Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Naval Officer Loses Children To Fire While Beating Wife

Saturday, May 03, 2014

Naval Officer Loses Children To Fire While Beating Wife

A naval officer’s two children died in a fire he started accidentally while allegedly beating his wife in Lagos on Friday.

The incident involving the naval officer identified by officials of the Gbagada General Hospital simply as Udofia, took place at the Nigerian Navy Town, Ojo.

According to a hospital official, who pleaded anonymity because she was not authorised to speak on the issue, the deceased children, Emmanuela and Michael, were aged 18 months old and five years old.
When the children were brought in here, their father, who also sustained some burn injuries, said they were electrocuted but that turned out to be a lie because when the wife later came, she narrated what actually happened,” the official aid.
The distraught mother of the children, who arrived the hospital much later after their bodies were brought to the burns unit of the Gbagada General Hospital, told hospital officials in tears that Udofia was beating her when he angrily kicked a lit stove.
“The woman narrated that as he kicked the stove, it landed on their refrigerator, which immediately exploded. We were told the children were nearby when the refrigerator exploded,” the hospital official said.
The children were reportedly engulfed in flames but all efforts to save them proved abortive. Gbagada General Hospital officials said they were brought in dead.
When our correspondents visited the hospital, naval personnel and an ambulance of the Nigerian Navy Reference Hospital, Ojo were seen in the front of the hospital.
Udofia was said to be receiving treatment in a ward in the hospital as well but he was kept away from inquisitive eyes.
The bodies of the children had also been taken to the hospital’s mortuary by the time, our correspondent got there.
Hospital officials feared for the sanity of the children’s mother, who was said to have been taken away by her church officials.
“The woman was not acting normal anymore. That may be to the psychological trauma of the event,” a hospital official said.

Saturday PUNCH contacted the spokesperson of the Western Naval Command, Lagos, Lt. Way Olabisi, for comment, but he said he was in a meeting at the time.

*I dont understand this story...how did the cooking stove land on the fridge?

58 comments:

1. Men!!!
    What is this now?
    Hmmm... speechlesssssss

1. The story self taya me.but may their souls rip

2. Cooking stove landed on fridge because it was kicked by beast.

3. The best thing for the naval officer to do now is to pick up his gun and shoot himself in the head so that he can go to God for questioning... Foolish man.

4. Stella, what don't you understand? You wan try the power of Naval Kick?
      He kicked the stove and it landed on the fridge which exploded.
      Imagine if that kick had landed on hus wife.
      May the souls of the poor innocent children RIP.

5. Yes, I agree with you. What a FOOLISH IDIOT. I wont say man , because he is an excuse of a human being even to his own parents. Mtshewwww!

2. Na wah ohh..may their soul RIP...poor woman..m

3. Na wah oh
    What a sad story.
    He will never beat a woman again in his life.
    I feel so sorry for his wife. After going through labour pains and all, she last her kids because she is married to a beast.
    I pray he rots in jail.
    May the souls of the innocent kids rest in perfect peace,Amen.

4. #SMH!
    Som ppl are unfortun8!
    Dey av to learn dia lesson frm dia own experience.

Next time if a woman, stands up, n pour a big bottle of water on the navy man's head.
    He wldnt only thank her, e wld dash her mony.
    I bet dia marriage az ended! #TooBad!

5. This is so sad!
    To loose your children is such an avoidable circumstance .
    I pity the wife.

6. Stella which kain question u dey ask? U know how dem take arrange their house? May we not experience satan's activities first hand in Jesus name,he probably kicked the stove and a demon helped him give it more momemtum.may those kids RIP,I hope their mother doesn't develop mental problems.

7. This story isn't clear..Izit the fire frm a kerosene stove that can't be put out by two grown adults or a naval officer only sef since the woman is weak frm beating?..izit petrol or gas?

1. Dey there dey ask dumb questions o, since u can't think

2. No be petrol or gas ...na coal...mtchewww

3. Mi lady you must be retarded.... Can't u read? Gosh Dundee united

4. Far from it,ª♍ not retarded..itz cald 'critical analysis'...that wasn't the real story anyway..@Joan; thanks,now the story is clear...cos before e no make sense buh some gullible ones just started cussing and ranting.

8. Anger!!!!!! A very destructive emotion

9. Kai! The devil was just waiting round the corner for this family. Omase oh. I feel for the mum.

CeeCee

10. Shebi he wanted to kill another parents' child (his wife). Now he knows how it feels... Bastard!

May the souls of those innocent children rest in peace.

11. RIP to the kids...but the story doesn't add up....stove landed on fridge and exploded?..their dad who was in the same rm was admitted but their mum wasn't admitted and is being taken care of by her church........hmm........

12. So sad, what an angry man! I'm sure he's somewhere regretting his life right now. How unfortunate that their innocent children had to lose their lives ; may they rip.
    Hope he faces d full wrath of the law.

13. And idiots will advice women suffering domestic violence to"stay for the kids" and the kids are the ones who suffer most from a violent enviroment. Women leave when there is domestic violence stop hiding behing "staying for the kids" no kids survives a emotionally and physically abusive home.

Rest in peace innocent babies

14. The mad man kicked a lit kerosene stove, it landed and probably spilled kerosene on the fridge (most likely a small, bedside fridge) which caught fire.

Poor kids. Poor wife.

15. what a way to learn a lesson ! may the departed souls R.I.P

1. Ahh, ba ya face be this, long time

16. Why are there so many impatient and violent men out there lately?thee rate of violence is getting so alarming and I think it's cos the women take it' and live with it,cos I bet this is not d first time that man is hitting her.#say no to abusive relationship #

1. I think parents are doing a very poor job of raising kids d right way. If a mother makes it a taboo 4 her little son 2 fight his sister or any girl 4 that matter, I don't see how he will grow up 2 be an abuser.

17. Stella, d compressor of a refrigerator contains gas which is highly flammable, so he kicked the lit stove, dere s fire & it spread to d refrigerator compressor, den "BOOM"

18. Una see wetin anger dey cause. That man hass been beating that woman since. Leave leave nooooooooo, I dnt no wot the world wil say, my mther said I shd endure, the church says I shd b patient, my frnd wi laff@ me n the rest. Women wen u perceive anythg abeg separate first till e head come down. Only God nos the pains the children pass tru til they finally gave up ..

19. From one terrible news to another...*sad*

20. na lie, i was in navy town yesterday and d story i heard was different. the said man had an affair with anothet woman who is now pregnant for him, his wife heard about dis and wasnt happy and dey heard a fight over it, d wife was d one who threw d burning stove at d man, forgetting dat d children were nearby, dat was how d stove exploded and fire started, d man ran out of d house, not knowing dat d children were also burnt.d woman caused it out of blind rage dat d man impregnated another woman outside.

1. Men! Mschewww.
      What a pity!
      The souls of the little ones rest in peace.
      And as for the pregnant mistress, hope she is happy with her life?
      The wife should be well watched so as not to do something drastic.
      I would not wish this on my worst enemy if I have any.

2. No it was d man dat caused it, if he did not cheat on his wife all ds wouldnt have happened....

3. Anger is never the answer. OmG I pity d both of them even though d dude is at fault. I hope d lord give dem strenght to bear d loss.

4. May the souls of the children rest in peace. Marry a bad woman then you are doomed. That's all I can say, have been there before.

5. Anon 9:36pm.....see as u talk am "marry a bad woman then u are doomed".....what about d man that cheated on his wife and even went as far as impregnating his mistress....he's a saint,,abi??? fear God ooo

21. sad that innocent kids pay for the foolishness of their parents

22. Wife beater...u have shamefully ended ur marriage...RIP to the innocent kids.

23. na lie, i was in navy town yesterday and d story i heard was different. the said man had an affair with anothet woman who is now pregnant for him, his wife heard about dis and wasnt happy and dey heard a fight over it, d wife was d one who threw d burning stove at d man, forgetting dat d children were nearby, dat was how d stove exploded and fire started, d man ran out of d house, not knowing dat d children were also burnt.d woman caused it out of blind rage dat d man impregnated another woman outside.

24. so sad indeed

25. Ladies you see why you should leave an abusive man??? R.I.P to the children.

26. A married man impregnating another woman out side his marriage , that is another form of abuse. ((emotional abuse )I wish the lamp landed on her husband's head instead of the chidden .

27. see how devil used him to destroy his family?

mtcheww!

28. Some men do not deserve to marry... rip to those innocent kids

29. Stella yes Ogo its actually true it happen. They are members in our church its actually a sad story because they are the only kids the woman have. May we never be in a situation where by the enemy will have an upper hand. Amen.

30. If the second story of the impregnated woman dat led to the fight is true, shame on the man. Wetin e still de find outside? He already has two kids na im e go knack again. Women sef. E still de light stove and e still de carry woman on top. Na so e go take cater for pregnant girlfriend too? Elephants don fight, de don snuff the children out.

31. E be like say dis Navy man has friends and partners in crime on dis blog. Imagine how they just changed d story sharp Sharp. LWKMD.

32. Am married to a military officer, its not so easy condoling with all their atrocities. Womanizing, drinking, chronic lies, sleeping outside the name of being on duty. Wife beater, Most of them leave the up keep of their children in the hands of their wives while spending their salary on mistress. It takes the grace of God to cope with them. No wonder when they die, different children from different mothers will surface. There are still few good ones among them especially good Christians. Tell me why a naval officer' s wife will still be using stove at this age.? I feel for you young woman. Rip to the innocent children. All that Iyabo Obasanjo wrote about his father is a topical life of a military officer. Always on posting from one end of the country to another making their wives married but single while enjoying himself with another woman. They can be nice to a fault while courting you. Come here and counter me if you are married to a military officer. Am out of this painful marriage. Don't care what mum/ dad/ friends/ relatives are saying. My life is too previous to be wasted on someone who will be glad am dead so that he will bring in another woman.@Joan that feels the fault is from the woman for asking her husband why he impregnated another lady. I leave you with your conscience. Thank God you are a woman. What you sow, u will reap. As for the pregnant mistress, hahaha. I laugh is China for u. Sorry for ranting here.

1. Shut up there, did you not date your husband before you married him?? That is how you women go about peddling lies about your husbands just to justify your infidelity. Who cares if you wanna leave your husband? Go and meet the one you have been dating outside and shut the hell up.

2. Anon 9:42pm.....u should actually keep ur lips sealed...Anon 9:01pm made valid points and what she said is true for most officers.u said "did she not date her man before marrying him"??? what a naive question to ask.....is it all men that unleash d terror in dem wen dating??? must she continue to live a frustrated life all in d name of been a MRS??? wen a woman leaves her marriage for good,,people like u are quick to judge that she already has another man somewhere.....you are one of d reasons women experiencing DV stay in their bad marriage until they lose dia lives..... mtcheeeewwwe

Anon....may God comfort u and give u d happiness u seek....

3. God bless you sweetheart. As for anon9:42.why the hate?. Seems you are dating a married army officer or frustrated. Get a life.

33. I doubt if there's still anything a man can do to me that would make react with rage.

I just can not be shocked.

34. May God deliver our homes from strange women. Its not only military men that are cheats. Most married men cheat and beat der wives. My annoyance is the woman shld have controlled her temper, she has mistakenly killed her own kids. Let me inform her that her husband will definitely cherish that unborn child because that may be his source of consolation he will embrace that supposed unwanted pregnancy. In a nut shell women. When faced with a situation like dis, calm down be patient, dont resort to violence rather seek the face of God because all men are polygamos in nature. If u have kids face your children and be more prayerful.

Bee hive

35. Sounds like a little bar type fridge. People live according to what they can afford, not everybody can afford two door wide fridge, for some they can only manage a small bar type one.

36. Yesterday, one beat his child to death over a plate of stale rice, today one caused the death of his two children because of beating his wife and kicking over lit stove. He couldn't even admit his guilt, had to plan big lie why his children died. I swear some men should look for comfort in the arms of a nest of snakes. Why some of us women even entertain these beasts and let them enter our bodies, for what? Now the woman's sanity is hanging by a thread. Leave these brutal men alone! Fuck shame and embarrassment! Your mental, physical health, and safety of your children are far more important than society's feelings.