Monday, May 12, 2014

Donald Sterling Apologises And Tells CNN He Was Baited Into Making The Famous Racist Comment

Los Angeles Clippers owner Donald Sterling says he's sorry but feels he was "baited" to make racist comments, nearly two weeks after the NBA fined him and banned him for life for his remarks in a recorded conversation.
"When I listen to that tape, I don't even know how I can say words like that. ... I don't know why the girl had me say those things," he told CNN's Anderson Cooper in an exclusive interview set to air on Monday (today).

"You're saying you were set up?" Cooper asked.

"Well yes, I was baited," Sterling said. "I mean, that's not the way I talk. I don't talk about people for one thing, ever. I talk about ideas and other things. I don't talk about people."
Sterling, an 80-year-old married lawyer and billionaire real-estate investor, hasn't spoken publicly about the accusations since celebrity gossip website TMZ posted a 10-minute audio recording of him that drew widespread condemnation from fans, players and the league.

In that audio clip, Sterling chastised friend V. Stiviano for posting pictures online of her posing with African-Americans, including basketball Hall of Famer Earvin "Magic" Johnson.

The recording triggered a firestorm that led to Sterling's lifetime ban from the NBA and a $2.5 million fine. NBA Commissioner Adam Silver has asked the other 29 owners to force Sterling, the longest-tenured owner in the league, to sell the Clippers.

"I'm not a racist," Sterling told Cooper. "I made a terrible, terrible mistake. And I'm here with you today to apologize and to ask for forgiveness for all the people that I've hurt."

Asked by Cooper why he took so long to say he's sorry, Sterling said he was "emotionally distraught."
"The reason it's hard for me, very hard for me, is that I'm wrong. I caused the problem. I don't know how to correct it," he said.

Sterling said he doesn't want his comments to eclipse his lengthy tenure with the NBA.

"I'm a good member who made a mistake and I'm apologizing and I'm asking for forgiveness," he said. "Am I entitled to one mistake, am I after 35 years? I mean, I love my league, I love my partners. Am I entitled to one mistake? It's a terrible mistake, and I'll never do it again."

Now, Sterling said, his fate is in the league's hands.
"If the owners feel I have another chance, then they'll give it to me," he said.

'I thought she liked me'
Last week, another audio recording surfaced online, allegedly showing Sterling trying to add context to the racist comments that got him banned from the league.
"The girl is black. I like her. I'm jealous that she's with other black guys. I want her. So what the hell, can I in private tell her, you know, 'I don't want you to be with anybody'?" the man purported to be Sterling said in that recording, according to RadarOnline.

On Sunday, Sterling told CNN that in the recording "I spoke to a girl that I was fond of."
Stiviano told ABC News earlier this month that the recorded conversation was similar to many she's had with Sterling about race.
"There's been a number of occasions where Mr. Sterling and I had conversations just like this one," she said. "Part of what the world heard was only 15 minutes. There's a number of other hours that the world doesn't know."
Sterling told CNN he's not sure who released the recording.
"I don't know. An 80-year-old man is kind of foolish, and I'm kind of foolish. I thought she liked me and really cared for me," he said. "I guess being 51 years older than her, I was deluding myself. ... I just wish I could ask her why, and if she was just setting me up."

Sterling says he's spoken with Magic Johnson
Referring to Johnson, Sterling purportedly said on the recording: "Admire him, bring him here, feed him, f**k him, but don't put (Magic) on an Instagram for the world to have to see so they have to call me. And don't bring him to my games."
As criticism over the recording spread, Johnson was among the first to say that Sterling should be forced to sell the team.
"He shouldn't own a team any more. And he should stand up and say, 'I don't want to own a team any more,' "Johnson said in an ABC pregame show interview last month.
Sterling told CNN he's spoken twice with Johnson.
"Did you apologize to him?" Cooper asked.
"If I said anything wrong, I'm sorry," Sterling said. "He's a good person. I mean, what am I going to say? Has he done everything he can do to help minorities? I don't think so. But I'll say it, he's great. But I don't think he's a good example for the children of Los Angeles."

Will owners force sale?
The matter of the team's sale is with the NBA's Advisory/Finance Committee, which met Wednesday in a conference call. Members discussed the "termination of Mr. Sterling's ownership of the team," the NBA said in a news release. The committee will meet again next week, the statement said.
If the case proceeds to a full vote, 75% of the owners would have to approve the forced sale.
However, an attorney for Donald Sterling's estranged wife, Shelly, told CNN Friday that she wants to keep her 50% stake in the team.
"She wants to remain a passive owner," said attorney Pierce O'Donnell. "She's not going to want to manage the team. She's going to want a very skilled, professional, well-heeled new owner to come in and replace Donald," O'Donnell said. "She only wants to own the team in her lifetime. She's 79 years old. At this point, she's earned it. She's been an owner for 33 years, and she's an avid fan."
"I will fight that decision," she told ABC's Barbara Walters. "To be honest with you, I'm wondering if a wife of one of the owners, and there's 30 owners, did something like that, said those racial slurs, would they oust the husband? Or would they leave the husband in?"
NBA spokesman Mark Bass said in a statement after the ABC interview aired that what happens if the owners vote for a forced sale is already spelled out in the NBA Constitution.
"Under the NBA Constitution, if a controlling owner's interest is terminated by a 3/4 vote, all other team owners' interests are automatically terminated as well. It doesn't matter whether the owners are related as is the case here," he said. "These are the rules to which all NBA owners agreed to as a condition of owning their team."culled

(Watch Anderson Cooper's interview with Donald Sterling at 8 p.m. ET Monday on "AC360" on CNN)

*Na wah,even if he was set up,he still said it,he shoud have just apoligsed abeg...big mouth.

18 comments:

1. Anderson Cooper finally got the exclusive after all that hustling. "I thought she liked me"...Haha,why did I find that funny?

2. The way cnn is over flogging this issue like they set the trap for him n he fell.
    Poor old man.
    I still maintain that comment he made to the girl does not sound racist in anyway to me.
    If he really was racist,would he be with her?
    Considering she's black.
    It's just a joke gone wrong.
    Okbye

3. Mumu,which kind rubbish set up? Its wats in ur mind u said. Was thinkin d mumu wd say it wasn't him. Lie kill all of una,u nor dey fear,u for stand by ur words na. Mumu oshi

4. Hey guys! Off topic but please I need answers to these questions
    Guys/girls can you marry someone that graduated with a 3rd class?
    What has love got to do with result, qualifications? I'm so pissed ATM, this stupid guy is threatening to call off the engagement with my friend because her result has just been released and she had a 3rd class, this is someone she was with even when he had nothing and now he wants to end it because of that? Pls does degree classification matter in a relationship? Does It really matter?

1. Wat rubbish, the guyz shallow minded. it dosnt count nw. if e insists on breakin off d engagement e shud go to hell. Advise ur friend to do a pgd programme nd den masters. or do oda short courses to boost ha cv beta stil go into full time bizness if shez nt d book type. no b by 3rd class last last o. My girlfis elda sista had a 3rd class nd got a bank job years ago....now shez the bank manager. my tot is even if she marrys him e'll torment ha wit d 3rd class talk.

2. Just tell us it's ur story not ur friend's. Fear dey catch u say SDKers go stigmatise u say u carry 3rd class. Hian

5. There's no real apology here. Sterling is one fine astute business man and this 'apology' is all about his business. I was baited? Come'on!

6. Hello??? He was baited? Ha! Baba you no sabi lie oh. O boy admit it, you are racist ! Fear no go let you admit that shit!

7. I thought he wld neva apologise. Was he high on something when he was making the statement.how will he say thats not the way he talks .anyways good for you mr sterling that you apologised but u v already have more enemies and haters your way.i just hope the number of ppl will hurt will reduce by 0.9% with this your"its so hard for me"apology
    Its not by colour or age but by widom mr man cos d "colour" of ur brain nd mine is the same.u just chose to use yours differntly in a wrong way frm mine

8. Bla bla bla,you are a racist Admit it. As for you Stiviano enjoy your 15mins of fame.
    He made such comments to you and you stayed with him because of money. What took you long before releasing the tape?

Nk

9. This PR offensive doesn't change his mindset.

10. @kimiphibia. Anderson can never love you because he's gay

11. Did he really apologize? What I heard in d interview was '"IF' I said anything wrong, I apologize" meaning 'I don't think I said anything wrong but u can have my apology...

Jst goes to show dt to him, only d money benefits count.

12. mummy Ada; you need to read the whole post again. Or, specsavers.

13. I'm totally not condoning what he said in anyway whatsoever but I believe he was truly sorry and it came off with a tone of sincerity. This man is 80 years old and u have to tell you that I once worked with a white person that was 74 years old and you will be surprised if you hear some of the things that comes out her mouth. Just like his wife said and I totally agreed with her . This man might have a bit of dementia which is 100% possible with
    His age. In my own opinion, I felt this man must have been set up just like he said by some people that is interested in his team and they used that no good money hungry ingrate girlfriend if his. Some people will do anything just to have 15 mins of fame. This lady flashy lifestyle was bankrolled by this woman and she Agreed to damaged his legacy? How many more years does he have to live for heavens sake? Shameless transvestite woman. I smell a fish about the set up from Magic Johnson. Reason being that it was the picture the lady tool with him that causes all the mess. When the news came out and people accused him of setting up the man in other for him to buy his team he denied ever interested in the team but the moment people started being against his comments against black people which includes President Obama and Oprah and the man was banned by NBA, he Magic Johnson is now singing another song of being interested . What a jackass. I'm a black person and knows what it is being black but I feels the msn has been punished and humiliated and totally disagree with NBA taking the team away from him and his wife. If Magic Johnson do have something to do with this
    Mess. He will get his own . Karma is there.

14. @Emerald Me...the guy is an unserious guy.I think ur friend should dump his sorry ass!Her result shld never have anything to do with his feelings for her.Do u know that Dele Momodu studied Yoruba n i thk he made a 3rd?.Today,he's 100% better than a lot of pple that graduated with better results.I thk Late Gani Fawehinmi graduated with a 3rd too.
    Its what she makes out of herself that's important.If the guy ends up marrying her,he's most likely going to make her feel inferior....

15. Looking at sterling I felt like givin him a spank, cos I knw all na pretence. He's feelin bad cos sm1 else is takin d team.

16. I believe him, it ws out of jealousy.

Mrs Davido