Thursday, May 29, 2014
Nigeria's Movie Industry Needs A New Name?
Reports indicate that the name you see up there no longer belongs to Nigeria..........A Nigerian guy living in the States, Nicholas Opara now owns the name Nollywood.....
According to the United States Patent and Trademark office, the trademark was issued to Nicholas of Kirkland, WA. on December 03, 2013. What this means is that Nicholas Opara now has legal ownership of the term "Nollywood" and every time someone uses that term, they either have to get permission from him or pay him royalties, making it a potential cash cow for him.
Does anyone know this Nicholas guy?I need to make contact with him and find out how true this is and if true,what his plans are and what he intends to do with the name.
46 comments:
SMart thinking business minded guy, I lik
ReplyDeleteYes Guuurl! Nollywood just got blindsided. #HallOfCongress. #Copyright is real y'all. Even from Jupiter! Make una ka my Iwe. Details on twitter. Omoyemi1O1A1Ojo
Deletenot my buz
ReplyDelete@Galore
The name was Stupid anyway, and so not Original. The Original Hollywood is actually a City, a kind of Film Village, let AGN come together to create a catchy and indegenious name, I hear names like "Iroko tv" "Ibaka" "Ndani Tv" and I know without being told that this is an African . based Site. They should just look for a sweet name without wood.
ReplyDelete+ I heard the name "Nollywood" was 1st used by Oyibo people to spite us and we just allowed the name stick. Gollywood, Bollywood and co should be patented too.
Thumbs up
DeleteHian...the guy must be a mad man...another attention seeker...
ReplyDeleteThe guy thinks he is smart, I hale my Ibo brothers!
ReplyDeleteStella - here is the answer to your question:
http://www.360nobs.com/2014/05/so-some-guy-went-and-trademarked-nollywood-by-texthelaw/
This is BS.... what happens to the patent right of the industry as registered in Nigeria? I'm sure they must have registered long before he did. What a criminal. I don't like freeloaders #Disgusted
ReplyDeleteSo dey were using NOLLYWOOD without proper documentation.
ReplyDeleteIbinabo see as u fall hand.
Make dem like try oda names like.
1.Mumu-wood - cos 1. Dey cn hold on to dis illegally as long as dey wnt cos no 1 wld wnt to claim dis name in future.
2. Jolly-wood - cos most of d films dey push out are jokes eg Tear My Bra, Royal slap, The Boy is Mine etc. (No guarantee for jollywood sha)
Oh oh!! Una see?? When clarion was talking abt dis Ibinabo shebi sum peeps dey suport her? Awon dundees!!!
DeleteOKIJA WIFE
Although a smart move...still say what a douchebag!
ReplyDeleteNigeria don suffer!!! God help dat man, will send BH after him.
ReplyDeleteMrs Davido
Lol u crack me up mehnn.they shld look 4 another name.
DeleteSo dem dey use nollywood since n dem nor register am? Shior
ReplyDeleteFuck me, my igbo colleaques will never stop being smart...... I think they should change it to allywood in respect of nnamdi azikwe.. Lmao.....
ReplyDelete.
Which igbo brothers? In jupiter, there a no igbo brothers! Do you mean erristrial terrestrial?
DeletePepper ose oku!
It is "extra terrestrial" you pepper selling otondo
DeleteThe guy na mumu.
ReplyDeleteI know Nicholas Opara not, meanwhile ds is my first time of hearing this, if indeed it's true, mehn na cash cow tinz indeed.
ReplyDeleteNicholas Opara, that name rings a bell though*
ReplyDeleteWosai! For where?
DeletePepper ose oku!
Ndi ara, fa sholu Iri, case he does not know, we don't use the term nollywood in our movies. Wet in be the wood sef . we would call it the Nigerian Movie Industry, register that sucker.... Plus when did USA trademark start covering Naija. Anyway that one concern him
ReplyDeleteWhoa, do you mean the movie industry started using the name without getting the patent?
ReplyDeleteExactly! Sometimes, those people wey you expect say na dem suppose get sense pass, na them dey sogbunyjo! How can a whole Nollywood not get a patent?
DeletePepper ose oku is patented! I receive loyalty fee everyday!
Hmmm...
ReplyDeleteSo anyone that invents a name should get proceeds from whatever the name offers.
Pls who invented "Nigeria"?
It shall never be well with that mad person
That's very selfish of him if it's true. What does he stand to gain from this? Everyone knows it's the name we use for our own movie industry. Lawyer's in the house how does this affect our own movie industry?
ReplyDeleteis the United states patent Law a global patency law? How come this patency was granted sharply?
ReplyDeleteAre you trying to say that Nigerians don't have trademark to that name? How can you be using nollywood for over 2 decades and not have trademark to it?
ReplyDeleteI Dont get
ReplyDeletethats their headache biko.
ReplyDeleteMmmmm. Ok o
ReplyDeleteSo the Nigerian Film Industry and their lawyers did not deem it fit to patent Nollywood... Choi, this guy don hammer o....Choi. why I no think say our movie producers, actors and all involved with nollywood na dundees like this.... how i wish i thought of this to patent it first.
ReplyDeleteThat's in the United States not Nigeria
ReplyDeleteIgbo kwenu!
ReplyDeleteA good lawyer can have it overruled
ReplyDeleteThis is ridiculous. Does it mean the name wasn't register by world copyright org. The Nick is just kidding and jobless. Go and register Nigeria too
ReplyDeleteThis Nicholas Opara guy is a thief. Intelligent move on his part but what makes him think there isn't a patten on it in Nigeria? Anyways, I'm certain the boards of Nollywood can dispute it in any court.
ReplyDeleteGood for them, copy copy, we just can't be original.
ReplyDeleteI found it weird that we couldn't come up with a distinct,independent, non-synonym like name!
Ntooo
I'm glad!
Oh yeah....This should be fun......
ReplyDeleteI know Nicholas na, he is a very bad sharp guy, Hehehehehe
ReplyDeleteI find it very difficult to believe this, Nollywood hasn't been trademarked? shame on AGN
For whereeeee! Wosai! No be that your Nicolas o!
DeletePepper ose oku!
If he intends to muscle current nollywood practitioners to part with cash, I doubt it... I doubt if the word "Nollywood" is a registered trademark even in nigeria. Its an informal name for the nigerian movie industry. Its gradually evolving into a regular word which requires no permission to use unless used to indicate a product. He won't make money from current nollywood players. That I'm sure.
ReplyDeleteReally???
ReplyDeleteThis is an example of how we do things patch patch and how it can backfire.
ReplyDeleteStella, please I was reading the DV diaries this morning, but it's not there anymore. Is there a link I can click on?
ReplyDeleteWhat did he register Nollywood movies or jst Nollwood
ReplyDeleteStarting point