US marines are in Nigeria to help the country’s security services tackle increasing threats, TheCable understands. Nigeria is playing host to the 7th World Economic Forum Africa in Abuja today amid heightened security challenges. The summit is expected to be attended by over 10 heads of state and government as well as over 900 delegates from 70 countries. Presidents of Algeria, Benin, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Mali Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Tanzania and Togo have confirmed attendance.
Former British Prime Minister, Gordon Brown, and former President of Brazil, Lula da Silva, are expected to attend. Also, over 50 chief executives of big global corporations have confirmed attendance. However, because of recent blasts in Nyanya – on the outskirts of Abuja – there have been heightened fears of a possible terror attack during the summit.
Nigerian government has been assuring the world that it would provide maximum security, announcing a complete shut-down of schools and government offices during the summit. TheCable reported on Tuesday that a 6,000-strong personnel, made up of soldiers and other security agents, will be deployed in Abuja – the heaviest security for a summit in Nigeria. The US marines have already arrived the country, according to sources in the know of their movement.
“They are not going to be directly involved in the World Economic Forum event,” a senior American security source told TheCable. “Their brief is to train the Nigerian security services. It should be expected that Nigerian agents will handle the security of the summit.” The marines are highly specialised soldiers who have been deployed in areas affected by serious conflict and terrorism, such as Afghanistan and Iraq.
They are described in Wikipedia as “an amphibious, expeditionary, air-ground combined arms task force, capable of forcible entry from the air, land, and sea. It is capable of asymmetric warfare with conventional, irregular, and hybrid forces.
While the Marine Corps does not employ any unique combat arms, as a force it can rapidly deploy a combined-arms task force to almost anywhere in the world within days.”
Meanwhile, TheCable has learnt that some of the extra security measures for the summit include:
Immediate deployment of the high security operation as against previous plans to deploy them from Tuesday Expansion of secure zone perimeters at key locations (initially limited to 250 metres radius) Additional security at venues, Abuja airport and key roads, as well as on dedicated shuttle services to and from the airport and between venues.
Ghen ghen. Let the action begin. The marshals have landed
ReplyDeleteSee secret licking! So Nigeria leaders no fit keep their big mouth shout? Must they reveal every infor? What are shm. Brainless leaders!
DeleteSalt
Dey are welcome and i hope they are able to help. Pls aunty Stella and my fellow blog visitors pray for me to have confidence as i step in to defend my project cos am tensed.I go speak french tire today. Lol.
DeleteAnon 10:27 AM, did you read the post before commenting?? Or you just waking up from sleep?? Smh
DeleteDu courage Uzo,Que dieu aidez vous. EVE E UME
DeleteMerci Madame.
DeleteOur shameless armed forces will see real action now. All those big bellied generals etc will see REAL generals! Action begins! Boko now shaking on its boots!
DeleteLet Nigerian security operatives be working together with the US marines very harmoniously and in an ambience of conviviality in an unstoppable desire in taking this country to the next level.
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
Which Nigeria security are u talking about? Is the one's who will betray the US marshals? May God help us in the country.
DeleteSalt
Hope our oil wil be safe
ReplyDeletemy dear na d issue be dat oo....has any1 studied d us govt dey av no concrete natural resources dats why dem dey quick to go on rescue mission nd afta d rescue mission dey loot dat country's economic/finances....look@libya...
Delete"If they touch our oil, "na nigerians go even pursue them, no be govt.
DeleteKeep shut! USA is No 1 in Natural gas & by 2015 amongst No1 in oil too. They have too much oil. Ungrateful Nigerian. The marines are putting their lives on the line.
DeleteVery ungrateful!!! Smh @Nigerians be like they have come to take our oil...as if every gets benefits from the resource... we should appreciate people who out their lives out there for us to be safe. Period!!! If them like make them relocate oil go America... I don't care!!! afterall I don't owe naija govt a dime. My parents played the role of govt in my life#pissed
DeleteYeye smell follow u patt, na oil matter we they talk now? Brainless Nigerian wey no want peace....
DeleteSalt
Thanks @ Ivie.
DeleteWell spoken/written.
101%.
#Ungrateful
Ehe! Now they are talking! Hope they get full info of the naija trainees! Cos bokoharam can be tactical at times! They might be drawing plans on how to include their members among those to be trained! If this happens God forbid! Then they can counter the plan easily. God help us!
ReplyDeleteWill they leave after the summit?or are they here to help us with these situation we are in???
ReplyDeleteOk. They came cos of WEFA?
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmm
Thanks for coming
Gbam now this is what am.talking about, nice one,thank You Lord,the bad people shall be destroyed like osama
ReplyDeletechei!!! action film...ghen ghen!!! but on a more serious note sha, i can't believe my dear country has gotten to this point. it is well with us. #bringbackourgirls...
ReplyDeleteNow should we be happy US is here?#confused face#hope this won't turn out a Greek gift'!well,they are welcome.may God help Nigeria
ReplyDeleteWonder what they will demand in exchange for this.
ReplyDeleteOnye mmeri Jesus onye mmeri, Jesus onye mmeri, nani gi ga achi.
Well they will want some oil blocks. Too small a price to pay when compared to the fact Boko wants to kill us. It is better we give them some oil than die.
DeleteBest news in a while!
ReplyDeleteYAAAY!
ReplyDeleteSounds like something from a detective movie, I love detective stories n movies...EEE!!!
ReplyDeleteAnd we were all over CNN yesterday.
ReplyDeleteThey trashed/dissected Naija like wetin sef?
Wole Soyinka was even interviewed live on CNN.
My goodness that man is blessed with diction and a sexy deep voice to crown it.
I fell in love instantly
Have you CUM?? Smh
DeleteYeah! Dats what we r talking about! Our girls wil soon be home! Yaaaahhhh!
ReplyDeleteAnd what will this cost us? Oil,years of slavery? God knows. The US gives nothing for free.
ReplyDeleteAnd what has their not coming cost us? Years of tension,killings,rape,arson n bombs.
DeleteCOME MARINES COME
Nne, if its oil, make dem collect small. Afterall we wey get am, how has it helped the owners of the oil except for a selected few. Slavery? Have we not been reduced to that level with the level of corruption in this country. Abeg make dem help us deal with this rascals bcos it crosses to another level.
DeleteAbeg, make them help us fix our weak institutions that the elites have wrecked - you know, like the courts, police, etc.
DeletePls lord help us bring back our girls safely. With another fresh attack killing about 300 pple in this same Borno state. I don't know wat to say again. These wicked souls just wanna wipe out the whole state. #praying #Lordtakecontrol.
ReplyDeleteWhere's General Victor Malu? He should come & eat his words.The united states warrned us several years ago that this would happen & that they wanted to help us by setting up AFRICOM.Gen.Malu,the then chief of Army or defence staff said No.That it would compromise our security & sovereingty.Now, do we have a choice? Thank God jare that they are here.Let us learn how some things are done.There's no harm in being taught.
ReplyDeleteWhile we have the attention of the Americans and the British, we should not fail to use the opportunity to ask for help in other areas we have failed, notably lack of adequate power, collapsed infrastructure, non-functioning educational system, etc.
DeleteThe opportunity we have now is a once in a life time opportunity. The world's eye is focused on Nigeria and we can get really any assistance we ask for from the international community. Let's make use of the ones in a lifetime opportunity.
JJ. U for kukuma ask them to take over our country na. Slave trade continua. Abeg let them do the security bit and leave us. Am embarrassed that it even got to this stage..but eh. To now ask them to do all u mentioned is taking it too far. GEJ should sort his shit out or gerouuttttt
DeleteFrom everything stated above;it actually seems like they are just here for the summit after which they are to return back to the U.S. Or will they still stay back to face our security challenges??
ReplyDeleteEmmm ogbeni,what's the clause? EVE E UME
ReplyDeletemust they reveal all infos to the world,bt come to think of it boko myt even have an insider dt givs info sef...bt i so blive in US Marshals dey re badder than the baddest...boko una don enter am..if boko is expecting to see white soldiers in the bush to attack dey'll be shocked @d killing cos they are good @ camouflages,dey wil paint dia face n bodies to be black so dey'll look like nigerians..i'm so loving thiss..its more interesting nw..dey shld kill all bokos,riff-raffs bokos..God bless UNITED STATE AND PLS BLESS MY COUNTRY..Diaz no place like home
ReplyDeleteThe G.I JOE are here.
ReplyDeleteChai! Chai!! Chai!!!
ReplyDeleteI wish say na only na that guy wey hold magazine waka com......I for ride am d way a hobo rides a bus car.....but I don marry ......and there is godu oooo.......
you and fuck mata
DeleteA step in the right direction. This just seems like a movie. All these happenings in Nigeria. But I don wake up smell coffee. It is actually a reality. Please more grease to their elbows as they help us tackle these scallywags.
ReplyDelete@mamie u fell in love keh forgetting he's Yoruba? Pls let's all stop complaining about what US want in return.. stop criticising and let them help us. After all we don't enjoy the oil; its still sold to Nigerians @ high price plus the rich are the only ones chopping the oil bunkery money.. US Marine una welcome o.. TJ
ReplyDeleteThey can take our oyel if they want, if that is what will make this boko madness stop. The oyel wey we get and we dey still import. Hope they are not here to just train and go, they should be part of the implementation process. Infact.. they should do on-the-job training.
ReplyDeleteDear Anon, our country's economic finances are already being looted by our leaders, and they can't even keep their pple safe. If the US can help restore some kind of peace to us, it may be worth it. Pple are saying that they will steal our oil, ok, is this new? We are forever dealing with petrol scarcity, yet we are an oil producing nation. We have been deprived and cheated since forever. God help us all.
ReplyDeleteI just heaved a sigh of relief. I see victory over the insurgents in the horizon.
ReplyDeleteYup!
ReplyDeleteThe boys are here!
Love it
We should not be ashamed to ask for help.
ReplyDeleteTechnically I'm more scared of d US govt. handshake than shekau's bombs. Just saying.
ReplyDeleteNa sit down look i dey so. All is well that ends well.
ReplyDeleteAnonymous May 7, 2014 at 11:50 AM; just to correct you, the USA can't have more gas than a Middle Eastern country like Iran or Saudi Arabia. The country doesn't have more than even Russia. They are number 5 or 6 on the list. They don't have too much oil and their oil is not enough. That is why oil importation is heavy. When you have too much oil, you export which the country doesn't do yet. In 2015, it could all change.
ReplyDeleteThis is a step in the right direction. I just cringe at our messed up system that they'll meet. Well, hopefully they'll be able to help set-up and implement some things that will endure and set us up to be better able to cope with this Boko Haram menace.
ReplyDeleteWelcome guys!!! Go marine!!!
ReplyDeleteAlloy, shut up. I don't know if you practicing poetry or what..thanks for the laughs though.
ReplyDeleteBittersweet news, so sad it took world economic forum for them to be deployed. Ah well, better late than never.
Stop talking bout oil, is the oil bettering any of you in Nigeria? Whose lives is the oil improving? Not even free education up to high school is available for all citizens, I won't even touch healthcare. Oil have brought nothing but chaos, disharmony, and kept the poor poorer for generations. At least US citizens have the chance to be somebody in their own land and they don't have to keep seeking greener pastures in other countries.
Hahahaha see you all shouting about oil. Are you seeing the dividends of the oil. Delusional people. I bet you these boys are already in action, they are not like your military that announce every step. Mark my words, they 're already on the job.
ReplyDeleteWelcome guys... I just had a sigh of relief. Now there is hope.
ReplyDeletePls they shud go and pitch their tent in borno were the real wahala is.....a good step though
ReplyDeleteLet them come and take our oil,if possible they shud take us too,what have we been doing with our oil all this while...shameful country.