Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: UNIBEN Students Stuck In School For Over 2 Months In Total Darkness

Wednesday, July 03, 2024

UNIBEN Students Stuck In School For Over 2 Months In Total Darkness

GREATESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSST UNIBEN!!!!
Students of the University of Benin Ugbowo campus have been stuck in school in total darkness for close to 2 months now due to am issue between BEDC and the school authorities and since then the student shave been living in school in darkness and are unable to read at night or conduct practicals for subjects that need light ..
The situation is really bad and needs the urgent intervention of those that it concerns.

Below is a circular sent by UNIBEN authorities to the students and lecturers....

*UPDATE ON ELECTRICITY SITUATION ON UNIBEN CAMPUS.*
 It is no longer news that electricity supply to the campuses of the University of Benin has, for over one week, been disconnected by BEDC following the organisation's threat to do so. 

This is in spite of the fact that the University has paid the over eighty million Naira monthly bill up till April, 2024 in the two campuses of Ugbowo and Ekehuan.
The delay to Pay the May bill is as a result of the disputed astronomically increased bill of over two hundred and fifty million naira, monthly, thrust on the University by BEDC. 
Despite the challenges, Management of the University has gone to great lengths to ensure that students do not suffer unduly by providing generator light to all the hostels between the hours of 6am to 7am and 7pm to 10pm daily. 

Management appeals once again to staff and students to be patient and to demonstrate understanding of the situation as it is also exploring alternative power sources including solar energy

Management appeals once again to staff and students to be patient and to demonstrate understanding of the situation as it is also exploring alternative power sources including solar energy. 
Signed: Management. 
31/5/24

17 comments:

1. Completely unacceptable. Why don’t more institutions invest in solar or other forms of alternative energy. Put your science departments to work and benefit from the knowledge you have at finger tips. Support innovation on campus.

A university that cannot figure out its way doesn’t deserve to be training anyone.

2. An increased bill of over two hundred and fifty million naira, monthly is too much nah. Nawaa oo.

3. Pathetic, it is a sad reality.

We have not had light for more than a year now, all efforts to resolve the issue has been unsuccessful and BEDC is unperturbed.

1. More than a year?😩😩😩😩

2. 5 months here and counting,no light

4. That increments is way too much, wetin happened a whole 250 million naira

1. This is a whole university. Not a shop.

5. Too bad! I feel for those students. During my time in Uniben,we had constant light in the hostels.

6. Hmmm wetin dey happen for UNIBEN...This is really bad how come we are still having this issues since how many years now? BEDC what's up with the astronomical bills? UNIBEN how come no alternative power supply?

Hope una go sofree for students and not abruptly bring out exam timetable with the teeming light wahala...Anyway Greatest UNIBEEN students...Make una no aluta yet

7. This is bad 😞

8. Very bad o

Hello iya boys

9. The same thing is happening in FUTA, they put on the generator for only a few hours a day after the students protested sometime in May or so.
    I applied for transcript to Uniben on the 21st of May, and even paid more than double of what the normal fee is to the guy who was supposed to help, na Soso no light excuse I been dey hear for a whole month. I had to involve my mum who rallied around to get someone higher up on the chain of command to get my transcript out, it was eventually dispatched last week.
    I wonder how long this will keep going.

1. What kind of foolishness is this? So they have no plan B or C. If electricity is out their institution is brought to a standstill. In hot azz Africa where so much sunlight exists and solar power is a reality. Who are running these places?

10. They should opt for solar electricity which will power most of the street lights in the campus and enable students move around freely to read at night.

11. My son is staying off campus and has been complaining of their light going off for days. I did not know that their own was child's play compare to hostel.when he told me there was protests on campus I was like wow,no light for months???
    Uniben should look for alternative power source.they should engage their Engineering student and professors and generate their power themselves