…..Its here!!!
The Senate today passed the 2014 budget totalling N4.695tr, an amount which is N52.2bn higher than the N4.642trl which was submitted by President Goodluck Jonathan to the National Assembly on December 19, 2013, through the Co-ordinating Minister of the Economy and Minister of Finance, Mrs. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala.
The upper chamber at its plenary presided over by the Senate President, David Mark, approved the budget following the clause by clause consideration of the document at the committee of supply which lasted about one and half hours.
Highlights of the 2014 budget as approved by the senate are, Statutory Transfers (N408,687,801,891),
Debts Service (N712,000,000,000),
Recurrent Expenditure (N2,454,887,566,702),
Capital Expenditure (N1,119,614,631,407)
Aggregate Expenditure is N4,695,190,000,000.
The Executive proposal submitted by Jonathan was N4,642,960,000,000 which included,
N399,687,801,891( statutory transfers)
N712,000,000,000 ( debt service),
N2,430,665,361,597 (recurrent, non-debt expenditure)
while the balance of N1,100,606,836,512 is for contribution to the development fund for capital expenditure.
The Committee subsequently referred the schedules of the bill to the appropriate Standing Committees on money bills in line with Order 92(4) (a) of the Senate Standing Order.
The Committee drew up a work plan which gave Standing Committees a timeline within which to submit their reports.
This was extended to the end of March, 2014 to conclude engagement with Ministries/Departments/Agencies and report back to the Committee.
A total of 51 Committees submitted reports and defended same before the Committee.
There is also a Subsidy Reinvestment Programme component of the budget to the tune of N268,370,000,000 for the year 2014, which did not form part of the aggregate budget figure of N4.6429 trliiion but however captured in the final compilation of the bill.
*What do you think about the budget and inflated amount?
Please can smebody explain this budget for me in layman's term?please forgive my ignorance,i do not understand Nigeria.....
Heavy rain + terrible hold up=frustration #aaaargh
ReplyDeleteHaney
Same here ohh...the rain no be here...still on the traffic...can't wait to get home...
DeleteBig big English to confuse the masses as usual.
ReplyDeleteLol, I got confused too. And I hope it moves our country forward a little bit.
DeleteLol!!!
DeleteLol.....all the zeros were def confusing.....I had to re-read....kai..
DeleteI need to understand too not onlt you Stella.Ejo who is putting us through.
ReplyDeleteEven me i dont understand so let those who understand come and explain.
ReplyDeleteANGELRAY SAYS
ReplyDeleteName wao, all did plenty figures and big big grammar, hmmm still trying to figure out what it means.
Wait till we get the breakdown of the expenditure. We need to see what they are spending money on. No positive impact on the masses though.
ReplyDeleteStaggering amount.. staggering.. dizzy.. faints! Do we really expend this much?
ReplyDeleteDidn't bother reading,same shit all d tym. EVE E UME