Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Domestic Violence..My Dad Broke A Lamp On My Mothers Head And I Challenged Him...Was I Wrong?

Friday, November 01, 2013

Domestic Violence..My Dad Broke A Lamp On My Mothers Head And I Challenged Him...Was I Wrong?

Hello Stella,I'm married with kids and I'm very young.My dad is a medical doctor while my mother is a teacher.

The problem is that my father still beats up my 54 year old mother at the slightest opportunity.The last one was last week when he hit and broke a rechargeable lamp on her head because while she was driving into the compound she scratched his car.

When I heard it I was so angry that I called him and warned him never to touch my mother again and that I'm ashamed of his actions.He replied me that I won't end up well and that she's his wife and he loves her.I replied him back that he's never going to see my end because he'll leave this world before me.

My husband feels I went too far.What do you think ?I need your advise.     

NB...he beats her up in front of my brother's wife and nephews (her grandchildren).
What do you think?was i wrong?

*Poster is 21years old.

74 comments:

1. My dear. U didn't do anything wrong. What u did was very ryt. How can he claim to love ur mum and still beat her up. U need to stand up 4 her or else ur dad won't stop. Thank God ur mum is still alive.

1. He has bn beating her for decades n she stayed, whr ll she run to now. Wife beaters never change, they only get worse, hw can anyone beat a 54yr old. Dats wickedness.

2. He has bn beating her for decades n she stayed, whr ll she run to now. Wife beaters never change, they only get worse, hw can anyone beat a 54yr old. Dats wickedness.

3. My dad used to do that...one night he hit my mum on the head with a touchlight after breaking into her room to try and have sex with her
      Lemme state that my dad is learned o,well schooled and well traveld
      My elder sister dint care about respect she even insulted him we all did
      Right now my mum has moved out, we the children supported her leaving and send her money from time to time cus she had to leave her job and move on
      You are still young but if your mum can leave its the best thing cus my mum went trough a lot
      What you did was in the heat of anger, and he would even forgive you without asking...but atleast just send a text message apologyzing...I know it hurts
      But most importantly the earlier you get your mum outta there the better...atlst not divorce but seperation for a while, he would then miss her, just like my dad is regreting cus he is the only one in the house cus his kids are all grown up

4. Just hope its not the mama Uche story cos if it is,then your mum got what she wanted...you know what I mean.

5. Wish I had ur kinda courage at this time. Bible says Honour ur parents, but also said the parents shld not provoke the kids...... I just have dis to say to u.... "A curse causeless shall not come near thy dwelling" he cursed himself not u.

2. Sorry to say this I'm ashamed of your dad how can someone this learned stoop so low

1. My mom is 54, my dad used to beat her until last year. He even cheats to make matters worse. One day I had to confront him, inshort we had a fight. He culdnt bliv dat of all his children ild b d one to stand up to him. Our eldest sibling is 30, imagine. And am 23. And d last child so telme y he shld lay a finger on my mom. Anyway he doesn't do shit again wen am arnd cos its lyk he fears me now afta I stood up to him. So my dear u wer not wrong. But I advise u still appologize to him jst for apology sake. I was made to do same and now my dad and I are cool.

3. Be firm, but try not to be disrespectful. Most importantly, try to move your Mum away from where your dad lives. She is not safe there, and he is not mentally alright. Men who beat their wives in that way are not mentally sound. If I were you, I'd pray and ask the Lord for wisdom and Grace to be firm with your father. Also, don't be afraid, an undeserved curse will not stand- Proverbs 26: 2. Even a deserved curse, for the child of God, has been paid for by Jesus' suffering and death. Relax and trust God.

1. If I even tell you all the complete story of my life you all would cry for my mum
      What my dad does to her just because of sex,when he cheats on her like mad
      Men are evil, thank God I and my 3sisters married good men,that's all that makes my mum happy now
      Pls get ur mum out

4. This na wife and husband matter and dad and daughter talk o. What your dad did is bad BUT then na ur Papa o , this is African where we must respect elders. So how u put mouth take talk matter o. Go appologies to ur DAD and let it go. Ur mum wont be happy if u and ur dad arent in good terms. On the other hand Because of the way u stood up to him i guess too next time he would be more cautious.

1. May you not end well. Na wife and husband matter? Apologise to the dad? Do you have any idea how it feels to have a lamp broken on your head? Do you know how it feels to be beaten at the slightest opportunity and in front of your grandkids too? Huh? If this happened to your mother, what would you say?

2. May you not end well. Na wife and husband matter? Apologise to the dad? Do you have any idea how it feels to have a lamp broken on your head? Do you know how it feels to be beaten at the slightest opportunity and in front of your grandkids too? Huh? If this happened to your mother, what would you say?

3. Mosunmola somo lollipop la? Ewo lepe?e be like say ur mama don chop plenty beating from ur papa.take am easy,na her own opinion be dat n she has a right to it

5. Thanks for coming to your mum's defence.
    Obey your parents but parents do not provoke the child. So says a verse in d bible.

You can apologised to your dad later for shouting at him(respect) but firmly n calmly tell him his actions towards your mum didn't go down well with you as u love them both equally.

#hugs

1. Poster, not only did you not do wrong, you need to get your mother outta there. He doesn't deserve respect cos he has zero respect for life.

6. I also had a similar issue. Mine is dat my dad cheats on my mum, doesn't take gud care of his kids(imagine a man giving his girls 5000k a month for feeding and toiletriesand we are in uni o).... And pls don't say he's poor cos he isn't. He has a house in ph where he receives rent from, has a taxi dat runs on d road for him, receives gud pay(abt 300,000) monthly. Yet we are suffering. He asked me to come home cos i'm tru wit sch and hv started working ova dere and i refused cos he wnt provide for me and cos of dat, he told my mum he will lay a curse on me. Dat i'm a prodigal child. Am i rong to stay and help myself?
    Some men sha

7. Clap for yourself jare, your mama didn't raise no fool. You've sent a very clear message to your dad and husband. You'd probably ask y husband, he may think if her dad can do this to her mum, then...carry go! Now, he knows you've stood up to your dad, his own go be beans (if it ever arises)
    What's your mother's stand on this, does she support your action? If yes, give your dad time to stew. Enlist your siblings and anyone else who can play on his emotions. All said, apologize to him because na your papa!

8. Ur dad is callous,pls talk to elders in d family to intervene n if he doesn't change,move ur mum out of that house,she is not safe atall.btw,u did nothing wrong,if he loves ur mum like he said he won't lay his filthy hands on her.

1. Elders ke @ 54? Lailai he wl nt change. U av nt done wrong o bt just tell him u ar sorry. Next tym he wl nt try it. If possible u guys shld take ur mum away 4rm him 4 some tym and tell her to always stand 4 herslf too cos if she dies WALAHI WALAHI ur papa wl remarry afta 6months max

9. Anonymous Nov.1 at 1.36pm. To say that I am ashamed and appalled at your contribution is an understatement. If somebody does not stand up to this man he will continue this attitude of beating the wife, imagine that he does it infront of her grand children and her daughter in law. This lady has done no wrong. Sometimes you have to stand up for what is right even if it sounds rude, it cant even be rude especially if the other person is so wrong. African culture my foot, that is why a lot women/men have died silently cos it is African not to correct certain people. what the heck. This man is an egomaniac, and full of insecurity that is un called for. So he is a medical doctor and his wife is a teacher and so....has she not being with him all these years? And I don't want to hear what questions like maybe the woman did something, if she did something wrong as small as scratching his car, is that why he should break a lamp over her head? so the car is more important than her life...anyway, it looks like the woman has allowed him all this while be god in his home. That's what they always tell women, keep quiet, don't talk, be patient until they are laid to rest 6 feet below. And for a 54yr woman at that. how far?

1. As in ehn! Dis african culture is wack and annoyin! Am sure d mum has bn goin tru dis 4 yrs and she did nt take any action *mtcheeeew*. May we nt marry wrongly ooo but rily women nid to stand up 4 demselves. I av a sis too who lives like an official househelp in her own home, I wonder wat her story wl be @54 cos she wil neva open up to her own blood.

10. My dear, you did no wrong, sometimes you have to be stern with your parents, respectfully. but what is wrong is wrong, and what is right, is right. No, your father has no right to lay a hand on your mother. You needed to do that to jolt him back to reality.

11. Your dad is all shades of wrong. how dare he? well done for telling him how you feel because you are very correct. he has no right to beat up a 54yr old woman. and your mum needs to grow a spine and flee till your dad can get his shit together, if he ever does.

he is laying a terrible example for his inlaws and grandkids, how can he not see that?

12. if u have siblings ,gang up with them and beat ur dad up let him have a taste of his own medicine,mtchewwwwww

13. You approached it the wrong way. Call an emergency meeting and invite members of both your parents' families, respected family friends and religious leaders. Let them all collectively admonish him for his shameful act.

Your mum too has taken this for too long. A whole grandma being beaten like a child! And in front of her grandkids. Its not too late for her to stand against this serious abuse.

1. We tried that in my house calling ppl...he would even try to slap her in their presence +it dint stop anything just gave more people more reason to talk about my family
      This is my 3rd time of commenting and I cnt be happier that my mom has left
      We are 4girls 3boys his 1st son is 34 yle the last is 20years...it only gets worse except God takes control
      My mum is older than 54 now all she does is travel to her childrens house and relax atleast she sleeps with peace in her mind
      And did I also say my dad accuses my mum of cheating on him...what would some1 who is almost 60 and a teacher be looking for outside
      He screams if she comes back late that's by 7pm o
      She got tired of taking the shit and started fighting back and treathing to disgrace him @his place of work and that calmed him down
      Wev all forgiven our dad o, but its better she's outta the house now
      I know why I keep commenting cus I can't let go off this topic so ild reach out to some1 out there
      Don't wwaait as long as my mum did cus you myt not make it tru
      He beat her yle pregnant
      There was this morning he beat her up, I was about 8 then, he wanted to collect the box he got for her he almost broke her hand,we were all crying and begging him not to beat her
      I'm married now but all that brings tears 2 my eyes right now
      Imagine a sunday morning we werr about going to church
      We still did...mum made sure we did
      Mum I love you so much, you are the strongest woman ever...and ild try my best to put a smile on your face
      You are my pillar
      I turned out to be the one it affected the most, but I never show my feelings
      Pls any1 out there going tru dis pls get out atlst for your childrens mentality, so they wunt spend their sunday mornings crying "daddy pls not 2day"
      I'm crying right now cus I tot I had blocked all that outta my mind
      This post just brought it all back #emotional#

2. Anon 8:20, its okay darling... The worst is over. I haven't spoken to my dad in years too cos of how he treats my mum. I pray God will give me the heart to forgive him and let go of the hate.

3. Emergency meeting when her elder brother is 30? Abeg no take several seats biko. Even if any meetin shld be called its for their nuclear family. Plus I wonder why ur brother is not takin any action, hope he is nt lyk ur dad to his wife?

14. Your mum should stand up for herself. She's not handicapped or challenged in any way. She's even educated. Imagine if it was her daughter that was being battered.

You can talk to your dad respectfully but there's really little you can do. Your mum needs to fight the battle herself. She's experienced in matrimonial matters having stayed for 2 decades plus. She should know what to do.

15. Hmmm! Na which kind yawa be this o!

As for me I would react immediately. Kai I love my mother eh. Tooooooooooooooooo much. I'd spoil it all I cant lie.

Thank God some people are reasonable. Pls listen to godly advice on here. They are coming.

16. @Bloglord.......ur first paragraph was what i had in mind......

@Poster,,,u did the very right thing.....infact am so suprised there are men who still beat women as old as that with grown up kids,,,,,if ur dad can still beat ur mum at her age and in the presence of her daughter-in-law and grandkids,,,so he shouldnt expect to hear "well done" from u.....he is indirectly telling ur hubby that there's nothing wrong in beating u too......forget about his curse,,,no be u get dat one,,,uv done nothing to deserve a curse..........pls arrange with ur brothers and sisters to take ur mum away from that house because ur dad who could break a lamp on ur mum's head can also hit her with a pester.......pls ur mum needs a break from that house if u want her to live long!!!

17. next time he beats a 54yr old woman, please press charges o! that isnt assault, its attempted murder as she is older and may not have the strength to defend herself like she has been doing.

God Bless you

PS: i have done this and it made my dad actually quit for good else i woulda killed him

18. only God will help us in Nigeria..its good u stood up to him, i had one stupid cousin who talked to my mum anyhow. i insulted her and her family, i later apologised because my mum told me to.even though i dont talk to them anymore. if u insult my mum, u will hear from me, not to talk of beating her, dem no u born u well! just move ur mum out of that house cuz he wont stop before he kills her! its rily a shameless person that can do that, sorry to say, cuz he is ur father

19. Poster,you and your siblings should team up and beat the hell out of him.WTF

20. Na wa 4 sm men now adays the bible say dat men shld lov their wife as their own body i wonda y a man dat lay his hand on his wife have consence at all. Na only God will come to our rescue and save wemen dat their husband r women beater

21. And here lies most of the problems we see in Africa as a whole today,anon 1.36pm. Respect your elders,apologise and let it go!!! Even though a man openly beats his working wife, even in front of children, she should 'respect' her father and apologise? Because we are African? Please abeg! My dear,you did the right thing. Respect is EARNED, and since your father refuses to respect himself by acting like an uncontrollable animal, and your mother has obviously accepted her lot and allows this to happen to her, you are entitled to speak the truth. And whoever does not like it, na their concern!

22. Anon Nov 1 1:36 you're joking, yes?
    he breaks a lamp on the woman's head and because she's his wife, this young woman should watch her mother go through abuse?
    My people will perish for lack of knowledge.
    Please anon 1:36, if you are going through this in your own life, I want to let you know that it is wrong. If somebody is beating you, please run away, run far far away.
    It is NOT right, not now, not ever.
    Nobody should stay in an abusive relationship and it doesn't matter if it is husband/wife matter. IT IS JUST NOT RIGHT.

23. That curse is baseless my love! Don't mind your husband too cos if you didn't insult him and just made ur point as stated above, u didn't go far in any way. Never apologised to him cos he was wrong in all ways

24. Never involve ur husband in things like this again. He will use it against you and ur family. Don't apologize to ur dad cos he was totally wrong. If u have an older brother, tell him and the old combatant doctor should be thoroughly talked to. Na him mate dey buy jet for him wive. Forget about the curse its bullsit. Ure blessed beyond measures IJN!

25. Let your mother stand up for herself. You did nothing wrong in defending your mother but there is little you can do if your mother does not see anything wrong in the wretched situation.

26. So sorry about it Poster but don't you have brothers that could teach your dad a lesson? Is his car worth more than your mom? That's how I was dating one yeye doctor cos I wanted to marry doctor aspa my dad na doctor. The day he gave me slap, I saw stars. Allowed him to pet me as I was crying....after like ten minutes I returned the slap and left the house that night. I left him oh and he kept begging me not to tell my friends that he hit me. When he saw me moving ahead very well in life he started trying to come back, I so shunned him ehn but that's how he saw his dad beat his mom. I'm now dating an investment banker who makes me very happy and adores me. You could talk to your dad gently and if he still continues then you may need to invite the pastor on this matter cos if he gets to read the scriptures more and gets counselling, he would know his wife is a part of him. Cheer up!

27. Dear poster ,A 54yrs old woman may b managing HBP by now so u did notin wrong cos trust me ur dad has notin to lose should anytin happens to her, challenge ur dad as many times as u can , he's wicked nd disrespectful ur mum doesn't deserve such @ all , talking abt respect sum of u said , Wat if she mistakenly slumps? Hmmm! U can even break his head in defence of ur mum so don't feel guilty. Kudos to u for speaking up cos some holier than thou brethrens wil watch their mum die all in d name of respect. Hissss.

28. Your dad was wrong but you went too far! You can't escape it if he places a curse on you despite the fact that I said he was wrong. Some things are better left for couples to resolve. Go mind your business first before that of others.

1. Anon 4:21pm, I bu aturu.

2. Anon 4:21pm, I bu aturu.

3. Wished †̥ God I had skipped ΰя comment,almost diluted the preceeding REASONABLE ones...Gosh,I want †̥ believe Ʊ were 'high' on zobo when Ʊ typed these...but if no,then ΰя head really needs †̥ be examined! 'Go mind ΰя business first...' U say, Α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ Ʊ for real??Do Ʊ have a MUM???My dear,she has already escaped whatever curse that was placed coz her Dad was in the wrong!

4. Ta. The curse no go catch anything. Read ya Bible.

5. Egbami! WTF did u say? Ko ni daa fun curse. Dear commentator, do u luv ur mum at all? I can do anything 4 my mum and my dad. If I don't protect dem abeg who will? So until d man kill dem mama finish, cry yeye cry, do burial and announce afta 5months that he wants to remarry before she fights 4 her abi? Woo omo daadaa, adara fun even whn u go to beg him stil maintain dt what he did is wrong and shld neva try it. If ur siblings can talk abeg do dts y u r d last child

29. @poster, if am the one, immediately i heard dat saga, i wil pick up hammer and chisel to my dads house and design the car wit the hammer and chisel. And patiently wait 4 wat else he wan do.. Na dat hypertension go kill am.. Which means ur dad neva see sumone wey go break his heart biggerly.

30. Reading the comments here have just made me sooo upset. Madam, pls hear me, wife beaters like rapists feed of fear. The fear of their victims make them feel superior. You did the right thing in exactly the right way. Your father needs to know that your mother has people that can stand up for her. Tell him again in clear terms that even though he is your father, you will protect your mother like you would your child. Tell him it has gone on too long and should NEVA happen again. Ask him what he is teaching his children and grand children? Ask him how he would feel if your husband dis the same to you? The fact that he is still doing that means you and your siblings have no one to fight for you if u ever get caught in the same situation. Ask him the point of having a father who cannot protect his offspring and his wife? Ask him some good hard questions. And then watch him. Of he does it again! Report to the police or any DVD help centre. You have a responsibility to ur mother and children. Plus ur husband is watching you all. This will show him ur stance on DV. Pls this is not to be condoned in anyway, shape or form. When you notice that your father has changed, meet with him and respectfully have a heart to heart with him. Tell him then! That u love him and it was important now more than ever that he proven to be the Man U knew he cld be. Good luck but pls! Even if ur mother says u shd leave it be sure to explain to her that you are doing this not just for her, but for you and your kids and all her children and their children. It is important to send the right message.

1. I just wanna give you a big, warm, tight hug!

2. Best comment so far.

@ poster you have to speak your father. He is a grandfather for Christ sake what example is he laying?; that means is ok for his son in laws to beat his daughters....Baba poster repent from your ways oh, if you want to fight go to mushin nd look for agberos wahala.

To everyone in similar situation GET HELP NOW don't die before your time.

31. Poster please do not apologise. My dad did same to my mum from when we were kids till I got into university he didn't stop. Untill one day I think in my 3rd year or so he locked her in the bedroom as usual and beat her including flogging her with belt.when he came out I asked him what rubbish he thinks he's doing..he said I insulted him n drove me out of the house that night I slept in my neighbours house but guess what that was the last time he raised his hands. Im happily married and this incident is about 10years old.so in summary someone has to stand up for the woman thats y she has grown up kids u can't expect her to do certain things again. Gudluck

1. Abi ooo. But women shld learn to stand 4 their right. 4 Gods sake its dier home too plus I realised that not until d DV gets to d xtreme or they are being disgraced in the presence of people some women keep their 'condition' to themselves. 4 d unfortunate ones d next thing u hear is death. Pls dear fellow girls, ladies, women we really have to stand 4 US and our children oooooooooo!

32. Annon #36.....so if person beat ur mama......u go pray for that person cos u dont want the person to curse u,,,right???? God is God and not man that will make anyone go thru undeserved punishment........

33. I'm afraid ur dad doesn't deserve an apology,he didn't behave well at all.My dad beat my mum too when we were in the University many years ago.My big brother n I were rude to him,i just couldn't handle it.Though my mum told us to apologize later but he never tried it again cos that was the first time in our lives we stood up to him.Shame on men that beat up their wives!

34. Ur dad's curse can never work in this situation my dear.Just say back to sender in Jesus' name.

35. God bless you,you are the only one making sense with your comment.the mad is mad and should be treated as such.poster,you and your siblings should have ganged up on your dad looong ago to deal with him. Eg tie him up hand and foot for hours like ileya ram,then release him after a few hours. You behave like a mad man then we treat you like one! Your mum has been beaten to total submission,its only you guys that can save her.

1. Lmaoooooo! I'm just imagining how person go tie in papa like ileya ram. Lwkmd. @ poster: you did not go too far at all. Curse ko, faculty ni. Nothing will happen to you cos you did nothing wrong. Your mim might have Battered Woman's syndrome, and be stuck in the relationship, unable to help herself. You and your siblings should help her get out. Beating a 54 year old woman is attempted murder mehn.

36. @anon nov1 1:36pm. U r a goat.guess u parked ur brain b4 checking dis blog or beta stil u reason wit ur anus.

37. Thank you all so very much.@aunty stella I'm sorry I made you upset.I'm so addicted to your blog and I'm not happy that I made u upset.please overlook my mistake.thank you

38. My daddy used to beat mum when we were small and all girls, the beatings stopped when the boys arrived.
    Well the after-effects is that mum became more reserved and more into us the kids.
    Now we are all grown up,my elder sisters married, she flies from country to country for omugwo except for me that hate men

39. Shut up. Respect what elders? The guy is a swine and if I were her I would do worse

40. Sometimes parents need to be taught by their children. The day your own child stands up to you is the day you will sit down and think real hard. Its a blessing to have children who can put their foot down on what is wrong in the home. I'm grateful to God I have such children. You have done NO WRONG, poster. If anything, you've probably saved your dad a lifetime in hell. Time will tell.

41. Y'all saying "curse dis curse dah?"
    Never lay ur filthy hands on a woman.
    She talked too much? Talk back.
    She scratched ur car? Now dhz a stupid reason to beat a dog talkless of a human being! A mother n' granmum 4 chrissake.

@poster. M sorry but ild have gotten ma dad dealt wif asap. He won't evn know who it was.
    Some1 worthy shld not beat him but issue him close to 20 SOUND slaps.
    M sure he'l never 4get dat in a bit!

Eve.

42. Were u wrong ke?? U and that ur husband should be ashamed of ur damn selves! Instead of u people to protect her, u are busy warning ur useless father while ur coward of a hubby is saying u went too far. Kai i am boiling for this matter! Wish i knew u both so i can knock ur heads together! That ur foolish hubby obviously thinks its cool to panel beat a woman....much more ur mom!...I cannot stand and watch that ish unfold while im alive o! Lailai...u guys have failed ur mother big time.

I have no words for ur idiot of a father! He deserves no energy of mine! Till he beats her to death or into terminal illness....and then marries another wife when she dies, then u'll regret what u shoulda done.

43. While not justifyin physical abuse, wen ur mum bashed his car and he was fuming, was ur mum silent, apologetic or brash and unconcerned? Anger is a condition dat needed to be worked on. Women shld learn d act of not bruisin a man's ego wen his temperament is at boiling point. Wat is right may not necessarily be d right tin to do in certain instances. Apologise to ur dad and get a female anger therapist for ur dad.

44. The talk should be with your mum,am guessing she took all the abuse because of her children..now its time for her to stand up for herself..you have showed her the needed support,she now knows her children has her back...ignore your dad for now and help your mum to win her fight..this has got to stop!

45. Dear poster u did nofin wrong.ma dad used to beat ma mum den.she got fed up nd dealt with him her own way.a night he tried it he dint knw she was with a very sharp knife she sliced his finger it was almost hanging.till nw he still has dat particular finger abnormal .d last baby is 21.monsie is above 50.so y hit her?dat night we were all ready for him oh.I was jst chilling on a seat acting like I dint knw anyfin was hapnin I was jst waiting for him to hit her for slicing his finger.na God save am he didn't.nw ma dear he fears us.he doesn't even cough wen she annoys him.ur siblings shld deal with him.as for d useless curse it won't affect u in anyway.ma dad cursed shit outta me weneva I challenge him for hitting my mum nd I tell him his jst making noise.its only dose hu have lived in homes like dis dat'll understand.so dear u did nofin wrong @ all.nxttime dismantle d useless car nd hold ur weapons with boys outside oh incase he tries nonsense.

46. You did nothing wrong, I did the even more to my father and I was actually a young girl of twelve at the time without any strength to fight a grown man, but my father bears a scar to this day of what I did.

Your father needs his ass handed to him so he will calm his ass, and your mother is a patient women, because he would have gotten it a long time if it was me. She could have died from a serious head injury and you are questioning if you did the right thing. Some men are the devils in the flesh. I hope your mother can find the strength to go to the police and file for a divorce next time, then again she may not live the next time something like this happens.

47. Good reading this post. Here is my story. My dad used to beat everybody. Always beating my mum and even try to strangle (to kill) her once. Myself he beat me once while telling me he can kill me whenever he wants (Today I still remember those words!) That was when I was around 8-10 y.o. In my 20s I have a little brother of about 6 yo when they both separated and I was living with my mum. Then one night, my brother school call up mum asking her to come and pick up the boy as he is unwell being with his dad. When my mum went he beat her again and she could not get the boy. That night I was so furious and told myself that, it is enough. So I took a taxi, went there, had a fight with him knocked him down, and telling him he would die by himself with no one helping him. I took my brother back to my mum place. Now I am almost 40. He is living rough in a shit area in my hometown. He will sometimes try to call me to say things like you are my son you are like me blah blah. But I never thrust those words and just thought of him as a rough person with no real consideration to other people lives. You have done well man … best of luck. They bad things is some people around will never understand it and will try to judge you. Forget them !