Suvir Mirchandani is only 14 but if this is anything to go on he has a very bright future ahead of him.
The teenager has hit upon a genius method to save the US government $400 million (£240 million) - just to change what font they use.
Mirchandani was mulling over ideas for a school science fair when he worked out that by changing to Garamond font from the usual Times New Roman, governments would use 25% less ink.
That tiny amount of ink might not sound much but when you scale it up to the level of the US government, the volumes involved are massive.
Federal government could save $136 million (£81 million) per year and an additional $234 million (£140 million) could be saved if state-level departments adopted the move.
In fact, the estimated government expenditure on ink is a whopping £1.1bn a year so a 25% saving equates to big bucks.
Indeed, applied across the world the now-so-painfully obvious move could save even more.
So far the government has not said whether or not it would be implementing the change.culled
*Hmmm why are Nigerian schools not publishing any discoveries made by their brilliant students? i have never heard one good news come out of any Nigerian secondary school!
You hear how much the US govt spend on ink, if na naija, you all will be shouting GEJ. I remember the 1b for food in asorock, people were screaming designer rice and beans. I am like are you guys for real, is the food just for GEJ and PEJ ? Almost every week the state house host guest from all over the country and outside. Na pure water you want make them serve them? I pity my generation.....back to the issue, what an intelligent boy..his parents must be really proud. We should learn to support the government and not just name calling and ranting on the internet.xoxoxo
ReplyDelete#word
DeleteI never knew We still have someone this dumb in the country.
DeleteIf only u were a reasonable person you would know any project and endeavour is guided by two key parameters; functionality and economy
I hope you know America is a continent.
DeleteNorth America is a continent, the USA is a country!
DeleteWow! That's pure genius from a 14yr young boy
DeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
Stella, you go wait tire, universities for nija never discover anything na secondary schools go come discover? Na yahoo yahoo them sabi.
ReplyDeleteWe r richly blessed in this country even in Africa wt human n intellectual resources but d platform t showcase our potentials isn't dere. Wen u even birth an idea, somone is just arnd d corner t terminate d idea either physically or spiritually. God help us in ds country.
ReplyDeleteYou hear how much the US govt spend on ink, if na naija, you all will be shouting GEJ. I remember the 1b for food in asorock, people were screaming designer rice and beans. I am like are you guys for real, is the food just for GEJ and PEJ ? Almost every week the state house host guest from all over the country and outside. Na pure water you want make them serve them? I pity my generation.....back to the issue, what an intelligent boy..his parents must be really proud. We should learn to support the government and not just name calling and ranting on the internet.xoxoxo
ReplyDeleteExpands my nostril @ stella
ReplyDeleteIf i ear!
Try am na!
Just try am, raise ur hand n tell ur teacher u av an idea.
If kpankere no land ya back, d teacha go tell u him history, on hw many yrs him suffer grad frm sch, b4 im tk-up d stupid teachin job.
And if d student com try suceed in d project.
The teacher grabs the finished job n takes d credit.
Gaan ask how many ppl set out in life to be a teacher.
Yea. I second ur point. We have great minds in Nigeria. But some1 would easily steal your work . In a country, whr copyright laws dont work.
DeleteLol sdk are our schools supportive?? They always try to kill peoples ideas. I remember when I was in Jss3, I got a text book on SSS(1-3) physics, when my intergrated science teacher saw it, she yelled at me infront of the whole class. Asking me who sent me to read SSS work. Our schools don't support talent at all. When a student is different from the others, they brand them olodo... Our schools need to train and help build talents rather than make students focus only on academic work....
ReplyDeleteThat old man in that picture cannot, I repeat, cannot be 14years old! That said, Nigerian schools are too rigid in their educational techniques to give room for creativity.
ReplyDeleteNo be ur fault.
DeleteFor ur mind u tink say puff-puff na balance diet.
No be ur fault.
DeleteFor ur mind u tink say puff-puff na balance diet.
Me sef bow for d foto o.Maybe na typo.They meant 64 not 14. Or the pic na 'booboo'. Printer's Error!
DeleteMtcheeeew
ReplyDeletenaija studentts can only construct catapult nd rat traps. Dats not news worthy na
Haney
Chop knuckle my dear.
DeleteU forgot to add that fan, children make wit paper and run around wit.
How can you expect good news from poor schools,bad and very expensive educational system? Even when you are talented and brilliant in Nigeria the system will kill your talent unlike westerners who will nurture your talent. We have the best people who can change the world but got useless leaders who love their pockets and can't even encourage it's citizens. Even our private/ federal/state universities have notting to offer, most undergraduates from Nigeria who visit UK to start master's courses don't have prior knowledge of how to reference academical work you will be wondering what is being taught in universities in Nigeria when everything is copy and paste. It is that bad.
ReplyDeleteI doubt we have any brilliant secondary students in Nigeria. Nigerian norms demand for kids to obey and never to think outside if the box. I further doubt critical thinking is something that is emphasized and/or encouraged in the Naija school system. Even up to graduate studies. Na to only read and memorize textbook.
ReplyDeletewho is this @anon saying you doubt we have any brilliant secondary students in Nigeria. kai how can you be so dumb? there are plenty in private and public schools with brains. go to a prize giving day and you will see brains.
ReplyDeleteAnd bad news for the ink makers..
ReplyDeleteDear Lord, please help Nigerian children to be more creative and confident too..Amen
ReplyDeleteGreat ! New Paying Site
Many ways of earning,Instant cashout.Don't miss.
http://Youthweeklypay.com/?invite=49532
Pls you people should take it easy.Thank God for FOI Bill.@Stella Dimoko, except you don't know where to look...av heard and watched In the past two years on our local TV here of scientific achievements by students...eg some students used their urine In science experiment to run generator...a student built an aeroplane with access to waterways, some students built a machine that process some type of food!...(agreed we don't exalt our own cos we are all guilty of that) but that doesn't mean we don't have brilliant minds in Nigeria. Its high time we started focusing our positive energy and spirit instead of all these negativity. $exyD
ReplyDeleteSDK,I bet it with you....Nigerian students are very intelligent but there's no platform to bring out their potentials and work on it.Our educational system is nothing to write home about.People just go to school,read/cram,graduate and get a job or not and the cycle continues.That's why we hear at times news about Nigeria students in diaspora doing and achieving great feats.It is well with Nigeria,we'll get there someday.P.S- Kudos to this boy,his parents must be really proud of him.
ReplyDeleteAnon 11:13 it was 3billion and not 1billion plus the ink the US is spending is the whole government parastal and not just the white house.... so b4 u start comparing get ur facts straight.
ReplyDeleteHow can we produce such brilliance when every oddly behaving child is singled out and branded and olodo, a witch or an ogbanje.
ReplyDeleteMost teachers are so set in their ways that they hate to see any thing out of the norm. Their harsh method of give me back exactly wat I gave you practiced even in PG creates that lag we have compared to other countries.
Look at the child that made a painting to celebrate the centenary, when she was brot up the stage to explain her painting, her teacher came with her and she jst stood there while he explained everything. Very boring. The girl wasn't even allowed to say her name, her teacher did both the intro and everything else. I'm sure ppl were disappointed they couldn't even get d opportunity to hear this child speak.
We still hv a long way to go in this country
Nigerian schools where children sit on the floor? ( some schools )
ReplyDeleteLittle kids on my street they wuld be btw pry2 or pry4,they make toy cars wit 5alive cartoons for themselves. I'd jes say insyd me dat its a boi dats nt up to me dats makin xumtin 4 himself..buh xince there is nobody to nuture dm nko?
ReplyDeleteLucabracee this could be you but you're too busy famzing rich people's kids and gossiping all over blogs like a market rat.
ReplyDeleteSomeone is probably cursing this boys lineage for that discovery. And if it's Nigeria some idiot will be happier cos that's fresh embezzlement funds.