Friday, May 09, 2014

KAI Officials Unlawfully Extorting Money From Lagosians.

ATTENTION - Commissioner for the Environment, Mr. Tunji Bello. 

This report was sent in by a blog visitor who witnessed what these KAI officials do and the way they unlawfully extort monies from people....your voice is the voice of democracy...use it well and report any injustice around you.

''Good day Stella. 

I have seen KAI officials in action in the past extra-judiciously seizing traders goods and "arresting" law breakers. They hold them until a relative "bails" them out. I'm not a lawyer but I'm fairly certain there is no law which confers this authority upon them. 

I live in Oniru. There isn't a single LASG water pipe providing water to any Oniru resident. We are expected to drill boreholes. Even after filtering, the water is not fit for washing clothes talk less of bathing or cooking. We have to buy water. These KAI officials have taken to impounding the Mei Ruwas' barrows and arresting these men operating within a private estate. They request bail of N50,000 per individual. 

Yesterday morning, these glorified hoodlums in uniform targeted a regular spot at Jakande in Lekki. They taxed each shop owner 1,000 (there are approximately 400 shops) to keep stalls and shops open. After collecting the money, they decided it's not enough and went from shop to shop and locked each one up with their own padlocks.  These business men and women barely making ends meet had cooked food locked in restaurants, customers chased out with half done hair, traders unable to trade. 

Their reason? None! They claim the order is from the Commissioner for the Environment, Mr. Tunji Bello. After I approached them, they studiously avoided any contact with me. I'm taking this up at Alausa as well but enough is enough.  The names of those involved are Taiwo Sulaimon, Yusuf and Rasak Ishola. Their team leader was Commander Ayo who refused to give me his last name. I also attached pictures. This happens all over Lagos and people lose their entire investment. 

Please help however you can. 

36 comments:

1. Na today?
    Corruption everywhere

1. Say no to corruption!!! If a single #bringbackourgirls hash tag could attract the world's attention on us. Then we can effect change by hash tagging all along for example...#saynotocorruption#wedeservebetterliving
      We don't need a bloody revolution but we can give a hash tagging revolution #thechangeisnow

2. Tomorow now the fools will be the first to criticise GEJ and call him corrupt, nonsense pple.

2. This is the conclusion of the matter... Nigerians will never change!

1. Who told u so..........abeg quiet jor.

3. Madam pack go whr better dey na,i can't stand an environment wiv bad water

4. Na true o, even @ ogba, u need to see the way this ppl extort money from traders indescriminately

5. Thank u for this write up. I sell fabrics in Lagos island and it's worse there. We pay for so many even when we ask their officials what's d purpose of the money ' they will say order from above' either from local government or from God knows where. They even give account number of where it should be paid. Eg 3600 naira to be paid all because u have a shop in Lagos island. And if u don't pay Shop will be locked. Also 15000 naira to be paid again. I am just tired. And pls d local government from Freeman street is just a thief that extorting us

6. Well done blog visitor..collectively our voices will bring the desired change. Pls do Follow it up cos cussing and ranting won't change anything.. kudos.

7. Bia poster!
    Are u sure about dese ur claims!
    Are u sure the shop owners dont open dia shop b4 a stipulated time.
    And are u sure dey keep to the rules n regulation of keeping dia surroundings clean.
    Cos dese kai ppl mite just be doing dia jobs oo.
    Am only saying.

Na the 50k own i no come understnd, is there a reciept issued or wat (like a fine)
    Cos i know govt officials are bcoming careful wit dia dealings wit the public.
    If we are judging anytin lets be objective.

8. Good job! Please take it up, enough of unnecessary and avoidable corruption

9. Corruption has eaten into the very bane of the nigerian society, even children already have this mindset. Snh

Click my name for all your celebration cakes n cupcakes, cheers

10. Corruption ke? Wen Jona say na small thiefing!

11. Stella it's true,there is one DAUDA who is the prosecutor at their Alausa office,they will come to ur office and serve you paper to fumigate your environment under 24 hrs, even when you do it and take the papers to their office.the next thing you will see is a seal order from lagos high court that your office is sealed without no court summon,the least they will collect from you is 150k,the man is a thief.how can a court sit under 24 hours and pass a judgement in someone's absence..and the court will not come to confirm if you have done what you are suppose to do or not,go to their office at Alausa and see the rubbish tha is happening there.

12. Nna stella US don enter niger oo with gunship and war helicopters ,stella agha dikwa.make then no turn us to iran oo

1. Asari na liar9 May 2014 at 12:30

Sdk stop approving comments like this. Causing public disaproval of Americans. They are here to help with our unsecured nation. Nigerians forget quick and they are ingrates/ungrateful.

2. Shut up if you dnt have anythin to say,am just giving stella info in a humorous way and you ar here yarning rubbish,which nigerian dsnt approve of international help with what is happening now.biko shift to ur comment no stand for my back,na only your comment she go approve.idiot

3. Shut up you stupid "asari na liar" don't you have work ni?? I don't know the hole you crowled out from.

4. Who is talking abt asari this idiot I can see you have brain tumor.look at this bush fowl talking about crawling out of a hole.Am sure ur ghetto house has no good reception for important channels,oh I forgot you only crawl around blogs.aturu sokoto.educated fool

13. ANGELRAY SAYS
    Don't know what to say any more, this madness has got to stop.

14. Chai! they should always know that there is God oo.

15. Poor Kai official .
    Their salary should be increased.
    Things are hard in that murrafucking country

16. Yes, this is true. I witnessed the incident at Jakande yesterday.

17. THIS SAME KAI OFFICIALS CAME TO LOCK SOME SHOPS SOME WHERE AT AKERELE EXTENTIONS RECENTLY AND THEY DID NOT EVEN GIVE THE SHOP OWNERS ANY GOOD REASON....THEY COULD NOT GO ABOUT THEIR BUSINESSES FOR ONE WHOLE WEEK UNTIL THEY WENT TO ALAUSA AND I LEARNT THE KAI OFFICIALS TOLD THEM IT'S "ORDER FROM ABOVE".....THEY JUST OPENED THE SHOPS AFTER #100,000K FROM THEM....MR COMMISSIONER PLEASE DON'T LET YOUR PEOPLE DRAG UR NAME INTO THE MUD BY EXHORT MONEY FROM THE MASSES THAT ARE STRUGGLING TO MAKE ENDS MEET.

18. Chukwu onye amara chebe umu gi n'ala nigeria.
    Hardship everywhere.
    Sometimes I feel for shop owners
    Its not easy running a biz in lagos
    That's why so many no dey last

19. Tunji will deny this report that he never sent anyone to harass people, money collected will be shared within his office and that of Tinubu's office. After collecting money, they will use it to open shops for girlfriends, travel to London with mistresses for shopping while some of them can't even use the money to take care of their wives & families at home. Most of our political office holders are touts, they are good at robbing the poor never cared about us. Lekki,VI,Ikoyi are over hyped area's no basic amenities. No light, bad roads,no street lights,no water,no security so why buy a house of 100m to 150m when one can't have access to water from state government unless borehole.

20. It is NOT enough to just shout n post comments here or to go and settle with KAI in their office;paying as much as #100k.This s daylight robbery!We shld learn to challenge the unlawful actions of government or its corrupt officials in court.It doesn't cost so much to do this n you must not b rich either.Aggreived individuals can even come together to challenge these unlawful actions in court.Thankfully,Lagos State has done much to refine its legal system n rid it of most of d dross that use to slow it down in d past.We shld there4 b more court friendly. Nigerians r always too quick to "settle" n that's why all these corrupt officials,from police,Road Safety to customs n KAI,etc continue to take advantage of Nigerians.Go to Police Stations n see d corruption that go on there in d name of "settlement".Both complainants n accused persons must settle.Our Police r never in a hurry to go to court.Most investigations r just hollow or hoax: the ultimate aim is always settlement.This is a syndrome Nigerians must overcome to move forward.Let's fight for our rights n challenge all illegalities legally. Somebody had to challenge d shenanigans of Road Safety in respect of d compulsory plate numbers issue b4 we had a respite. So don't just get mad,head to d court!

21. Stella biko do a post on immigration! Dier own 2much! U pay 4 everything Haba! Dem go calculate am 4 u say e pass 50k so u get drop

22. So glad am out of this country for good, so much for the unfair treatment from the hands of so called government officials.

23. I had wanted to bring kia evil activities at Cele Bus stop ie along Apapa express way to ur attention. D send touts that collect 500 each working day but collect 800 to 1000 on weekends. I have witnessed it severaly and the call it OWO KIA. If you tell those touts collectin d money for them that you don't have moni at the moment d want to collect it, they will seize ur item until u pay. But before the started payin dis OWO KIA , there was one Sanitation day that KIA workers came at Cele n distroyed all the tables and hses there. During the time I was passin there I was of the opinion that d have done a gud job ie by takin those sellers off the road. But I did not no that was the strategy thet KIA members of staff used to weaken the traders so that the will start giving the officials bribe. Dear Stella u can do ur investigation to confirm wat I have stated here.D moni is always collected arround 6.30 to 7pm everyday.

24. Point of correction CRAWLED nt crowled foolish goat.Go and read your DAY by DAY primary one English course first.Ewu cotonu