LATE DADS PROPERTY
My mom has been a widow for about a year now, my dad died while I was away in school..
My sister and I (just the two of us) came for the burial from university then and went back. A few months after his burial, my mum called us that she's has decided to do some much-needed renovations to our home, we all spoke on video about it and agreed.
She said she's not trying to make grand changes and has found a good contractor for the job, we agreed on all the line items and the cost, back then I was nervous and excited about the idea.
She spoke about getting help to pack up some of the areas where the renovations are taking place, and we also agreed to get rid of some of dad's things we'd been holding on to.
My sister indicated interest in some of my dad's jewelries and asked that we put them aside in a box because I told them on the call that I'll be home soon.
Fast forward to coming home, the renovations hasn't started yet and I noticed the said contractor is a man living in our estate and he's been wearing items similar to what my dad had. I'm just trying to settle down, go through my dad's items and confirm if these items are really my dad's. My people, I haven't been myself since I came in. I don't know where to start from or what to do. I haven't been myself. If the items are my dad's, how do I approach this? How will I cope with this madness, my goodness!!!
Your mum probably gave him some of the things belonging to your Dad..so what do you want to do?Are you not ready to let go of his things?
Please let this go whether you confirm its your dads old clothes or not...Please move on so that you can heal well.....
What if she sold the items to him to get some money????
ReplyDeleteShe doesn't sound like they are broke.
DeleteAsk your mum whether he has giving some of your dad things out already and if she said yes just bury the matter ,aren't you happy that even in death ,your dad is a blessing to somebody regardless of whatever you may be thinking.God keeps you all in his absence in Jesus name
ReplyDeleteYour mum concubine kill your dad. The contractor is your mum side piece.
ReplyDelete@anonymous 15:14,
DeleteI think this comment should be removed.
This is speculation. You have no way of knowing this. To say that her Mum's concubine killed the father.... Pls.
Let's think carefully before we post.
The posters Mum may be looking for ways too to cope with the demise of her husband. People grieve in different ways.
Let’s be careful of our insinuations pls. Do you want to turn her against her mum?
DeleteOmo
DeleteSome of you are just wild😂
Haba now. Most people give out their loved ones clothes out even to strangers. Some people even believe the dead person will be happy wherever they are if their things are given out, Especially clothing if not they'll be naked where ever their spirits are.
DeleteYour mum and the man might not have anything sinister going on, anyway you know your mum' more than us, is she that kind of person? Don't allow a stranger to judge your mum
It's is so wrong for her to give out Ur dad's things with out talking to u guys first..
ReplyDeleteTalk to her about it.. it's like replacing your dad,they might even be dating ...
U are still grieving and possibly attached to his things.. it's too early to give them out..
Hmmm
ReplyDeleteIs she dating the man?
I will advise you to let all those meaningless thoughts slide and concentrate on your future.
ReplyDeleteLastly, be very careful and prayerful.
DOZZYBEST.
This 👆
DeleteBe very careful and prayerful
Truest no one , including your mum.
If you pose as trouble to them(if they are dating) they can get rid of you.
Just confirm that they are your dad's own and ask her, anything she explain give you. Take it like that, don't confront the man. Be very careful and watchful.
Omo you people know how to speculate and jump to conclusions oh! Chai!
DeleteThat's how I sent a chronicle here one day, the type of comments that alot of people dropped, I was shocked seeing how quick people assume especially negatively. People are just too toxic and always hoping for the worst
So sorry for your loss.
ReplyDeleteI hope the house is in your name of other siblings name and I also hope that your mom is alright and not depressed, thereby going about doing good deeds. Maybe that’s a way for her to cope. Please approach it with utmost caution else your mom might read the very wrong meaning to it.
Are you insinuating that your mother may be in a relationship with the man?
ReplyDeleteI doubt it he would wear the clothes if they were dating
DeleteSpot on 15:37. Same thing I'm thinking. I'm not sure they're dating, it's a normal thing to give out those stuffs, except the ones the children requested for
Delete@ Mrs Sharon,
ReplyDeleteSo what if her Mum is dating?
Her father is late, she and her sister are not always with her, do you want loneliness to kill the woman???
Why are we hard on ourselves we women/ladies??? Haba!
Yes she should ask the permission of her daughters or tell them if and when she wants to dispose their fathers stuff, but allow the woman to breathe allow her to live. Biko
And somone posted up there that she has been seeing the man and it was he who killed the husband, pls tread carefully. Thou shall not bear false witness. You have no way of knowing that. So bury it.
Don't put ideas into the head of the poster and her sister and bring enmity between them and their Mum. Allow the dead to rest in peace.
Hey,hello.. excuse you.. please make Ur comments and leave mine..
DeleteSo she should use her father's properties as gifts to her lover's? kids that are still grieving their father..?
I told her to talk to her Mom to even know what happened..
Did I stop her from breathing?..
Work has not started yet but she already gave out your dad's stuff after you discussed that she packs and keeps them aside?
ReplyDeleteJust ask her gently and move on.
Things like this need to be handled with care.
Pls be kind and very gentle with your mum while handling this issue because most widows are always very vulnerable after the demise of their spouses, most especially if they had a very loving relationship with their late spouses. People around them always take advantage of them at this stage,sadly.
ReplyDeleteUnfortunately, you and your sibling weren’t around her because you were in school ( which is understandable ).
Ask her questions and if she goofed in any way, pls forgive her and explain how you want things to be done going forward.
Don’t go about confronting the beneficiaries of the gifted items neither should you ask her to retrieve them.
In all you do, you all should present a united front and protect your mum.
You can’t imagine the extent some people go to to defraud widows of their material things as well as their kinikan.
Pls be kind to her.
Awww... This is a good approach anyway.
DeleteAre there no protocols for giving outa deceased person's item? Or is your mom having an affair with the man?
ReplyDeleteAboki, the poster does not sound like they are needy, their family too would be well to do, so the items which should have been claimed by family members are useless and can be diaposed off anyhow.
DeleteOne of my neighbors in my former house died, her things were disposed off by packing them in big sacks and put in the trash truck.
She may have wanted to dispose them and the man indicated interest, then she gave them to him.
ReplyDeleteLet's not put bad ideas in the poster's head. Let there be peace in her home.
Poster, whatever it is, let it go. After all the man is gone already. His stuff are not useful anymore except the jewelry you wanted to use.
Poster calm down. And observe how come,he's wearing your late dad's clothes. Don't ask your mum directly. And don't jump into conclusions. It's well with you.
ReplyDeleteUnder one year of her husband's passing she has already started doing too much. This renovation contract that she decided to give that man in your estate under one year of her husband's death is somehow. Renovation is good but this is suspicious. I wouldn't have suspected anything if she is still in the process of looking for a suitable contractor, lol.