Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Dora Akunyili Survived Two Assassination Attempts,Opposing Politicians,Bad Friends...

Sunday, June 08, 2014

Dora Akunyili Survived Two Assassination Attempts,Opposing Politicians,Bad Friends...

Though Professor Dora Akunyili died in a hospital after months of illness, fate ensured that she survived a number of attacks during her eventful tenure as the Director -General of NAFDAC. She also fought to retain her integrity, ensuring that she didn’t die a moral death.

With over 400 local and international awards in recognition of her work, which earned her global iconic status that even death cannot erode, Akunyili showed that she was prepared to defy merchants of death who hatched plots to end her life violently in order to stop her from winning the battle against counterfeit drugs and sub-standard food products.

In her book The War Against Counterfeit Medicines, My Story, Akunyili reinforced the well known view that she confronted opposition from the beginning of her tenure in NAFDAC, just as she reiterated her commitment to ensuring that very few Nigerians suffered the same fate her sister Vivian did. Ajunyili’s sister who was diabetic died after being injected with fake insulin.

In the preface of the book she wrote: “First former President Olusegun Obasanjo appointed  me to the position (of Director -General) despite stiff opposition from the political class. He believed in my ability to do the job following my performance in my former job at PTF. I am also mindful that many families have lost loved ones because of the effects of  fake drugs, an experience my family shared  with the loss of my favorite sister, Vivian. In addition, I felt that my appointment was an opportunity to give back to the country that had given so much to me.

“My entire education from high school through to university, to doctorate and post doctoral studies in London was possible due to government scholarships. Finally, against the barrage of criticisms I was determined to succeed, to prove my critics wrong and to remain uncompromising in my job”.

Akunyili further revealed in her book that her resolve to remain uncompromising cost her once cherished relationships and it almost cost her life as she chronicled the well planned attacks unleashed on her and staff of NAFDAC. According to her, some of the attackers were  diabolical.
“When all the their efforts at bribery failed, the criminals resorted to intimidation, harassment, blackmail and threats. They deposited fetish objects in our office, which included blood stained feathers, African beads and a tortoise. They also threatened my husband and I on phone. When they still did not succeed, they resorted to physical and arson attacks against our personnel “ she recalled in the book.

The failed assassination attempts     

Beside the diabolical attacks, twice, hired assassins attempted to kill Akunyili but they failed. 

In August 2001 six armed men stormed her home and waited for two hours. Unknown to the assassins, the former NAFDAC Director -General in her characteristic dutiful manner had made an impromptu trip to the Lagos office of the agency, thereby truncating their plan to end her life by the gun.

The second and well reported attempt on her life was made on December 26 2003 when Akunyili accompanied by her children and her brother decided to brave the odds to attend the chieftaincy title ceremony of a member of NAFDA’s governing board  in Orlu, Imo state. Akunyili who had been practically hiding indoors for days in Enugu following the threat of drug counterfeiting criminals to kill her in her hometown visited her mother in-law in Agulu, Anambra state when the assassins struck.

“On our way back to Enugu from Orlu, I decided to stop at Agulu once again to say goodbye to my mother-in-law. A few meters from the village house, my driver overtook the pilot car to prevent the driver from driving past the road to my in-law’s house because he was not informed that we were going to stop to see my mother-in-law again.
“At that point, we suddenly heard loud bangs, which I thought were sounds from Christmas fireworks. The bangs were actually from gunshots. Within a split second, there was  a painful bang on my head, which made my scalp hurt badly. A bullet had just shattered the rear windscreen of my vehicle pierced my headscarf, burnt my scarf like hot water and gone through the front screen”, she recalled.

On how she managed not to fall for friends, relatives and even the clergy of her Catholic faith who tried using their relationships to get her to bend the rules, she wrote: “Too many people tried to use my relationship with them to get me to compromise in the process of taking tough decisions. Sometimes it was difficult for me because most of the counterfeiters come from the South Eastern part of Nigeria where I come from. But I was able to remain unwavering in all my regulatory responsibilities”.

By December 2008 when she left NAFDAC for the Federal Ministry of Information she left with her life intact. Just as she placed the once discredited agency on the global map.culled

*RIP Dora,Nigeria lost a rare gem indeed..Thank you for being a true role model.

41 comments:

1. So Now one can say they have been hunting her just Because she was trying to save lifes from fake drugs..even to the extent of putting fetish stuffs in her office? Chineke!!! God rest ur soul Ma...you are a true Icon,you have touched soo many lives..Rest in peace Ma..

1. I've read her story so many times. They also used her house kepper to poison her, or someone she adopted. She went through a lot.
      Rip Dora. I love you but God loves you more.

2. The female MANDELA OF NIGERIA DIED GRACEFULLY.I LOVE YOU MA. THE ANGELS OF GOD ARE CELEBRATING YOUR ARRIVAL INTO HEAVEN. TILL WE MEET TO PART NO MORE.# CAN'T BELIEVE THIS IS HAPPENING TO US #SOOOOOOO SAD.BUT GOD REMAINETH FAITHFUL.

3. She was an icon. A woman of integrity.. ur works nd memories lives on..RIP

4. May her soul rest in perfect peace. I think she shouldn't have gone for the national conference. She should have finished her battles with her enemies 1st. Can't judge am not God. Pls forgive me if am speaking ill of d dead.

5. Whattttt. Her death touched a raw nerve in me. God be with her family as your daughter has returned to you. I am deeply saddened at this news. I remember reading about her and falling in love with her courage. She is a saint

2. RIP Dora,am so saddened by your death,it feels like i know you personally,am consoled by the fact that you left a legacy which will forever remembered,you left an impact,that would forever be cherished.Even in the face of adversities and temptations,u stood ur ground.A great Icon,a pioneer,the first of ur kind in Nigeria.Sleep peacefully Ma,we all love you but God loves u more,and he takes home those he loves

1. Her death is really getting yo me! I love everything this soma stood for. An honest, strong and courageous woman. Do we still have women like this in a Nigeria I wonder. Rest in peace with The Lord. You will be sorely missed!

3. God Bless ur soul Dora, n may HE in HIS infinite goodness n Mercies grant u eternal rest....Amen.

1. Amen! I can't stop crying. Rest in peace MA.
      Pinkyberry.

4. Almost in tears as I read this but thankful to God for a legacy that can never be erased! Thank u Lord for giving us Dora, heaven truly just gained an angel! Sleep well dear trial blazer, u r really a woman to be proud of. History books just gained another legend.

5. Sometimes I just think this country is not worth dying for. God bless her soul and give her family the fortitude to bear d loss.

6. This woman tried o. Her dibia strong well well. Marcel Drugs,Dangote n co,now make una rest o. She don die na

7. Aboy and Marcel his father tried to kill her.....Useless ugly people....Aboy Marcel, murderer.

1. Nna eh Aboy jolu njo eji apu court

8. Your legacy lives on...RIP my dear sister

9. In church today it was just Dora Dora Dora, may the Almighty accept your soul and through the merits of the Holy Mass offered for you we continue to pray for the gentle repose of your soul....Rest in perfect peace!

10. I can't seem to shake off the sadness ur death ve brought to me, thank you for the role u played while u were with us. RIP Mama D

1. Same with me o. Sometimes I am inclined to believe she was spiritually attacked when a part of me knows it's cancer a type that was most likely incurable

11. Rest in peace madam.
    Your good name will remain
    On the lips on Nigerians
    From generation to generation.
    Prof. Dora Nkem Akunyili.
    I speak your name.

Rest well.

12. This woman taught me how to check for expiry dates up till now,I love u ma,do rest now cos ur troubles are over,may God grant ur soul peace now.

1. That is ehnn,I do same too,even on toothpaste I check for expiry date.d pharmacy store keepers calls me madam expiry date.
      RIP dearest Dora Akunyili,ur legacy lives on.

13. Madam you left a GOOD name! That is all that matters. R.I.P

14. In my head you are my Mandela. R.I.P

15. Yes,we believed she touched lives and changed lives. She made an impact indelible to be erased. But this post goes to those that perpetrated this act cause let's not kid ourselves,it was an act of diabolism.........so as I was saying,to you that did this and think you won't face judgement....its laughable. To you that took her life and think you won't get your necks wringed and your innards disembowled........its a pity. To you all that thought it was your right to kill people just for money and snuff her life with your fetish inclination and think your troubles are over.......I'm sorry for your myopism cause I can assure you,God never sees a battle to defend his children and backs out.
    So here's my proclaimation........for the word of God says, in the book of Job,that we will declare a thing and it will happen........so I say.......you that killed her will suffer the death of a thousand slaves and never see good. Your families are your downfall and the destruction of your existence. Your lineage shall never be reckoned and your soul has been condemned......Lord,Jehovah Nissi our banner rise and fight for this country and those that have no one to fight for. Be our dedication and our strong hold in the mighty name of our Lord Jesus,Lord and saviour of the world.

16. Rest in peace Ma. A true legend you were! God bless you as you cross over to the other side.

17. Hmmm, like my Mom rightly said, 'Some people don't need the longevity of Methuselah, for the purpose of doing good'. Thanks for the much U gave to Nigeria. May your soul rest in peace. #OurLoss,Heaven'sGain

18. RIP nwanyi oma. God knows best, but your legacy lives on.
    God grant your loved ones the fortitude to bear this loss.

19. This is a real heartache. I can't understand why good people keep dying while the bad people are left behind to continue their evil. For Goodness sake, what are Yerima, IBB, Tinubu, Obasanjo, Shekau, David Mark, Saraki, Akpabio, Jonah Jang, Atiku, Ameachi,Bode George,Orji Uzor Kalu still doing on Earth? God! God!! God!!! How many time did I call you? Why now????

1. U forgot to write Anenih, E.K Clark n Gabriel Suswan

20. Yes,we believed she touched lives and changed lives. She made an impact indelible to be erased. But this post goes to those that perpetrated this act cause let's not kid ourselves,it was an act of diabolism.........so as I was saying,to you that did this and think you won't face judgement....its laughable. To you that took her life and think you won't get your necks wringed and your innards disembowled........its a pity. To you all that thought it was your right to kill people just for money and snuff her life with your fetish inclination and think your troubles are over.......I'm sorry for your myopism cause I can assure you,God never sees a battle to defend his children and backs out.
    So here's my proclaimation........for the word of God says, in the book of Job,that we will declare a thing and it will happen........so I say.......you that killed her will suffer the death of a thousand slaves and never see good. Your families are your downfall and the destruction of your existence. Your lineage shall never be reckoned and your soul has been condemned......Lord,Jehovah Nissi our banner rise and fight for this country and those that have no one to fight for. Be our dedication and our strong hold in the mighty name of our Lord Jesus,Lord and saviour of the world.

21. Yes,we believed she touched lives and changed lives. She made an impact indelible to be erased. But this post goes to those that perpetrated this act cause let's not kid ourselves,it was an act of diabolism.........so as I was saying,to you that did this and think you won't face judgement....its laughable. To you that took her life and think you won't get your necks wringed and your innards disembowled........its a pity. To you all that thought it was your right to kill people just for money and snuff her life with your fetish inclination and think your troubles are over.......I'm sorry for your myopism cause I can assure you,God never sees a battle to defend his children and backs out.

22. irenebernards@yahoo.com8 June 2014 at 19:03

DonJuan,but Amaechi never old na neither is he an evil politician.

23. Dora was a brave woman and died facing death bravely . She knew she was going to die for her look at national conference said it all. She still proved that she was unstoppable and show the nation what is left of her. She didn't want to wait for death to come and fought hard ,others will hide themselves in shame but not madan DORA. I feel so sad for this loss, having met her at shoprite Enugu with her husband and she acknowledged my greeting, shook my hands. My heart goes to the kids and husband , no body really prepares for death even when it is expected. God will console us all.

24. hmmm......Nigeria jst lost a very strng,brave n brilliant woman! I knw u r smiling down on us 4rm heaven! Rest in peace ma

25. The truth is that until we have more people like Prof Dora Akinyuli in government,Nigeria can never move forward.It's a shame.Nigeria has lost it.When/How will things turn around for the better in the country?I pray the country does not become a failed state soon.
    May the soul of our precious Prof Dora Akinyuli continue to rest in peace.
    I pray that God will uphold and strengthen her immediate family.

26. And some gangs of idiots will be celebrating
    Rest in peace ma