OSCAR PISTORIUS faced a day of tough cross-examination in court yesterday. The 27-year-old Olympic and Paralympic athlete denies deliberately murdering his girlfriend Reeva Steenkamp. He yesterday told the court that he had never had the opportunity to tell her he loved her before he shot her through his toilet door on 14 February 2013.
Prosecutor Gerrie Nel yesterday portrayed Pistorius as an egotist who was reckless with guns and who publicly humiliated Steenkamp on several occasions.
COURT PROCEEDINGS FROM YESTERDAY
10.10am: The court returned to the night of Reeva Steenkamp’s death. Nel is again trying to find out how Pistorius failed to see Steenkamp leave the bedroom to go to the toilet. He suggests that a blue LCD light from the athlete’s amplifier would have “illuminated” the area. Pistorius says he could only see the silhouette of a pair of Reeva’s jeans about a metre away. It was as he went to put the jeans over the light that he heard a window sliding and hitting the frame in the bathroom.
Nel again shows the court a photograph of the bedroom taken later that morning by police, in which the duvet is on the floor. Pistorius says the duvet was not where he left it but the jeans were roughly in the right area. Nel points out that the jeans are on top of the duvet. Pistorius repeats that the police may have moved the items in the room. “Why would police do that? You're lying,” says Nel. “I don't know why the police did that. I can't explain that. I wasn't there,” says Pistorius.
Pistorius’s defence lawyer objects, asking for evidence that the jeans are actually on top of the duvet, as the photograph is not clear. The judge agrees that the photograph should be blown up and tells Nel to mind his language. “You don't call a witness a liar while he is in the witness box,” she says. The court adjourned for a tea break.
9.45am: Nel asks again why Pistorius did not go the police when he was shot at on a motorway. The athlete says he did not have “trust” in the police that they would be able to do anything about it. Nel also suggests that Pistorius goes “looking for trouble” and that a confrontation may have led to him being assaulted in 2012. Pistorius denies this and points out that he had his firearm with him when he was assaulted, but did not use it.
9.15am: Prosecutor Gerrie Nel is asking Pistorius about the security precautions he took at his home at the Silverwoods Estate. The athlete confirms that he felt it was safe enough to leave his cars outside, did not immediately fix a broken window downstairs in his home and did not regularly check with security about the safety of the estate.
Nel accuses Pistorius of “tailoring” his evidence with regard to contractors removing sensors to paint his house, something Pistorius denies. "You are getting deeper into trouble Mr Pistorius. You are tailoring your evidence,” says Nel. Pistorius then says he deactivated his alarm on 14 February last year when he ran downstairs to open his front door in order to carry Steenkamp out to get help. However, he later says he “must have” turned off his alarm but cannot remember. Again Nel tells him he is tailoring evidence.
Pistorius grows tearful as he apologises for making a mistake and says he is tired. Judge Thokozile Masipa interrupts to ask if Pistorius is too tired to proceed, warning him that he could be at a disadvantage if he is making mistakes due to tiredness. Pistorius confirms that he is not too tired to continue and that he is not making mistakes because he is tired.
9.00am: Nel begins questioning Pistorius about his experience as a victim of crime. Pistorius has previously claimed he kept his firearm under his bed at night because he has been a victim of violence and burglaries. Today, the athlete admits that he has never gone into a police station to report a crime. He says he did not think anything could be done by police after his home was burgled and he was shot at on a motorway.
Pistorius tells the court that he moved into the Silverwoods Estate in Pretoria, where Steenkamp was killed, in May 2008. Nel asks if it is correct that he has never been a victim of crime at Silverwoods. That is correct, confirms Pistorius. “Except for the police stealing my watches,” he adds. culled
*What do you think?Do you think he is biopolar?
The case tire me, my daughter would not allow me watch sky, she wants her cbeebies, but I think Oscar is lieing so hard
ReplyDeleteNew Word - #Oscarpistosis: the fear of using the bathroom in your boyfriend's house. Especially, after a fight around midnight.
ReplyDeleteI'm patiently waiting for the verdict and I sure know he's going to jail. Continue to RIP Reeva.
Lol@ oscarpistotis
DeleteExactly..Lmao!
DeleteHuman hearts are unpredictable jor. Despite his condition, d gurl lived him unconditionally and he still killed her. Yes he killed her and it's a premeditated act. Dey re just prolonging d case wen d truth is obvious. D guy is mean jor. Ewu!
Oscar shud die already mbok. He who live by d sword must die by d sword!
DeleteThis is typical example of jealousy gone wrong.he has issue with his temper,i refuse to buy that crocodile tear,he is murderer and should be cooling his ass in jail.
ReplyDeleteI have been following the cross examination procession ever since it started, and I must give it up for the prosecutor.. He has been dismantling the evidence available to the state and oscar's version of what happened bits by bits, and so far he has made Oscar look like the murderer I so believe he is... But we await the re-examination by the defense team and the overall judgement.. So far, Oscar has consistently made serious mistakes that may turn out to burn him and his lawyers..... I have never had real respect for lawyers, because I havnt been to a court house or witnessed a court session, but with this case, I say kudos to lawyers world over, their intelligence is simply amazing.... It is always sweet when the criminal is getting served
DeleteI feel he must be punished for taking an innocent life, all the tears he is shedding in the court room to me is just acting, i am not fooled one bit. I won't even go out with a man that carry's gun 24/7? I mean like who is after this man? he is a murderer period.
ReplyDeleteNo, he is not. He was in his right senses when he shot @ Reeva 4 times. I really don't know why they're prolonging ds ish. He's obviously guilty!
ReplyDeleteI believe he killed her. Am as paranoid as anyone can get, I jump at any/evrytin, I smel wire burning before anyone else, I hear d slightest noises, first tin I do is wake someone else up, these days dat happens to b hubby, and say "did u hear dat?" can u smell ds?" I mean, who doesn't do dat? How can u act without any sort of confirmation. He said today he was shouting as he proceeded to d bathroom, is he telling us that Reeva did nt say a word from d bathroom? That he did not hear her sobs? How dare u shoot someone just like dat? I put it to Pistorious dat if it was his mother in anoda room in d hse, and he actually heard a noise, he would have gone to her 1st before shooting. He absolutely murdered Reeva in my humble opinion, unfortunately, we just might never know y he did! I hope he doesn't go free.
ReplyDeleteSeconded# same question i askd my hubby. How wud he hear a strange sound in the house and nt wake me up 1st. We all need to be alert in such a situation. So i dont buy that his story @all.
DeleteI really feel sorry for him. He's been thru a lot dis past 1year.
ReplyDeleteKeep pushing, God will see u thru
Pistorius should be charged with murder,intent to kill hoohaa!! Infact my mom is soooo obsessed with this case,follows it judiciously and also thinks he's guilty.This is someone that has a thing with guns...always firing at will.just the testimonies of his neighbours should nail him..imagine shooting someone through the door and not hearing a sound of pain or scream from that person?Knowing fully well that you have your girl in the apartment too!!! This dude is Narcistic Stella,not just Bipolar! It was so annoying when they deviated from the case and started talking about his missing watch..mtcheeww.I wish the dead can talk...would have loved to hear what really transpired between Reeva and him that fateful Val day!
ReplyDeleteDefinitely Egoistic bipolar!
ReplyDeletehonestly, sometimes i just want to believe him...bt he just keeps messing up evrything, he keeps changing his stories...i tire for the guy. its just so sad. ...reever's mom is really strong.
ReplyDeleteI think he intentionally killed her.
ReplyDeleteHim being bipolar could be one of the reasons he killed his girlfriend but I don't think he's.
ReplyDeleteI strongly believe,he knew what he was doing when he shot her. All this famous people think they can get away with anything. I hope they won't set him free like O J.
This guy is a good liar. This matter is dragging they should just round things up and let him serve his time in jail.
ReplyDeletePepper 4 dis stella blog na me n u, 1st 2 comment, lol
ReplyDeleteLmao! 1st to comment, Pat go up count how many people dey line before you, e be like say u been dey dooze off, regain momentum come drop one line? Unlike you, u no drop three words as usual. No worry I go dey pray make your Oga get outside meeting so that you go get freedom write.
DeletePepper ose oku, the executive chef herself
Pepper the prettiest!
I think he didn't tell the whole truth. I think he could have been on drugs or need anger management course. I think he did it. But then I am not the judge or jury and the dead can't speak. Poor Oscar. Thrown away his life with one irrational decision. He had stuffs going for him. Many full legged people don't even have hot girlfriend like the one he offed.
ReplyDeleteThis case is complex.The young man may have killed her in error.Yet again,he may have murdered her in cold blood.I don't see how in hell,the prosecution wants to make this case bad enough to convict him for murder! Circumstantial evidence all over the place!
ReplyDeleteI think this guy is guity
ReplyDelete1) y would a girl lock d bathroom door in her boyfriends house at that time
2) he said he shouted at the person in d bathroom b4 firing, y didn't she answer her boyfriend
3) he didn't make sure his girlfriend was safe n out if harms way b4 going to confront d intruder
4) d first bullet that hit that didn't kill her, so am sure she shouted b4 he fired d remainging shots that killed her
This guy is guilty of premeditated murder. I used to b a fan of this guy cos of wat he stood for but I think his anger n temper got the getter of him
Oscar is a killer.i wish the dead could talk.#sipsMoetnChandon#
ReplyDeleteGood liar? He's a bad liar because he keeps admitting his errors, says I don't know and I don't remember a lot. Those aren't the traits of a good liar.
ReplyDeleteNel broke him today. If he's not crying, he's tired, he's gabbling or he's arguing. Nel isn't done with him yet and even Roux and the rest of the Defence team looked on helplessly. He will continue to be drilled by the Prosecution until he faints one day.
Reeva Steenkamp's family needs closure.
Its as plain as d day dat he intentionally killed his girlfriend.
ReplyDeletePistorius needs to understand and come into reality to what he has done to Reeva and the family.He has to accept full responsibility of his action,and apologize to Reeva's family and all the people who believed in him during his career.He will still face the law.
ReplyDelete@mamie true talk my sister, complex issues. Some men have terrible complex issues no matter what or how much they seem to have deep inside they are terribly bitter souls.
ReplyDeleteThis is a case of hot temper. Some people said Oscar suspected that Reeva was cheating. Even though she cheated, I don't think she deserved to die. But this is Africa, politics will be played and Oscar will be free. Na Reeva family lose pass. If na naija, dem for don release am tey tey.
ReplyDeleteStella pleasee look for "lie to me" a tv show online...and watch s2ep14 (react to contact) You may kind of have a different opinion on this oscar pistorus situation
ReplyDeleteIt's not even a case of anger. Its more complex/ego issues that has ended his 27yr old liife
ReplyDeleteGuilty as hell jare. Like my pastor would say, u can't say u dating a man n not see certain traits. Dis guy has complex issues n would ve been overly possessive. Pastor says first pray about it if no change biko RUN! RIP Reeva.
ReplyDeleteIts a pity how vices in a man's life. Anger n Jealousy.... *smh* afta all d examination, cross examinations, I just hope Oscar will be made t face d fullest wrath of the law. No man has d right t take d life of another except by permission ( and no sane person does dat anyways).
ReplyDeleteI believe he's innocent. We musnt always go with the general believe or what the prosecutor' is forcing down on us. Repeatedly saying he's n tailoring the truth will not get him convicted or going around the same question over n over again not it biko. He has substantially overwhelmed him enough already so he should get on and make him trip.. I havent seen any hardcore evidence so far. GOD will keep him. Some of u all can like follow follow
ReplyDeleteStick to the facts & I'm sure you are the violent type that will beat a girl kill her & hide her body. He intentionally killed her & will be jailed for ever. @anon 9.45
DeleteD imbecile is guilty jare...how can u shoot severally into a bathroom without hearing a sound from ur girlfriend.n again,why did Reeva lock herself in?simple...d psycho was after Her!hang d idiat already!
ReplyDeleteANGELRAY SAYS
ReplyDeleteDEATH BY SHOOTING, HE WHO KILL BY THE GUN MUST DIE BY THE GUN.
They should sentence this self centered guy already , he is as guilty as they come , all these drama he s acting na nonsense , wicked freak
ReplyDeleteGuilty guilty guilty
ReplyDeleteUhmmm he is guilty
ReplyDeleteNo mind am he must die!