Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In House Gists - Allowing Relatives/Siblings To Live In The Matrimonial Home

Saturday, January 11, 2025

Saturday In House Gists - Allowing Relatives/Siblings To Live In The Matrimonial Home

Do you think its OK for relatives to live with the couple after marriage? I mean relatives from both sides wanting to stay and enjoy their brother or sisters money.....

I heard of a couple whose marriage broke down cos of siblings living with them, the stress became too much and the wife could no longer handle her in laws and she moved out...The man allegedly said he would never ask his siblings to leave....

Are you leaving with your spouses siblings? Are they easy or difficult? Do you agree that it is OK if siblings live with the couple? Are you against it?

I am totally against it, I will get you all a nice place to stay but no one will steal my privacy all in the name of my husbands siblings....

Are you a similar situation?

Lets gist!

33 comments:

1. I'm totally against it. I can't even stay in a husband's family house, I prefer starting small even if it's a room and parlour. Before see finish go enter

2. If they visit and go back, I can still manage, but living for unspecified number of years is not possible. The only exception is if it is an aged parent who is sick and needs to live here and receive treatment because here is the better choice. I would accept that.

3. i have no issues with that provided he or she will not go beyond the space given. My sister's younger sis stays with us and she knows my rule.

I may be simple, nice and accommodating but craze dey my head small

1. @Pinky, did you mean to say your wife's younger sis?

4. Since my mother in law came to visit my husband character changed

1. You can imagine ๐Ÿ˜”๐Ÿ˜”๐Ÿ˜”

2. That’s how some men behave, when they see family memebers around they behave differently. They don’t want to be seen as weak or that the woman is controlling them. This behavior is what breaks marriages and not the third party. Don’t blame your mother in-law, better talk to your husband.

5. One month is enough !

6. I am on this table right now
    I am not in talking terms with my In laws because my SIL brought her children and her jobless self since October last year
    They expected me to cook for the whole family, do house hold duties with my 7 to 5 Job
    As I refused to be enslaved, I became their enemy. I no send anybody
    Immediately we vacated, I pack my stuff with my kids to my hometown
    They left before I came back last week Sunday

1. Kudos to you for applying wisdom, good riddance to bad rubbish.

2. Hehehehe Poshscents na my new bestie! I'm totally for kill them but don't soil your hands๐Ÿ˜œ๐Ÿคฃ

3. The audacity of in-laws eh! Because what’s this ? How can a woman be shameless

4. You really tried,since October. Why can't she go to her own husband's house or family? ๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„

5. Very good..
      I don't pretend at all, when I'm not ok, I let it out

7. It is not advisable at all, it always have negative effect on marriage.

8. From both sides, they are allowed to visit and even stay for a few days but not live with us permanently. This is what we both agreed to during courtship and it has stayed that way. No issues.

9. I am against it, abeg. You can come visit, spend time, but to live with us, HELL NO.

CANDY

10. I don't like it, I was staying with my elder brother before he got married, immediately he got married I just started looking for my own apartment so that they can have there privacy.. what I can't take I can't do it to others..

11. I have been warned not to allow any sibling either from wifey or from my side to live with us. That's if we want our Union to last. Some have made interest but we disagree to them. Never. Not in this life

1. We can help others, just set boundaries, and make sure they have sense. You don’t know if you will need others to accommodate you or your kids tomorrow. You got to this stage with peoples help, it is even possible you might have lived with someone before. Marriage breaks even without third parties.

12. I love crowd sha, I can stay with my spouse's siblings so far we are financially okay and the family are good people.

13. I am against it,they can come for a visit .

Yoruba proverb says "Okere ni Omo Iya ti dun".

14. I agreed with my husband that we won’t have relatives live with us.
    They can come and go oh but they won’t live with us, we can even help them get an apartment.
    We have stuck to it and I hope continues. I don’t have energy for problem abeg

15. I don't support over staying. You can come for visit and go.๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„

16. I don't think it's a good idea. it's to your tent oh Israel

17. If depends..
    Did u or ur husband stayed with any relative while starting up life? If so, will u ask people who contributed to who are today to leave your house?..
    Except there is no enough space or finance and they are mean people.. It's won't be nice of you.. Better still get accommodation for them else where..

18. No pls. Big no!!!!! You can visit and go but please my mental health is too important to me for me to now house a relative for a long period of time!!! Hell no!

19. My greatest mistake

20. Totally against it,you can visit but for a short period.

21. My husband's younger sister, lives with me. This is 10years now.
    Such a sweet home girl. Never had any regrets at all. I treat her same way as my biological children.