22

Hian if I hear...no b naija wey we dey so bet no one will hear bout ths agn sigh... Lolzzzz @Mo "Congrat" SDK no kill us abeg.
    (Your new iyalaje watch ths space! Lol)

5. He will be used to garner votes for GEJ from his axis. In exchange,he will be made the governor,

1. Irene you seem to be the only one who truely understands the plot

6. Big Congrats my Oga

7. i c boko haram muvmts in dis mata! "clear d charges against me n i ll oda boko boys 2 remain in sambisa n also giv u thy girls"
    i jst hp dese fresh facts arent jst a facade n charade

Blue IvY

8. Agbabiakaoooo! What?! Well...*lipssealed*

9. GEJ 2019

HATERS G N D!!!!

going offline,bye eeeeee.......

10. Nigeria, so sad. I don't blame people that are relocating.

11. That's Y i work so smart,so that my family can av immunity in tyms like dis. Funny aw ppl think,we can end corruption in this country. Na to reach there,chop nd waka cummot. I came 4 shame nd nt 4 shame,but all d same,i sign my name(Renegade).

12. it's only God that can punish all this people and this broad daylight thievery.

13. American observer19 June 2014 at 09:23

YOU NIGERIANS ARE BY A MILE THE WEAKEST,MOST SPINELESS AND MOST CORRUPT SET OF RETARDS ON THIS PLANET...YOU KEEP HOLDING THE REST OF US BACK.

14. it's only God that can punish all this broad daylight thieves. both the judge,prosecutor and defendant bunch of thieves.

15. 'Fresh facts' indeed...How then is the country supposed to become better? 'Congrat' oooooo Mtscheeeeeeeeew!

16. Na so. But the lady that stole indomie, milk and milo to feed her hungry child in lagos was remanded in cell.
    And someone thinks I should waste precious time thinking about how to make Nigeria better? Yes thats the right thing to do, but when i hear stories like this, i just give up.
    What sense does it make to go to the stream , fetch water and pour on a rock ...it just won't absorb it.
    Yes that's Naija for you. The rich keep getting richer and the poor keep getting poorer..and dying too.

17. Hmmmm * in patts ogar's voice*

18. Hmm, PDP n their schemes. The party will do anything to win Kano over to its side. I'm sure they will pardon even d Shekau, d boko haram guy if he promises to give all boko haram votes to PDP in all elections. God dey

19. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Nothing in nigeria surprise me anymore...

20. Hmm, Nawa o......

21. Hmmmmm! This is a clear case of political grand strategy of using divide and rule system. I guess Mohammed Abacha is being considered by FG as a tool to get back at some individuals in Kano, hence, mercy shown to him will beget strong mobilization against Kwankwanso, HRH Emir of Kano and host of others by the influential son of the former Military Dictator. I beg Stella, throw me one of those your fancy chairs make i sidon dey look o.

22. I wonder why they dropped the charges against him..#Confused.

23. His father was a thief, son thief so am not surprise at all because they all carrying national curse from the masses.

#Sharon was here.

24. That's why it's good when u are stealing public funds in this country,steal very very well,major lumpsums so u can shut every tongue dat rises against u in judgment'!#no pun intended#
    The monies Abacha stole obviously cannot finish till his 4th generation,his family are still living in opulence and are still untouchable,hence this news isn't strange!their money has worked them out of the hands of the law,and dats what it is.....nigeria!a lost country!smh

25. Ori iyaaaaaami oooo! Olorun ma ku suuru oo. Ko buru. Gbogbo yin ma ba eru yin nibode, ole o ni gbe.

OMO OSHOGBO

26. ohhhhhhh im soooo here! thats how i finally got my google ID. aunty stella love yaaaaaaa

27. All i can say is that deris God oooo using Abacha to checkmate the incumbent in order to dethrone Sanusi and eventually all the blood that will be 'shared' remember that deris God ooooo

1. Lol! That's the game plan.

28. PDP has clearly lost focus. They are do in love with corruption and looting. All in the name of politics, they are so obsessed with 2015. They will soon arrange a merger with BH.

1. Abacha is one many thieves. So why go after just one?