Governor Babatunde Fashola of Lagos State has revealed that he has e-mailed the Ghanaian Parliament, requesting it to investigate the recent killing of a Nigerian student in that country.
The governor made the statement in Ikeja, while addressing some students who had come to protest against the hike in Lagos State University, LASU, fees.
The governor said the killing of the student was unfortunate, noting that the case must not be allowed to be swept under the carpet.
Fashola said: “The killing of a Nigerian in Ghana is very unfortunate as he was a victim of very mindless violence. I am trying to reach the Ghanaian Parliament to see how we can intervene to assist in the investigation of Godwin Ayogu’s incident, who died at the Cape Coast University. I sent an e-mail to one of the parliamentarians. I am still expecting a feed back and hope the right steps will be taken.”
It will be recalled that Godwin Ayogu, a 300-level Nigerian student of the Gold Coast University, was recently murdered in Ghana by unknown persons.
His body was dumped by the roadside, while the Ghanaian authorities were yet to begin any investigation into the matter.
Fashola also condemned the recent killing of Adelabu Tunde, another Nigerian student in Malaysia, describing his death as unfortunate.
The governor urged the relevant authorities to take urgent steps to end the incessant killings of Nigerian youths abroad.culled
*Well done BRF!
Gud of him. He takes action b4 d "Noisemakers" follow...God rest d boy's soul..
ReplyDeleteExcellent my gov. Well said and well done. Your other contemporaries and superiors are busy with their 2015 ambition, hence they have no time to address these killings that happened in quick succession. I hope that something futile will come out of the investigations.
DeleteHian!
ReplyDeleteD 1 wey dey d stick of ur nose u no do.
The 10th house on the street is burning, na person wey dey bstop wan quench fire?
Face d one wey de ur door-mot 1st.
Stat wit d 1 u can handle.
Education isnt a luxry!
If edu is affordable, accessible n of gud quality ppl wldnt travel far for it.
And stop d stupid laws in lagos! #Hypocrites
I love u for thus post pink she'll. No mind d man, real HYPOCRITE.
DeleteDabby
@ Pink shell. At least he was bold enough to write to Ghana which is not suppose to be his responsibility cos that's what the FGN is meant to do. Also he was not the person that spoilt the educational system in nigeria. He has indeed contributed his quota to the development of lagos and by extension nigeria. Am sure u can't even govern your immediate house. Learn to be positive.
Delete@ anony!
DeleteIts the way oda countries see d way u treat ur ppl dat dey wld also treat ur ppl.
Am nt saying e spoilt d edu system, am asking dat e repairs d one within is reach, and stop d afamaco.
If u want to mk a point, make it without taking tins personal, inugo!
Hmmmmm! May God save Nigerian students all over d world, especially those in Borno n Yobe states here in Naija. It is well.
ReplyDeleteAkuko na sa epain am reach.
ReplyDeleteOkay did he address the hike in school fees? Admitted if education is expensive we should try ignorance but government should keep school fees pegged at a particular amount.
ReplyDeleteGod bless Mr fashola
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
But wen such thinqz happen here in niqeria some low lives will come here n b forminq wat I don't kn. As if dey r safe were dey r. Our able qovernor God bless u. RIP 2d death
ReplyDeleteEven though I commend his effort but why e-mail? Why not call or visit? This is someone's life,cut short in his prime. What if the man doesn't reply the mailv end of matter? Na wa o! If we had good educational standards here,no one will want to leaves the shores of this country to school outside. A recent study showed that the combined standard of all the universities in Nigeria cannot equal even the worst in the UK. Its such a pity. Fashola,biko, you tried,but you can d better. Thank you.
ReplyDeleteDoes BRF want to rule Nigeria?
ReplyDeleteWell, maybe he means well. Its just that in nigeria, once you start something, people start looking for an ulterior motive.....
Meanwhile as he's here speaking all dz big grammar, students are still paying 350K fees in Lasu.
ReplyDelete#misplaced priorities
*drinks fura da nono*
350k?
DeleteBRF has distinguished him self again , principled well cultured man, i hope some1 looks into this matter, they know the nigerian govt doesnt care sooo much bout its pple, so every country treats the deaths of nigerians on its soil with kids gloves......
ReplyDeleteGood move, BRF..and to the ethnic bigots, Godwin is not a Yoruba man.
ReplyDeleteGod bless Nigerian and her people.
Only if other govt officers/authorities kud be like or even beta than Fashola...ds country will b a sweet place. #justsaying
ReplyDeleteGhanaian authorities are trying to sweep this case under the carpet cos from all we found out in our course of investigations ; he was killed by Ghanaians and we have refused to bury my cousin until his killers are brought to book.
ReplyDeleteThe painful part of the whole thing is that these people don't even understand the extent damage they have caused.
They murdered by sweet cousin for no just cause and threw our entire family into mourning.
May his killers know no peace!
Ndo inugo? Be comforted
DeleteOur government should start taking the lives of their citizens seriously.
ReplyDeleteHe didn't say anything about the school fees. Haba APC and politice he has diverted their attention to Gahana without saying anything about their reason for that visit. Ada Agulu said so
ReplyDeleteWhat of your so called igbo governors,have they lent any voice to this.The other person who has been relentless on this case is Abike Dabiri.Yet you Igbos filled with so much hate will still be throwing barbs at Yorubas.
DeleteThanks my person.....the igbos are filled with so much hate for the yorubas..so bad my igbo in laws cant hide it. But yet no igbo governor can do half of what BRF is doing. With all una complain, una no go gree relocate go una village..shebi una get sea port too. Make una leave lagos for us. If you guys cant coexist with us...Long live BRF, Long live ACP, Long live gbogbo egbe omoo Odua
DeleteFashola for president. ALWAYS FORWARD THINKING. ELKO O NI BAJE O