Merrilyn Akpapuna |
.....Like a giant masquerade in the market place, all eyes were on 20-year-old Nigerian, Merrilyn Akpapuna, two Saturdays ago at the Dillard University, New Orleans, United States.
The Psychology graduate not only obtained the highest academic honour Summa Cum Laude (first class), she also emerged the best graduating student in the ivory tower.
As the institution’s valedictorian, she was on the same podium with the wife of the President, Michelle Obama, during its convocation.
Interestingly, three other Nigerians joined Akpapuna in the league of the best graduating students at the university. The three salutatorians are Victor Ogburie, Stephen Igwe, and Emole Anyadimgba. They also made a first class in their chosen disciplines.
Besides, Akpapuna won two other awards for highest academic achievements for the College of Arts and Sciences and College of General Studies.....culled
*Congrats to them ooh....With all the distactions,they still sailed through.
Wow congratulations lady and gents!
ReplyDeleteZuma missing diamondblinqZ
Congratulation 2 them.
DeleteIs this one not IGBO? Igbo kwenu! Anyi kwu gi n'azu nwanyioma carry go.
ReplyDeleteShe is Nigerian. Don't add tribalism to this.
DeleteWow! Congrats to her. This shall be my own story too In Jesus Name. Amen!
ReplyDeleteIgbos makin mE prouder by day. Wn Niger-area finally divides wonder if other regions will be hearD. Ahh I 4got, some will be known 4 bomb producing and Illiteracy lmao #BOLD BELLE
ReplyDeleteYou are just a perfect fool.
DeleteYeah just like the igbos will keep being known for baby making factories, 419, fraud, drugs, armed robbery and persecuting their women if they dare have female children! Abi u think say we no know every? ROTFL!!!! Yes ooo naija pls divide so that the ikweres can chase all these smelly ibos away from their land!
DeleteAnon 11.51 shut up dia if not for igbo man who purchased land from your ikwerre father where your father for see money send u go school or buy that car he is driving
DeleteNa u get ur mouth so suit urself. Congras ladie & gents. Thanks for making us proud.
DeleteIgbo kwenu Nigerians kwenu ooo
Awesome stuff! We always represent wherever we go. But errr....which distractions? Or did I miss something in the story? *confused face*
ReplyDeleteNigerians are blessed with brains and intellectually sound. it is quite unfortunate we have been unlucky to have selfish and corrupt leaders. Congrats girl.
ReplyDeleteMy dear,Nigerians are the best anytime any day!!!
ReplyDeleteIn academics they excel,In businesses they soar!
If only our economy will improve(I know we will get there)the sky will definitely be our starting point!
Congratulations people!The black man is winning!
wooow, nice one girl.
ReplyDeleteNice one. Congrats, keep making us proud!
ReplyDeletewe've got beauty, we've got class, we've got 'brains'....keep making us proud Umunnem
ReplyDeleteInstead of promoting dildos see what you can do with probs 20% of ones thinking faculty..a mind truly is a beautiful thing to waste...
ReplyDeleteSDK,did you say distractions? For where dat one dey? Wha'll distract a focused student in Yankee? No ASUU strike there,there's light always,food dey! Schorlarship money dey!
ReplyDeleteI key into this too, Im so close to a distinction but got discriminated on, but Im sure I will bounce back. Ill make Naija proud too in a couple of months, watch this space!
ReplyDeleteAm trully proud of you.
ReplyDeleteproudly Nigerian!...Lord help Nigeria to continue to be known for good and not for bad, amen!
ReplyDeleteCongrats to her and everyone that made a first class too.
ReplyDeleteLet us appreciate the gifts,talents,and skills in an individual rather than politicizing achievements,what has geopolitical affiliation has to do with these great kids. NIGERIANS! when are we going to learn,when an American achieves you don't hear am from new york or Atlanta.Congrats to all the Nigerians that excelled.Keep it up.
ReplyDeleteThere is only ONE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF NIGERIA. Nigeria first, then what part of the country that you come from can follow if necessary.
ReplyDeleteBravo dear! Bravo!!! Welldone!
God please heal our land.
GOD BLESS NIGERIA.
Paragon7ven.
There is only ONE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF NIGERIA. Nigeria first, then what part of the country that you come from can follow if necessary.
ReplyDeleteBravo dear! Bravo!!! Welldone!
God please heal our land.
GOD BLESS NIGERIA.
Paragon7ven.
Congrats to all of them..their parents must be soo proud of them..beauty+brains maketh a man/woman whole...
ReplyDeleteyes aunty stella..if you suffer to read u will pass....jst got back frm d exam centre..i got A's in my GES...am so happy
ReplyDeleteNice1
ReplyDeleteSalt
Great. Congratulation.
ReplyDeleteYaay! She attended my secondary school! Rmbgss all the way. She has been an A.student right from time. Congratulations are in order babe!
ReplyDeleteWho asked you?
DeleteNo one but shut that gutter you call a mouth pls.
DeleteCongrats
ReplyDeleteCongrats my co psychologist. Sanity for all. Amaka Okorie
ReplyDeleteThey are actually five Nigerians who graduated with First Class Honor. Below is an email sent to Punch Newspaper.
ReplyDeleteGood Day,
I’m sending this email in regards to the article written on the 20th of May “Nigerian girl steals show at US varsity.” This article which was written to honor our young graduates whom have done exceedingly well by graduating top of their classes in a prestigious American university Dillard have also in the other hand served as a humiliation “the prodigal son” for one of the top graduated Nigerian students Nelson Nwanganga who also graduated with a Suma Cum Laude (first class) along with the four other Nigerians.
Due to the fact that Nelson Nwanganga’s name was not mentioned as one the Nigerians who graduated also with a first class Degree in Accounting by top a Nigerian newspaper “Punch” questions the validity of the fact that Nelson Nwanganga actually graduated with a degree at all. With the status quo, Nelson’s life has become very unpleasant even though he graduated top of his class with an outstanding job at Chevron; this is because of increasing number of calls Nelson’s gets from family, friends, loved ones, and other stakeholders’ asking questions (are sure you graduated from Dillard because we just read an article published by Punch?) to verify if he truly graduated with a first class at Dillard and if yes, why was his name not mention in the article “Nigerian girl steals show at US varsity.”
Please, I kindly request that Punch should add Nelson Nwanganga’s name among his friends of whom he graduated with as a First Class Student with a degree in Accounting. This will help honor Nelson Nwanganga as a scholar who have made his motherland proud and also uphold the integrity of Punch as leading force behind authenticity of modern Mass Media.To get more information about Nelson Nwanganga’s, please contact the Registrar office or the College of business at Dillard University.
In addition, below is a brief bio about Nelson Nwanganga.
Then as a student at Dillard University Nelson Nwanganga majored in Accounting, and double majored in Financial Economics, he also served as the President of the Dillard University NABA (National Association of Black Accountants) Chapter with an overall GPA of 3.89/4.00 and a major GPA of 3.9/4.00. Nelson who was once a History and International Relation student at ABSU (Abia State University)Uturu, Nigeria also played other leadership roles as a student, an Honor student, a Six-Sigma Advanced Blue Belt holder, and has contributed immensely to his community and environ. As a graduate, Nelson will be working at Chevron while pursuing his Master’s degree in Finance.
Mitchell, Jr., Robert
Registrar / Director of Records and Registration
Rosenwald 116
(504)816-4871 Fax:(504) 816-4391
rvmitchell@dillard.edu
Bougere, Helen R.
Administrative Assistant
School of Business
PSB 380-D
(504) 816-4698 Fax: (504) 816-4851
hbougere@dillard.edu
They are actually Five Nigerians who graduated with First Class Degree from Dillard University. The fifth student is Nelson Nwanganga who graduated with an Accounting Degree.