Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: THE BURDEN OF THE DEFEATED

Friday, April 11, 2014

THE BURDEN OF THE DEFEATED

We lost the Nigerian civil war. There was nothing civil about the genocide that was inflicted on the peoples of the old Eastern Region that declared itself the Republic of Biafra. One of the reasons Biafra survived for 30 months was because of poor road network. With the Niger bridge rendered unusable, Biafran made shore batteries made amphibious access to Onitsha costly for Nigerian troops. 

The meandering single-lane road from Enugu to Onitsha made the Abagana Ambush possible.

So Nigeria decided to make troop movement easy in case we revolt again. They gave us the dual-carriage Enugu-Awka-Onitsha Expressway and Enugu-Umuahia-Port Harcourt Expressway. They also gave us a single-carriage Okigwe-Nnewi-Onitsha Expressway. 

They also added one from Onitsha to Owerri, which was named "Ekwusigo" at the Onitsha end of the expressway. These roads cut through the heartland and major cites in Igboland. Now the tanks can roll unhindered!

But we are not going to revolt again. We are smarter than that, though people do not give us any credit. Even when we take the top positions in any examination in Nigeria, we do not take the top jobs. Even when we are required to score 125% higher than candidates from some other states, we still make the cut and get admission to the elite schools. Thank God our parents did not use Western Education to suppress us as some did to their people; they are now paying dearly for it. Boko is not Haram for us!

As for the roads, they are now death traps! Those who survived genocide are now dying daily from motorcide. That is one of the burdens the defeated must bear.

Written BY Emeka Maduewesi is a Lawyer based in USA

52 comments:

1. Buhahahaha! Patt, Oga dey come?you just drop the word run.

You can't cease to amaze me with your coments.

I like it though, Pepper the richest!

2. Pls.stop hounding & stalking this Pat girl! Not everyone talks lots of rubbish.

3. Stella, u shouldn't have posted this.

4. Anonymous 5:32 sily rat ..STFU.....are you now Patt? What is your smoking business with me and what I say to Patt, Patt is lovely that's why I stalk her, you what are you, bag of shit! Waiting to be notice! Stay outta my headache.

Pepper the unquenchable! Null nonsense tolerance!
      Ose Oku na erere!

1. You fought a war and lost. So you were defeated. This same tribal madness we see you people run on all threads insulting other tribes. Same reason why the war started. Some people don't learn or know their history. Keep gathering hate for your selves till trouble start. Then we start to hear all sorts for the next generation. Tell ibo people to learn to live in peace with others and shut up

2. Igbo nwere madu. I love ndi igbo and i'm proud to be one. IGBO KWE NU!!!

3. Anon 12 45 you yorubas are the biggest idiots we have in Nigeria,trouble makers

4. Anon 12:45 , you should thank God that britain, russia, egypt, and later usa, fought on the Nigerian side, otherwise by now you wouldn't be ranting this nonesense. Go and read your history well, am sure you thought the Igbos were defeated by the ill trained and ragtag Nigerian army? I pity you. Keep ranting until it starts again. I no blame you.

5. Anon 5:36, Ђδω Ǎ̜̣̍я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ you sure he/she Ȋ̝̊̅§ Yoruba?$exyD

6. Anon 5:36, Ђδω Ǎ̜̣̍я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ you sure he/she Ȋ̝̊̅§ Yoruba?$exyD

1. Seconded. People who aren't ready to reconcile with themselves and move forward in life write crap like this. He shouldn't stop here. Let him continue writing civil war stories till death. Nonsense.

2. The most senseless article yet. Mshew

4. I'm sur e the writer is one of those who fled the counry. From the old school of thought. Please we do not need these tribilistic idealogies. You sit in the US and write tribal based article, to achieve what? Pleas if the writer is not ready for tru nationalism then he should remain in the us.

1. True nationalism my ass. When u bas***ds were killing us for nothn it was tru nationalism right? U better get ready cos those scars u think are faded are not.

2. @Bube, the only thing you can do is rant on the internet....if you want a change, be that change...do it peacefully and stop this tirade.$exyD

5. Good write up however, I don't see any closure, ended somehow sha. And no, I'm not an olodo.

6. stella pls is this a deliberate attempt to start tribal war,im disapointed,this is the least we need right,you and the writers should be joining your voice toward unity in diversity in this country,the civil war is very sensitive topic and reminds us of the bitter taste of war,may we never go through that again.

7. Igbo will always stand firm no matter what.
    Proudly IGBOLICIOUS GIRL.

8. Politically inclined11 April 2014 at 12:46

Stella, stop "Fani-Kayode(ing)* Very spiteful article. We need a transformation programme, stop playing that foolish sympathy card of 19sixty something and come and fix the problems in our homeland. Nuisance of a writer

9. Stupid write up by someone who has absolutely no knowledge of history. Ekwusigo is a town in anambra state. Being based in the USA does not make you an authority in local affairs. Remain there and leave us to build our land where tribe and tongue may differ but in brotherhood we stand

1. To think u are bearing Igbo name and u r sounding like a sojourner in his own land. There's no town called Ekwusigo in Anambra state. Ekwusigo is a local govt with four towns: Oraifite, Ichi, Ozubulu and Ihembosi. The local govt was named after the Ekwusigo express road cos it passed through the four towns. So, u see, d 'Americana' is right after all. Study your geography w

ell b4 criticising any literary work.

10. We dnt need this kind of tribal writeup pls, better give me 10 things that can make a stingy man change, 25 things to know he got nothing upstairs but just an empty skul n last but not the list, 10 things to do to make heaven mbok.

11. War has never and will never be a solution to any problems. We must always sit down and talk.

12. SKELEWU REOADED11 April 2014 at 13:22

Over 30thousand Ibo people were killed in less that 2months the Nigerian government refused to show concern, that's is one of the major reasons ojukwu called for war. It was a silly decision, but it was what happened. I weep for Nigeria, we are the architects of our own problems. We hate each other more than the white man hates us. Even God cannot save us. Because to solve a problem, you have to first admit to the problem and we are so used to suffering and smiling that we have gone so wrong.

13. Hmmmmm.............igbo mma mma......we can never be defeated

I wasn't born during d civil war and my mum said she was a toddler during d war.......I dont know much about it and whenever my granpa talks about it he get very emotional. ....

1. Ezenwanyi ukwu sugar....
      Tomato jos........
      Double chief
      It is very well with you.
      Please I will like you to cease fire with samira hall, as a xtian and as a mother.I am requesting it as my weekend present from you, thank you.

2. Awwwwwwww.. .............

Ok ma

Ve a nice weekend

14. @pepper am following ur foot steps

15. The biafran war ended almost 20yrs before I was born....Of all the pictures I saw,I only saw d masses suffering and Ojukwu looking well-fed..it's quite easy to sit behind a screen somewhere in the world and provoke the minds of peopleCAN YOU PICK A MICROPHONE IN FRONT OF THE NASS AND SAYS ALL THESE BOLDLY?

Assuming their is a revolt,CAN YOU LEAD THE WAY AND SUFFER TOO?
    Most of the war veterans are dead or decapitated meanwhile troublemakers like Dis writer are stirring waters they cannot drink from.

And I'm sure you are a Christian,the bible preaches forgiveness,love and peace..DOEA YOUR WRITEUP PROMOTE JESUS.

Lastly,you haven't made any sense or point besides mentioning bridges built and history u probably researches.

PLS REST.

*Drops mic*

16. Based in the USA ,pls when u return to onitsha,Owerri or Asaba,pls talk.....dis time with megaphone not behind a screen.

Nigeria isnt rosy but we all are in it together n live as we can manage....ONLY THE MASSES SUFFER THE EFFECT OF THE WAR..the elites abscond or hid their families cozily.

I am so upset by this post.

1. I'm with you Agidi jollof, I weep for my dear country...no how for this great nation. Igbo hate Yoruba, Yoruba hate Hausa, Hausa hate Igbo. ..and we are calling white people racist, even we that are of the same skin color hate one another's gut.

17. it's evident that the Country Nigeria belongs and is controlled by d North and believe it or not,the Southern Elites...but East and Western regions r just pawns n minority but you don't see d westerners moaning and crying over split milk.....The so called amalgamation was a scam and fraud on d east,west and south but we r in it already....

If we have a sovereign national conference where we can deliberate on splitting amicably and trade peacefully,good.....but that's not feasible.
    But don't incite a genocide.
    so Aluta Continua...

forgive my typos.

18. Shut up anon 12:17. Emeka Maduewesi comes home all the time. More than 3ce in a year. He did not run. Btw he is a lawyer @ google and studied law in Nsukka. He spoke d truth. One day Biafra must happen. Fools who hate Igbo yet u can't let us be. Accept that without us ur country will not grow u won't. The story of the Isrealites and the Egyptians is my solace. #Belle is charged up!

19. D Abagana ambush.....just couldn't get enough of d story while my g.dad still lived, he tells it with pride always! #epic

1. i am from abagana. I hear about the abagana sector all the time.

20. choi Eze wanyi liar. you people should remember your lies. you were born before 1970 and you married your sugar daddy at 13 or 14 fa. remember when you said you are in your 30s. una too dey lie.

1. Bwahahaaaaaaa. ..........I will be 35 in August and yes I was born 1979 do d maths......

Ezewanyi does not tell lies,Y should I? For what? and btw, I think u need to get laid fooli wonder y every of my words give u heartache.
      Wasted akamu a k a peter onye amu ibi.stop stalking me biko.
      Peter onye bastard...
      Peter onye impotent. ..
      Peter isi ewu
      Peter d poor of d poorest
      Peter d incestuous fool
      Peter d daughter fucker
      Peter nwoke ubiam

Ezewanyi d greatest. ....

Twerks out*

2. Oga peter haven't you taken enough bashing from this woman? I feel shame on your behalf, let her be, she is not in your league.this woman is very wicked, see what she did to samira,I dint know how you sleep at night after all the abuses from this woman and I also hope you dont transfer the aggression of the abuses to your wife.
      Get a life man

21. When ever they are in needs ,tey will remember the good people of Igboland ,then after they might got what ever missions in there hearts the good people of Igboland turn to be de bad people for them,,but a time await sooner

22. Though d write up is so senseless and uncalled for i must commend late sir maduewesi for hvin scholars as children.d madurwesi s are so much blessed wt brain,thoug theirs is nt d beauty and brain(wowo and brain)。they hv it all,rev,bishop,lawyer,prof,doc,engrs.they are so intelligient.d highest wowo and brain among them is asso prof Bayron maduewesi d d knacking chief of married women in nwafor orizu coll of edu.very wicked and mean man and can fuck married women for africa.gives carry over like no tmrw.
    Stella if u like u can once again use my comment fr ur orgasm.seems like bayron don fuck u bfr cos na ur type he dey like.ndi ocha ka omaka

23. @ anon 2.53(aka emeka).if the author of this article was born bred and schooled in nigeria as you say,you have just proved that his brain is full of hectares of undeveloped land.if his knowledge of the civil war is limited to such sketchy propaganda he should emerge from the closet as the dimwit he is and stop masquerading as a an intellectual activist.i am happy that the anambra plan for dominance over other ibo's was foiled at inception.ojukwu would have been nothing better than a biafran Mugabe.btw I am Ibo

1. The igbos can't even agree amongst themselves,na wa o.Truth must be told,you guys can't win a war because you don't have enough landmass and natural fortress to withstand a long siege as well as being landlocked.The odds are stacked heavily against you.The abagana disaster was as a result of a headstrong military commander like Murtala Mohammed who fought with emotions rather than his head.It is a shame that somebody who perished. a division of nigerian army will later become the head of states.The third marine commando and other divisions led by yoruba military leaders had better success because they were more tactical rather than use brute force those coming from the north employed.However,the war ended 44 years ago,let this generation not get sucked up to that ugly past as the author of this article wants.Let us intensify efforts to make groundbreaking innovations and inventions that will turn all our lives around for better.

24. I read Terrors of war and The other side of a yellow sun
    I don't ever pray for war to return.
    Please stick to your tribalistic thoughts .. Eeewh!

25. Ekwusigo is not a town in Anambra State. Ekwusigo is a local government made up of Oraifite and Ozubulu.

This is a short piece that shows the insincerity of the federal goverment even when they purport to site projects. The roads, like the German Autobahn, were part future war logistics. Now they are death traps.

As someone pointed out above, Emeka Maduewesi comes to Nigeria from his US base at least three times a year. He is currently in Abuja monitoring the National Conference while preparing for his late father's burial.