Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Labour Room Drama....

Saturday, May 11, 2024

Labour Room Drama....

WOW!

Hello Stella, 
I've been a silent fan(read your blog posts everyday, as long as I have a phone and Internet connection). I'm a mother of 3 young ,beautiful children ( images attached for your eyes only). I would like to share my LRD for my last baby( he's 6 weeks old as of the time I'm writing this).

I grew up in a family of only girls , so I've always felt incomplete not having a brother. With this thought in mind, I made up my mind to have only boys when I get married. Fast forward to that......, 1st child girl , 2nd child girl......hmmm, by then I was already disillusioned and made up my mind not to have anymore children due to the fact that I seem to be having only girls. 

Then belle enter again! I was contemplating abortion as per money was tight and we were struggling at times to fend for the two we have. I picked up hope again and started praying it should be a boy. Could go for scans because I didn't want to know the gender of the baby and also I was trying to save costs.( I'm a teacher who earns below 50k). So with that I didn't know my due date at all. Still went on teaching as to support in bringing in funds for the home. Suffered severe pelvic pains and spotting throughout the pregnancy.

In the month of March, the pains and spotting increased, but since I have a high threshold for pain, I keep on functioning as if nothing was wrong. By Sunday of the third week, I was bleeding more, hubby invited his parents to plead with me to go the hospital, but I kept on refusing, called a number of people (relatives) to speak to me, but I refused( I wonder why now). Anyways I stay home, went to work the next day, which was Monday, and at the close of day I went for a scan that showed due date would be next month, around 2nd daughter's birthday day. It should be noted at this time that I had not bought anything and didn't want to because I felt it would be a girl again, so no difference.
 Tuesday came, I went to work again, closed from work and came home. Towards the evening, I started shivering, sweating and was in serious pains, luckily hubby was at home and I told him I wanted to go the hospital.

On getting there, another drama ensured, as the matron on duty refused to accept me, based on the reason that I was not regular for my ante natal . I was already slipping in and out of pain but couldn't do anything. Managed to call one of my sister's to come pick up my daughters. All these while my husband was pleading with them. Then as God would have it, one of the nurses who helped in birthing my 2nd daughter walked in on the scene , she recognized me, and told me and hubby to wait. Then she met the matron, acted as if she was supporting her in her complaints, then finally convinced her to let her, the nurses check me, since I said I was bleeding. 
On get to the theatre, the nurse checked and shouted saying meconium was already leaking out of me and that I could go into labor at anytime. She told the matron it would be risky to send me away at that time of the night (9pm) , she told my husband to go get my things from home, while he left, NEPA as usual took the light and their generator was empty of fuel! . By then I was barely conscious and I was told that at a point of time I slipped into unconsciousness.

When I came around, it was to the sound of a particular gospel song. I asked the nurse if it was time , she took me into the theatre, checked me and said I could push anytime I felt the contractions. Immediately I felt it I pushed and my baby came out in one swoop!. The after birth came out ruptured and it's contents had to be scooped out of me. Immediately I heard the matron say it's a boy, I quickly opened my eyes , peeped to confirm, then I slept off!
I give God all the Glory that I now have a son and the stronghold of only females is broken in my lineage forever!!!!!!.
P.S . I didn't inform my mom I was preggo until I called her from the labor room, that I needed my younger sister to come pick up my girls.
For the first time ever , my mother in law told me she loves me, after she Heard I birthed a boy.
One of my sister in law said they thought I would have a girl again.
I'm happy that even if my mom didn't have a son of her own( that was one of the reasons my parents marriage failed, and mine was already on the rocks too), she now has a grandson.
I edited some parts out, as I don't know if my relatives or family members read this blog.
Thank you Stella for the opportunity to share my story.

Wow, thank God for your story, so a Male child saved your Marriage.

33 comments:

1. Wow,, congratulations poster.
    But you took a big risk though, how could you be bleeding all through pregnancy and still not register for and attend antenatal religiously, you no like your life ni? Even if it's to register in a primary health centre where card is like 1k, haba.
    And that matron too no try, that you didn't register there shouldn't be a priority in that condition you came in, so much for professionalism.
    I'm happy it ended well for you.

1. i can bet my royal arse the poster is igbo....very stupid mentality about having boys...they have abused alot of igbo women because of this boys nonsense, meanwhile animals are better than some of the so called male children....ndi ara

2. Congratulations..

But make Una no dey give Una man unnecessary stress.. you refused to go for ante natal.. why?
    Are you a kid?
    Don't you know what right and what's not?
    Then you fell sick, he brought people to the house and they were begging you to go to the hospital and you refused.. why?

This is what I was talking about this morning, person go dey him own dey enjoy peace, dem go tell am go marry and peace will fly out the window..
    The man will be dealing with life ish, Nigeria ish and all, then you that should be his peace would refuse to do the right thing and add more stress to his life, and we wonder why men die early?? That narrative of men dying early because of how they life na big lie.. na Una dey k!ll dem..
    Stop keeling our men!

1. Mr Dante, pls be careful with your words, as I already said I edited most parts of the story. I refused to go, because of money.
      @ Mrs Stella,, no it didn't save my marriage, I just wanted a boy.

2. If you like listen, if you like no listen and be making excuses..
      When he brought people to beg you when you were sick and you refused, was it still money?
      Cos I know they just wanted you to go to the hospital, they will provide the money but you no still answer..
      Causing an innocent man unnecessary stress.. man go dey think from morning till night because of misplaced stubbornness..
      You can make excuses all you want but I have met your kinds, they'll be very sick and refuse to take meds cos they hate medication, I chased one from my house before she koba me.. you come visit person with serious sickness come dey shake, I go buy drugs, she say no,. I beg am and do all I can to convince her, she no gree, you won d!e for my house nii.. dem se d you? Omo na bolt I book for am back to her house o.. no come out me for wahala..

Change.. if you like don't change too.. na you sabi

3. Very annoying narrative.
      Are you aware that the sperm from your husband is what determines whether you have a boy or a girl? So how can you decide to have only boys without sex selection? Also, because you thought it was a girl, you refused to go for antenatal or buy anything? I feel sorry for your daughters. Thank God the nurses accepted you and everything worked out in the end.

4. Dante said the truth. Married men know what they face in marriage. Our society that h8tes men speaking up covers the women so much that too many untold pains are inflicted on married men by their spouses. If the husband had carried his face up after all his pleas, the Poster or her type of women would send a chronicle of husbands who keep malice like a woman. At the stage the husband started begging, money was no longer the issue. Poster simply didn't want to be disappointed about the gender before birth.

To think that female Bvs here luxuriate in being women. Then you read this. Is it not a girl child that becomes a woman. As the Urhobos/Isokos say, Omoteowore - "a girl child is a person also".

All said, Madam Poster congratulations. May Almighty God provide for your family to care for your whole household. And remember to treat all your children equally. No pamper the young man say he be boy. Teach him all life skills as you do for your girls.

No vex o.
      Again, congratulations and best wishes

5. Me I love male children too
      Wish to birth only males
      We are 6girls and one boy, never experienced the elder brother ish and it makes me sad and jealous when I see people that talk of their elder brother!
      I no dey use eye see girls aswear! I got no female friend to tell you how I am tired of seeing girls

3. I really wish you went for antenatal. I thank God you and your baby are safe.

4. Thank God for His mercies and safe delivery.
    Please, these kinds of risks are not worth it ooo.

5. Congratulations Poster. God works in mysterious ways.

6. Congratulations. I’m so happy you finally got ur boy. I think everyone’s dream is to have both sexes as children. I pray for financial strength to raise all ur kids for u.

Still curious why anyone’s marriage should be rocky because they have one one particular sex for kids. Smh.

7. Congratulations 🎉 Thank God for a safe delivery. You took a huge risk but in all Glory to God

8. Thank God for safety delivery

But you really put your life at risk o.

Thank it ended in praise.

9. Congratulations poster

10. What a great risk, thank God it ended well

11. 😲 congratulations, but u really gambled with your life oo.
    Thanks to God it ended in praise and testimony.

12. You sound like you would have resented that child if it was a girl.

Congrats oo

1. You can actually wish for a particular sex and still love ur child even if u don’t get the sex u wanted

2. Eka this is not that scenario. It really was sounding like if it was a girl, she would've been very sad. Imagine not going for antenatal, not caring for yourself to the point of not listening to your husband because of what? You felt it would be "another" girl? Abeg na them know
      Thank God for her. Playing with your life because you dey find boy.

13. You sound like you would have resented that child if it was a girl.

Congrats oo

14. Thank God for safe delivery. You're blessed

15. You made me share a tear when she said..she loves you. Poster I'm using this a point of contact ...to tap into your blessing fir a child! GOD will do it for me and others who are praying and crying to God for just one ...God will do it. Congratulations 🎊

16. Nigerians like glorifying foolishness ,many have died doing the same mistakes but thank God it ends in praises

17. Your chronicle is annoying! A teacher who doesn’t know basic biology ? Your mother’s marriage collapsed because your father not your mother couldn’t father a boy! And looks like you would have resented this child if it was a girl. Imagine wanting to die because you thought you were having a girl? And imagine how your daughter’s will feel ? And yea your in-laws are toxic ! Please don’t transfer this toxicity to your beloveds son’s wife in future.

And also please don’t over pamper your son and treat him special so he grows up useless and be a burden on his sisters and even you the parents like the chronicles we’ve been reading here. This your post annoyed me sha, I no go lie .

1. Very annoying story,I tell you. In this day and age,someone is still reasoning and behaving like this? Her mother in law too is not serious. So she wouldn't love her daughter in law until she births a son when her son has been donating X chromosome all the whole ( not that the man even has any control over which chromosome fertilizes the egg anyway.) We really need to move beyond this mentality in this country.

2. You suppose collect e-slap like what kind of risk did you take. You refused antenatal because you felt you're having another girl, what if you had died because of your refusal to go to the hospital, what if you lost the pregnancy?
      Congratulations on your delivery but you no try at all.

3. What if she had died?
      Is the husband not there to be blamed?
      Is that not one of the blessings of marriage for men?
      To carry unnecessary burdens.
      And when they refuse be so burdened, to be reported online by wives who survive their own folly for shaming by us all?

18. I will not write what is truly on my mind because we don’t get regular submissions to this category, so I will say thank you for your submission and sharing your story with us. I wish you and your family all the best. A new child is always a joy to have in the fold. Childhood is short so enjoy the journey.

19. Gosh I hate this story, poster you get mind abeg

20. I won't lie this story and the poster pissed me off

21. This is the kind of story you read and you really want to ask why God created female human because its exhausting how you have to prove that you're human and valuable at any and every opportunity.
    People need to heal abeg because the enablers of this annoying mentality are the females themselves as potrayed in this write-up.