This question bolts out of the blues sporadically from curious Nigerians who are either unsure of the depth of their love and commitment to their country, or who strive to ascertain same of others.
In today’s Nigeria which is believed to be exclusively an oil of gladness for a privileged few, and the water of affliction for the rest of the stock, this patriotism test question may be appropriate. When a nation and its leadership are going adrift and the dividends of democracy are only yielding fruits into the pockets of a few elite families and their privies, the deprived will bawl and brawl in understandable opposition to unjust treatments and unfairness. Sometimes it gets ugly and violent leading to the loss of lives.
Revolting against a system that pummels and pulverizes the masses always cost lives. In 1787, America’s Thomas Jefferson spoke thus: “A little rebellion now and then is a good thing for America”. Jefferson felt that the angry farmers in Massachusetts’ Shays’ Rebellion of 1786 had a right to express their grievances against the government, even if those grievances might take the form of violent action.
|
2011 Egyptian Revolution in Cairo, Alexandra, and other Egyptian Cities cost 846 lives. The ‘Jasmine Revolution’ in Tunisia December 2010 was an intensive campaign of civil resistance that ousted longtime President Zine El Abidine Ben Ali in January 2011. The Orange Revolution in Ukraine that ended in January 2005 also has a record of lost lives. Violence as a means of addressing Nigeria’s many ills is not the right approach; but it is important for all of us to learn from history.
People protest unfairness because days of captivity on the calendar of the captor have no expiration date. It behoves the captive to either choose life or death fighting for liberty or remain in tormenting domination and control in the prison of life. One ace musician wrote: “Better to die fighting for freedom than be a prisoner all the days of your life.” A man can shut down a fight by putting up his own fight. Revolution may bring about a lasting change; the flip side is that people die in the process. But who wants to die for Nigeria? Those who put up a fight do so truly believing that their country is worth fighting and dying for.
I had asked an American friend if he would die for his country and he said; “My country has given me the base to a good life and I don't have a way to repay it enough for that. If I die fighting for this nation, it is a worthy death”. Why do thousands of Nigerian boys and girls enlist en-masse in the US military almost immediately they immigrate to the country? These young people are convinced that America is worth dying for. In Nigeria, joining the military was a suicide and fruitless mission to them.
Who wants to die for Nigeria? In the quarterly media chat with president Jonathan a couple of days ago, Nigerians wanted to know why he has not to date led an army of warriors against Boko Haram. My president responded: “If I should go close to Boko Haram territory, they will kill me.” I am sure that no one expects a sitting president to physically lead a platoon to claw down terrorists. Obama was in Washington DC when Osama Bin-Laden was killed, George W. Bush was playing golf in Texas when Sadam Hussein was caught and executed.
But the answer GEJ gave still chants this question harder: Who wants to die for Nigeria? Even for the man who presides over 170 million Nigerians home and abroad, who possesses a potent authority over an expanse of land that measures 923,768 km, a GDP of about 500 billion Dollars, active duty personnel in three armed services, totaling approximately 200,000 troops and 300,000 paramilitary personnel with military equipment of small arms, artillery, missiles and recoilless rifles, armored vehicles, and air defense, and the leader of the giant of Africa, voluntary death is not an option.
Who wants to die for Nigeria? Definitely not the man or woman from the hamlet of Ogoni whose river has been polluted, whose land has been seized, and whose oil is stolen daily and its proceeds locked up in the hands of strangers. . Not that man from the rustic region of Bayelsa or the woman from slumbering village of Yenagoa, or the young man from the defiled and pillaged townships of Delta. Not the guy who graduated with a 1st class from the University, but has to work as a measly chauffeur to unlearned billionaire opportunists who are hooked up to some big goons in government. Not the young man whose friends and loved ones got trampled to death at the Abuja stadium in search of paltry jobs they had hoped would give them life; not those hopeless unemployed who believe that their leaders have driven the country to an ignominious, ominous, and perilous precipice. Not those citizens who know that it is the Nigerian genome for our culprit leaders and their privies not to take responsibility for their irresponsibility.
There is no voluntary foot-soldier who wants his life eviscerated for Nigeria because everyone is already dying of an illness called NIGERIA. Many are dying of Nigeria that has almost become a killer-disease. Poor villagers and city-dwellers are dying daily of avoidable deaths. It’s like death lives in Nigeria and pounding on the nation with frequent, tumultuous guerilla visitations. Nigeria is seen by Nigerians as an affliction, a sickening bad-breath that will make you disgorge, a belch from the gastro-intestine of hell, and a country furbelowed with deliberate disapprobation and depravity. Many all around the world believe we are like the axis of tragedy, horror and infamy, an amalgamate of mess, degeneracy and turpitude. Who wants to die for Nigeria? Not the loved ones of those innocent girls yanked off their bunk-beds at midnight and taken into a forest while our leaders opt for shameless fiestas.
The reactions from some of our leaders to the reprehensible abduction of our girls are not believed to be from the heart but an after-thought verbal emission of garbage meant only to deceitfully pacify an angry and befuddled citizenry. We now see crooked crocodile tears that dry off as soon as they are shed, and hypocritical promises of help that touched down too late in a Hollywood/Nolywood melodramatic show of shamelessness.
Our leaders’ minds are depraved. People die for countries that exist for them, not for a few segregated sacred cows that God will eventually take to the abattoir of an inevitable judgment. My friend Joel Nwokeoma had asked this same question on his Facebook page and a woman retorted that Nigerians have already “over-died’ with the prevalent general inhuman and harsh economic climate. Nigerians are done dying because there is nothing else living in them.
People don’t know where to hide from the menace. A report by the Human Rights Watch says “oil revenues have been misused, undermining democracy” up to $20 billion missing within 19 months, and anyone expect some Nigerians to volunteer to die while others loot and live? These oil revenues are supposed to provide all of us amenities that will give the people a good life.
It is an understatement that both the glad and the sad in Nigeria may not be prepared to lay down their lives for the nation which is now on life-support. Dying for a country actually means sacrificing for same. Millions of us love Nigeria but abhor our leaders’ behaviors. We are a nation of immeasurable and mind-boggling potentials; we can realize those potentials. Whatever we need to work we must work now while it is yet day, for the night is coming when no man can work.
Written by Dr FOLA OJO
Die for Nigeria. Hell NO.
ReplyDeleteOluyomi Odukoya
I will die for Nigeria but I'll have to die and wake up like 20m times first....
DeleteMsheeew! !!
SKDers pls advice me. Im pregnant for a married man that I love so much. He says I have to remove it but I dont want to, told him I don't mind being his 2nd wife. Please what do I do?
DeleteNKOTB
I've always said that nigerians cannot rebel, we like the good life too much.
DeleteIn my opinion, the only tribe than can come close to rebelling are the igbos. My people too like the bling bling life (no offence); I'm of yoruba descent.
Click my name for all your celebration cakes n cupcakes, cheers
Hell no, although i want Nigeria to be better but i can't die for Nigeria.
DeleteAnon, pls carry your cross and dont involve sdk family abeg. Mrs O
DeleteAnon 1:57 u better abort it otherwise oyo for u oh. But make sure u collect lots of money for the abortion as ur compensation for the wahala. Cause afterwards he might not want to have anything to do with you again.
DeleteLwkmd @Mrs O. Like seriously aunty pregnant mistress. What do u want from this distinguished platform? A cyber hug or a holy slap?
DeleteI tell u what, keep the baby and call his wife that you are pregnant for her hubby. Afterwards come here and feed us back. Mshew
not for this Nigerian, can't sacrifice my mortal being for this present day Nigeria
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
Atimes I wonder if some people are not really ashamed wen they sit at their closet to heap blames on the govt. If I may ask, who made Nigeria this way if not people like u n I. Gosh, Nig is terrible today is as a result of some of our actions. Cnt we for once open our eyes n see dt d little crimes we commit daily has been a contributing factor to all dis evil. Do u think anyone of u will be better than Jonathan if u were to be in his shoes.
DeleteU bribe school boards for ur kids to study certain courses eg paying upto a million naira in some statets uni in other to study medicine even wen we know d kid cnt study such course.
Some pay either using their body or money to get promotion.
Some bribe to get jobs wen dey know dt dey aint fit for it.
U forcefully take someones property wen u know it isn't urs.
Some ppl v secretly killed or pushed someone to their untimely death but when dy see jungle justice, they be d ist to get petrol.
U are quick to insult d armed forces, v u had an encounter with corrupt Nepa officials, Ncc, Varsity lectures, Lawyers, Doctors, Flight attendants, those producing fake drugs etc. Pls all dis corrupt personels we have here n there are they Jonathan, Buhari, IBB, Tinubu, Orji uzor n co. Pluck out d wood in ur eye before plucking out d one in ur brothers eye.
A better Nigeria today starts from u n I, n untill we stop this evil ourselves, I bet you Nigeria will be more miserable than today.
ANGELRAY SAYS
ReplyDeleteIf the president and his family cannot die for a country they have benefited from, is it me that will die for the country, abeg nobody should die for this country lets all remain the way we are. Shioooor.
Stupid comment
DeleteANGELRAY SAYS
ReplyDeleteIf the president and his family cannot die for a country they have benefited from, is it me that will die for the country, abeg nobody should die for this country lets all remain the way we are. Shioooor.
Those looting the nation should die for Nigeria.
ReplyDeleteWow!...I love this article...I have seen someone that warned his family members not to bury his body in Naija when he dies....but I still believe in Nigeria....maybe one day,our stories will change....
ReplyDeleteLeave stories and answer simple YES or NO. Story teller.
DeleteLinda can't believe u just typed that. OMG!!! There is hope for this country if linda eze can sound this positive and sane... And yes, I still believe in Nigeria. I got no other place to call home!
DeleteSummary pls
ReplyDeleteWait there..........lol
DeleteWait there..........lol
DeleteStella nigeria as a country hasn't done anything good for me , so why will I die for a country like that.
ReplyDeleteA country that won't appreciate my death. I would rather die for the UK
Dont get me wrong oh I still heart nigeria my country
CeeCee
Don't even know what to say. Such a profound article. The truth is as he has said it, for Nigeria to change, people must sacrifice their lives on the altar of revolution. But who? Who will die for Nigeria? I weep for this country because even I cannot answer in the affirmative. My heart is heavy. God help us.
ReplyDeleteAmen ooooo
DeleteSorry, I cannot and will not die for Nigeria.
ReplyDeleteAll my 20 something years on earth, I have NEVER benefited anything from Nigeria,Never!
Inshort,I'm in no mood to rant cos I have a lot on my mind right now...
Just know that I Genevieve cannot willingly die for Nigeria.
God forbid!!!
Chineke ekwela ihe ojoo!
Tufiakwa!
Biko don't ask this question again,na beg I dey beg.
Lmao @ Genny baby
DeleteNot I!
ReplyDeleteAll the corrupt politicians and family should die first for Nigeria!
We lack love... I pray that God deliver some Racist from tribal race!
ReplyDeleteSalt
The reason Nigerians join the US army is this: so they can become American citizens. This is the fastest and cheapest way. The Americans know us well, so they make them sign a 5 year contract first. The sad thing is most of them are placed at the war front, their citizenship certificates put on their coffins when they die. Nigerians do not want to dir period. They say its not easy etc, the leaders are bad, no one is ready to fight. The few who die fighting are not even celebrated. So why will others get up and fight. Have u seen the way Americans honor dead vetetans?until Nigerians are ready to die, that country would b stuck in poverty. People had to die for us to gt indepedence nw.
ReplyDeleteAlways check spelling before posting.
DeleteThe reason Nigerians join the US army is this: so they can become American citizens. This is the fastest and cheapest way. The Americans know us well, so they make them sign a 5 year contract first. The sad thing is most of them are placed at the war front, their citizenship certificates put on their coffins when they die. Nigerians do not want to dir period. They say its not easy etc, the leaders are bad, no one is ready to fight. The few who die fighting are not even celebrated. So why will others get up and fight. Have u seen the way Americans honor dead vetetans?until Nigerians are ready to die, that country would b stuck in poverty. People had to die for us to gt indepedence nw.
ReplyDeleteThe reason Nigerians join the US army is this: so they can become American citizens. This is the fastest and cheapest way. The Americans know us well, so they make them sign a 5 year contract first. The sad thing is most of them are placed at the war front, their citizenship certificates put on their coffins when they die. Nigerians do not want to dir period. They say its not easy etc, the leaders are bad, no one is ready to fight. The few who die fighting are not even celebrated. So why will others get up and fight. Have u seen the way Americans honor dead vetetans?until Nigerians are ready to die, that country would b stuck in poverty. People had to die for us to gt indepedence nw.
ReplyDeleteWhen we ain't BH boys that are ready to due for their faith. Hello No, I'm not ready to die Nigeria.
ReplyDeleteThe reason Nigerians join the US army is this: so they can become American citizens. This is the fastest and cheapest way. The Americans know us well, so they make them sign a 5 year contract first. The sad thing is most of them are placed at the war front, their citizenship certificates put on their coffins when they die. Nigerians do not want to dir period. They say its not easy etc, the leaders are bad, no one is ready to fight. The few who die fighting are not even celebrated. So why will others get up and fight. Have u seen the way Americans honor dead vetetans?until Nigerians are ready to die, that country would b stuck in poverty. People had to die for us to gt indepedence nw.
ReplyDeleteDie for Nigeria?
ReplyDeleteOn the cross of Calvary?
You got me in stitches...Crazy girl
DeletePraying For Nigeria. My father my God, the one that fetches water with with a basket to disgrace the bucket, the one that raises the poor from the pit and made him to sit with the rich, the one that made mama peace that cannot speak good english to become our first lady to disgrace pple who claims to be the Queen Elizbeth of this country. Hear my cry and save this country from evil men. Amen
ReplyDeleteNonsense! Fola why don't you lead the fight now? Join the army they need your expertise! I am not ready to die for Nigeria same as you, SDK and GEJ. The same northerner who brought this mess upon us ruled for 36 years and are the cause of this mayhem. Why don't you call them out, you think the market woman in port harcourt or the trader in onitsha is bothered about the politics happening in the north? You must be dunce for saying PEJ tears are crocodile tears. When Obj raided Odi, what did all you over night activist do about it? Nigeria unity is a joke that's the truth. The cry for these girls is more active in the media than it is in reality. Keep sitting bothering yourself over the oil money.
ReplyDeleteDa pada mehn. Ku bi bawo.(KJO) kojo rara. Can't even point one benefit to make me die4 dis country. Wil continue to pray.
ReplyDeleteOkay
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteHow can i die for a country that care less about the well being and security of its citizens which is meant to be the paramount obligation by the said government officials. But of course they rather prefer to toil with people's lives all because of politics and selfish desires. Its a pity that we weren't given the opportunity to choose where we come from, because Nigeria as a country with its leadership, is not an ideal place to have intelligent and blessed individuals who are still hoping for a better tomorrow.
ReplyDeletePlease tell Uncle Jona to die for Nigeria first,before asking the oppressed Nigerians. At least Mama Peace can afford to enjoy her widowood- my 2cents.
ReplyDeleteJesus has already paid the utmost sacrifice by dying on the cross so, no need for me trying to become a nigeria female Nelson Mandela but anyone willing to become one i will always have his/her back via prayer thingy.
ReplyDelete"A living Dog is better than a dead lion mbok" #Nice article though.
#BringBackOurGirls
*Prayer For Nigeria in Distress x10 Daily*
i
C
h
o
P
t
a
s
N
o
t
#prayerISgood»YES&AMEN!!!
The blood of the innocent that is been shed on a daily basis is enough sacrifice for this nation. As much as I would love to say it, this nation is not worth dying for. I'm so done with all the greedy politicians using the future to this county to satisfy their greed while the masses are out there toiling day and night and still can't get what they deserve. The rich getting richer, the poor languishing in poverty.#nufsaid
ReplyDeleteJust watched a video of wat d the chibok gals re passing thru I dont know if they are the onea but trust me too bad
ReplyDeletePlease share, tnx
DeleteI will gladly!!!
ReplyDeleteMe, die for Nigeria? Mbanu!! Never!!Jamais!! Those that have died in the line of duty e.g 100 security personnel that died in the line of duty and so many others, what has the government done for their families? NOTHING! A country where the President deems it fit to attend public functions and dance just after the tragic loss of lives of innocent civilians? No Ma'am, my life is too precious for that.
ReplyDeleteThank you
The question is: Is Nigeria worth dying for?
ReplyDeleteI don't even see Nigeria as a united country. How will people die for a fragmented nation? This is what makes Nigeria a country that will forever be in a state of flux, at the core of its issues is a fragmented people.
This comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteStella, how far na, any news on who is snatching who? who is combing who?
ReplyDeletewho is washing who?
Hahahahahaha...
DeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteAll I can say is that there are better days ahead.
ReplyDelete@anon May 8, 2014 at 1:57 PM may the wrath of his wife come down and strike you. bloody walking std of a human being.
ReplyDeleteNot me
ReplyDeleteSelfish Nigerians. The police and army that due everyday from BH and other religious or tribal or ethnic feuds in every nook and cranny of this country that nobody knows nor care about nko.
ReplyDeleteAbi na d police offer that they won't promote ontop 10yrs of service him go still be corporal meanwhile him mates for civil service or even private sector go know which level him don reach after that many years in service.
Then una go dey wait make police be una friend. If him die in such manner u know how much his family gets?
Them don even pay salary and allowances finish sef.
The Nigeria police is under staffed.
Wonder why our men work better abroad? Nigerians are motivated by money.
I doubt that these "BH staff" aren't well sorted out o else y haven't they come out with any real demands like every organization in Nigeria.
From NGO to Nollywood all dey find government money to loot.
I tire to type jor
Seriously I can't or even think of laying my life for Nigeria..what ve I gained from being a Nigeria all my life?? Nothing!! There are soo many personal family issues that we ve gone through all because of this same Nigerian Govt and even if God comes from heaven(sowi to say this) I can never and I repeat never on this planet earth think of dying for NIGERIA..I would rather die for Ghana or even Togo..how many human lives has Nigeria taken,is it not enough already?? Infact stella,instead of me to die and Nigeria will then be better;let me live more and see whateva is destined for Nigeria..even the devil himself will blame me for making that useless decision.. NOTE:u just can't know the problem with being a Nigerian until u grow up!!!!!!!!
ReplyDeleteI told an Abiola that Kudirat and MKO died for nothing when they died for democracy. I thought she would be offended but surprisingly she agreed. Not worth it.