Monday, May 12, 2014

Nigerian Immigration PR Responds To Davido's Claim Of Harrassment At The Airport...

Davido was really upset last week when he missed his UK bound flight and took to his instragram page to express himself and cuss out officials of the Nigerian immigration service for allegedly requesting money from him and causing him to miss his flight....Read the post HERE

The Nigerian immigration PR have responded to what Davido accused them of....

According to PUNCH The Nigerian Immigration Service has condemned the altercation between its personnel and a hip hop artiste, David Adeleke popularly known as Davido, at the Murtala Mohammed International Airport, Ikeja, Lagos last Thursday.
The service refuted claims by Davido on Instagram that NIS officers did not allow him to depart from the country because of his refusal to bribe them.

In a statement by the NIS Public Relations Officer, Emeka Obua, in Abuja on Sunday, the service said Davido had approached immigration officers at MMIA on the fateful day with the intention of travelling out of the country and presented a US passport number 460918874 issued at Georgia on December 14,  2009 and valid till December 14, 2019.

It explained that the officer that attended to him drew his attention to the fact that his US passport had no Nigerian visa on it with which he would have been admitted into the country, and Davido reportedly responded that he had a Nigerian passport but forgot it at home.

The statement said, “The officer now informed him that he should go and bring the Nigerian passport to convince him that he did not enter Nigeria illegally with a foreign passport without visa. Adeleke started arguing with the officer, who had to refer the case to his superiors and the verdict was that he could not make the trip unless he produced the said Nigerian passport.

“Livid with anger, Adeleke, in company with his bodyguards, started protesting in a disorderly manner, prompting the Comptroller of Immigration  in-charge at MMIA to intervene. He advised Adeleke to call his bodyguards to order (caution) and comply with the lawful instruction which would not only erase any doubt as to his immigration status but also establish his claim to dual citizenship.”
Davido was said to have  left and on the following day produced his Nigerian e-passport with number A02227477 issued at Abuja on August13, 2010 and valid till August 12, 2015.

The NIS stated that the passport was endorsed and the artiste then proceeded on his trip.
The service condemned Davido’s unruly conduct at the airport, noting that it expected him to commend the officers, who attended to him for their professional manner.

The statement added, “This behaviour of  Adeleke is quiet unfortunate. One would ordinarily have expected some form of commendation from him for the professional manner the officers, who attended to him, conducted themselves especially in  saving him from  embarrassment at some international port of entry by ensuring that his passport is endorsed as is the law and practice in Nigeria .

“The intention of this statement is not to to join issues with Mr. Adeleke but to set the facts of the incident, as it happened at MMIA on the said day straight. “.

65 comments:

1. While I know that the nis and customs can be irritants (to say d least), I think I believe their version. They've presented their side in a logical manner and knowing davido, the scenario above is quite possible. He's only young anyway.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes n cupcakes, cheers

2. Just saw Linda Eze,s history on dat Tola versus peju post. So Linda was a housegirl? Chei!

3. Na dem sabi jared......

4. mumu,he wil soon end up like chris brown only dat naija is 2 corrupt 2 deal wit him lyk chris

5. @anon-10:16--I'm sure you're d demented fool that wrote all that shit about the Linda u wish u knew n no one gave u attention.
      Now ure calling pipo back to tge post like the waste that u are.
      I hate fake ass liars like u.
      Even tho she WAS a house girl,she's now made.
      Deal with it!!
      While ure still in d past wishin everyone was there with u cos ur life seems stagnant,I pity u cos u would die there wallowing in self pity.
      We are all here to relate,joke n support our sis SDK not to drag pipo down.
      I pray Linda doesn't dignify u with a reply
      N yes we love her like that.
      Queen of SDK she remains
      We bad like that
      I shldnt b replying u cos mehn....

6. But why DAVIDO resemble DAVID OYEDEPO like dis?

7. My dear Mamie, u and linda Eze are the same: uncouth trash. It hurts, really really hurts that u both have children that look up to u. In ur attempts to sound hard and tough, u both come out as dirty smelly bitches whose mothers forgot to tame them. U re both wild and it saddens me the manner of children u both will raise.

Linda this especially is for u: tame ur self. I know u lack education but that is no excuse to act ALWAYS like a gutter girl. Think of ur children. How proud will they be to read the trash that comes out of their mother's oral cavity??? U even had to mention their father's mouth to score a point? Shame on u. U ought to spend more of ur time studying etiquette, decorum and social behaviour because as it is U ARE A DISGRACE. Titi.

8. Ma-mie,don't mind them...they keep drinking panadol for our headache....LMAO...I have replied the idiot on Oshadipe Twins post....
      I Queen Linda Eze will continue yabbing ugly people that Send their pictures to Stella as Beauty of the day...
      And I will continue yarning dust oh Yes,I said it...
      And if you can't deal with it,kill your self then...
      Queen Linda Eze is here to stay..
      I am the boss of this blog...
      And as for you Titi,go and die!! With your nonsense advise...

9. Mamie, sorry for ur fears dt some1 may call u out someday. Hence d epistle. If u and Linda want to live a lie on d internet, b careful wt u reveal. Evrybdy is not dumb like u both. U dnt wanna b torn down bt u hide behind ur phones and bully innocent pple who re beta dan u. Shame on u two. Linda knws sm1's caught her, she should come deny d allegation. Shameless wannaabess! And NO i am not d anon up there. I am *i know u* cos i sure know d hollier than,thou physical church girl dt her spirit is destroyn pple here.

10. Look at this dirty parasite...you know who?yes,I have replied you and I have deny the allegations....you don't even know how to make up stories about someone....
      I am having a good laugh here....
      Why don't you use your real blog name you fool...you are scared of the Queen...:ahahahaha. I understand....
      Shame on you...Keep making up stories inugo and try harder next time...
      Queen Linda will continue feeding your ears so you willl get more emphasis...

2. Stella, na you suppose read am pass cos you said you were not interested in whether he missed his flight but the 'F' word he used. Its good they replied to clear the air.

3. They are liars!
    All uniform men in Nigeria are corrupt
    I'm sure he maintained not bribing them with a dime before they remembered he's to follow due screening protocol.
    I hate NIS

1. Immigration guys are known thieves,who doesn't know that,all uniform men

2. Immigration officers are thieves. Why didnt they address the fact that everyone complains about their begibegi attitude. I am sure if Davido had given them some change, we wont hear about this tales by moonlight. Ole jatijati

3. I wish there is a way to record them and upload. Just to teach them a lesson .

4. All this one na long turench! Dem ask am for money hin no give them na him be the main thing wey happen! Each tym I fly in, they always harras me for money so I know this is the main reason! Corruption everywhere!

Pepper ose oku!

1. IKpuRed Squirting on Pepper's Face13 May 2014 at 05:41

Peeeeeepper.
      How na?

5. Immigration get their own for body.Davido is just a spoilt brat

6. Even at that it still dosent stop the fact that Nigerian immigration officers are the worst beggars on earth! Immigrations begi begi. They will beg you so tey you go too start to dey beg them in return.

1. I agree infact d ones in International wing of MMA are the worst_tufia!

2. Are there any in the local wing? Smh

7. NIS stupid as always. They for just shetup! Everyone who passes that useless airport into and out of Lagos knows how useless and hungry they are. Hungry cats. They should all be caged .

8. Ever since the incident of the NIS recruitment exercise, I have so much disliked that sector, and I will not be surprised if this statement is a lie from them, after all the military lied to Nigerians about the rescue of the missing chibok girls, so its no new thing that our government agencies are incompetent and liars

9. Bleh. Mr. PRO, no amount of white-washing can remove the stain on your organisation. Your sins are as red as scarlet. Bet you woulda conveniently overlooked the Nigerian passport ish if money had changed hands. *hiss*

1. IKpuRed Squirting on Pepper's Face13 May 2014 at 05:42

Do not use that word RED xcept in connection to Ikpu

10. Whichever way, these artists handle personal issues so immaturely and childishly most times. Don't know why some people see them as role models. In the end he is embarrassing himself and his family! Cos no matter how many times he will rant on this the NIS may not reply him again, and he will be doing more harm than good to his personality! Btw, do this people travel with their bodyguards? Just asking cos I no know. Make una no curse me mbok.

1. Zuma u are an idiot and u deserved to be cursed....asking dumb stupid questions.... Nigerian immigration are the worst irritants at the airport and u obviously might not know that if u are not a frequent flier.... I don't believe their version one bit cos they will always lie to cover their stupid ways.... How would he have bribed them from America to come back to naija without a visa? So cos he is young and Davido he will just start insulting them cos they asked for a document he should have? So far u were not there personally stop talking trash about what u don't know

2. And u dat is cursing Zuma, were u there? Unless u are Davido or one of his uncouth thugs. If u like curse me, it's back to sender. Mstcheeew

11. Whilst I don't approve of Davido's behavior, the immigration guys are terrible!! They can compromise on anything for a bribe. I was travelling out with my son and after checking my papers, the officer started asking for money. Well I asked him "for what, oga? Please explain" He said I should understand na... Blah blah! So I threw it back at him. I asked him to find something for my son too, since he is just a little boy. "you be daddy now, oya give my son money to buy biscuit"!! This happens so often. The ones that inspect bags are not any better. Imagine this statement: " madam, I no go check ya bag, no need. Just find me something..". Imagine that!!

1. Oya give my son money to buy biscuit hahahahahah

12. Stella puleeeeaasse, dis their story does not add up at all. See professional tory chei!
    These immigration officers at d airport know nothing about being professional, Inshort dat word isn't in their dictionary, they are so shameless, uncouth and very rude. Forget dis epistle o, bribery is their no.1 obligation every other thing follows, including checking passports and all.
    Davido get hin own for body but i'll pass on this particular tory.

13. Almost missed my flight on two occasions,because of immigration begi begi. Stella,pipilee has been MIA o,just concerned o,before you label me chief suspect. #ilovepipilee

14. Hungry mofos still ! If he hass given them money...they wouldn't even remember passport or no passport ooo. They would have even tuale'd him. I'm sure it's because he decided to stand up for himself that they stared delaying him. I mean someone has dual citizenship...u are talking about passport blah blah when you could have easily checked your computer record or isn't that what it is for ? This same immigration almost made me miss my flight last August when I came home for this same damn reason...Thank God for the tips I gave the other man, then he took me forward again after they sent me all the way to the backkkk.. in fact I was almost crying ! Just few minutes..I would have missed it.

15. They were just looking for how to extort money from him that's why they started asking for his Nigerian passport. E shock them when Bobo still no drop anything that's why they now said he must go home and bring it. These Immigrations people ehn? A won olé. Shameless beggars. Don't they pay them? They're always begging. Beggy beggy people. Tufiakwa.

16. And I was supporting Davido yesterday,what arrogance was that,he wanted to travel without a nigerian passport,dats an insult to the country in d first place!and he and his touts were protesting again....is it cos he is Davido and he sang Aye' and we love it'#rme.#mtceew
    He should gerrout abeg!he has f##ked up.

1. Queen bee your ignorance stinks to hell.... Go read the story again then find out if he really needed the nigerians passport at that point..... Mumu idiot

17. I actually don't get why people are over flogging this issue. Poor boy is not allowed to rant over a situation he is not happy with cos he is Davido? He is human aswell and he is allowed to rant whichever way it pleases him, we all do so free the boy man! This shit happens everytime, I almost missed my flight in Cotonou (those ones are even worst than Nigerians) cos the immigration was asking me for money, which I eventually had to give him cos I wasnt ready to miss my flight. Cos some people choose to ignore it does not mean other dont have the right to. Alot of people here use the F word regularly, sometimes even worst en I can bet most of them are old enough to be Davido's parents, so please enough already about this boy!

18. Immigration all na lie..abeg u pple shud park one side

19. cuss me out if you like, i still stand by what i said in the other post. We all know Nis like bribe but he must have done something that made them delayed him. Nis I believe una jooor.

Nk

20. Oh pleeze!! They should shut up. Same thing happened to my cousin who had a Britain passport. That was his first time travelling alone so they felt they could swindle him. He doesn't have a Naija passport, they wanted him to bribe dem and so he could pass thru. His point was why was he not harassed when coming into the country? He missed his flight that day and had to get an Ng passport the following day

21. Damage control

22. Yeah right, he didn't enter the country illegally. Did they really make that yeye statement. How many people enter naija daily illegally? I was at the airport and this guy was issued visa right there in front of me. Immigration officers, y'all need deliverance.

23. Congratulations Immigration Service for teaching him that life lesson. Now listen dawg Davido, who ever you are: singer or street-sweeper, the law really don't give a you-know-what, cos if it did, hole-in-the-back Chris Brown wouldn't ne'e see no jail. So cool it, midget and next time respect THE LAW and stop resorting to tantrum when you aint getting your way. Brat.

1. Mr fantastic ignorant fool.... So in your stupid mind u think the immigration people were right abi? Gosh ignorance will kill u early.... Davido we know but who the hell are u? Who be ur papa or mama? Hater oshi

24. Nigeria immigration officials are worse than policemen

25. Immigration should only be concerned with d passport you are leaving with..they actually asked him for money which I guess he refused them.that I think made them "show him" by making him miss his flight

26. Yea yea yea, kindly respond to the begi begi allegations trailing NIS as well since you are quick to set the records straight on Davidos issue. We know una , you guys can even beg a 6 months old baby, proffesional beggars.

27. As a traveler my self I wonder how Davido would have come back into the country without his Nigerian Passport or Visa on his US Passport. well I think someone should advice him to always carry both, unless you are not coming back to Nigeria

28. Who are these Clowns? What you mean he can't leave the country with his US passport. Your boys wanted money, pls admit it. So if he doesn't have a Nigeria passport, are you saying he can't leave Nigeria n Return to his country ? If you guys really want to do your Job, you should av allowed him fly out then wait to see how he's going to return to Nigeria without a Nigerina Visa on his US passport or without his Nigeria P.

29. Cuss me out if you like, i still maintain what I said in the previous post. NIS like bribe, who doesn't know that? in this case I believe them jooor.

Nk

30. I visited Nigeria in 2003 and I was not allowed to leave until I gave the hungry lions "chop money". By the way I had valid documents and no food stuff but when there was nothing to hold me on..."they begged for money". SHAME!

31. We v hrd u guys but what about the begi begi, u didn't adress d issue about how u guys constantly harrass ppl with d way u beg.
    Dnt know which is worse between u guys n Nigerian police.

32. Bunch of useless idiots!!! If u travel n buy clothes for yourself, they will tell u it's for commercial purpose, meanwhile na u wan wear your cloth. Meanwhile, oyibo man will not disturb u, it's only when u get here that the harassment starts. Bunch of hungry mofos.

33. All peeps who travell through that airport of ours know how these miscreants in uniform behave. They will beg for money even if they clearly have no reason to. And when you are not forth coming they will then attempt to "work well"! What Davido passed through I have experienced befor and really if he had greased their palms they won't notice the passport he's travelling with! All our sectors need major overhauling!

34. Nigerian uniform men are RUDE and UNTRAINED while Davido is a SPOILT BRAT!

35. The immigration and customs personnel at the MM International Airport are all beggars!! I am always disgusted whenever travelling.

36. Anonymous may 12, 2:38 pm, good observation, i have been thinking about it. Davido really look's like David Oyedepo. *scratching my head*

37. These pple are the same thing even those ones that work for the airlines. I remembered January 2012 i was coming back to London after the December holiday an on getting to the airport,i checked in my luggage and waiting for those pple to allocate sit and the next thing i heard was 'madam,u won't be able to travel with this flight as there are many pple travelling today, so u may have to go back home and come back tomorrow' at first, one of them asked me to wait and later i was told to go and see one guy who he refereed to as his boss who later told me that i wont be able to travel today. i didn't fight with them bcos i know my right and the fact that i bought my flight ticket through British Airways, so i know that BA would have made arrangement for those they sold ticket to. I told the guy 'look i have already asked my family to go back home with the intention that i would be travelling today and if this wont be possible, COULD YOU MAKE SURE THAT YOU GET ME A DECENT HOTEL TO PASS THE NIGHT BCOS I ALREADY BOOKED THIS FLIGHT AND I DIDN'T BUY MY TICKET THROUGH ANY AGENT AND I WASN'T TOLD BY BA' lololol...the next thing i heard was, madam can i have your passport pls and he gave me my sit number immediately. i didn't even look at the fool. i snatched my passport from him and left not even thank you. Olamide

38. I will believe this statement when pigs fly. Please! The only proof you can provide to refute his side of the story is a video recording from a third party.

39. See these liars o!!
    I traveled from naija to the US, an I only gave them US passport. Its obvious they wanted money hence insisting.
    They even threatened that because we were late, they wanted us to miss our flight.

40. IKpuRed Squirting on Pepper's Face13 May 2014 at 05:48

Davido can do no wrong in my eyes. See lips
    Chaaai
    Come baby come to mama
    Are u hungry?
    Come suck some breasts
    #Chaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaai#

41. Every Nigerian passenger passing through MMIA knows that NIS officials will always beg for money and are the most corrupt ones at the point of entry or arrival. Bunch of illiterates!