Monday, May 26, 2014

Uche Nnaji Floors CMB’S Mbagwu In Court.

A Lagos High Court sitting at Ikeja delivered a landmark judgment on Wednesday, May 7, 2014 in a fundamental rights action instituted by Mr. Uche Nnaji (designer and owner of Ouch Fashion and Lifestyle) and his wife, Onyinye Nnaji against the trio of Inspector-General of Police, Commissioner of Police, Lagos State and Mr. Kelechukwu Mbagwu, Managing Director of CMB Building Maintenance and Investment Company Limited, over the breach of their fundamental rights. 

The couple had sought to restrain the respondents from further harassment and intimidation, as well as compensation for the consummated breaches of their right to liberty. As would be recalled, there was this frenzy all over the social media throughout mid-December of 2013 and early January of 2014 with news of arrest and detention of the Ouch boss by men of the State Intelligence Bureau (SIB) allegedly at the behest of Mr. Kelechuckwu Mbagwu. 

From the court papers filed by Mr. Fidel Albert of the firm of Aes Triplex LP, on behalf of the Nnajis, it was alleged that Mr. Kelechukwu Mbagwu had instigated the Lagos State Commissioner of Police  to arrest and detain the Ouch boss for the simple reason that Onyinye Nnaji, then a staff of Mr. Mbagwu’s company, allegedly rebuffed his sexual demands, and later resigned on account of this. 

According to Mr. Nnaji’s affidavit filed in court, this incident is said to have occurred barely 3 weeks after Onyinye’s wedding to Uche. Mbagwu was said to have been incensed by Onyinye’s resignation. Thus, according to the court documents, began a series of sustained pressure by Mbagwu to have Onyinye back in the company, as she was known to be a star employee who had brought in millions of naira in sales. 

After several phone calls and incessant demands for meetings in private locations with Onyinye, she was alleged to have finally sent a text message to Mr. Mbagwu, begging him to leave her and her family alone. Based on the text, Mr. Mbagwu approached the Commissioner of Police, Lagos State, with a petition of threat to life, by the Nnajis. 

The COP dispatched his officers to  arrest Uche Nnaji . Upon receiving a telephone call from the officers inviting him to the station, Uche Nnaji, on December 6, 2013, willingly went to the SIB office in Ikeja to find out what the matter was only to be arrested and detained till the next day, December 17, 2013. Mr. Nnaji and his wife applied to the High Court of Lagos State to protect their fundamental rights, and after the Police had been served with all the processes in court and had been advised by Mr. Fidel Albert, counsel to the Nnajis, through a letter dated January 27, 2014 that the matter was subjudice and would be coming up before Ogunsaya J., for hearing on January 31, 2014. 

Eventually, they charged Mrs. Nnaji before a magistrate court in Ikeja, on a charge of threat to life. It took an order of the High Court of Lagos State to temporarily restrain the Police. In its judgment, the High Court upbraided the Police for their conduct in the whole matter. 

The court further held that even if the Police are conferred with powers to arrest and detain suspects, such powers are not absolute and must be exercised within the confines of Section 35 of the Constitution. 

The Police were restrained from further harassing the couple and directed to forthwith withdraw the charge pending against Mrs. Nnaji at the Magistrate’s Court. Mbagwu, meanwhile, has since appealed the judgement.....Yes!!!

*I pray they settle this matter once and for all,its really dragging.

50 comments:

1. To long for my consumption....

1. Dis boy go n do sumtin wit ur life,always on blogs commenting rubbish. No sense @ all. If u have nuttin to say pls STFU.u r just sooooo stupid. Always misyarnin. Ur own stupidity and foolishness is on anoda level.... I must contribute. Idiot wanna be.

2. @eddreamz - see why you should be in school? What's too long to read in that well- written, spaced and paragraphed article...

Smh for this generation....

3. Chei that old man miss that sweet Toto, he no want let a go

2. Igbo men and sexual harassment!!! I personally suffered so much in their hands, and if you refuse them their ego is wounded so badly that they seek ALL MEANS to destroy you.

1. Its sad. Yoruba men as well. I've been a victim at my former workplace smh.

2. sexual harrassment is not tribal........

3. You are right but we igbo's wnt go to the extent of killing u if u refuse, Hausa men are d worst, if I mention name here u go run.

4. Do you work at kashamu office?

5. Anon 4:26, sexual harassment has nothing to do with tribe.
      Sexual harassment in the workplace- click my name to read more and share your experience.

3. Sex! Sex! Sex!!! Every where!
    Can't people just do something else with their lives??!!!
    Hhhhmmmm ooooooo......!
    It is just too overrated abeg.
    GBN.
    Paragon7ven.

4. Thank God 4 them. If other cases should be handled this way, then we still 've hope. #justice#

5. I am happy for the young couple.. Oga mbagwu please face your family!!

6. The Nigerain Police is the worst in the world.Once they have their palm greased the case changes direction.Money talks and I refuse to be one of the downtrodden so I work hard for it.I hate pity parties now the CMB boss will b looking to grease palms in the judiaciary for the next round of drama

7. God is still a faithful God, Oyinye told u dis will surely pass!!

8. The Nigerian Police Force need to be enlightened on the provisions of the Nigerian Constitution.They just arrest indiscriminately and detain people for days whether it is a capital offence or not without charging the person to court as stipulated by law..Bunch of ignoramus.

Btw, What a shameless and pathetic boss!

9. STELLLAA please what do you know about Linda Edozien living with Tony Anenih Jr. now? That he's left Eseosa. Please my ears are burning, the gist na WA

10. Queen Linda Eze abeg who make you boss of sdk blog?

11. Nawa o! so Kelechi Mbagwu really went tis far using the police to harrass this young couple. I cannot imagine what people who dont have money or clout like Uche would have gone through in his hands. Men like Mbagwu should hide in shame

12. That kelechi mbagwu is a good for nothing pedophile! Why won't he live the nnaji's alone! Kelechi go and take several seats! I wonder how his wife copes with such a fool!

13. Who s saying Igbo men?yorubas nko!first time in one's office,he was already demanding sex nd promising heavens to me.....nobi Nysc fault....foolish nd smelling faggots.

1. *smh* @ you ...why go tribal too?

14. Kelechi Mbagwu is an animal. He uses police to harass people and he is notorious for sleeping with his female staff....He is not to he trusted!

15. God pls help Uche ooooo.

16. Uche should just start getting ready for war because the Kelechukwu Mbagwu we know will take this matter up to the supreme court,seeing he is already Appealing the judgement of the high court . i can bet this man has over 10 court cases in Lagos courts including with my uncle who dragged him to court3years ago over non-existing land he sold to him at NB Plc.and shame to the Lagos police commissioner for allowing Mbagwu mess him up

17. This comment has been removed by the author.

1. Hater....hian!! Mbagwu de chop u give u money, abi? Fear God oh

Whatever went down, he should leave them alone and go fight his mates.... anybody can resign from anywhere at any time, no be war!!!

2. Give us gist abeg. Spill it out and forever be blessed.

3. Chidinma darling, don't let anybody intimidate you out of this blog. Simply come under anonymous and spill. I love you but no homo tins

18. Chidinma u are f****ing frustrated, ofcourse u knw what went down cos obviously U r always under d yeye Mr kelechi doing d needful ode oshi, mumu get a life. Oyinye is happily married to a young promising man so shoot urself. #team Nnajis#

19. Na so Kelechi dey sleep with everybody for that office! Even the men they fear to talk to the girls bcos of Kelechi! Bukky, you better be careful! Your turn go soon come and your fowl ****** go open!

20. Nnajis lawyer must be a brilliant!

21. I really wish the nnaji best of luck on the fight... And also a lesson to the other female employees who are still there".. Nakiru ok eke, aka Kiki, bukola Lovett olowo aka bukyonce, and I also heard biola Marthin ogunrinde is back to cmb, I wonder what she was thinking.... May she not end up like the nnajis Amen

22. I really wish the nnaji best of luck on the fight... And also a lesson to the other female employees who are still there".. Nakiru ok eke, aka Kiki, bukola Lovett olowo aka bukyonce, and I also heard biola Marthin ogunrinde is back to cmb, I wonder what she was thinking.... May she not end up like the nnajis Amen

23. I really wish the nnaji best of luck on the fight... And also a lesson to the other female employees who are still there".. Nakiru ok eke, aka Kiki, bukola Lovett olowo aka bukyonce, and I also heard biola Marthin ogunrinde is back to cmb, I wonder what she was thinking.... May she not end up like the nnajis Amen

24. All those girls wey dey work for the company gan! what are they waiting for? they suppose don run comot o! THE FEAR OF KELECHI!

25. Bukola Lovette Olowo aka Bukyonce...Bukola Mama! Your own don be!! Your's will soon come out in the open! When you were in Ibadan, you were not like this o! u don change finish! dey sleep around like Dog! Keep following ur MD u hear! sleep with him! Keep sleeping around ! i have videos of you and with time! with time!!!!!!!!!!! God will Judge you and that your STUPID NKIRU FRIEND! Goat! Ashawo Oshi! mscheww!

26. They knew what they were bargaining for... Kele had sex with them at the same time bukyonce Kiki, etc... That was their interview and they passed very well, ope became Kele pa biola got jealous and refused to work there, now ope is out biola is back in....after marriage ow desperate can that be. CMB chicks mean business. Kele Mbagwu will be a stigma in these girls lives,

27. Kele had sex with them at the same time bukyonce Kiki? I KNOW BUKYONCE would have won! The girl buru gan! She dey vex when it comes to Bedmatics! There is none like her! Im talking from experience....hehehehehehe! Infact! i almost leav my wife for the girl! But God pass am! ....lol..

Bukola no mind dem jare! u too good! Ash!...shhhh!!!!!!!!!!

28. Who the hell is Bukyonce and Kiki...Na only them dey the office? abeg introduce me to them nah!...lol... but if they are reading this...and want to get in touch...pls holla at i.....@yahoo.com...lol..

29. Make una leave those girls alone jor! na only them dey do those kind things? they are using what they "have" to get better thing! Se bi dem get car! Who do u think got it? The MD of course! Free them abeg!

30. Who is this Fool @June 3, 2014 at 4:11 PM

So you want them to go around Prostituting themselves abi? Useless Idiots! Kiki and Bukola! If you know what is good for you! Repent and stop sleeping around with men! it will lead you nowhere! AIDS IS REAL! I just pity the men you have already slept with! Bunch of Useless idiots!

31. This is not new to us the same bastard kelechi Mbagwu is presently dragging some land with our neighbors at panti street where he has gone to forge land documents and he claims to know the chief of army staff and that Reuben abati is his in law

32. Kelechi Mbagwu is just too dubious,has not integrity in business,people are beclouded be his show of pseudo affluence,he is vindictive and callous.ask him why proper team sued him.My advise for him is to delta his ways,else!my name is Bayo Ogunro....you no I am not cajoled by your threats...Na only you waka come!!