I started using dye on my hair in my early thirties. This time, a quarter of my hair was grey already and people thought I was older.
Trust Nigerians, everyday I would hear "daddy, epele sir, grandpa" etc. LMAO.
Small boy like me?
I am not a fan of gorimapa/bolo hairstyle so rocking a shiny scalp and face was out of the question. I'm also not a team "rock your grey hair with pride". Dye to the rescue.
Now, at almost 50, more than half of my head and beards are grey, my eyebrows, lashes and other hairy parts are not left out, dye has been very helpful in the open areas while I clear the hair in covered areas.
My wife on the other hand is in her mid 40s, yet I have only seen two strands of grey hair so far on her head, which she pulled out. Her mum too is in her 70s but the grey hairs on her head are not up to the ones on my own head.
Genetics at work? probably true but I also read that stress, diet, illness, certain medications, among other factors contribute to this. So in my case, stress and diet might be responsible due to my turbulent childhood and early adulthood.
This is because my other siblings are different, mum and dad mum too did not dye their hair when they were my age because they did not have as much grey hairs.
Waiting till I'm 60, God's willing, then I will stop using dye and accept any title that Nigerians would call me.
I heard dye is not good to our health. Anyway, something must kill a man.
Waiting till I'm 60, God's willing, then I will stop using dye and accept any title that Nigerians would call me.
I heard dye is not good to our health. Anyway, something must kill a man.
Men. The white hairs i have will put a pig to shame. I dey try dye am o. I choose to just leave it one time and my daughter screamed out her lungs when she saw me. She refused allowing me carry her that day. So na team dye I dey.
ReplyDeleteNa only me and God know say I be ancestor
I was like you Poster but now I dey rock my white hair like that....Mine is hereditary so I can't fight with my genes....
DeleteMine started coming out recently. I am going to rock it with pride and my full chest.
ReplyDeleteAll I ask is to age in good health and gracefully too.
Yeh dye contributes to grey hair at old age
ReplyDeleteI am in my early fifties. My hair is still dark although one or two gray hairs have started emerging. Gray hairs have mostly to do with genetics, and like you said stress and lifestyle contribute too.
ReplyDeleteMy elder brother is 60 yet no gray hairs.
My 5 year old nephew has few grey hair already
ReplyDeleteI just started noticing a strand of white hair....I am loving it sha.
ReplyDeleteI'm rocking my gray hair with pride o,and loving it.
ReplyDeleteMy mum in her 60s has just fewer very hair while my dad on the other side never has until he fell sick. He was looking so young, smart with a pointed nose.
ReplyDeleteMy husband is in his early 40s, if u see his grey hair 🤣, it doesn't attributes to aging at all, he looks younger than his age.. Maybe inheritance
ReplyDeleteReading and nodding My head 🙄😄
ReplyDeleteMy daughter started having grey hair when she was 6, she's nine now and the grey hair hasn't advanced. Still a little patch in her front hair. I have a little grey hair tho
ReplyDeleteMy former boss told us he started having gray hairs from age 24 imagine
ReplyDeleteI think I only have one strand of gray hair , I have a very dark black hair even my scalp is black and I wonder why 🤷♀️ well I dye mine different colors since I’m on low cut
As a Lagos /Nigerian man, it's either you have grey hair or you go bald due to stress. ☺️
ReplyDeleteI have a strand of grey hair sha, don't intend to use dye when I have more. 😉
Please rock your grey hair in style sir,
ReplyDeleteIn this part of the world I am they are dyeing their hair to be grey both young and old.