Friday, May 09, 2014

HIV/AIDS Test Now Compulsory Before Marriage– FG

The Federal Government has said testing for HIV/AIDS is mandatory for intending couples in Nigeria. The plan, according to government, is to help reduce new infection of HIV virus in the country.

It added that the decision was binding on followers of all religions. Our correspondent gathered this from stakeholders who met to ratify the plan in Abuja yesterday. The team, comprising National Prevention Plan Validation, emphasised the decision was taken to prevent new infections and curb further spread of the disease.
Speaking with reporters at the meeting, Director, Bauchi State Agency for the Control of HIV/AIDS, TB, Leprosy and Malaria (BACATMA), Yakubu Abubakar, said there had been an improvement in the new HIV Prevention Plan in Nigeria.

According to him, the current plan has input of communities and stakeholders across states of the federation and from the Federal Government.
“From the experiences of the past plan, we realised that there were variations from state to state in terms of prevalence rate, in terms of mode of transmission at state levels, in terms of culture, and in terms of approach to HIV prevention,” he said.

For the plan to be successful, Abubakar urged Christian leaders to ensure no wedding ceremony was conducted by them without an evidence of HIV/AIDS test by the intending couples.
Islamic clerics, he stated, were already being sensitised over the need to comply with the plan. He said: “In Bauchi State, we realised that in most of the marriages, there is no confirmation of HIV status. Some people marry more than once and when they are taking second wife, even if they are negative, but meet a positive family, or the second or third or fourth wife is coming with HIV to meet people that were already negative and are going to become infected.”

According to him, in polygamy, in the present plan, incoming wife is expected to take the test along with the husband and other wives already in the house. Responding to what happens when either of the parties tests positive, Ibrahim said: “At the programme level, we don’t decide what to do but the family concerned will sit down and resolve the issue themselves.”culled

41 comments:

1. Fantastic. About time.

1. It has always been dre in churches. I did twice sef b4 dem gree wed me.

2. U go fear plan....SHAKI

3. Lol n 90% of them have had sex already lol

4. This is bullshit, if two people want to get married and one has hiv, as long as the other partner is aware they should let them be. Having hiv doesn't mean you cant have healthy kids. The world has gone past this hiv matter and cancer is more of an issue. Mrs O

1. What if one person doesn't know the other is infected. What if the infected party doesn't even know they are infected? The point is to safeguard people and ensure they are adequately informed of measure that can be used to avoid transmission

2. I don't get wot u r ranting abt Mrs O. If such a situation arises, it will now give d wld be spouse man or woman 2 say they know. Its not indicated anywhr that they'll be stopped them from getting married. Abeg wetin dey vex u really?

5. Abeg I need to lose 10kg ASAP. What diet options can I go for? I already got an exercise program I just want to add diet and those slimming tea.THanks.

1. No slimming tea abeg, try detox for a week

2. Get this book;" the power of your metabolism" you don't really have to be on any diet. Instead of those slimming tea, why not try green tea?
      The Alex

3. Slimming tea ke,please avoid that nonsense.....exercise is still the best way to lose weight and avoid carbohydrate as well...

4. Try trim n fit coffee,it works like magic.

5. I dnt kw the exercise program u r on? Buh if u ask me i will recommend "early" morning road walk. It works like magic. 1hr every morning 4 3weeks, i lost 7kg. Works better when u ve a partner tho. Ad u ve 2 be determined! And try taking Edmark ginseng coffee after workouts. And no matter ur cravings, dnt eat cabs after 6pm. Goodluck.

PS. Plz dnt take them slimming tea. Most of them are harmful 2 the Body. If u must take them, ur doctor shouldn't be kept in the dark. Let him kw. Just in case.

#Hot Ice

6. Can u do fruit diet 4 2wks? U feed on just fruits and veggies+ water. No food. Its healthy and works wonders. U can also add green tea but not slimming tea o. U can only do dis if ur not breastfeeding

7. If you don't have ulcer,take fresh lemon juice(a tablespoon) mixed in a glass of warm water first thing in the morning and at night. U'll lose dem pounds

8. Thanks my sdk family.You guys rock.@Naturelle please how do I detox?Im starting the fruit only diet.I bought pineapple mangoes and watermelon.

9. Pls wher can I get the trim and fit coffee? Thanx

6. This is a good one by the Federal Government, make we curtail all these Gobe stories..
    #BringBackOurGirls #ENDviolence

7. Christians are doing it already. Its left to you muslims marrying 100 wives to deal with that shit.
    Most Muslims go see woman today, marry her tomorrow, fuck her next tomorrow.

1. Wrong order.
      See woman today, fuck her tmr, do naming ceremony.

2. At least our own still better, we see woman, marry her then fuck. Unlike the christains wen dey fuck before marriage, infact most christains go don live together for countless years, born authentic bastards before them marry. Most times sef na the woman go siddon ontop the man head dey shout 'go see my people, go see my people' see them all over port harcourt, we know them. Or is it the ones wen dey fuck oyibo left, right and centre born children wen the oyibos go still abandon waka go wen their contract finish. No let me open una nyash o lekpa shandy.

3. Lekpa xtians are already doing it because you don't keep to the law of close your legs until you marry. Thank God you sef said it, we meet,marry then fuck. Unlike you people that even fuck during night vigil or you think we don't know?

4. At least our own still better, we see woman, marry her then fuck. Unlike the christains wen dey fuck before marriage, infact most christains go don live together for countless years, born authentic bastards before them marry. Most times sef na the woman go siddon ontop the man head dey shout 'go see my people, go see my people' see them all over port harcourt, we know them. Or is it the ones wen dey fuck oyibo left, right and centre born children wen the oyibos go still abandon waka go wen their contract finish. No let me open una nyash o lekpa shandy.

5. Arewa must you bite every bait
      i tire for all of una o
      so much animosity

6. I follow u tire dear.

8. Welp, this was the case in the U.S at one time till I think it was regarded as discriminatory. As much as it sounds like a good idea, many will suffer due to the stigma still attached to being HIV positive. I think this should be a matter of choice and should be decided by the couple involved.

1. choice to stay together not choice to deceive your partner

9. It has always been compulsory in catholic church and some other churches..

Either way,it doesn't really help.. Couples that are already have sex daily before getting married.... It will only help those that kept their selves for marriage...

10. Hian!
    Are they just waking up?
    Catholics have been doing this for ages, even genotype test too.
    Anyway, good move.

11. And if either of the partner comes out positive? Stigmatising wahala don start be dat abi? I wish we have enough rehab centers for people living with this disease I swear more people will get tested. We always start what we can't finish.

12. I pity people who go into marriage without going for HIV/ AIDS test.

Salt

13. When most of the females intending to marry already have protruding belles. Well it will work for few and not work for some. Akpako masters already knacking away before their marriages.

14. So our Government siddon find legislation to pass them no see, dem come siddon o, dey twiddle finger come decide this na the most urgent thing wen we need right now for the country...Like really. Knowing your partner's HIV status is a personal thing, yes it is good to know but our right to privacy and private life should not be an issue for the government to legislate on. Common!!!. Everyone should have a right to privacy, of course you should tell your partner of your status if you are and if you decide you want to take a test before marriage, it should be up to you to do that not up to the government to intrude in our righ to privacy... Common. Na even federal legislation sef... like really?

15. Go Ghana go marry. shikena

16. I wedded in Mater Maseriocordae Cath. Church PH. We presented our HIV and genotype test results before our wedding. It is omenala in the Catholic Church for ages now.

#We lead,others follow