“What we are witnessing today is not too different from what happened during my administration as head of state….We need to pray and work with the government to ensure that this ugly cycle of violence comes to an end so that the unity of Nigeria is not threatened. It is therefore imperative for the government to deal with the spate of violence sweeping through the country so that this country can remain as one united entity,”
– Dr. YAKUBU GOWON; Nigeria’s former Head of State
Lately, we have been hearing louder rants of impending belligerence and deafening noise from the tom-tom of wars beaten by certain people in Nigeria. The charged and tense atmosphere which appears like a screaming signage of a dangerously- looming feud makes me tremor endlessly in concern, fear and apprehension of what the future holds for this country. Nigeria is on the precipitous escarpment and on a free-fall into the abyss of unquenchable self-set inferno. All the talks from coast-to-coast and region-to region are tough and taunting; they are also threatening and treacherous.
I hear militants in both the North and the South on television and radio blustering and bragging about how they intend to subdue their enemies. Gunshots are rattling in far-away forests, bombs are booming in busy cities, and there is confusion pervading the landscape. The North wants to go to the Cameroon, The South-west wants to stand alone, the Niger Delta wants the oil to itself, and the South East wants out of the amalgamation. The auditorium where the ongoing national conference is taking place is filled wall-to-wall with shrieks, shouts, holler of hate, resistance speeches and dumb demands. The colloquy now serves as a standing mirror through which Nigeria truly sees itself.
The Western world’s ‘prophetic’ word that Nigeria will cease to exist in 2015 seems to be fast coming to fulfillment, while the lunatic mercantilists in our midst who profit from troubling times are counting down to a big pay-day that we pray will never come.
Those who are fanning embers of resentment and hate may have no understanding of the grimness of the grave they are digging. Nigeria’s death, God forbid, will be painful, gory, sorry, and there will be gnashing of teeth. Those who want the oil and precious metals will be spitting and dancing on Nigeria’s grave and later write memoirs about a foolish people from a foolish country who never really appreciate how good God has been to them, and who never understand that what should bring them together are much more than what poles them apart.
Before the first shot is fired, let’s think and rethink over again. In wars, victory and defeat are both too bitter. Everybody will lose precious things and people, and never will the landscape remain the same. These are the realities we face. Anyone who thinks these times are about one person must be on opium. This will not be about President Jonathan, but about the Leviathan called ‘WAR’ with which we must be ready to wrestle and win.
Did you see the carnage that occurred in the aftermath of the bomb-blast in Nyanya? Did you see how bodies were scooped up like decaying meat-loaf unto filthy rickety vehicles meant to be ambulances? Did you see the horror in the eyes of onlookers many of whom have never set eyes on blood until that day? When the first shot is fired in this war we feel its hover in the air, the result will be 1,000 times worse than that!
I heard that the number of Nigerian green-card applicants in the US is growing as Millionaire and Billionaire Nigerians are sneaking their subjects outside of the war-zone ahead of the “day of judgment”. Your leaders who began all of this, the greedy loonies, the thieving rascals, the gluttonous goons and geeks who care nothing about the common man will be in the comfort of their homes in Chicago, New-York, Texas and Tennessee -with their children, and their first, second, third wives enjoying the loots from Nigeria.
Pastors and Imams who are not telling us the truth and who are not preaching words that will solder us together, but only speak words that will bind them and their families to freebies of stolen money will relocate to London, Australia, Saudi Arabia and Iran where they already have branches of their church and mosque. And the peons in Nigeria will remain in peonage; the helpless will be without help, the homeless will still have no homes, and the hungry will still be hungrier than ever before because farmers are no longer farming, and the Gari sellers have nothing to sell because of war. Millions of Nigerians who can’t run will be trapped in the mayhem and the outbreak of pandemic and epidemic that will follow.
Someone may say that Boko-Haram has already fired the first shot. No, that is a rehearsal of the monumental monstrosity knocking on our doors. ‘Intellectuals’ speaking big grammar on TV and blogs today will not fight, politicians will not, clerics will not, those who are egging us on to fight will not. Rich people don’t fight wars; they just watch them like movies. But the robbed and the pillaged will be recruited to fight in a battle they never started, they will die and their bodies will be scooped up like decaying meat-loaf for mass burial in lonely jungles.
Those who have entry visas to other countries will scurry out, but when they get to the countries of their intents, doctors among them will become cab-drivers, bank CEOs will become security guards, and nurses will become horses that exploiters of labor will ride smiling to the bank.
When Ghanaians were in economic trouble in the 70s, they ran to Nigeria and we welcomed them. When Liberians got in deep mess, Nigeria was the sanctuary and they were welcomed. I know South Africans who made Nigeria home when apartheid stung them hard. If the pangs of war besiege Nigeria, we will have few choices of countries in which we take refuge. Nigeria and Nigerians are hated by many countries, and this is true! Words of wisdom and cautions from those who have been through wars in times past are largely ignored and the sages among us are considered wimps who don’t know how to fight for their rights. WAR IS NOT THE ANSWER, Nigeria! Late sage Chief Obafemi Awolowo once said something to the effect that the consequences of breaking up of Nigeria would be too traumatic to even think about. My name is Fola Ojo, and I approve that message.
Those who clamor for war are protesting injustice and tough lives in a land flowing with milk and honey. They are protesting thirst amidst plenteous sweet water that they have no access to, and they all know there is enough to go around. The average Nigerian dies ten-thousand times daily under harsh conditions brought about by misrule that has always been our story.
Our leaders are like Biblical Pharaoh who loved to keep people in servitude. Until the tormented wakes up, the tormentor will continue to wreak pain. Nigerians have not made the demand for change hard enough. Until we hit the streets and make life tough for them, life may continue to be tough for all in the hands of these strange people we call leaders.
War is not the answer, we are!
Article By FOLA OJO
At all at all..War can never be the answer!
ReplyDeleteSame ol' story, just a different day. We are tired of reading epistles, we want actions. Shikena !!
Delete@swerve,u want action', meaning u want war or wat?
DeleteMay we not witness wat war is in dis our time!cos alot of pple will be killed,all lazy youths!
Hmmm...this is a nice write up...but how do we make all these thieves/politicans listen to the voice of the masses...listen to the voice of a common man Or the garri seller (of course not Dbanj)...I don't know the solution and of course not all these pray and pray is the solution but action..we pray after action
ReplyDeleteJeezzz
ReplyDeleteAs in stella
As in like u expect M-amie to sit up and complete this boring read?
As in,u must be kidding me.
Summary from the patient folks on this blog pls
We are still backwards, insensitive, mean, cruel, greedy, cowardly, and not willing for a positive revolution. Lord, have mercy on our land
DeleteMamie the writer said you are mad.
DeleteHahhahahhaahhahha@patient folk...#Spot on@summary
Delete*Prayer For Nigeria in Distress x10 Daily*
i
C
h
o
P
t
a
s
N
o
t
25th April, 2014
Lazy bitch!
DeleteWar has never being d answer! *Sighs deeply*
ReplyDeleteAmazing write up! What a sad country we live in!
ReplyDeleteBrilliant write up.
ReplyDeleteVery LOOOOOOONG! Kai!
ReplyDeleteNice write up. Quida
ReplyDeleteYes ooo @ poster & moi,, i go along with ur comment,,,war can never b d answer
ReplyDeleteNice write up
ReplyDeleteI had goose bumps and shiver in my spine reading this!! words of wisdom!!! You have said it all Mr Fola. War is not the Answer truly... the poor and helpless will bear the brunt more. I believe in One Nigeria!!! If we think it we can Do it.
ReplyDeleteIt starts with me being my brothers keeper...and you being your sisters keeper. A word is Enough for the wise.
Let those who have ears, hear what the spirit is saying.
At least let's learn from the Previous war outbreak and it's consequences. That's what the wise do... they learn from other's experience. I speak Peace to Nigeria!!! She shall be what God has destined her to be
Fellow Nigerians.... the ball is our court!! #onelove
Well said.
DeleteWAR; an ill wind that blows no one any good.
DeleteWar can never be the answer.
ReplyDeleteNicely crafted piece,Dr Ojo.
Well said
Abeg make stella find me oyinbo marry fa!I need t check out fast B4 Kasala burst India country.
ReplyDeleteTrue talk
ReplyDeletePlease this Yakubu Gowon character should just go and sit down permanently somewhere. He is one of the major architects of the misfortune that has befallen this country. His failure to handover power in 1974 as he had promised opened up a totally new chapter in the history of this country which have now led us to this precipice. If he had not been forcibly removed by his soldier colleagues he would still have remained in power today like Mugabe. In 1974, there existed honest and visionary politicians who were ready and willing to take over from Gowon and lead this country to the heights that she deserved to attain but he greedily and myopically refused to hand over power to them claiming that they had not learnt their lessons. Shebi we are all now learning the so-called lessons. This breach of promise by Gowon precipitated a chain of events that have now put this great country under the yoke of charlatans and scoundrels who are now having a field day destroying the country for unborn generations. So Gowon has done more than enough damage to this country that will last many generations, like all the other rulers he is also a failed ruler.
ReplyDeleteGbam u v said it all anon, abeg com make I fan u jare u know d history well.
DeleteWhen my mum says Gowon is a doing good, going 2 church, serving God etc, I tell her he is more or less atoning 4 his sins. It just so happens Nigerians r very forgetful n God is a merciful God.
DeleteWe have come a long way as a people and nation,all we need is love,tolerance.Lets stand up and fight our common enemies which are: 1 Corrruption 2 Bad leadership. Its time to say no to them,wherever you come from lets see ourselves as one.Stella start the love news from here tell the Mamies on your blog war is not the answer.
ReplyDeleteThe noisemakers are already making sure their families have left this country! They are hoping thr ignorant fools will start a war! NIGERIANS MAKE UNA WISE OOOOO! SCREAM NEVER TO WAR! THERE IS ALWAYS A BETTER WAY! DO NOT BE USED AND DECEIVED!!!
ReplyDeleteLets not go to war,lets come together and fight d comon enemies,am certain there r many muslims who dont support dis boko haram thing..very many hausas runnin to the east,west and south am sure r runnin away from d boko haram zones as well,i am not sayin all but I tink some of dem r tired of dis boko boys and their wahala too..may God restore peace back to Nigeria and Nigerians..one way or another we all sure need each oda..