in this interview, with Punch a consultant obstetrician/gynaecologist, Reproductive Health Firm, University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, Ituku-Ozalla, Enugu, Dr. Emeka Ekwuazi, speaks about childbirth and all you need to know...
What exactly goes on in a woman’s body during child delivery?
The process of childbirth, also known as ‘labour’ is the process by which the foetus is expelled from the womb through the birth canal to the outside world. Understandably, very few life events evoke such complex mix of emotions like the process of childbirth. This process entails a complex interplay of medical, social, cultural and ethical variables than can culminate in a long-lasting physical and emotional impact, which may either be positive or negative. Although a lot is now known about the physiology of childbirth, the exact biological event responsible for initiating the labour process in humans is still unknown. However, an effective labour process to a large extent depends on the efficient interplay of three important factors; the “powers” of the uterus(uterine contractions), the “passages” of the birth canal(the pelvic bones and the soft tissues of the pelvis) and the “passenger” (foetus). Important features in the diagnosis of labour include: regular, painful uterine contractions, occurring at least once every 10 minutes; passage of “show” from the vagina (mucous mixed with some blood); cervical effacement (shortening of the length of the cervix), cervical dilatation; rupture of membrane (water breaks).
When should a woman in labour go to the hospital?
Pregnant women are usually advised to present themselves at a hospital or healthcare centre if they think their water has broken(rupture of membrane) or when the contractions are frequent. There, the diagnosis of labour can be confirmed and their labour will be subsequently managed by skilled healthcare personnel. Although the process of childbirth is a continuous one, it is usually for the purpose of understanding the process and it’s management that it has been divided into three stages: Onset of labour to full cervical dilatation, from full cervical dilatation to the birth of the foetus and from delivery of the foetus until delivery of the placenta.
Although childbirth is a physiological process, despite the fact that a woman may be in labour, complications can occur, hence the recommendation for all pregnant women in labour to attend a health facility where their labour can be attended to by trained medical personnel. The commonest complications of labour include prolonged labour and its attendant complications such as foetal death and vesico-vaginal fistula (involuntary leakage of urine through the vagina), foetal distress, ruptured uterus, and excessive bleeding following childbirth.
The basic principles of managing labour include initial evaluation to ascertain both mother and foetal conditions, continuous monitoring of the progress of labour using partograph, conducing baby’s delivery in a manner that avoids injuries and other complications to both mother and baby, and finally close monitoring of the post-delivery period to ensure early identification and prompt treatment of any complications.
Why is child birth painful?
Pain is one of the defining characteristics of the process of childbirth. Pain threshold varies among women in labour, and appears to be influenced by multiplicity of factors such as cultural perceptions, prior labour experience, fear and anxiety, spousal support during labour, quality of caregiver-parturient relationship. A woman, who has not given birth before, is more likely to experience severe pain than a woman who has given birth more than once. So many factors may contribute to pain in labour, as such; it is difficult to isolate a specific cause. Labour pains can be either physiological or pathological in nature. While contraction pain, cervical dilatation and second stage labour are obviously physiological in nature, severe pain can equally result from pathological causes such as obstructed labour, foetal position, hyper-stimulation, uterine rupture, extreme anxiety and other extant pathology.
Painful impulses during the first stage of labour are mediated at the tenth thoracic and up to the first sacral spinal cord segments, and are largely due to reduced blood supply of the uterus during contraction, as well as dilatation and shortening of the cervix. On the other hand, pain during the second stage of labour is produced by distension, which is the stretching of the second, third and fourth sacral spinal cord segments of the vagina and perineum, with the painful impulses being mediated at (S2 – S4) spinal cord segments.
There are claims that a woman can control the intensity of her labour. How true is this?
It is usually the desire of majority of women to be in control when they are in labour, unfortunately most fail to achieve this goal if or when they cannot cope with the severe pain, hence the ‘screaming of labour’. Thus, it would be prudent to counsel all expectant mothers to have an open mind about pain and its relief and to understand the advantages and disadvantages, benefits and risks of all techniques of pain relief available. Over the past three decades, substantial advances in the quality and safety of obstetric anaesthesia have been made. The option to use pain relief during labour depends largely on the woman’s choice, cultural influence, as well as availability of the expertise.
What can a woman do to prepare for the process?
Firstly, she should plan for both normal birth and anticipating actions needed in case of an emergency. She should ensure that she has access to skilled maternal care, especially during childbirth. This strategy involves identification of the following elements: identifying a skilled birth attendant; identifying the location of the closest appropriate care facility (hospital/maternity homes); gathering funds for birth-related and emergency expenses; making arrangements for transport to a health facility for the birth and obstetric emergency; identifying compatible blood donors in case of emergency.
Vagina tear for first time mothers seems inevitable during child birth, what should they do to aid speedy healing?
They should ensure that they practise good perineal hygiene and perform sitz baths at least twice daily ; the cold sitz baths promotes pain relief by decreasing the stimulation of nerve endings and slowing down nerve conduction. It also reduces swelling, inhibits haematoma formation, and decreases muscle irritability. They could also take pain reliever.
How true is the assumption that more women now opt for caesarean section rather than normal delivery?
A small but significant number of women are now requesting for caesarean rather than normal vaginal delivery. This demand has been attributed to lack of knowledge and emotional capacity to handle vaginal delivery and its consequences, as well as their desire to preserve their sexual performance. This phenomenon is commoner among the rich and educated women. This has remained a controversial issue in contemporary obstetric practice; on one hand mode of delivery should be a matter of choice, but the question would be is caesarean justified when not medically indicated. Although caesarean is routinely performed nowadays, it is not without potentially severe complications, some of which can result in fatality. Although this phenomenon cannot be totally eradicated, medical practitioners will continue to educate and inform expectant mothers with the best available evidence to enable them make a well informed decision with regards to their mode of delivery.
What are the causes of stillbirth?
The causes of stillbirths are numerous, but generally divided into maternal and foetal causes. Maternal causes include: hypertensive disease, diabetes mellitus, renal disease, obesity, smoking/illicit drug use, advanced maternal age (more than 35 years), thyroid disease, systemic lupus erythematosus. On the other hand, foetal/placental causes includes congenital foetal infections (e.g. syphilis, parvovirus, streptococcal infections etc), congenital structural abnormalities, multiple gestation, chromosomal abnormalities, rhesus isoimmunization, placenta abruption, intrauterine foetal growth restriction.
When is the appropriate time for a nursing mother to start having sexual intercourse with her partner?
Despite a number of inconsistent reports relating to sexual activity for childbirth, most studies however, report on the average, that most couple resume intercourse between five to eight weeks after childbirth. In practice, most practitioners recommend delaying intercourse for six weeks to allow the cervix to close, lochia to stop, and tears to heal. However, the best time depends on when the woman feels she is both emotionally and physically ready to resume intercourse.
*Child birth is a life transforming thingy and i just marvel at God's all encompassing wisdom when i look back.
I had all my kids via CS but i didnt opt to,it just happened..infact the fear of pushing made me ill .......chai,GOD IS AWESOME.
I dont know how vaginal birth is but the pain of CS is out of this world and i dont wish it on any woman.
Anyone had CS or normal vaginal delivery?lets gist.
I gave birth like d Hebrew woman, thk u Jesus
ReplyDeleteHmmmm....after all d labour nd pushing pains,I went tru a normal viginal delivery...tot it was over oooo!! Wen dem com start to sew d tear,,EWOOOO.....I just went mad!! Guess dat is d most painful,,kai!!
Delete**devil punish all dos Faleti nurses wey jus dey insult me anyhow dat day upon say I dey in pains! Phew!!!**
OKIJA WIFE
Ha @ Okija wife, with the whole mouth you make about the pocket of your hubby, I think say na where nurses go pamper you go born. #fakepeopleeverywhere
DeleteLol @ na me be dis. SDK blog readers never forget.
DeleteI've had 3 vaginal deliveries and i had a CS 4 weeks ago. If you ask me, i prefer CS, not because i couldnt stand vaginal pain oh! But maybe because i had a beautiful CS experience and it was here in Nigeria!
DeleteI was discharged 3 days after my surgery because i was doing so well. I was already taking short walks on the 2nd day. The stitches they used was the dissolvable kind, so i didn't have to go back to the hospital after a week to have them removed. I was also given strong painkillers so i had little pain. The only day i felt uncomfortable (but bearable) pain was the day i was discharged. So i don't really get it why other commenters said that CS pain is out of this world. Anyway, i prayed for minimal pain and speedy healing and that's what i got. I was even driving after just one week, but just to nearby places oh! CS is better when It's elective and not emergency. When it's elective, everyone is calm and It's done very well, but if It's emergency, things are bound to go wrong. Prayer plays a great part too! For my next baby, i'm definately going for CS.
@ pink sunset..which hospital in nigeria cos am considering CS..?elective tho
DeleteHian. U r going again?? After 4? U b superwoman
DeleteSo 4 children never do u?according to ur story u have 4 kids yet u want another one by CS! Madam pls Rest!!
DeletePart, so u r an illiterate... or maybe a educated illiterate (the worst kind)
DeleteHebrew women indeed....please go back and read that portion of the Bible...it never stated that the Hebrew women childbirth was without assistance or pain or even easier in any way....but that because the midwives had the fearof God, they told they king that the women delivered without assistance...
It's women like you that make women who are advised to or have had CS feel like they are not real women.....
By the way, I have never had CS before but would childbirth is childbirth, so long as mother and child come out alright....
Nice article
ReplyDeleteVery lovely article I must say. At 28, childbirth is one of d reasons m still single. The thought of it kills m moral n sex drive. I jst pray when d time is right,God will take control of it all. Susan
DeleteHehehehe. I know this dude . cute tight Docs we have in Enugu. We are tight over here.
DeletePls patt ogar,how did d Hebrew women deliver,be decevin urself deliver.whether it's vagina delivery or cs,d most important tin is u had a safe delivery.dt was how my friend refused cs,when she had complication on grounds dt she wants to deliver like d Hebrew women.after everytin she had no option than cs.
DeleteI had tru normal delivery and it was beautiful. Didn't stay in the labour room for more than 20minutes bh the contraction was out of dis world. Bh in all I give God all the praise, the truth is: childbirtth is not as painful as they make it feel
DeleteWoow, two kids, two cs. First emergency cs but 2nd elective. I laboured for two days b4 d cs, baby's position was not good. I felt as I wa being cut cos it's emergency and they didn't wait for the epidural to set in well, I had to beg to be knocked out. Second was elective, no pains during cs.. smooth running until they finished. Choi, the kain rigour abi na cold way catch me ehn!.. then 4 hrs after operating on me I was bleeding heavily, I had to be evacuated again...oh dear. My Dr is very huge with big hands.... choi, I could not cry ooh. but in all I healed fine and fast, I have very faint scar, guess cos it was glued. My dear ladies, all child births are blessings... vg or cs, it doznt make ur baby any less special and I have never heard of an award for best vg birth pusher.. abi? all hail to women and mothers.
DeleteChoi! Stella had normal oooooo without epidural. God is wonderful! Omo I turn parrot as I reach 9cm, wish it was recorded lol. Looking back I thank God 4 seeing me thru... it's a thin line btw life n death.
ReplyDeleteWow! Na Dis kind yarn dey make ppl fear to born oh. God help us
DeleteAh @ Danie, the fear in me don increase.
DeleteI m due in abt 2 - 4 weeks. I am already scared. Don't know what to expect. Prayer is the key.
DeleteJust pray for a safe delivery.
Delete@Danie. Couldn't help laughing at your comment. I had 5, all vaginal. The reward of all the pain is the baby and watching him/her tranform everyday. There is no joy that is greater than that.
DeleteChoi! Stella had normal oooooo without epidural. God is wonderful! Omo I turn parrot as I reach 9cm, wish it was recorded lol. Looking back I thank God 4 seeing me thru... it's a thin line btw life n death.
ReplyDeleteNormal delivery.
ReplyDeleteI've had to babies both vaginal deliveries. The first I had with the help of epidural and the second just normal vaginal delivery. My experience so far has been pain during the labour period but the actual delivery I found painless. Also as soon as the baby is delivered I'm practically back to normal.
ReplyDeleteI would never attempt CS except its unavoidable to save my life or the baby's
I will always opt for natural mode. CS shouldn't be done on purpose tho. But what do I know.,
ReplyDelete@Sommie,yes ur correct! Natural is d best!its a mixture of pains nd joy! Cs should be done IF there's a critical condition,,,,NO DOCTOR GO TAKE ME LEARN WORK IN JESUS NAME!!!!
DeleteOKIJA WIFE
@ Okija wife, but them take u learn work for faleti?! Lol
DeleteBut u get mind oh, that name alone sef is scary!
#bereal
Stop faking
Faleti patient lol
Hmmmm! Stella I had my 3 children thru my vg and d pain ehnnnn! God have mercy! Excruciating. Its 10 times more painful dan menstrual pain. To all d mothers in d house, I hail o! To our mothers 2 be, get ready o! Bcos una go shout tire. Lol
ReplyDeleteBest experience ever! Cant wait for mine....
DeleteYes oh! Best experience ever! bt thinking of mine...I never ready 4 anoda one even as ppl nd my hubby's family dey talk....e no concern me oh!!cos d pain dey always bring tears to my eyezzz!!
DeleteOKIJA WIFE
The Shout no be small thing o, i had my second baby last yr, and it still feels like I had him yesterday each time I rem how I had to be induced because of HBP( double pain). Long story short. God is Awesome.
DeleteYou don't need to shout ooh
DeleteJust grunt!
Lmao!it sounds like a lion in pain!!
Even if it's a 100 times more painful than d menstrual period. .I want a baby like crazy..pls hear me Lord
DeleteFunny enough I'm not scared as the day gets closer, I don't know why I'm so calm about the whole thing,but I want to keep my vjay intact still do not know which is berra +i don't want to wait until 41weeks waiting for the normal one
DeleteGod help me sha
Pushup
Anon 2:01, God will definitely do it for you dear.
DeleteFor VAGINAL BIRTH d PAIN comes before and once d baby is out d pain is OFF ,, For CS d PAIN comes after d operation once d baby os brot out d pain CONTINUES....so make ur choice.
Delete@pushup, the vagina returns to normal 6weeks after delivery.
DeleteNice write up...I had all my children through Cs...
ReplyDeleteIts painful but I hear normal delivery is the worst after which your vjayjay will be wide...don't know how true It is...but for me,I still prefer cs to normal
Queen Queen! Good 4 u sha bt virgina birth is still d birth to me cos u feel d pains of been a mother nd d natural joy dat comes with it,,thou am scared of going tru it again,dats y my son is more dan 2 nd am not even ready yet! Bt can't still go tru cs!
DeleteOKIJA WIFE
I didn't experience that "wideness" ooh
DeleteAnd from what I read,the vagina is elastic.
Oh well,i can't say for others sha
Bad farmer always blame his tools.
DeleteI had normal delivery for all my babies and am still as tight as ever....na only this one way waka come now I no no wetin I go do?
DeleteVjay is elastically endowed! Capable of contraction and expansion! O nyayecha, O nyachie! Kponkwem!
DeletePepper ose oku
Not true. Had all my 3 children naturally and though I'm not as tight as before, I'm not wide either - the power of Kegel!!! Works, trust me! I thank God cos with all my 3, when I was waiting for the pain as they said to start, the baby came out, no epidural. And I was on my feet same day, discharged same day. Try that with CS!!!
Delete@JSB I get on my feet the day I hv CS and get discharged in 2 days. Though it is painful but you're encouraged to move asap. I've had 4 CS and 3 of them were emergency due to complications. I really wanted to experience vaginal birth but that opportunity never came.
DeleteSince I understd d Meanin of birth...I knw I cn nvr go thru dat pain..God help me,am goin for CS althru!
ReplyDeleteForget it!!yes d pain is out of dis world oh bt u feels very joyful after everytn!!
DeleteOKIJA WIFE
Am at my 7 months but wen I rem hw all ds warri 13 year gehz dey drop anyhow,i just believe na so I go carry drop my own,may God guide me n all d expecting motherz oh,we shall all give our testimony at d due time,since na mama born me n my siblings,i go folo born my own beautiful n intelligent babies wt God being my helper n deliverer oh
ReplyDeleteMy dear you will be fine trust me
DeleteWith God,it will be like a walk in the park for you.Amen
What helped me was the knowledge I acquired when I was pregnant!
I registered on baby centre n made google my friend.
I knew it was time that saturday morning..hmmm.
I timed my contractions...I didn't want to eat heavy,so I took a slice of bread and tea(to avoid plenty "poopoing" that day.lol)
I wanted to reserve my energy so instead of panicking,i started sleeping through the contractions
My hubby and sister thought I was mad...they were fidgeting!!they were just hovering around me
I rearranged my baby things...kept emptying my bladder for quicker and faster contractions
As soon as I saw my "show"
I told them it was time to leave(my voice was eerie,hubby told me later)
My people the pain no be here ooh,The doctors saw my fragile look and kept asking if I wanted epidural..
well,to God be the glory,i hear what I went through and the short time is nothing compared to some horror stories ooh for a first timer like me...pushing was the easiest and sweetest part(you just have an uncontrollable urge to push)
Please remember to do your kegel exercise always so that you can control yourself from pushing,listen to the doctors to avoid multiple self inflicted tears!
CS or Vaginal birth?...As long as the baby is healthy,i don't have a problem with either of them..I HATE PAINnnnnnnnn
Amen dear.
DeleteAmen.
DeleteAmen ooo.. wishing u safe delivery
DeleteMy dear, na so I sharp mouth give my mama when I been wan born.I tell her say after all small girls dey push, so why can't I?
DeleteO boy, as I reach labour room na there I know say Jesus is Lord! I shout tire!
Doctor say make I count to 45secs the pain go stop, but dat 45 second was like 450secs.
Hmmmmm! Biko labour pains no be here o.I thank God for this blog tho, cos all thru my pregnancy, it kept me busy and I learnt a lot from here.
As I shout tire pikin no gree come, I beg doct for CS sharperlly, make man pikin no quench.
Shout out to all the mothers in the block.And for mothers to be, please be prepared, I swear to you that there is nothing and there won't be anything in this world with an excruciating pain like labour. Pls if you have money, just go for CS or epidural.
My baby is grown now and the thought of that labour pain is what's making me a mother of only one child.
Vagina birth is very very painful but its just for a short time.
DeleteI had my 2 boys via v. Despite the pain, i will still opt for it.
Had my 2 kids via CS ,though painful bt I still prefer it to Vagina birth cos I had a sad experience wt my first pregnancy
ReplyDeleteAunty Stella, i was opportune to experience both but the CS pain was out of this world.I cried for complete 2 weeks.Ko easy rara.
ReplyDeleteI had my child via csection, not by choice though...my OB would let me attempt a VB next time, I pray it's successful. The recovery of CS is too difficult and I want to avoid it if possible. The notion that once you have a CS you can no longer attempt VB is so wrong, it depends on the reason why the section was performed...also, the risks associated with having a CS increase with an increase in the number of csections so it's better to avoid it if possible. Anyone interested in a VBAC (Vaginal Birth After Csection) should join babycenter.com and join the 'VBAC Support' group...it's very educative.
ReplyDeleteThe koko of childbirth irrespective of the method is for the mother and child to be alive and well and I don't think any mother loves her child less because he/she came into the world by Csection.
Stella am really just sad at this moment. My younger sis friend just died on tuesday during childbirth. Both her and the baby did not survive and her first child is barely two . I just wish God can bring her back.
ReplyDeleteAm really sorry about the loss and pain. May she rest in peace, Amen
DeleteHad c/s during my 1st delivery due to prolonged labour,after d c/s that was when I started feeling pains due to the cut, Just had c/s last 3 weeks,for my second child the aftermath was not funny,had serious headache,could not turn my neck,my spine and neck were shaking I had to use my hands to support my neck after somedays I got my self back,the case of not having one's bath,just wash and clean up your body,I don't dig it well everything that has an advantage also have a dis advantage,all the same I thank God for safe delivery.
ReplyDeleteI had my 1st baby thru c/s due 2 prolonged labour,the 2nd baby which I had 3 weeks ago was thru c/s I did'nt want to experience what I did in the 1st one I thank God me and my baby we are doing fine.
ReplyDeleteHnmmmm,God bless mothers oooo cos its not easy at all. I had my kids via CS not my choice though and I can tell u that the pain is out of this world. I can remember my 1st time,I was calling my pastor †o pray for me as if na die I wan go die lol. But thank God I am more informed now. On the other hand,mothers that had viginal birth will u the pain is better imagined. May God help mothers.
ReplyDeleteI have tasted both CS and Vagainal delivery and both are so soooo painful.
ReplyDeleteI'm still trying to forget.
By this time last week, I dey hear nwii.
Will gist you guys my experience another time.
Awww..welcome back..how is baby?
DeleteCongrats genny baby. God bless all moms. We r simply Amazing
DeleteThanks Queen Linda, I like this your new name o. Baby is doing very fine.
DeleteThanks Gold,God bless you.
Had normal delivery without epidural... The pain was out of this word.. Wanted to experience the whole pain thing but oyibo doctors sure know how to calm one down unlike naija nurses who I hear scream at the patients... The amazing thing was I was in labor for just 3hrs and I was delivered of my babies unlike what I heard. Was told since it was my first,I would labor for more than 5hrs,some women can instinct fear into one. My babies came out tiny so I didn't have any cut.. I would certainly not opt out for epidural or cesarean next time again.. Its an amazing feeling.. You just forget the whole pain when you hear the voice of the baby...
ReplyDeleteU have twins?
DeleteQuite..na only you go put Luongo make we know say na Luongo side u go born...like it's heaven u went to
DeleteFor ur info, no be all Naija nurses Dr abuse...try go better hospital..even teaching hospital nurses don't abuse you...at least, not in my experience
I'm 7months pregnant & in my birth plan I have asked for epidural omo I can't stand pain ooo. But I wish to born before I have the epidural. The joy of seeing my son's face is what is making me fearless about giving birth, I just cannot wait to see his face and give him lots of kisses and hugs hehe
ReplyDeleteDs topic comot hot shit for my belle.. Had 2visit d rest room cos d tension was 2 much.. Me I neva evn carry pikin reach anywhere. I'm barely 2months gone and I'm tinkn CS.. Even the morning sickness no be here. God help me, but all the same, I cnt wait 2carry my littlt somebody in my hands. U need 2 c me discussing with him/her as its stil in my tommy.. Awwww, I'm goin 2b d best mother so help me God, amen!
ReplyDeleteExpectant mum.
Congratulations on your pregnancy.
DeleteJust let it flow naturally. The pain is not permanent. Its just for a very very short time. Once the baby is out, its over!
Hmm stella,I had my children through Cs o. The first was due to postdateism(process where am overdue) and my boy was also big(4.5kg). I was induced but it failed b4 they did d CS For me. The pain was so unbeareable for me. But thank God for his mercies. The. 2nd, I was told to try normal. Labour, chei, dt pain pass d cs pain for me o, it also failed had to do Cs for me too. But d last one, I didn't risk it, i just carry n
ReplyDeleteMy bag go hospital say oya,come comot d pikin for me. I hav experienced both, so if asked to choose which is better, I will say CS. Kenny Sulaiman
Your experience is similar to mine, my baby weight was 4.8 at 42 wks of pregnancy, infact I was induced 3 times n instead of labour sign I was getting stronger with only 2cm dilation d ffg day I was rushed into d theater for vs wen d baby is getting weak, it's almost 2 yrs now n d fear of going thru that experience again besides I have not decide if I sud try natural birth or I sud kuku stick to vs since d first is thru vs but d thought of being a mother without experiencing labour pain is somehow to me
DeleteMy dear u may be lucky to have d 2nd child the normal way. It works for some people nd dsnt for pple like me. But if u ask for my candid advice, do CS abeg to avoid double stress and pains. Hw is ur baby now,is he retaining the weight or has shed it down? My baby is 9 now but looks 14. The weight still dey o. May. God keep and protect them for Us Kenny Sulaiman
DeleteHi stella,I delivered my daugher through CS,and I must say it wasn't as painful as many say it is.dnt get me wrong,it was painful but not unbearable.I think I might descide to opt for it the next time.+my sex life is still dsame as before,no enlarged veejay.
ReplyDeleteThe vajayjay doesn't stay permanently enlarged. Its goes back to normal few weeks after delivery. My kids weighed 4kg and 3.8kg respectively and i had them via the v. If anything, its wayyyyyyyyyyy better than before.
DeleteWhere do people hear this enlarged veejayjay stories....the vagina is elastic, people.....
DeleteCs is very painful,stella una get luck,for nigeria here na wicked wicked nurses full am,the one who was removing my stitches after one week was using scissors and spirit to clean those areas which is still fresh and when I complain she will badmouth me and use the scissors roughly.
ReplyDeleteHahahahahahahaahaha...
DeleteGod knows i'll give her a resounding slap. Is she attending to you free? Isn't she a woman too? Kai!
DeleteDo the still remove stitches? Just had my 2nd CS and there was nothing like that. CS is painful but must people r exaggerating d pain. If your doctors suggest CS don't say no. U can only be a mother if your child survive despite the route of delivery. Nescarp
DeleteDo they still loose stitches these days? Its dissolvable stitches that are in vogue now.
DeleteI had my baby thru my VG and was induced. Now that's the PEAK of pains. 30secs contraction for 6hours it took the grace of God for me to forget.
ReplyDeleteI had my beautiful daughter, 22 years ago tomorrow. HBD my treasure, she was born vaginaly at 7 and a half months ( a premmi). I asked for epidural the pain was excruciating, but i would do it all over again. My lovely Sydny has brought me joy and happiness. She will be graduating from university at the end of may. Thank you God for a wonderful child. Thank the doctor Derek Wang and nurses of Habor ucla medical center, Torrance, California
ReplyDeleteNi oruko JESU won o ni fi ABE gbe OMO jade ninu mi! AMIN!!!!
ReplyDeleteOKIJA WIFE
Oh shut up! Your mentality is the kind that frustrates obstetricians in Naija. C/S is often not a choice, there are usually valid medical reasons for it, and repeated C/S is often because of failed VBACs. The women that end up having C/S prayed just like you. Nonsense.
DeleteShe has a mentality of one fool I know Folashade Lawal Iya Ini she badmouth people who aren't married like they've offended God worse still if u gave birth via CS she'll keep rubbing it in like say it's one terrible thing she'll keep saying I gave birth the normal way bla bla Oloshi Omo
DeleteI've birthed 4 healthy babies through my vagina and the 1st was difficult,in labour for 22 hours,the second in labour for 17,the 3rd another 20 but guess what my last popped @ home less than an hour,she came out on my bed,but luckily d ambulance arrived less than 5 minutes later....motherhood is delicious and trust me i wouldn't have it any other way,I've personally got nothing about CS whether elective or being a necessity to save mother and child,it's no biggy as long as it rocks ur boat...But ladies for d ones who think that after vaginal delivery,ur pussy will be wide,it's such a myth...for me and my hubby,it's d same and I dare to say that sex is actually better now,I achieve an orgasm pretty quick....d pussy is elastic by nature it stretches to accommodate a baby and snaps rite back,but if for any reason u feel a bit lax down there,do some kegels they work!!hapi Sunday my peeps....
ReplyDeleteI had my 2 kids tru vaginal birth. D first one was painless and I deliverd like d hebrew women. D 2nd one I had to be induced cuz I had gone 2 weeks past my EDD. My sisters I saw hell! till I begin speak my native language I no no. D pain was unexpalinable luckily d nurses were nice. No body curse me. after 3 hrs baby finaly came out! Then placenta took over 3 hrs to cum out! Nurse put hand, doctor put hand, no way Oo°˚˚˚°! Finaly I was rushed to anoda hospital wia anoda doc insterted his hands upto his elbows into my vjayjay and pulled it out. By d time they finished I had multiple cuts. Around my vjayja, close to my anus sef!
ReplyDeleteThat I didn't die wiv all that blood I losT is a miracle. I give God praise. Leave am, women dey suffer. Don't think I'll forget my 2nd delivery in yrs to cum.
Ma dear,its well with us o.in child birth,weda cs or vaginal delivery,i believe God comes down to d labour room or théâtre.i believe its God o!have experienced both vaginal delivery and cs.and all i wil say is dis:its just God.and a healthy baby and a healthy mama,completely wipes away all d pain.God is God...and to all expectant mommas,God Has already done it!!!
ReplyDeleteI had my baby thru my vagina 3 months ago. Though I was induced, it's painful, at some point I wished I did CS bcos I had a tear. Women who get preggars after 3 months of delivery, I hail una. Cos till now I cant imagine anything getting into me. Annie L.P
ReplyDeleteI had the most wonderful vaginal delivery ever! As a first time mom, it was way easier than I expected. I didn't even scream at all thruout labour and delivery. And as soon as my daughter came out, I didn't feel a single pain again! And no, ur vagina isn't wider after a normal delivery cos when hubby n I did the deed, it was like I was being deflowered all over again! I would most def go for an unmedicated vaginal delivery again and again! Best experience ever!!
ReplyDeleteHmmmm interesting
ReplyDeleteStella, the pain is out of this world,vaginal birth is so painful I can't even begin to explian.dey no dey gist person u have to experience it to know.but immediately d baby comes out u will have a sense of relieve, God is a merciful God.n for d V u do kegals it will go back to normal.am a woman n am proud.God bless our children.
ReplyDeleteGood to know.
ReplyDeleteInteresting topic. I had my baby 5months ago and it was the normal way. I also had an induced labour which is 10 times more painful dan normal labour, all this without epidural. Untop all d pain, I had vagina tear in 2 places. D pain was TERRIBLE! At a point I was begging for CS. D delivery process was much better, I pushed just twice. As for my vjay , its far much better and thighter than before. They did a good job stitching me up and my mom inlaw really handled me during omugwo. I resumed active sex in a month and I must say, its reallllyyyy gud. I ddnt expect it to be soo tight. Damn! Hubby wanna die in dere. Whew!!
ReplyDeleteKech
Had my baby girl through cs and I didn't plan for it as well. Cs is quick but the recovery process is a very painful experience. Its just crazy to deal with but you remain grateful each time you see your baby smile.
ReplyDeleteIv xperienced both,had my 1st child the normal way, omo I confess my sins n ask God 4 4givness tire.my 2nd n 3rd were thru cs, d post op pain na die, I cry so tey tears finish 4 my eyes, , dont no which is beta but I tnk God 4 d beautiful end results I got.it isn't easy...
ReplyDeleteThanks for d post stells, infact since yesterday all have been thinking about is my coming delivery which is due like next 2 months.although have been through the process twice, but you are never prepared for the pain
ReplyDeleteMy first delivery was quite easy, I got to d hospital by 6am and delivered by 9.30am in total the process took like 6 hours of pain, infact I was feeling like a pro and all nurses were surprised at how fast it was and I have a strong threshold for pain, I didn't even cry through d process.
My hubby had more confidence than I during my second delivery, coz of the first delivery and was even feeling cool with himself, but when reality happened we were jus humbled.
Contrary to most beliefs my second delivery was hell I went straight to d third stage form stage one, d pain was mad, it wasn't gradual like my first and I spent 12 good hours before my second prince decided to come.
Till date I can't explain why it happened so, but I can say no two pregnancies and deliveries are the same.
Have really been praying for this to be fast and painless in Jesus name.at least I can say good bye to d delivery room now.
God pls help me o,I'm 3 months pregnant.scared of labour pains but wat the hell?little 16 yrs old gals give birth everyday so my God won't allow mine to be different.to all expectant mothers on dis blog let's be brave cos God wil def see us tru.AMEN
ReplyDeleteMake I no lie sha,reading dis made me cringe!having cramps cos of wat I read and am an expectant mother.CHINEKE
ReplyDeleteInfact stella I'm really mad right now,with all dis pain women go tru men wil still hav d nerve 2 cheat and act up as if they can bear d pains or go tru half of wat we go tru.big headed creatures,I'm an expectant mother and I'm angry right now.
ReplyDeletei recommend supernatural childbirth a book written by Jackie Mize. i had my daughter vaginally and i didn't cry neither did i scream. i gave birth in a faith home having left the big man hospital i registered with first. i wasn't just comfortable with th hospital and i askd God where i shud go ve my first child and dat was how i landed in the church with modern day equipment. My faith was so high and exactly nine months later 'Boom' without any kind of Drip or injections and 4hrs of labour as a first timer, i birthed my bundle. Pls go with God to the labor room dats wht i can advice any expectant mother. SDK, does dat mean you cnt hve more than 3kids because dats wht i hrd happns when yu birth thru CS? Happy sunday every one and to genny baby, gve my love to yur bundle of Joy.
ReplyDeleteThanks dear, I sure will.
Delete#hugs
Yeah. .supernatural child birth book is really good for expectant mothers. .a pastor friend recommended it for me cos am just 10weeks gone. Was scared before now but after reading supernatural child birth by jackie ..menh..I can't wait to push out my baby. .
DeleteI was told by my high risk Obgyn that I have a very narrow cervix and so will have to be scheduled for a CS when I do get pregnant again. After spending half a day trying to push out my 26 weeker due to IC and infection, I believe him:). The. Pain. Though. Oh. My. Goodness. Gracious. Lord have mercy! If it were full term, in fact, I hail you all!
ReplyDeleteThis just scared me :(
ReplyDeleteHad my three kids through C/S. During my first pregnancy, I had pregnancy induced hypertension. So the doctor opened me up at 38 weeks. So The subsequent ones were elective cs. For me, the pain is really felt the first three days. And my incision is the bikini line incision. If I dont show u, u wont know. My last baby is four months and am just getting my post pregnancy body back.
ReplyDeletePre - pregnancy body you mean?
DeleteReading dis just made my pussy fart!
ReplyDeleteLol! Pussy fart! U're just funny.
DeleteMadmose
Vg delivery na die.. in fact no pain can be compared to it. I had my baby 4weeks ago N I hv started having sex, I had a tear but It has healed. My fellow mothers,I feel my veejayjay would never be normal again. Pls mothers how is ur v after childbirth.
ReplyDeleteIf your vagina wasn't ready,you shouldn't have started having sex hun!
DeleteThe lochia,the cut healing and all will make that place kinda unpleasant!
Your body will tell you when it's ready. Carry your hubby along(that is if he's understanding)
Everything will go back to normal with time,i had those worries too!
The first sex after childbirth was painfuullll
How many babies popped out from there?
DeleteHad my 1st thru CS,2nd ws normal delivery but ws given epidural n d 3rd normal wt epidural. D epidural ws given too early n when d baby ws coming out, I almost died cos d pain ws double cos d epidural time elapsed
ReplyDeleteHmmmmm,still waitin 4 mine,God pls I wnt mine 2 b lk d hebrew women
ReplyDeleteI had my baby through CS and it was totally painless, just slept and woke up, would like to do it d normal way next tym though but don't knw if I can stand d pain
ReplyDeleteI had my baby tru a shedule CS, the pain is nothing to write home abt
ReplyDeleteAhhh! Natural delivery na die ooooo! Those who deliver like hebrew women, I tap into una grace o! I laboured for 22hrs and the last 5hrs was like HELL! I asked for CS at 8cm dilated! Within 15mins, I was done. I intend to do elective CS next time by God's grace! I've kinda experienced both. Excruciating Pain is unnecessary during child birth.
ReplyDeleteSb, is this you? :D #sisterOfLife Congrats dearie
DeleteGoodness gracious I had my baby thru vaginal birth. And the pain was out of this world. I screamed,prayed,begged ,cried. Kai ÈŠ̊†̥s unexplainable abeg. But the beauty about it all was that as soon as the baby came out. I had instant peace. The pain vanished. Until time to stitch me. Cos I had an episiotomy. The issue now is that I am more tighter after birth and sex is painful now.
ReplyDeleteUse lots of lube dear....
DeleteHonestly reading all these comments is really making the excitement crazy for me.am in my 6th month now.I honestly can't wait. I believe strongly dat I will bring my baby into this world Like mother Mary brought my saviour into the world.
ReplyDeleteDoes it mean sexual intercourse with someone's husband will be less interesting after giving birth through the veejay? What are the things a woman shld do to get the veejay tighten after giving birth tru d normal way
ReplyDeleteKegel excersice helps a lot
DeleteI had my first two vaginally den d third thru Cs cos of d position of d baby, I can bodly tell u dat d pain is d same jst dat dey come at diff tyms in both cases, in d case of Vg u feel d pain all thru n d moment d baby is out d pain is gone, then 4 CS the pain comes after d epidural injection wears of dat is if u were awake during d whole surgery like in my case. D gud part of it is dat u will be aware of everytin, n in d right state of mind if u are not scared to see n receive ur baby n secondly it does not tke tym 17mins to 3omins atmost unlike Vg dat might last 4 several hours. Mothers to be in d house don't be scared,
ReplyDeletewhatever way ur baby decide to come out does not matter, n d pain no longer count wen u hold him or her in ur hand
Ok
ReplyDeleteMy mum had all four of us thru CS. I appreciate her too much that it brings tears to my eyes. Can't wait to have mine but I'm very scared
ReplyDeletePlease are these complications different for sickle cell patients? Are we in any special danger? Please in-house doctors help. Answer my questions, it's very important to me. Please
ReplyDeleteYes I'm in the same situation. Getting married soon and very terrified. Sum1 suggested to me that I should get sum1 to birth my babies but I don't want that. I want to know how it feels so I'm just wondering if it's that bad. *sigh
DeleteHmmmmm no be Wetin dem dey tell person Stella. To be induced has to be the most painful thing ever. It is called Pitosin that's what the doctors' induced me with. Kai what manner of pain. Women I greet una. I was induced for my two kids and I pushed them out. The pain goes straight to your medula.
ReplyDeletePls readers u ppl hav scared me big tym.im 38wks as we speak and d last tym I went to d hospital 4 antenatal I was told my baby is 4.1kg(and hes still in der oo)iv been praying to God dt he comes out now ooo.i asked d dr to b induced and he said d pain no b here ooo 4 a big baby he even dropping hints abt a cs.but he said wen i come next he will try n sweep my membranes to see if it will induce d labour.dis my 2nd child,my 1st was a preterm so according to dem iv not really experienced labour!pls has any1 delivered a nig baby here b4? How was it?@ wat point was d pain abeg n is it possible to happen without an episiotomy.iv been so scared since I got d news abt d babys weight n d belly is so big,any1 who sees me tinks im expecting twins.
ReplyDeleteMy dear don't be scared. I've delivered big baby before. You need to pray and tell God the kind of delivery you want. I've had a 4kg baby wthout tear. If the doc and nurse know what they are dong u can have urs without tear too. If tear comes then do ur sitz bath and take ur painkiller. You will be fine. Never go into d labour room with fear in your heart the enemy will capitalize on it. I wish you a safe delivery in Jesus name. Amen
DeletePls go for epidural.
DeleteI dunno what the doctor did to me when I got to the hospital, but I guess it was that membrane shifting or so.He put his hand in the VJJ and did something, my God! I felt the pain in my brain,like I was about to die! I screamed and woke the whole patients in the hospital. And the blood flow that followed no be here, plus induction drip for one hand.
My dear, pls life is too sweet to let urself pass thru that kinda pain when you have a choice. God knows I won't try that again.
Go for epidural!
Jst go for an elective CS. I had a baby few months ago n d baby was 4.6kg. D episiotomy na die. They ll so cut eh. So d baby can pass. D doc regreted not taking me for a C section. My mum said big babies always cause complications. Reduce starchy food.
DeletePls go for elective cs.my baby was 4.7kg and delivery was normal.omo see tear,from my vejay to the anus.He will be 15yrs by this month but I'm still suffering the pains.abeg no do strong woman.
DeletePls o! I jst want to know if general hospitals in lagos offer epidurals???
ReplyDeleteHmmmm am 24WKS N 2DAYS and I must confess birth plans has being on my mind , my husband has a huge penis am just scared my tight vajajay dt he loves remains intact after normal delivery.
ReplyDeleteC's is a major abdominal surgery.
ReplyDeleteThe pain is out of this world.
Hi! This is my 1st time commenting on ur blog & I love it so much esp ur weekend laughs. I have 4 kids. I had 2 naturally & 2 via CS. I wud say I would for CS any time any day bcos that way u don't have to go thru labour. Labour is d real pain as far as I'm concerned.
ReplyDeleteI had my baby thru cs in UBTH about 2 months ago after been in labour for like 12hrs (in central hospital) I was referred to UBTH where I had de CS n it was painless even thou I was awake thru the whole process. so I dnt undastand the pain u guys re talkin about but I pray 4 VB for the next one cos daz wat I actually wanted if not 4 some complication dat arise
ReplyDeleteEhen??reading all dese comments make me shiver!!!i hail all d mothers in d house!mine is soon ohhh!God help me
ReplyDeletei am expecting in August by Gods grace and my doctor already informed me its cs.i had my last 2 kids via cs and it was very painful after d surgery but i recovered quickly.i ve decided to travel abroad fr this one but i dnt know what to expect,can anyone tip me on what to expect in foreign hospitals as regards delivery cos i believe my doctor was mizing the painkillers he was giving me,dts why d pain was much.thanks stella for this topic.
ReplyDeleteHad my first child six years ago via natural birth and had my second daughter two months ago via CS hmmm if at all am gonna have another baby that will be another six years from now and will def go for CS again
ReplyDeleteok where do i start from.prayers answereth all.had my boy 8 months ago via vaginal n i laboured for 6hours.at d first stage of labour it was controllable infact the doctor looked @ me n told me to go home cos i wasnt in labour but i had to stay cos of distance within 2hrs hmmm d pain was something else o,got admitted ,was progressing fine not until some point my cervix was thickenin instead of thinning,i was given boscupan yet it didnt work n my baby had already descended infact he was bouncing on my cervix trying to push his way down but my cevix wudnt thinn n open up,then to strong urge to push came;d nurses told me not to push o.had sayid all d prayers i knew on earth n i was drinking water cos my throat had cracked due to screaming,was given anoda boscupan yet it didnt work,d doctor had to review me n i was induced hmm na craze be that o n it actually worked n i was like why didnt d do dat since. I had multiple cuts,the doctor used like 30mins to reconstruct my vagina cos my son came out wth his 2 hands up.i was in pains for 4months n i felt i wont be normal again cos i cudnt stand for a long period as if my vagina will drop out but am good now i just pray my next delivery shud be pain n stress free.i did a lot of pelvic floor exercises n yea my hubby loves my veejay
ReplyDeleteI had my son 9mnths ago through vagina birth although induced, I pinged all tru labor even my sister had to leave cos she said she wasn't sure am in labor...had my son 15mins after she left, during d sewing of my tear I was gisting with the docs...am not saying itwasnt painful infact it was very painful but I kept it to mysef.I had sex again at exactly six wk and my hubby said I was like a virgin again. Vaginal delivery all d way cant wait for my 2nd baby
ReplyDeleteHave had two babies and both came vaginally though I had tears both times.will advise expectant mothers to be very prayerful because you definitely need God to take charge both in and outside the labour room
ReplyDeleteI don't even know wat to do Cuz of all dis different stories, hubby don't mind anyone so far the am fine and our baby is alive,in all I just put my trust and prayers to God,
ReplyDelete@anon 7:03,,,u nd ur cohort are tutimin bitch!! See me oh?? I dey pray 4 myself una dey vex...witchcaft dey ur body I know! Bt my prayer is so or u kip doing d operation cos u deserve it bastard!!!
ReplyDeleteOKIJA WIFE