Nigeria's many traditional kings were formally stripped of their constitutional powers in 1963 But they continue to command great respect among their communities and wield considerable influence
Posing on his ornate throne, Alhaji Dr Ado Abdullahi Bayero is the current 'Emir of Kano', a position he has held since 1963. A former ambassador to Senegal he is renowned for his abundant wealth, which has been amassed by investing in the stock market and agriculture
Robes of office: HRM Agbogidi Obi James
Ikechukwu Anyasi II, 'The Obi of the Idumuje Unor kingdom', was until
his death earlier this year, the longest reigning African Monarch. He
was crowned king on October 9, 1946 at the age of 22. His robe,
depicting a young Queen Elizabeth, gives a clear nod to the period of
British colonial rule
Out for a ride: The Emir of Kano Alhaji Dr Ado Abdullahi Bayero is attended by aides as he sits on the back of his vintage Rolls Royce on his way to the Central Mosque in Kano
Alayeluwa Oba Okunade Sijuwade, the current 'Ooni of Ife', relaxes in his throne room. Born in 1930, he has enjoyed a colourful life first working for his father's business, then with the Nigerian Tribune newspaper, before attending Northampton College in the United Kingdom where he studied business management. In 1963 he became Sales Director of the state-owned National Motor company in the Nigerian capital Lagos. He later formed a company to distribute Soviet-built vehicles and equipment in Nigeria
His Royal Majesty Oba Oyetunji Jimoh Olanipekun Larooyell, the 'Ataoja of Osogbo' in southwest Nigeria. He worked as a teacher for many years, firstly at a baptist day school. He was crowned king in 1976 and rules over some 300,000 subjects. He has studied management in London and is a qualified chartered accountant
Omo N'Oba N'Edo Uku Akpolokpolo Erediauwa I (left) was crowned 'Oba of Benin Kingdom' in the Edo state of Nigeria in 1979. Before that he studied at Cambridge university before being appointed to many top government posts. Alhaji Abdulmumini Kabir Usman (Right) is the current and 50th 'Emir of Kasina'. He was coronated in 2008 five days after the death of his father, Emir Muhammad Kabir Usman. He is remembered as a peacemaker during the Nigerian civil war and has a passion for Polo
His Majesty, Deinmowuru Donokoromo III, The 'Pere of Isaba', poses with his royal sceptre outside his palace. He has ruled over the Kingdom of Isaba in the oil rich South-West area of Delta state since 1983
source
Na only Edo, Delta, Hausa and yoruba kings u showcased?? **bbm raised eyebrows** where is the Obi of Onitsha?? Igbos no get king?? Abeg Stella pack well welll
ReplyDeleteMy thoughts exactly. Was scrolling and hoping to read a profile on Igwe Agbogidi Nnaemeka Alfred Achebe......lol
DeleteRoyal majesties, carrying great responsibilities on their shoulders. May God guide their hearts to rule wisely.
ReplyDeleteyaaay unilorin, one of d most prestigious unis in nigeria. that our chancellor na die, fine boy of life
ReplyDeleteJoke...
DeleteAnon 9:27AM,
DeleteYeah, fine boy of life!
A classmate of mine who's a native of Agbor used to talk about him a lot. She said he became a king early and schooled abroad.
A young man(then) who was yet to get married despite having the power to choose any lady to be his queen.
Seeing his profile just refreshed my memory.
next abeg.
ReplyDelete....just passing by....
ReplyDeleteBeautiful write up....This is the first time I have seen something like this on Nigerian Kings....I suggest you expand this idea....it could make a beautiful magazine sef....
ReplyDeleteNice work!! Waiting for the oda parts of nigeria ooh! *thumbs up*
ReplyDeleteMay God spear the kings and guide them to make the right decisions.
ReplyDeleteHa! Anon 10:43 am. "Spear" the kings???? I'm bleeding...
DeleteLike seriously?? **Spear the kings**??
DeleteSpear ke!!!!na u god go spear o....u wan kill our kings. Wicked man..
DeleteStella, sorry I no be itk oo, but I think deres an error in d profile of the Ataoja of oshogbo, he is a new king, he is not d one dat was crowned in 1976. Pls check to confirm sha.
ReplyDeleteYou're so right Anonymous! Oba Oyewale Matanmi was Oba until 3-4 years ago, the present one ascended the throne after the demise of Oba Matanmi.
DeleteThe present ataoja is not a Chartered accountant and could only have studied management in London in his dreams. He was a political thug imposed on the people of Osogbo during the despotic misrule of Oyinlola to spite the people of Osogbo who didnt support him on the stolen mandate of Aregbesola. The fake ataoja is not of royal lineage and has been deposed by the State high Court since 2011. The case is on apeal right now. So please the throne is legally vacant. Thank me later.
DeleteWhere is Owa Obokun of Ijesa Land, Timi Of Ede, Alafin of Oyo(Iku Baba Yeye), Oba Of Lagos and other prominent rulers. Please, don't bother us with Ghana must go obas.
ReplyDeleteObama of Lagos is traditionally not one of tge important yoruba Obas, if u notice he has no real crown....the position of Lagos may have changed things a little for him in the hierarchical structure amongst Yoruba kings, but he still is not one of the top 10.
DeleteMy King is his highness The Emir of Kano!
ReplyDeleteAllay ya kare!
Ranka ya dade!
Where is the hot Sultan of Sokoto? Saad Abubakar The third?
Beautiful piece Stella!
ReplyDeletei like this stella...very informative! thank you
ReplyDeleteSDK, i dey vex, i no see my uncle name Agbogidi Alfred Nnaemeka Achebe, the Obi of Onitsha!
ReplyDeleteNo Alaafin, he go vex una oh. Obi of Onitsha, Sultan of Sokoto, Oba of Lagos, Awujale and Alake nko, dem go vex oh.
ReplyDeleteIlorin prestigious UNI? I laugh in Ebira.
Is the Dein of Agbor sitting on a gold cast throne?So the Emir of Kano has a vintage Rolls Royce while his subjects are almajiris.Boko Haram no go see dis one ,na to bomb people wey no do them anytin. Why would Nigeria grow?
ReplyDeleteOur trado rulers are here and the nation is decaying?
ReplyDeleteif you know your history then you will know igbos dont really have kings
ReplyDeleteTaaaa shartaaap ur mouth.
DeleteThe so called kings are off shoots of warrant chiefs created by the British colonial rulers who used their doctrine of indirect rule to govern.
DeleteAbi dem still dey teach history for schools now???
Hence the names Igboenweze, Igboamaeze
DeleteOga instead of telling him/her to shartaaaap correct and enlighten.
DeleteIgbos had egalitarian societies. Each man could speak for himself. Igbo ama eze.
Igbos had their leaders (though these grew out of the Transatlantic slave trade - their kingdoms were on the route to the slave collection points).
Mechie onu nsi gi there!! Ewu!! Who said Igbos don't av king!??? Ibu ezigbo nkita ala!! Anu!
Delete@7:36pm - onye na akpo mmadu nkita ala bu nkita ala. Jiri nwayo.
DeleteOba gha tokpere!iseee! Iselogbe! Signed:wide eyed!
ReplyDeletewat of Rivers state kings
ReplyDeleteshare your US experiences here
usimmigrationdiary.blogspot.com
Where is the Olu of Warri???? Ehnnnn Stella
ReplyDeleteFor the first time Stella has posted an educative and informative material on this blog, well done.
ReplyDeleteFor the first time, Stella has posted an informative and educative piece on her blog👍👍👍. Well done for some fresh air..
ReplyDeletePOLA
This comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteThey are unique and still 'stand out.' Follow me on twitter @DSmartNigerian, let's have fun.
ReplyDeleteThank you for impacting knowledge.
ReplyDeleteNo royal father for obodo ndi igbo? Ee, sterra?
ReplyDeleteabeg how ee affect me now?
ReplyDeleteShay una don see Alafin of Oyo?
Obong of Calabar?
Oni of Ife?
Oba opolopolo?
How all of dem affect me biko?
Dey ar just lazy Kings......dey do nothin...just eatin d poor citizens money.....
Oshisko
@Spy.
Our Royal majesty. Nice article.
ReplyDeletediscover secrets to losing some weight and eating healthy
Well that Dein can rock my boat anyday...the rest can take their titles and shove it. O ga ju!
ReplyDeleteSDK stop misleading your blog visitors you ve made some gaffes and blunders in some if the kings profile like Ataoja of osogbo was crowned 2years ago not 1976 the one he succeed oyewale matanmi 111 was crowned 1976 and died three years ago correct your mistakes they are sensitive unlike sex scandal stories you ve masterd
ReplyDelete*passing
ReplyDeleteAfi "spear" na! The "spear" in their kingdoms right?
ReplyDeleteMatanmi was the Ataoja until he died a few years ago right?
ReplyDeletePola first time she's posting something educative? Are you new here?
ReplyDeletePls is ghosts dat comment on Linda's blog?
ReplyDeleteCalabar pple nko Stella mind ur self ohhh...
ReplyDeleteStella,this one wey some people dey ask of uncle Agbogidi so,Ethnic war wan start o!I no dey house!byeeee!Signed:wide eyed!
ReplyDeleteIs it only d emir ov kano we have in the whole north. Pls abeg I can mention a lot too from evri angle of naija but no time havn exams.
ReplyDelete@stella,after all those names,who is the king of Nigeria ?from swiss
ReplyDeleteNa wa for you some of you guys oh.
ReplyDeleteIt wasn't Stella that wrote this article; she culled it from The Daily Mail. Atleast she indicated her source or didn't you see it at the end of the article?
This comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteWonder what the 'daily hate mail' was trying to achieve with this post. Their usual chav audience had a field day posting derogatory comments - f*cking wankers.
ReplyDeleteOba of Lagos isn't in the top ten? Name the top ten please.