It was confirmed via Minister of Finance Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala in a statement by her special adviser Paul Nwabuikwu yesterday Thursday 19 June 2014 that the Federal Government would receive the sum of $227 million or €167 million from the Government of the Principality of Liechtenstein as part of the looted funds recovered from the family of the late Head of States, Gen. Sanni Abacha.
The amount which is N35.2 billion is to be recieved by the Federal Government on June 25th.
The statement reads that President Jonathan would set up an inter-ministerial committee to ensure the proper utilisation of the funds.
The committee would be given the responsibility of choosing the favourable projects and programmes to invest the fund.
Jonathan has also directed that part of the funds be saved in the Future Generations Funds to help secure the economic future of both Nigerian youths and unborn Nigerians
The World Bank will also help in monitoring the utilisation of the funds in specific projects.
*Chei.....only God knows how much this man stashed away oooooh but will bringing back the monies improve Nigerias economic situation or help someones private bank account get fatter?
Hmmnnn*inpattsstyle*im definitely first to comment yaaaayyyyyy
ReplyDeleteYippie! U made it! And how many months have u been tring 2 reach dz height dt means d world 2 u again??
Delete*lips sealed and watching*
Yippie! U made it!! And how many months have u been trying 2 reach dz enormous height dt means d world 2 u again???
Proper utilisation of funds indeed. Yimu.
DeleteOf course the world bank will help in monitoring the utilisation of roughly 10% of d entire funds for specific projects...sigh no b naija wey we dey so.... Yoruba go say "Ole ji i Ole gba a".
ReplyDeleteThat na Oga Jona campaigm funds Oo!...Ghanaman signing out!
DeleteHmmm..odiegwu! Not just recovering d money buh hope they utilise judiciously
ReplyDeleteThis explains why charges against his son was dropped but Madam NOI your vague analysis on where/how the money will be spent is just an insult to patriotic Nigerians,this people think we all stupid, (but are most Nigerians not?). Why is the money needed so desperately despite record revenue? Too early jare;Anty Stella Beautiful morning to you!
ReplyDeleteThen the govt in power can proceed to share it.
ReplyDeleteOk
ReplyDeleteAss hole
ReplyDeleteOk,
Seen
Noted
Next pls.
I pray world bnk helps in monitoring this fund bcuz o ga dikwa eqwu if someone packeted it or better stil they shared it amongst themselves...
ReplyDeleteThen after this they should just let this man to rest,in as much as i don't support all he did against nigeria,i still think he should be left alone to rest in peace.
ReplyDeleteSee Im face, thief.
ReplyDeleteWorld bank monitoring indeed. In this country? Well some people are soon to get wealthier than they presently are. Trust the Finance Minister to come up with an already mapped out disbursement plan for this money.
ReplyDeleteIf only some of this is gonna get 2 d common man like u and I...
ReplyDelete*lips sealed and watching*
Improve which economy, it will help their private accounts get fatter. Awon oni jibiti!
ReplyDeleteOle gbe...Ole Gba!! Naija......I hail thee!! They will definately RE-loot (if there is any English like that)the money
ReplyDeleteI hope the money will not end up in a few personal accounts! Anything is possible in my beloved country :-(
ReplyDeleteSo over d years d money still b 32billion???? Anyways make we see d money first
ReplyDeleteSee the kind money wey one man thief and my papa dey almost get heart attack over 4yrs over due pension... God dey
ReplyDeleteI really hope this plans will be seen through.
ReplyDeleteIt will be a good thing if indeed funds are kept to secure the future of our youths
If only it will work accor to plan.
This man's face tho!terror!!!
Hbd Linda Eze....God be with you
Aww see love,Iphie,its not my birthday yet..
DeleteIts still far 29th
Drama drama n more drama! The money will end up in another private account. I love politricks...EEE!!!
ReplyDeleteLolz if it takes them A decade and half to return Abacha's loot to Naija, how many decades will it take to return the newly looted money.......
ReplyDelete@Steph Sucre
Committee this committee that! Na them go stil chop the money! Twunt reduce the price of garri in the market.
ReplyDelete*bbm not interested smiley*
All this countries sending back our money should just hold it until we have a better government working for the masses. Let them keep the fund in an escrow account, when they send back money another set of thieves will steal the money. So what's the need?
ReplyDeleteIf it is returned nko what will dey use it 4? Actually Share it among demselves .. Abeg leave d children let dem enjoy eh one day God will do ours too.. God is not sleeping..NO..
ReplyDeleteSee the face of a THIEF and and a KILLER. I will rather be the child of the likes of Dora Akunyili than be Abacha's child! Mtcheeew.
ReplyDeleteAfter all the english it'll end in someones account and will never be heard of again. Pls talk better
ReplyDeletehis successors in kleptomania are already licking their lips while waiting to re-steal & pocket the money, afterall with this government stealing is not corruption.