Hmmm.....
STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
UGLY TWIN
Hello Stella,
I am a twin and my twin sister looks more beautiful and taller then me....Now that we are grown, I am always so embarrassed when we are introduced as twins cos people will just start saying insensitive things and because its positive on her, she likes it.....
I warned her to stop Introducing us as twins and she agreed and knows my reason but anytime we are with guys or we get introduced to new men, she introduces me as her twin and all the guys FREEZE; lose interest in me immediately and focus on her....let me describe us..She is tall, light skinned, thick framed and very beautiful, she looks like mixed race.......I am dark skinned, very thin (Look sickly) and my face is nothing compared to hers....Her bwess is big and showing and mine, nothing is there...When we are inrotduced as twins, i feel the eyes checking us out....How embarrassing1...or was one of us exchanged at birth`?
She did it again two days ago and i blocked her everywhere on the social media and on whatsapp and i have stopped talking to her....
Maybe this quarrel will open her eyes to how hurt i am...guys did i handle it well?
Hmmmm...... wicked twin!
Ignore heer totally until you are clam and listen to what she ahs to say, if she does not change then stop going out with her, stop doing anything with her and cut her off totally until the message sinks into her head....Hissssss
I think you are taking it too far here.
ReplyDeleteI believe your insecurity is playing a fast one on you.
Stop wearing a sad face whenever she introduces you to friends as twins, cos that's what you are to her. instead, feel free around them, wear a smiling face and be calm.
DOZZYBEST.
But are you not her twin sister? Ahhh ahhh,did she create herself,please look beyond this and love yourself. Trust me your own person will find you irrespective of how you look and you will be shocked that person can come from your sister. Let it go abeg.
DeleteYou are indeed taking it too far. You can’t blame her for something she has no power over. She didn’t create herself nor did she create you. She also can’t stop introducing you as her twin cos that’s what you are. You should be happy for her and not wallow in jealousy and low self esteem. Focus on taking care of yourself and things will change.
DeleteI really feel your pain. Just be and love yourself. if possible stop going out with her and don't introduce her to guys you meet until you are sure the relationship is leading to marriage. With time, she will understand the need for her to change.
ReplyDeleteTotally get u. I remember when I gave birth to my second child, one of my friends commented that, she’s pretty oh but Alex is a lot prettier. I immediately told her not to ever say that to me again as both my kids are equally beautiful. She apologized and never made that mistake again.
ReplyDeletePoster, I think you need to let your twin know frankly how u feel about this (not jokingly and not in passing but very seriously). You also need to learn how to carry yourself. Seems you already concluded that you don’t measure up to her in terms of beauty and you let that get to u.
Stop letting what people say and how they compare you to her get to you. Trust me, there will be that one person that will see you as prettier than she is and mean it!
Honestly at your last paragraph. There's someone out there that will see her as a Queen. She need to build her self worth first.
Delete© TEEJAY
if the table was to turn i hope she will be happy with the way she is treating you. You didn't mention anything about speaking to your parent about this her terrible attitude and allow them to have a discussion with her.
ReplyDeleteShe should stop showing everyone she is more beautiful than her twin. Twins should be close and not allow anything come between you both. You should also go for DNA test to be sure no one exchanged you during birth, be sure you are twin with her.
I'm not getting it here.
DeleteShe should hide the fact that they're twins?
She can as well stop introducing her as her sister because no matter what, people will raise eyebrows.
Human nature, people will always want to compare two people seen together.
What I see is from the upbringing.
The parents never set the record straight and make poster understand she's beautiful in her own way and should have self-esteem.
I think what poster meant is that, she shouldn't introduce her as twin. Maybe sister will do just fine. Cos saying twin, one would expect both of them to have same facial beauty or even colour.
Delete© TEEJAY
I think you’re jealous of your twin sister. Be careful before you end up like Cane in the Bible. She did nothing wrong by introducing you as her twin sister, what or who do you rather prefer she introduces you as ? Don’t use envy and kpai your sister oo, the person that will love you the way you are will come.
ReplyDeleteFan Emmanuel
This your question strong ooo if you were exchanged at birth? Maybe you should ask and seek for the answer yourself. In your narration, it means both of you aren't identical twins.
ReplyDeleteIf your sister knows this very well on how you feel, then it's sheer wickedness from her. So insensitive towards your feelings. I will advise you work on your self esteem. Take good care of yourself, wear nice clothing, perfume, great hair do and smile always. It's no fault of yours. So be happy. You'll attract great friends.
No woman is ugly dear. Just with some good money you will look appealing in the eyes of men. Above all, I will advise you, if you have good character and value, there are men that will find you more appealing than physical beauty.
All l can say is you feel that way because you yourself are not proud of yourself. Love and cherish yourself first.
ReplyDeleteLove and cherish yourself first. You feel this way because you are not proud of yourself.
ReplyDeleteDear Poster, You did not handle this well and your post reeks of jealousy, bitterness and resentment....While I expect your twin sister to exercise some emotional intelligence and call out the wrongful behaviour of those men, on that part she is very wrong.....But why don't you stand up for yourself....
ReplyDeleteYou have already labelled yourself as UGLY thereby demeaning and destroying your self esteem that is already manifesting outwardly in your character and demeanour....Have you approach your sister maturely about her attitude when she is getting male attention & always enjoying the humiliation you suffer or you go about it in a passive aggressive manner?
First off, stop addressing yourself as UGLY and stop denigrating yourself...Google body types and shapes, visit websites that advise you on clothing that accentuates, creates an illusion on your body parts and dress appropriately....We cannot all have the same body type but clothes and accessories can do the trick....
Change your attitude; you come off as an aggressive, jealous lady which will not attract the type of men you desire....Maintain a cheerful and positive outlook.....Unblock your sister, pour out your heart and tell her how you feel about her various misaction and resolve in your heart to forgive her genuinely....
Decide that you will become a better person, calmness, grace and composure does it for a lady.....You are a beautiful lady; affirm to it and please change your attitude...Na Baba God child you be....
All the best.....
I always look forward to your reply. This lady is just jealous of her sister. This is too much, did she create herself. You just used your hand to destroy yourself esteem. You are also beautiful the way God made you.
DeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeletePoster I suggest you need find another location thru school or something else. Try to dey believe in your self too
ReplyDeleteWell...
ReplyDeleteI think it all has to do with you.
Self-love, self acceptance.
Self esteem.
You cannot change the fact that you are like how you are and she is how she is and you cannot change the fact that you guys are twins.
Accept reality..
It is what it is.
Just accept the truth.
Accept yourself for who you are and have some self love.
Poster you are jealous of your sister and you have low self esteem. How can she deny her own blood and title because of look. You wouldnt have told her that you don't like the way she introduces you as her twin, rather you stop going out with her.
ReplyDeleteYou are jealous to even block her because of it. Don't let jealous tear you apart.
If you think deeply about the whole thing, She's actually doing you a favour by introducing you as her twin sister.. I just don't have strength to dey shalaye. Best of luck though
ReplyDeleteHow is that bothering you... You have your life and she has hers.
ReplyDeleteLeave your life. Make your friends and stop moving with her. Whenever she wants to take the shine, allow her enjoy
Your man is your man.
I for one don't like big bress and backside. I love cupcake bress and slim babes that I can turn anyhow when we dey knack..
Imagine what I will do to you if I catch. When I finish with you, your sister no go enter your eye again
Poster, please start loving yourself.
ReplyDeleteNo matter what, you are beautiful.
Start taking care of yourself and carrying your self like the most beautiful girl in the world.
Omo, if you no love yourself who will? From today, start telling yourself that you're beautiful and enough.
Everything God created are beautiful in their own way. You mustn't be light skin or carry breasts before you go be beautiful.
Take good care of yourself.😍😍🤗🤗
As for your sister, give her space until she gets your message.😎
I have twin sisters so one thing I know is that you ladies will make up so quickly 😂
ReplyDeleteSorry about how you feel but have you stopped to think that, she might just love being your twin so much and not that she meant any harm?
What I know about twins is that, they differ in strength. So I will ask you, what is your strength? If she's more beautiful, are you the one that is more intelligent, more compassionate etc? That is what you need to focus on and soon you will realised how equal you are.
Let me give you a little tip, next time be the 1st to introduce her as your twin and go like, this is xxxx my beautiful twin and I'm her intelligent or more compassionate twin with a smile. What will that do? It immediately tells your guests 1. you love your sister. 2. You have more depth to you than just your physical looks.
Truth is you have allowed this thing to suck joy from you that. Immediately she says it, you are on defense and not welcoming. It shows in your appearance and people move away from you. It's in your hands to turn it around.
Bonus point; do you know you can actually pray to be beautiful too? Try it.
Some people are idiots
ReplyDeleteThey compare sisters. Oh this is the most beautiful and other foolish talk
You re just been jealous and working yourself up ,,stop it don't destroy yourself , at worst don't go out with her again ,yours will locate you ,don't allow devil to fill your heart with evils ,God is good ,you will get yours in Jesus name
ReplyDeleteYes poster you need to work on yourself esteem to move pass this. Tell yourself always that you are beautiful
ReplyDeleteIt's well with you poster. Try to ignore her and her shenanigans. 🤗
ReplyDeleteAll i really see is a insecure person! girl you are YOU, uniquely YOU! know your worth and carry yourself with that knowledge. Your twin is your TWIN!
ReplyDeleteI tire! If she had deny being your twin,same you will come here and say she's not proud of you. You are her twin and she's proud of you. Just try and work on your self esteem
DeleteThat’s how people compare I and my twin sister. She is tall, am short. Fair and am black. Everything thing she got the good side of it while I get the ugly side. Growing up was hell cos once I introduced her as my twin sis, they will abandon me and always wants to be her friend. And my sis loved the attention at my expense
ReplyDeleteOne day , l still remember it at our twentieth birthday. I closed my eyes and prayed and made a wish.
My wish was…,
Dear God, as my sister is getting all our both attention this our single days, may I get all the good one during our marital days.
This “wish I still dey regret it till now.
My beautiful sis married immediately as we graduated to a rich man and their traditional wedding was talk of town for months.
While I finally got married four years after hers. My husband didn’t have money like her and people compared our wedding, even the Umuada told me to my face to learn from her when the items on the list was not complete during my trad.
But after two years of my marriage, God blessed both I and my husband with money and we started investing in properties which made us billionaires today.
But my sister’s husband divorced her after ten years with three children and went and married one genZ girl, we all believed the girl and her mother jazz the man cos their level, you can’t compare.
Iam the one taking care of my sis and her children cos the divorce really shattered her mentally
The gen z no jazz anything. The man like young hot babes. Make your sister manage.
DeletePoster read this 👆
DeleteLove yourself
Use make-up to enhance your face.
Dress nicely, wear padded bra and padded tights to enhance your shape or wear clothes that suits your shape.
Use a nice cream to make your skin radiant (not bleaching cream o)
Make nice hair that compliment your face
Wear a smile always and be of good character generally.
Go out alone often without your sister by your side. If you have friends, go out with them, if you don't have, make friends and go out with them.
Above all, pray.
Your God ordained man will find you.
Your sister is a nice girl for not denying you as a result of how you described yourself above, she is proud to be your twin, she introduces you as her twin
and always proud to be around you. Pls unblock her and change your attitude towards yourself and your sister from today onwards.
You don't have to pray the kind of prayer that the above Anon prayed but pray to God to favour you in other areas of life as he didn't favour you with looks.
All the best dear.
Poster you lack self esteem and sound like someone that has low confidence.Beauty cannot be the only quality you lack. What other qualities do you possess, carry yourself and keep your head high. If you feel your sister's beauty over shadows your presence, that's jealous. I don't see how this is a problem that you even blocked her. Na so e dey start before you know it you become enemies.
ReplyDeleteDon't let what people say get to you and try and love yourself 💖
ReplyDeletePoster your twin sis is proud of you and that's why she won't stop introducing you to people as her twin sis. We all are beautiful the way God created us. If she has been denying you as her twin sis all along, you would have come here to complain that she's not proud of you.
ReplyDeleteand now she is doing the right thing, you are there complaining.
Do not allow the insecurity in you bring issues between you and your twin sis. Any man that God ordained for you will love you the way you are. We are four girls in my family, and I am the most prettiest and the fairest one amongst them. Infact I am always addressed as the most prettiest and fairest amongst all not just among the girls only. But today, all my sisters and brothers are all married with kids while I'm still single at 42 without a child.
I understand this feeling but only have the power to allow what people say or do get to you.
ReplyDeleteNo need blocking your twin, just decide not to let what people think get to you because she can never stop introducing you as her twin.
There's someone for everyone sis...
Poster na you get pepper body, you are not a happy person cos I don't see why this is a problem. When your mind is not good it reflects on your look. It's jealous in your that is eating you up, that's why you look sickly.
ReplyDeleteDespite your look, your sister is not ashamed to introduce you to people as her sister why you want her to keep it secret because you feel low of yourself. she is proud of you and call you sister. Nobody is ugly,it depends on how you carry yourself.
Thank you, she doesn’t know her sister is doing her a favor by saying she is her sister. Her sister is free spirited, but this one is always seeing negativity. You better unblock that girl.
DeleteBut she's still your twin, She just have to look beyond the physical to understand that you both have a strong bond from birth.
ReplyDeleteStop acting jealous, beauty is not everything, no matter how ugly a woman thinks she is, there's always a man who loves her like that, and mind you , No woman is ugly, you just need to take care of your hygiene and carry yourself very well.
Unblock your twin sister,cause life is too short, not to be at peace with you yourself and your loved ones.
You are looking at the wrong solution to your problem. Your twin has done no wrong introducing you as her twin. That’s exactly who you are to her.
ReplyDeleteYou lack self esteem and self acceptance. It’s not about your sisters looks. Work on yourself. Look yourself in the mirror and “see” you. Accept her, Get to know her and choose to love her every day. Then and only then would you truly be at peace with yourself and what anyone has to say about your looks will mean absolutely nothing to you.
@Poster,
ReplyDeleteShe is your twin, and there's nothing inherently wrong with her introducing you as such. However, I understand how it might make you feel, especially if it seems to highlight insecurities or if it feels intentional on her part.
If this stems from feelings of insecurity, perhaps related to her physique or beauty, it’s important to acknowledge and work through those emotions. Remember, your worth is not diminished by anyone else's attributes. However, if she is deliberately trying to hurt you, that's a separate issue that requires honest communication.
For your peace of mind and emotional well-being, it might help to limit outings together for now not out of avoidance, but to allow yourself space to process and heal. Blocking her may not be the best course of action unless necessary.
Remember the story of Cain and Abel in the Bible. Jealousy, if left unchecked, can lead to thoughts and actions that harm both you and your relationship. Focus on nurturing love and understanding, both for her and for yourself.
Nigerian are terrible at giving advice. How does talk of low esteem and jealousy help her? Help her find perspective and encouragement. Even a robot can do it better. Here -
ReplyDeleteI can only imagine how painful and frustrating this must be for you. Being constantly compared to your twin sister, and feeling like you don't measure up, can be incredibly hurtful.
Firstly, please know that your feelings are valid. It's okay to feel hurt and embarrassed. You deserve to be seen and appreciated for who you are, beyond physical appearance.
I would encourage you to have an open and honest conversation with your sister. Explain to her how her actions make you feel, and why. Try to use "I" statements instead of "you" statements, which can come across as accusatory.
Remember, you are so much more than your physical appearance. You have unique qualities, skills, and strengths that make you special. Focus on those things, and practice self-care and self-compassion.
Lastly, don't be afraid to seek support from trusted friends and family. Talking through your feelings with someone who cares about you can be incredibly helpful.
You are not alone, and you are worthy of love, respect, and kindness - regardless of how you look.
@your first sentence… I swear!
DeleteThere is nobody in poster’s shoes that will feel good about the situation. All these comment are just adding fuel to the situation.
Poster there is nothing abnormal about how you feel.
What I think you should do is unblock your twin but take some time away from her. You must not be stuck at the hip or do everything together because you are twins. Take a very long break from her so that you can see yourself for who you are and not always being in her shadow, it can’t be good for your esteem to always tag along her.
Go out by yourself, develop your own hobbies, make your own friends and have fun with them. Develop your character, develop your intellect and worldview, these are the things that make you an individual, not just beauty.
See Michelle Obama, she is no beauty queen, but look where she is in life today.
Also, don’t bear any grudge against your sister, she may be acting a bit selfish but it doesn’t mean she is a bad person. Hopefully, in time, things will level out for you and you won’t feel low anymore.
Hugs.
Poster, the Ebere I know carries herself like a queen and her self esteem is top the roof, I would have said you are Ebere because you just descibed my friend's twin sisters perfectly. But in their own case it is the one that is less beautiful that can do shakara while the more beautiful one will hide behind.
ReplyDeletePoster please stop being envious of your twin instead love yourself more.
I don't see anything wrong in your sister introducing you as your twin sister which is what you people are. You don't have to be angry, she didn't create herself neither you. Only God knows why you guys are unidentical. Don't be jealous of your sister, be happy and feel happy ok
ReplyDeleteI like your twin already! Stop being jealous. Not her fault she looks the way she does
ReplyDeletePoster, but you are twins, why should she lie.
ReplyDeletePeople love beauty and ppl with it get privileges and fawned over. It is not her fault or yours, it is simply that humans have not evolved to a level where it really is character that is valued in a person.
Instead of getting angry with her and developing low self esteem. Build abilities in yourself. Become very good at something that you love. Do well in school and look to achieve the best life that you can for yourself. There is always someone for everyone and no matter how beautiful anyone is not everyone will find them beautiful or interested in them. I have a relative who refused to date beautiful women, he said he did not want a woman he would be in competition with other men for.
Have confidence in yourself and the things you are good at. She has her beauty, be happy for her with that. But be happy about the abilities your body have, be happy that you have a body in good health, be happy you have eyes that can see and ears that can hear. Be happy that you can blend into the crowd and be ignored and not constantly attracting all sorts of ppl, some who would not mean you any good.
I have a beautiful friend and the amount of weirdos that come her way sometimes is frightening. She has to work ten times harder than me. Another thing, there is a segment of men who specialize in beautiful women simply to harm them and cause them pain. These men will get involved with these women to prove to the world that they can get them and then terrorize the hell out of them afterwards. It’s not always a perfect existence to have great beauty.
Poster please listen to my advice. This is the time for you to find yourself. Try having new friends (that are good people) people who will be your tribe. Join a good fellowship, networking events, roll with good classmates, explore yourself. Take care of your body, dress and accentuate your assets( we all have assets), be free, cheerful and positive. You will be more confident in yourself and you will rule your world. You are not jealous you are human and I understand you. Be free and positive, you will shine through. Love and light from me