Today is yoruba lesson day...learn some words and learn to appreciate how words can have different meanings so that the next time a yoruba persons uses these words on you,you will ask what they mean before you jump to conclusions.......
The word 'OKO' in yoruba refers to privates and other things but if you dont know and someone walks up to you saying ''how is your oko'......you might flare!..lol
so start learning.
Yoruba mums produce the best range of slaps:
Igbati,
Ifoti,
Ifoju,
Igbarun,
Iforun,
Ifakun,
Iladi,
Abara,
Igbaju,
These slaps will make you think you were adopted.
Igbati will make you correct your wrong lesekese!
The beauty of Ifoti is you will confess your sins on the spot.
Ifoju, makes u see your father and call him your mother.
igbarun, is for temporary reset on your brain.
Iforun will make you snitch on all those who committed the crime with you without hesitation.
Ifakun has a unique function. If you were Hungry, immediately you'll be filled up, and if youu were filled up before, hunger comes back immediately.
Iladi will make you pee in your new pants!
Now Abara is the worst.. This will make you do all of the above at once!
Igbaju is the king of all. It gives your brain factory reset, that is it returns your settings back to the way you were born.
*Abeg if this post doesnt interest you,waka pass and no vexs,you hear?
Abara is the one my mum was good at....ha ha ha ha!
ReplyDeleteOgun(inheritance)
DeleteOgun(charm)
Ogun(god of thunder)
Ogun(medicine)
Ogun(20)
*ogun- war
Delete*ogun-sweat
*ogun- it's long
*ogun- a state in Nigeria
#proudlyyorubagirl...!
@sexyboocalher ,u forgot to add Ogun-sweat....are u divine favour on bbm?
DeleteLmaooooooo.. "Oko"= dick, penis
DeleteOgun (war)
DeleteOgun (long)
Ogun (sweat)
DeleteOgun ( long)
DeleteStella, u be real kolo! Na ifoti fit kill. The vibratoon na die.
Delete@bitchplis...LMAO. Uv got sharp brain mhen!!!
DeleteHahahahha, I so luv d yorubas. Dier way of life no get fotocopy.
DeleteSDK, I don over laugh on my seat that people are wondering if am okay. Nice one dear.
ReplyDeleteTolu
I got lotsa ifomu ifoju igbarun while growing up made me who I am today'''' grateful
DeleteThere is something called 'AMIN OHUN' = tonation marks!
ReplyDeleteIts the do-re-mi sounds!
Its wat differentiate words.
Igba - time
Igba - calabash
Igba - garden egg
Even me can't use d tonation marks, even doe I dd it back in second sch.
Am so bored!
So so bored, dat...
If I vex, I fit stat to dey climb trees.
Wa gba yii! The amin ohun is key, it helps to determine what a word means.
Delete*igba-#200
Delete*igba- a kinda fruit
#proudlyyorubagirl...!
*igba-#200
Delete*igba- a kinda fruit
#proudlyyorubagirl...!
@pink shell...igba - 200
DeleteIgba- fruit (garden egg)
DeleteIgba- 200
Yo pinky. So omo Yoruba nà è. Oya send you pin make I start to dey keep you company. How can you be bored when am still alive.
DeleteOgun:( Medicine)
DeleteOgun:(Charm)
Ogun:(war)
Ogun:(state)
Ogun:( God of Iron)
Ogun:(stab)
Ogun:(twenty)
Ogun:(sweat)
Ogun:(property)
Igba (200)
DeleteLove dem yoruba peeps....dey rock!
ReplyDeleteOre-Friend
DeleteOre-Cain
Ore-Gift(could also be a name prefix)
Ore-Town
Ore-favor
Hahahahha, I so luv d yorubas. Dier way of life no get fotocopy.
DeleteAm not Yoruba but I find the post interesting.
ReplyDeleteMake I learn dia language small.. tired of saying 'mi ogbor Yoruba" esp when I go to the local market to buy food stuffs.
Oya...teachers of the langua, make una come o!
Lol...you are so funny
Delete@BLOGLORD, do you have a job at all? Pls go and breast feed ur baby. Get a job bitch!
DeleteJst passing
ReplyDeleteNow to other meaning
ReplyDeleteOjo - Name of an individual
Oko - Stone
Oko - Hoe
Oko - Dick
Oro - Kind of a fruit
and so onnnnnnnnn
Tolulope
Tolu forgot to add:
DeleteOko- Farm
Ojo- name of a person
Ojo- Rain
Ojo- Day
Ojo- a timid person.
There are more, just can't remember right now and the pronunciations are very different. I wish we could send in short voice notes.
Proudly yoruba!
Oko (stone)
DeleteOko (farm)
Where is my learning book?hhehehehe
ReplyDeleteOjo-Name, Ojo-Fear. Oko-Penis, Oko-Arrow, Oko-stone, Oko-Hoes. Oro-Reward, Oro-Bad thing, Oro-Straight.
ReplyDelete"Oro -reward" is wrong wealth is d right meaning.
DeleteOro- word
Oro- weak
Oro-wealth not reward
DeleteOjo (painment)
DeleteOjo (resemblance)
Lol at igbaju! Na dat one I chop pass. Yoruba pple! Una too mush. Ten kisses in d air for u.
ReplyDeleteIgbaju and abara combine together, I collect and till today, I nor fit steal again, I nor dey touch wetin nor be my own oh! Chei d combination nor get part 2, ur head go be like say they give u epidural
DeleteOh Sterra Of lyf, I hardly comment on blogs and it's my first now here this is my best post of the week from me to u thanx 4 making me Laff after reading some other post on anoda blog dat made me sad.. Thanx Alot
DeleteNever knew Ojo-Coward. Lovely write up Sterra.... Omo Yoruba ni me o
ReplyDeleteLol... Stella I see dat u love yoruba a lot.. Dat's gud tho! Dose words n their meanings plenty sha. D diff btw dem all is d mark/accent on top
ReplyDelete*oko- stone
*oko- vehicle
*oko-husband
*oko- d**k
*oko-hoe
*oko-farm .. Dat's all I know 4 oko
For ojo
*ojo- name
*ojo-rain
*ojo-coward
*ojo-day
*ojo. Dats all 4 ojo dat I know
For oro
*oro-masquerade
*oro- name of a place in kwara st
*oro-word
*oro-pain
*oro- poison
Thanks. #proudlyyorubagirl..!
Reigning Queen your head is there!! Abara that will sound like thunder on your bare skin!!
ReplyDeleteYou go just confuse and wonder if na she born you!!
Nice one Stella
I luv u Stella. U r d best
ReplyDeleteD banj said oko yato soko. Penis pass penis.
ReplyDeleteYes ooo in dbanj is voice oko yato si oko. I:e penis get levels, taste mine and be blessed..... FILEE
DeleteYup, the spellings are the same but the pronounciation are the different for some, that's where "ami ohun" comes into play. You pronounce based on the intonation marks on top of the letters or in line with the context of the sentence. For e.g. "Mo n lo si oko". Even if there's no mark on 'oko', its not likely that the "oko" here is penis so you use common sense and know its "Im going to the farm".
ReplyDeleteBut some might be confusing sha. E.g "mo ni oko nla" can mean "I have a big farm" or I have a big penis"
But 'obo" means only one thing. No ambiguity for the Pussy.
Hmmmm lots of yoruba tisas on SDK. hhahaha
Deleteobo meaning its finished.
DeleteI don laff tire . Na ifoti oloyi i don receive from my papa and abara from my mama but as for me na iladi idey give my children anyone wey no i hear word
ReplyDeleteAwo - plate
ReplyDeleteAwo- cultist
Awo - guinea fowl
Ati bebe lo....
Iwo - you
Iwo - poison
Iwo - etc
Owo - money
Owo - broom
Owo - hand
Owo - a city in ondo state
Owo - you looked
(";-_-;")
This is very interesting. I suggest those that study Yoruba should please educate us on this. Pronounciaton of each word in yoruba depend on the tonation mark and what the discussion is based on.
ReplyDeleteDo not really have good understanding of the tonation marks, but I know we have ami oke, ami Isale, ami faagun etc. The word Oko could mean
Oko(hunband)
Oko(hoe)
Oko(Dick)
Oko(car)
Oko(stone)
Oko(farm)
Ojo(day)
Ojo(coward)
Ojo(rain)
Ojo(baby boy born with umbilical cord round his neck)
Odun(year)
Odun(very sweet)
If say Baba mi ni oko nla, believe me this will be misconstrue to be my father has a big dick, whereas I only meant to say that my father has a big farm.
Pink shell; very well said. Did that in Secondary School Yoruba.
ReplyDeleteOro- word
ReplyDeleteOro- Pain e.g oro iku
Igba-- garden egg
Igba- 200
Igba-- time
Igba-- calabash
Depends on ur pronunciation and context it was used
ReplyDeleteobo -monkey
ReplyDeleteobo -omo baba olowo (davido)
obo -pussy.
LOL... Abara was my granma's best. God bless her soul
ReplyDeleteOpolo-brain
ReplyDeleteOpolo-frog
Lmaooooooo.
ReplyDeleteThis made me laugh really hard, everyone turned to look @ me @ the. Bank
ReplyDeleteWhen I was younger and I offended my mum, na egba oju orun be my food.. She'd wake me up and make sure I chop my cane. I'd cry myself to sleep.. Funny how she told me not to do same to my kids.
ReplyDeleteIso- (Re Mi)faart/Mess
ReplyDeleteIso-(Do mi) Nail
Iso-(Do Do) market/bustop
Iso-(Do re) tie e.g Eran iso (tied goat)
SDK u haff killl me with laugh ooo I just can't stop.
ReplyDeleteAbgara! Kai dat one naim hot pass but as per igbo gal my Nnem no use any of d above ooo na just slap she use
Owo - hand
ReplyDeleteOwo - broom
Owo - respect
Owo - a town in Ondo state.
Erin - Elephant
Erin - Laughter
Erin - Four
Erin - Grind it
When pronouncing, It has different tonations. When its written we put tonation marks, that's how we differentiate the meaning.
Owo - hand
ReplyDeleteOwo - broom
Owo - respect
Owo - a town in Ondo state.
Erin - Elephant
Erin - Laughter
Erin - Four
Erin - Grind it
When pronouncing, It has different tonations. When its written we put tonation marks, that's how we differentiate the meaning.
Stella don kill me with laff ooº°˚˚°Âºoo .
ReplyDeleteOko - penis, oko- stone, oko- hoe, oko- husband,
Rotflmao.... Stella u have thrown my entire household into turmoil(laughing turmoil that is).... Thank u for this, now I feel cold in this hot afternoon.... Ldsmbfo !!!!!!
ReplyDeleteIgba-calabash, igba-time, igba-fruit,
ReplyDeleteOko-vehicle, oko-husband, oko-hoe, oko-dick, oko-farm
Iya- mother, iya- suffer
Yea,,,back to yoruba class.....lol
ReplyDeleteGiven my F9 in waec, lemme try. Ami ohun as indicated determine how a word is pronounced. Do Re Mi. Try to hum them. Eg. Olamide (re mi re mi), Dapo (do do), Stella (mi do), Bukola (do mi mi). Also, there are 2 letter O's in the Yoruba alphabet. O as in the Oyinbo o and o as in orange which is written with a dot under the o.
ReplyDeleteOKO:
Oko (mido) - car
Oko (domi) - blokos
Oko (rere) -husband
Oko (remi) - hoe
Oko (dodo) - stone
Oko (rere) - farm
@oluko faweeli ti ko le fi ami is ori oro. Oko-car(re do)...oko-blokos(re mi),odas are right
DeleteLollllllllll. Hence the F9 inspite of Mr. Oke and my mother's Ilotis that left your ears hot as in cartoons with steam pouring out. Abara, ifoti, iloti and elbows were her stock in trade. Her assistants in alupa were orogun and igbale and occasionally, bata. Yoruba mothers! I hail.
DeleteBut considering her own grandmother favoured squishing children in a corner with her gargantuan bum and beating them into submission, my mama learned from the best. My grandmother relied on the ever trusty pankere and igi tutu. The secret of igi tutu is the freshness. It doesn't break mid-beating.
DeleteStella u don mara, food nearly came out of my nose as a result of laughter, nice one
ReplyDeleteHummmm ojo=coward!
ReplyDeleteMy mum's 'Abara' those days is superb,u can't help but roll on d floor.,who u be? Wa gba aswear. I love 'yorubas', I pray to marry a yoruba man,dat will mean dream come thru for me.
ReplyDeleteSpeaking of igbati, stella have u watched dat miley cyrus_ wrecking ball remix?? By Naija boyz
ReplyDeleteHilarious! Y'all watch and give me feed back. :-)
http://www.hoodplug.com/video/miley-cyrus-wrecking-ball-african-version/IjQQ6Wc8#.Up5TvMmPLht
This comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteigba- when
ReplyDeleteigba-fruit
Lik my british son will say omo yoruba ni mi o swagger. Am Proud to be yoruba thanks stella
ReplyDelete*tears streaming down my face*
ReplyDeletemy boss dey look me as i dey vibrate for laughter. sai! StoDK. this is the funniest post ever. oya! comments keep rolling
Biko,all I wanna know in this Yoruba thingy is what it means when someone is called 'amebo oshi' & 'oshisco' on blogs.
ReplyDeleteAmebo is tatafo
DeleteOshi mean rubbish
Oshisco is rubbish
Biko,all I wanna know in this Yoruba thingy is what it means when someone is called 'amebo oshi' & 'oshisco' on blogs.
ReplyDeleteAmebo - Gossip (asin the person - .e.g. u r a gossip) oshi - rubbish
DeleteMeans stupid gossip (refering to the person not the gist).
Oshisco is still oshi asin rubbish or nonsense...
Nice one @Stella,chai cnt forget my mom´s abara back then,the thing would enter into ur akinyemi egungun and ara hahahahahahahaha,oga ju and it was such a deterrent measure that u dare not misbehave or misyarn again,those abaras reformed me and i would forever be grateful to my mom for that. We also have some words that sounds same way but has different meanings,e.g ako-meaning shakara or yanga,ako-meaning male specie of an animal or any living thing.
ReplyDeleteAm I right on des: ise=work, ise =poverty
ReplyDeleteBeing a kid then, whenever i offend my mum, i always make sure i stand at a distance of her arms length + allowance of 3 inches to avoid d ifoti. God bless my mum for those categories of slaps, they helped me shaped dis responsible adult
ReplyDeleteMo ra Dodo ni Ido
ReplyDeleteMoje Dodo ni Ido
Mo tun fowo Dodo
Po mo ni Dodo
Ni Dodo
Proudly Yoruba
Obo is also a monkey.....see
ReplyDeleteObo ....monkey
ReplyDeleteObo is also a monkey.....see
ReplyDelete@Ozone baby, Amebo means a gossiper, oshi means rubbish, but the oshico is a way to make it sound polish.
ReplyDeletelol.
ReplyDeleteThings you should know befor you say ' I Do'
Abara dey chase demons out of the life of a person. if u chop am well well and you misbehave later in life. your case is beyond redemption.
ReplyDeleteif my mum bless me with abara to da (correct abara), my brain will temporarily go blank and will lost sight briefly. sharp sharp my sim card will reset itself.
Lmao, Nice one stella
ReplyDeleteWhat about big dick, smelly pussy, gay, lesbians, suck my dick, eat my pussy, and what about please fuck me gently. .........lol
ReplyDeleteObe baba bo
ReplyDeleteO ba obo oba
A o ba baba be oba
A o ba bee
U're too funny Stella!
ReplyDelete@ Mrs Julia.O.CEO....May God bless you for that hilarious video!..laughed so hard that I started to feel warm.....the snow has been killing me since yesterday..http://www.hoodplug.com/video/miley-cyrus-wrecking-ball-african-version/IjQQ6Wc8#.UqKDj3-9KSO
ReplyDeleteThank you!
Ewa - Beans
ReplyDeleteEwa - Beauty
Ewa - Come here
Ewa - You came
Ewa - You didn't come
Mugus!!!!! Dnt u all knw dt dey hv different pronunciations and intonations to indicate d meaning????? Dey r spelt d same way,but most of d pronunciations r different......I'm nt evn yoruba...............you're welcome!
ReplyDeleteYou must be a fool for calling people mugus, must u come here to display ur studipty? And what makes u feel pple don't know they have different pronounciations? If u don't have any contribution to dis post, kindly jump and pass and stop displaying ur stupidity...
ReplyDeleteLmao I remember my dads iko(knocks) bt d igbarun 4 back of my neck na him worst d thing will give me vibration inshort tears will just come rolling down...my pupsie slap me once and the next day I had ear infection,the scar of d surgery is still there till today