The Elder Statesman is University administrator and academician - Professor Oyewale Tomori, the pioneer Vice-Chancellor of Redeemer’s University, Ogun State.
Professor Tomori responded to Trumpet Media Group's report by posting his response on their website after they published a report asking ''Does anyone have a name for him?''
Below is his response:
"Yes, indeed, I know the person, because I am the one. I have responded to some of the blogs on the matter. The truth is this activity was done during the lunch break between 2-4 pm. As soon as the Chairman calls the meeting to order, I switch off my computer. Is there any rule against spending my free time as I like? Moreover, is there anything wrong, if others engage in reading newspapers and talking with others during their free time, and I prefer engaging in activities, I consider more useful to my development, such as using scrabble to improve my word power and discover new words?. Indeed, I often play against the best in the world, world champions, and I have been beaten many times. But in the process I learnt new words, their meanings and improve my written and spoken language.
"Journalists live and sell their papers through the sensation route, which often is the opposite to telling the truth or providing full details. If the person who posted the picture had said the activity took place during the lunch break, that would have been no news; but to create sensation, he or she was economical with details.
"I will certainly continue to play such other mind engaging games like Sudoku, Logic, etc, if only to make me a better thinker and presenter. Only thing, is I will do this at my own free time!
"Thank you very much
"- Oyewale Tomori"
Prof. Oyewale Tomori is a researcher and laboratory specialist who served from 1994-2004 as the Regional Virologist and Laboratory Coordinator in the World Health Organization (Africa Region) and is of wide ranging experience in virology, disease prevention and control, national capacity building and development in the African region.
Don't mind them cerebral Prof Tomori.I'm even impressed that you are fiddling with a laptop at your age, when 90percent of the delegates don't even know where the power button of a computer is located, not to talk of putting it on.
ReplyDeleteL ol, nice reply
DeleteBad Girl Maheeda shares more s3xy Nakkid photos
That's woow
DeleteLecturers always claim to be saints when in actual fact they are not. Imagine playing games during a serious session and he is claiming it was during break. Even in my school, lecturers are always trying to twist the arms of female students just to graduate. I feel like rantingg about them right now.... A certain lecturer in my school, University of Uyo has been on my neck and was even sending me text just becos of sex... He has hreatend to ruin me and he is d HOD of my department. I think I should mention his name maybe he will leave me alone. His name is Professor Ogbonna
DeleteThis girl your own don finish for Prof Ogbonna hand. Na im be say you nor go graduate be that. Na only you profs dey ask for fuck from wey you con dey announce am for internet, abi you think say him no go know say na you? I just dey ask o.
DeleteStella bomb blast in nyanya o. Pls qive us update! Gudmorninq.
ReplyDeleteGood response...
ReplyDeleteOff to work....
Well done jare, daddy. I was on your side because I also use SDKB to keep awake during meetings. Scrabble is a better activity as it tasks the brain.
ReplyDeleteMake I hear word jor. U dey among the people that laughed at him now u are twisting your tongue na wao
DeleteD baba even mention plenty games lol.
ReplyDeleteAs in ehn. He no get una tyme at all.
DeleteI hear u papa
ReplyDeleteEpic response! I love the old man... Ppl would create news out of nothing. Btw I wanna learn ow to play scrabble I hope baba would be willing to teach me.
ReplyDeleteMake I hear word jor. U dey among the people that laughed at him now u are twisting your tongue na w
DeleteU wan use style enter the man abi? Anyways,fyi the wife na baba ijebu daughter oo
DeleteOk sir. Thank you for clearing the air on that. Morning SDKers.
ReplyDeleteU see naa, ase prof did this during his free period?? And this has created a lot of propaganda!!! Media people make Una take am easy, Una get PHD syndrome abeg (PULL HIM DOWN). See d way it was reported, as if he was playing scrabble while d session was going out, may God 4give Dat reporter, cos d news has already generated a lot of negativity.
ReplyDeleteMake I hear word jor. U dey among the people that laughed at him now u are twisting your tongue na wa
DeleteLol,
ReplyDeleteNice answer!
Lecturers always claim to be saints when in actual fact they are not. Imagine playing games during a serious session and he is claiming it was during break. Even in my school, lecturers are always trying to twist the arms of female students just to graduate. I feel like rantingg about them right now.... A certain lecturer in my school, University of Uyo has been on my neck and was even sending me text just becos of sex... He has hreatend to ruin me and he is d HOD of my department. I think I should mention his name maybe he will leave me alone. His name is Professor Ogbonna
DeletePeople shld learn ow to mind their biz....i see no crime in wat he did
ReplyDeleteComot ye jor. Like u didn't laughed at him d other time
DeleteIf i were you smelling pussy but God forbid, i will take some leave to myself.. Don't u think u are harming ur self in ur pursuit of getting to be noticed and wanting to be so important in this blog? Everything about u is beginning to irritate me pls! Try to be original for once and quit always wanting to be like PEPPER..Gosh!
Delete"Like you didn't *laughed* at him the other day"...??? Hahahahhahahhhhahha... Am sure even aunty stella her self is beginning to get tired of u and ur english#SpitsOut
Mrs Wanna Be..... You Need Help starting from ur name to ur being
i
C
h
o
P
t
a
s
N
o
t
Handsome dude! Looks like my daddy. Ok. Sudoku lover...you got me! Carry on Sir!
ReplyDeleteIf he has all these credentials, then he should right now be contributing information on how to stop the spread of the ebola virus into Nigeria currently causing fears and pandemonium amongst the Nigerian populace most of whom are unaware of what to do
ReplyDeleteI love the response. Thumbs up, Professor Tomori. To the delegate who snapped the picture and sent it round, how serious were you? You were concentrating and had time to take photos. Well I am saying this if what prof has said is the truth and if the picture was snapped by a delegate.
ReplyDeleteMake I hear word jor. U dey among the people that laughed at him now u are twisting your tongue na wa
DeleteAnd there you have it. Social media trying to get the best of anyone thank god he could stand up for himself. Well done sir.......respectable sir. You could be my idea of president.
Deleteshey una don hear??? Aproko world people*** Ure mouthed sir!
ReplyDeleteMake I hear word jor. Who do aproko reach u? U dey among the people that laughed at him now u are twisting your tongue na wa for u oh
DeleteThis bitch is crazzzzzzzzz!
Deletestells darlyn...... heard der was an explosion @nyanya abuja dis morning*** WHICH WAY 9JA??? D funny thing is life will go on as twas chickens that died.smh
ReplyDeleteif jor....i taya
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteHe shouldn't have responded,journalists always have something to say...lol. Hmmn,Regional Coordinator in WHO,that was pretty solid!
ReplyDeleteOh...ok. Fair enough!
ReplyDeleteDoesn't change the fact that he hasn't contributed anything to the conference so far. Just there collecting free money, later he'll start talking about integrity.
ReplyDeleteHahaha. Certainly this does not look like a 2 hr break time when many of them are off their seat. Well they have been fooling Nigerians.They can continue.
ReplyDeleteKai.. Anonymous 9:54, u get am.. I thought I was d only one that noticed other heads well positioned like the were listening 2 something important.. This man can lie sha!!
DeleteYimu
ReplyDeleteCarry on prof. There's nothing wrong wit that.
ReplyDeleteDis old man is just trying to save face,does that seating arrangement look like break time arrangement?nigerians that prefer breaktime to work time,the whole place would have been upside down from the background.
ReplyDeleteWhere is your own old man?
DeleteBut that pix does not look like is a free time,anyways we have heard.
ReplyDeleteOga play Õoooº°˚ ˚°Âº, don't mind dem, you can even. Play snake É‘̤̥̈̊Ω̴̩̩̩̥d̶̲̥̅̊ ladder. All join, all work É‘̤̥̈̊Ω̴̩̩̩̥d̶̲̥̅̊ no play makes.....
ReplyDeleteOshisco....old tired man.
ReplyDeleteThat's how intelligent people relax. I like your reponse sir. Kudos
DeleteShut up ogili pussy.
DeleteNow that we have heard the other side, can we hear from the photo journalist who took the photograph. If indeed it was during break time (I believe the Prof) then he deserves and unreserved apology for the the undue sensationalisation of an elder stateman's recreation
ReplyDeleteProfessor Tomori the man is a legend. Playing that lark helped to keep him awake and alert. I guess he got to the National Conference courtesy of his wife.
ReplyDeleteMake I hear word jor. U dey among the people that laughed at him now u are twisting your tongue na w
DeleteProf, abeg if you wan play your games during the conference carry on jare, after all, I am not even sure if anything good will come out of that conference.
DeleteWho is this one?
Deleteokay ,we done hear oo ,cus if you ask me, na who I go ask
ReplyDeleteTorr
ReplyDeleteWE LOVE TOMORI,,, WE LOVE TOMORI,, PROF TOMORI FOR PRESIDENT
ReplyDeleteKeep dreaming
DeleteStella Stella they should leave my VC alone ooo !! My Prof Tomori of life very emotional man I remember those days in RUN when he will cry while saying his speeches I miss this Man shaa . All your words sir has made me a better person and a goal getter ! His very humble and am sure he was misunderstood in that pix . Media people and their stories tx God he has cleared the air cos his hard working ! I love my VC you made my stay in RUN perfect !!
ReplyDeleteProud RUN Alumni !
I beg leave that vote of thanks for your wedding day
DeleteSingular = alumnus
Deletethank you.
Nike fowowe I hail thee
DeleteEpic response. Don't mind dem sir.
ReplyDeleteAlways proud of my VC. Your a man of integrity. Please ignore all those idiots, continue 2 make us proud and impact positively on our country like you've always done.
ReplyDeleteThank you for explaining, you all owe us that because we are paying you all a lot for this conference.
ReplyDeletehow i wish me sef go dey there, go dey play scrabbles, at least at the end of it all, we all go collect 12Million naira cash. useless people and country. Mtchewwwwwww
ReplyDeletei knew he was a responsible man........shame on all u mannerless juveniles who were insulting him....am happy i wasn't one of those hypocrites......learn not to be quick to insult cos some of these pictures never give the true and full picture of every situation.....God bless u sir....
ReplyDeleteHow are we sure it was during lunch break?
ReplyDeleteWhich kin lunch break? Look at the other people in front of him, don't they look like people who are concentrating. As session was going on jare.
ReplyDeleteWith due respect to prof... but i beg to disagree and disbelieve, if you look at those in front of him they seem to be paying prompt attention and seem to be have a listening posture.... I respect my elders oo, but prof yarn us another web..... This one na wash.....break my butt. And to allyou gullible ones smh. So the reporter does not know break time and session time abi.
ReplyDeleteSoon I will stop posting on blog cos e be like say everything na politics, APC Linda ikeji won't blog dis and PDP Stella will quickly blog it
ReplyDeleteLecturers always claim to be saints when in actual fact they are not. Imagine playing games during a serious session and he is claiming it was during break. Even in my school, lecturers are always trying to twist the arms of female students just to graduate. I feel like rantingg about them right now.... A certain lecturer in my school, University of Uyo has been on my neck and was even sending me text just becos of sex... He has hreatend to ruin me and he is d HOD of my department. I think I should mention his name maybe he will leave me alone. His name is Professor Ogbonna. Maybe this will make him leave me alone.
ReplyDeleteAbeg e don do wit all d posts...carry ur Mata go meet God....na only Him fit save you!
DeleteI go Google this man name for you 2morrow.
DeleteAbegi wetin u tink say we dey expect u 2 talk b4? Free time indeed. Hey mr prof abeg no need 2 explain 2 us. We don't knw u n trust me tessy don't wanna know cos u sef nor wan knw tessy.
ReplyDeleteCan we all have discerning minds? If they were truly on break, why did the people in front of Prof choose to sit down and look into space?
ReplyDeleteI know him. We went to redeemed church akobo parish together before. He's a goodman. Wonder what his cute son Tosin Tomori looks like now. Make you people leave the old man o.
ReplyDeleteCorrect man o
ReplyDelete@ anon 5:08, pl which department
ReplyDeleteThe legendary Prof was engaging in a mind fruitful exercise when some people were busy struggling with pomo and chatting away the break time. I salute Prof Tomori for clearing the air and hopefully the photographer propagandist can bury his/her head in shame. It is a right to spend your free time as you wish and infact when serious meeting sessions are on some people engage in facebook and other things.