STATE HOUSE PRESS STATEMENT
PRESIDENT JONATHAN CONDEMNS JOS BOMB BLASTS, APPROVES MORE MEASURES TO STRENGTHEN FIGHT AGAINST TERRORISM
President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan strongly condemns the bomb blasts in Jos, Plateau state, today, describing the perpetrators of this tragic assault on human freedom as cruel and evil. He has also directed all relevant agencies to mobilise support and relief efforts in aid of the victims. The President extends his heartfelt sympathies to the affected families and persons.
President Jonathan assures all Nigerians that government remains fully committed to winning the war against terror, and this administration will not be cowed by the atrocities of enemies of human progress and civilization.
President Jonathan has also expressed Nigeria’s deepest appreciation to the international community on the success of the recent Summit in Paris on the security situation in Nigeria hosted by the President of France, H.E. Francois Hollande.
He reaffirms Nigeria’s commitment to the implementation of the resolutions reached by the Summit, in addition to existing measures already being taken by the administration to combat terrorism and ensure the safety of lives.
President Jonathan states that the Federal Government of Nigeria is prepared to strengthen existing mechanisms to ensure the immediate implementation of the resolutions of The Summit, among which are:
- That every necessary measure should be taken to find the school girls abducted by Boko Haram terrorists from Government Girls’ Secondary School, Chibok, Borno State on 14th April 2014;
- That Nigeria and other countries in the sub-region will continue to co-operate and co-ordinate efforts to combat the Boko Haram menace.
- That the Heads of State have agreed that each country will contribute one battalion of troops to the international force set up to patrol the border areas, in line with the Resolution of the Lake Chad Basin Commission. France, United States of America and the United Kingdom will extend technical assistance to achieve this objective;
- That the countries will come together to put in place an effective border management regime;
- That no effort will be spared to stop the proliferation of small arms and light weapons and the supply of arms and equipment made available to terrorists.President Jonathan considers these measures very useful aspects of the concerted international effort to combat terrorism and put an end to the Boko Haram menace. In addition, the President, in Abuja, today, directed relevant government agencies to ensure enhanced implementation of the following programmes in the areas affected by Boko Haram atrocities:(i) Emergency relief assistance: The intensification of on-going relief assistance programmes by the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA)) in partnership with donor agencies. The programme will ensure rapid deployment of relief assistance to the affected local government areas and communities. This will include provision of food supplies, medical supplies, basic relief commodities, and conditional cash transfer programmes for affected households;(ii) Rapid needs assessment: To support additional intervention programmes in the region, the President has also directed that on-going rapid needs assessment by government agencies should be accelerated to identify affected communities and households and assess the extent of damage to public and private infrastructure, amongst others.(iii) Safety of schools: President Jonathan has also reiterated Nigeria’s determination to ensure the safety and security of schools in Borno and other parts of the country and also provide counselling services to any affected students to enable them return to school and continue with their academic work.Furthermore, the Federal Government of Nigeria will rebuild the Chibok School and fortify security in schools. In collaboration with the UN Secretary-General’s Envoy on Education, former British Prime Minister Gordon Brown and the private sector, the government will launch the “Safe Schools Initiative” which will address security issues; re-build the destroyed schools; and provide equipment and materials.Reuben AbatiSpecial Adviser to the President(Media and Publicity)
Always condemning, No Action.
ReplyDeleteDia ris God
#ChiefCondemner#...always condemning . God help us
Deleteplz e should do somtin instead of dis epistle.......
Deletehis Nation is sick, enough of this ! Haba..... God help dis country
DeleteGod help my dear country
ReplyDelete......and that is all he will do!
ReplyDeleteThis has way gone beyond this man!God pls where are u?#sobs
Set up committee to investigate the bomb blast.
ReplyDeleteSame story everyday.
If you're in Naija n thinking cos this is just happening up north,you're safe n it isn't your business
Think again!!
When there are no more people to bomb again in the north,they'd turn to your region.
Start protesting wherever you are!
Condemn evil
Condemn Islam
Condemn terrorism
Condemn boko haram
U think u're safe wherever u are? Lol...joker.
DeleteStory story.......story!!
ReplyDeleteAlways condemning...too long a tale..RIP to the victims..ndi igbo wey still dey ugwu awusa wetin una still dey do there..
ReplyDeleteIf we come ala igbo,you go feed us with our families?
DeleteOk stay there now! Boko boys will feed you. Ewu awusa
DeleteMr President, always condenming. Start acting.
ReplyDeleteGod, pls save ur children.
ReplyDeleteSalt
Whatelse can he say?
ReplyDeleteAnnouncing number of causualties & death of lost ones look as if we are talking of chickens. May God help us IJN
Am so sad bout this..
ReplyDeleteThat's my home town mehn!!!
Am f**king tired of this country...
I hate Naija...
Jonathan shld step down biko,
ReplyDeleteIf e az our best interest at heart.
The killings is getting outta hand.
E shld follow d steps of the korean president who signed his resignation after a disater in his country.
Jonathan plz step down ooo, this is way beyond u.
And innocent ppl are d 1s taking d fall.
Swallow ur pride n step down.
All dis riko-riko wey abati dey write,
No be 2day e don tey.
And still no changes.
To BH,
U are cowards! U go to parks n public places, to ambush defenseless ppl.
Y not go to our govt ouzs, or go to aso rock, n level such places,n bring dem down.
Y torment innocent ppl?
God help us to achieve all these and more. But right now, I think we civilians need to be security conscious as much as we can. From what I gathered, the two vehicles were parked since morning and it drew the attention of people. Hours later the twin bombs exploded. The casualty level increased to over 100. Why would people on suspecting something wrong still stay close to the area? Some things can easily be avoided in terms of the no of deaths! The more I ask questions, the more confused and frustrated I get! I pray for the repose of the souls of the departed. Again, God help us.
ReplyDeleteYet, before they take a step they invite the media to pick word2word and make a publication. I'm tired seriously.
ReplyDeleteGoodluck Jonathan. ...Fuck You!!!
ReplyDeleteAlways condemning! Watched d CP of Jos, Chris Olakpe say d total dead bodies are 46...just like that! God grant them eternal rest..#Oluwa shanu
ReplyDeleteThis man is tired..... may God have mercy. RIP to the victims
ReplyDeleteMon Dieu!! Just can't sleep, my neighbour hasn't returned yet , her number is still not reachable.......she left for terminus this afternoon!
ReplyDeleteAwww. I hope she's okay. However, it would be wise to prepare your mind for any eventuality.
DeleteFinally found her in the hospital this morning. Though badly hurt, she is ALIVE
DeleteMay God make it easy for her and expose the evil ppl behind this. They are definitely not Muslims because this is not the teachings of d quran
DeleteThere is God indeed and he will judge boko haram and BABANGIDA who is sponsoring them. Everything God has created for the comfort of man will begin to fight against you.BABANGIDA,your generation will never know peace, the wrath of God will befall u and ur generation yet unborn and u will be utterly disgraced as you've decided to wage a war against Nigerians, it will not be well with yoU in Jesus name!!!
ReplyDeleteJudge not lest you be judged! do you have proof it's him? If it's indeed him,is it not negligence on the man at the top not to have put him in chains by now? Do we still need that kind of leader?
DeleteJudge not lest you be judged! do you have proof it's him? If it's indeed him,is it not negligence on the man at the top not to have put him in chains by now? Do we still need that kind of leader?
DeleteLord have Mercy, Naija is no more safe o. This is terrible. # Scared
ReplyDeleteFor once, I feel sorry for GEJ.
ReplyDeleteBoko Haram are crased out fellows.
Rest in Peace to the dead.
Dear Lord, help Nigeria!
God heal my land
ReplyDeleteAbeg e don do joor! If you no fit coach the team,allow another, better prepared coach come do the job.Every week we dey loose match! Mtcheeeeew!
ReplyDeleteNigeria my Nigeria... I still trust God.
ReplyDeleteThis man should just step down n allow à man with balls to steer d affairs of dis nation! Tired of press releases,tired of committees being set up,tired of empty words,tired of dis man's inactivity! God pls help us!PLEASE!
ReplyDeleteLet me tell you, gej is the best president that has ruled this country. Having being a vice governor, governor, Vice President and president, he is the most educationally qualified person to rule. Problem is very few Nigerians see this. No jona will not step down because as far as I am concerned come 2015, I will still vote for him. He will be the only president to rule for 3 terms. Just watch!
DeleteIf not for international pressure, jona would have left the northerns to kill themselves without him lifting a finger since they have said they are born to rule while the rest of Nigeria is born to follow. Jona has ruled and is still ruling this country in the most diplomatic way possible.
God will punish babangida and all those sponsoring bokoharm just because a south south man is the president.
Alys condemning,no actions watsoeva,sighs. EVE E UME
ReplyDeleteWhen the Chief of Defence Staff complained about the Minister of Defence, Jonathan was only concerned about 2015. He has allowed himself to be encircled by a Fulani NSA, Defence Minister and a Police IG. Karma is a bitch, all they did to OBJ is now coming back to hunt them. GEJ needed somebody who could stand by him in tough times. This was what OBJ stood for. I pity for GEJ today because he has lost the battle.
ReplyDeletePlease, this is no time to crucify the President. I have no good feelings for him, neither do I have any bad intentions against him. I just see him as the Head of the country. But at this stage, the man is helpless just like the rest of us. The soilders who are getting killed everyday by these evil doers are human with families like us. All we can do right now is to pray and fast for Nigeria. For it is only God that can deliver us. RIP to all the victims.
ReplyDeleteAs usually#on my to the airport cnt take dis shit anymore
ReplyDeleteThis man should know that his enemies dont want to give him breathing space and he allow them , he shd fish them out and clean all pple sponsoring those monsters and I assure u this wil come to an end.
ReplyDeletePlease we need real action now!
ReplyDeleteGod pls come to our rescue,,,,we need ur help