Monday, May 12, 2014

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala Says She's Tired of Talking About The Chibok Abductions

In this video Ngozi Okonjo Iweala responded to ABC journalits questions about reports from Amnesty International that government had warning about raid that led to kidnapping of school girls.

She tried her best to respond to the questions but he kept pushing and she walked away and some people are cussing her out and referring to when her Mother was kidnapped and saying she wasnt tired then.

I think she answered the questions well...........and the reporter was just doing his job,thats how its done!..lol

38 comments:

1. She should not be tired oooo! Because she is part of the present government, and as such she should be a true leader! She must, a selfless leader, she must keeping talking till the girls are brought home, what if her children were involved? Or I suppose she don't want to verbally be in contradiction with her boss

1. Even me I am tired. It has become a monotonous repertoire. However being tired is just the analysis aspect of it. What we want are results, there's nothing left for us to talk about. We've said it all.

2. Nobody should curse her out, she did not do anything wrong.

3. Nobody should curse her out, she did not do anything wrong.

1. Bring back our girls12 May 2014 at 15:34

Wetin be your own. Vamoose from here.

4. She did nothing wrong. She answered correctly. She is the minister of finance and not defence. These people want to give too much publicity to boko haram and not the girls or the true potentials of Nigeria as a country. Any right thinking Nigerian knows this. But yea, a large percentage of those with internet access and enormous time to lash out at blogs and on twitter are too blind to see the truth. It is an Economic forum for crying out loud and as the Minister of finance she has to go and attend to people that still found Nigeria worthy to travel to and discuss Africa's economy in spite of the terror. Nigeria should not and must not stop because of Terror. She needs to go and seal more bilateral agreements for trade and commerce while the minister of defence does his job.

5. me too self i tire, they re just talking about it and not acting on it.

6. I think her answers were spot on. She handled the situation courteosly even though she was a bit irritated and quite busy at the time.

7. DON'T PUBLICISE TERROR12 May 2014 at 10:28

It is an economic forum. People risked their lives to be in Nigeria in spite of the terror but these westerners still want to take the focus away from the economic potentials of Nigeria and promote terror. Any true and right thinking Nigeria should never allow that. Yes there is boko haram, that's why we have the ministry of defence. She is the Minister of finance and she has said the little she should because she is not the right authority for that. She shouldn't waste all her time talking about boko haram and giving them cheap publicity when she should be thanking the world for still believeing in Nigeria and not boycotting the conference, seal deals that will improve our economy and showcase what Nigeria can offer, other than terror. So Madam Minister of Finance Welldone. All those trying to fault her are the ones digging up fake pictures of US marines and a bokoharam leader as well as that fake video of the girls being buried and stoned to death. We know your aim, which is to dignify and publicise terror, undermine the government. But you forget that the government is a representative of all of us, by undermining and ridiculing the government, we are ridiculing ourselves as a people. America or Britain are never your friends. Their track records are there to see. We know their aim. Our oil and they want to flush out Jonathan since he's refusing to be a baby to them and endorse gay law. God will never allow that.

8. Yes Stella, I agree with you - I think she answered the questions well...........and the reporter was just doing his job,thats how its done!

9. I agree with you I think she answered the questions well...........and the reporter was just doing his job,thats how its done!

10. I don't comment on this chibok boko haram issue. The useless govt has failed us all. Common light they can't give, I don't know how they are going to be able to do anything about this. I'm tired too. She prolly doesn't see the possibility of her useless president doing anything positive about the issue.

11. She did answer d questions very well though.... Ma, pls don't be tired. This is part of being a leader. Like Alloy said u're part of the Government and this much is expected of you. God be with us all...

12. She is not the spoke's person as she confirmed. Security issues has got nothing to do with the her.....she has answered questions better than most of the idiotic ministers interviewed by the international media houses

13. Idiot so cos she is in government reporters should be hounding her with questions.... When her mother was kidnapped did u see her on TV everyday? Fools will always critisice anything someone does....

14. I think her attitude was RIGHT on point, she answered as far and as sure as her office allows. If anyone should be insulted really it is her P.A running around with the usual Nigerian P.A overzealousness. In her make-e-be-like-say-i-dey-work attitude she was making Sister Minister appear to be running around the houses.

Looool! P.A and dia effico disease! Their ITK sickness pass the mericine di na akpa dibia sor!

*Meanwhile, looking for Mama Caro: "Mama Caro! Mama Caro! Be like dis ma wife don run leave me!*

15. Madam Ngozi says she's tired of answering the same questions. Pls ma, don't u ve blood running through ur veins, put yourself in the shoes of these missing girls families and tell me if you won't be so enthusiastic to talk about the efforts been put in place to find these girls. And I sure hope all what u said is true. Cause we are waiting for results. #bringbackourgirls.

16. Stella am disappointed in you that u said she answered the question correctly. What is correct abt saying she is tired of the same story. If it was her girl child that is missing for a month will she be tired of talking abt it? She is not tired of embezzling naija moni along with other politicians so they shuld never be tired of serving the people of Nigeria that elected them into that office . Wicked and selfish politicians!!!!!!

17. She need not to say that she was tired even if she is.

#bringbackourgirls

18. What gud does it do repeating the same thing over again to some intl journalist ? Who is just waiting to misconstrue whatever is being said. She did no wrong. Telling d tale a 1000 times over won't bring them back.

19. shez tired becos its not her child or relative dat was abducted. abeg oo madam dont get tired #bringbackourgirls#

20. She MUST not be tired of talking about it ooo....she's a mother too and she should put herself in the shoes of all the affected mothers...an adage in yoruba says: "omo eni ku san ju omo eni nu lo"....will the mothers of these girls get tired of talking about the abduction of their daughters or will they stop hoping that some day,,they will see their daughters again??

#BringBackOurGirls#

1. Sleek reek shut u stupid mouth.... So she should talk non stop? How many times have u gone to the streets to join a protest? Is it only her u have mouth? The reporter was hounding her and she is tired of talking.... Idiot u won't use ur common sense u will be there yarning dust

21. I think the  publicity boko haram is getting should stop.

Getting powerful and international stars and individual around the world to hold placards for a photograph is going to achieve what?

Who has ever thought sending a handwritten message to terrorists (that kill men/women/children/slash a pregnant woman’s stomach/destroy an entire village/ behead human beings on video/ bomb unarmed civilians etc) would bring about a change?

They are monsters.

Personally, I think the world is laughing at us.

With the amount of money being pumped into our society through donations and aids, or our oil wealth, what do we do with it rather than the powerfully elite getting rich with bulging swiss accounts while the masses suffer.

Boko haram has become boko haram because of you, because of us, because of nigerians. The government let boko haram grow from a group of unarmed, daily trained muslim men to faceless terrorists they are today.

You know what, we actually deserve this treatment. We deserve the leaders we have. If any one us here  get in power, you will do EXACTLY what our leaders are doing.

We want to see change in our leadership, the change starts from us, from our homes. When there is fuel scarcity do we terrorize attendants to let us bypass the queue, do we bribe our way through an organized form to get quick treatment, do we treat our maids with disdain, do we support jungle justice from a distance by doing nothing when we watch men burnt alive in day light?

When the people change, their leaders will change.

Till then, I suggest we start by being the change you desire to see or join the bunch of hypocritical african men we choose in power and enjoy having bokoharam for the long haul

22. I think the  publicity boko haram is getting should stop.

Getting powerful and international stars and individual around the world to hold placards for a photograph is going to achieve what?

Who has ever thought sending a handwritten message to terrorists (that kill men/women/children/slash a pregnant woman’s stomach/destroy an entire village/ behead human beings on video/ bomb unarmed civilians etc) would bring about a change?

They are monsters.

Personally, I think the world is laughing at us.

With the amount of money being pumped into our society through donations and aids, or our oil wealth, what do we do with it rather than the powerfully elite getting rich with bulging swiss accounts while the masses suffer.

Boko haram has become boko haram because of you, because of us, because of nigerians. The government let boko haram grow from a group of unarmed, daily trained muslim men to faceless terrorists they are today.

You know what, we actually deserve this treatment. We deserve the leaders we have. If any one us here  get in power, you will do EXACTLY what our leaders are doing.

We want to see change in our leadership, the change starts from us, from our homes. When there is fuel scarcity do we terrorize attendants to let us bypass the queue, do we bribe our way through an organized form to get quick treatment, do we treat our maids with disdain, do we support jungle justice from a distance by doing nothing when we watch men burnt alive in day light?

When the people change, their leaders will change.

Till then, I suggest we start by being the change you desire to see or join the bunch of hypocritical african men we choose in power and enjoy having bokoharam for the long haul

23. If her children is among the girls she will not be tired of talking about them stupid woman idiot ...

24. What do you expect? If she says something the next minute they will quote her wrongly.

25. This woman is a great women, she did nothing wrong.

26. Pls ppl shld just shut up n stop saying enough of d awareness! Y shld Okonjo get tired? So if her neice or daughter or relation was among d girls she'll b tired? I don't blame her, our leaders av always enjoyed d luxury of not being queried or tackled, nigerians swallow or live by woteva dis crook leaders serve us! Pls let's keep up with d demonstrations it'll deffinetly yield smtin good. Its time 2 let d world knw about boko haram its time d world get 2 knw that boko haram av been commiting more attrocities than al queda n al shebab, its time our leaders get more serious on fighting terrrorism, its time boko haram gets to knw that d whole world is on there case n there time is numbered! #SEE

27. she didnt say any thing wrong,it is ok to say she is tired of answering the same question over and over agai n.she is the minister of finance not information.that p.a doesnt have manners

28. The reportage is entirely unfair and a gross misrepresentation of what she actually said/intended.

The following statement puts this in perspective:

FEDERAL MINISTRY OF FINANCE

News Release. May 12, 2014

ATTEMPTS TO MISREPRESENT OKONJO-IWEALA’S STANCE ON CHIBOK GIRLS UNWARRANTED

It has come to our attention that there are attempts to misrepresent the position of CME on the unfortunate abduction of the Chibok girls.

The online campaign is based on the lie that the minister is “tired” of talking about the abducted girls. This is a distortion of her comments to a reporter from ABC News of the US.

Such a distortion is contrary to numerous and consistent comments by the minister which underscore her pain and concern over the issue.

The minister had previously stated during WEF that “As a mother of four children, including a daughter, I cannot imagine the agony the parents of these children must be experiencing. We understand the anger and sadness that is shared by Nigerians at home and abroad.”

She had also tweeted: “Our commitment to #BringBackOurGirls does not end with #WEFAfrica. It'll continue. It is our task. We must do it until we bring them back!”

The minister is certainly NOT tired of an issue which has been a nightmare to families involved and all Nigerians for the past one month. She urges that we all focus on the girls themselves and how we bring them back.

Below is the link to the complete interview. Please view and judge for yourself.

http://abcnews.go.com/International/video/nigeria-official-tired-talking-kidnapped-girls-23660668?tab=9482931&section=1206828

Paul C Nwabuikwu
    Special Adviser to the Coordinating Minister for the Economy and Minister of Finance

29. No government official should be tired of this issue. No parent, or woman should be tired of this issue.

30. Our leaders are wicked.she is tired of talking about it when the girls are still in den of the BH,its a pity she is also a mother and knows what it mean to loose a child.Omo eni ku san ju omo eni nu lo.

31. SHE SHOULDN'T BE TIRED BUT THE TRUTH IS THAT SHE IS HUMAN.

SOMETIMES, WE TAKE OUT OUR FRUSTRATIONS ON THE WRONG PEOPLE.

AND I THINK SHE WAS EVEN VERY POLITE ENOUGH TO HAVE ANSWERED A FEW QUESTIONS OF THE REPORTER.

SEBI ALL THESE ONYIBO PEOPLE ESPECIALLY BRITISH EMBASSY, JUST TALK ANYHOW TO VISA APPLIANTS.

I ONCE HAD A CONSULAR OFFICER LITERALLY SHOUT ON ME, JUST BECOS HE WAS UNDER PRESSURE AND HAD PERHAPS SEEN SEVERAL PEOPLE BEFORE ME. UPON ALL HIS SHOUT AND EXTREME RUDENESS, HE STILL REFUSED ME THEN.

I THANK GOD I NO DEY FOR THAT LEVEL AGAIN. AFTER THAT, NO CONTINENT WEY I NEVER REACH APART FROM AUSTRALIA SIDE

GOD PUNISH THE MAN WHEREVER HE IS TODAY SELF. OLOFO, ONYEARA!