Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nivea Deodorant Advert Brouhaha

Wednesday, April 05, 2017

Nivea Deodorant Advert Brouhaha

An advert for one of Nivea’s most popular products has been described as racist by Facebook users.

The advert shows a woman with black hair and her face away the camera, along with the words: ‘White is purity’ written in blue capital letters.

The official Nivea page has been liked by 19 million people and often shares advert campaigns.

Blasted online as ‘a problematic slogan by a prominent high street name’, the picture has been pulled from their Facebook page.

The company wrote ‘Keep it clean, keep it bright. Don’t let anything ruin it’ alongside the image.

It was meant to be advertising the ‘Invisible’ brand of deodorant where the bottle is half black and half white.

However, despite the image being taken down by the company, it was up for the entire weekend and became popular among some alt-Right groups.

The comment section had several right wing ‘memes’ included while one user wrote ‘I think I will start buying high end Nivea products.’

Another wrote ‘Mark my words, Nivea is about to get real popular real quick’.

Another outraged user wrote ‘Are the comments meant to be like funny? I genuinely can’t tell what’s jokes and what’s rampant Nazism? Maybe I’m not edgy enough to get the humour.’

The post was only removed after Metro.co.uk inquired about the reasons behind the post.

Nivea did not provide comment when approached.

Nivea is more than a hundred years old and is based in Germany. With the parent group, Beiersdorf’s revenue of more than 6,000 million euros, it is one of the largest companies in the industry.

From metro.co.uk

24 comments:

1. Eeyaaa
    pipul and zero chill...reading meaning into everything

2. Mtchew! White is purity, nivea did not lie, lol.

3. Mtchew! White is purity, nivea did not lie, lol.

4. We see racism everywhere.

But black people are more racist we keep shouting black is beautiful, and would have been chanting if nivea wrote that instead.

5. Mtchew! White is purity, nivea did not lie, lol.

6. Hehehehehe. Some how I feel everyone can be racist. Like last week while I was inside the napep the driver saw a chinese man walking on the road and next thing he said was "what's he doing here, what's he looking for then he started shouting chinchonkong and all that gibberish, I was just mad that how will you feel if he starts saying gibberish in your own language". Blacks are equally racist like the whites, only difference is the latter ensalved the former for a good number of years.

1. My dear I am married to a foreigner and I have 1st hand experience of how racist Nigerians are.. If they see chinese, indian or Lebanese or Syrian.. No matter the country they will say all manner of things that you can never imagine.. I dont even want to start remembering what we went through in my fellow Nigerians hand

7. I am using it And am loving it.

8. If companies like Apple have become more careful about their emoticon arrangement then other brands should take a cue. Nivea probably wanted to stir up some controversy. That invisible deodorant isn't 'new' It's already in stores abroad and I've used one. Their PR would have alerted d them about the slogan if it was done by mistake but no PR firm or personnel would make such 'mistake' in 2017 -and the racism issues allover the world. Such companies outsource their PR to reputable firms that won't dare try that White is purity when black is beside white on the spray can. They just wanted to trend.

1. African Americans have become too sensitive.
      Who would blame them though?
      Those years of enslavement, dehumanization and senseless lynchings left horrible scars.
      If you read deep into racism, you'll understand why they always take the smallest jokes personal.

9. Nivea should just complete the slogan.
    WHITE IS PURITY... BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL. case closed!!!

10. People have become so sensitive

11. WHITE IS PURITY, BLACK IS DIRTY ;)

If the above quote is wrong:
    1. why do people bleach?
    2. Why do people worship/adore half castes?
    3. Why do people like showing off their white spouses?
    4. Why do we fix weavon?
    5. Why do people who travel out to white man's land like showing off on social media or when they return?
    6. Why do Nigerians spend a weekend in America then return to naija and start speaking fune when some Nigerians have been living in Yankee for almost 20years yet they still have their naija accent?
    7. Why do Nigerians like showing off any white friend they manage to have?

1. Anon, it all boils down to how black people have been made to feel about themselves, whites made them feel inferior by enslaving them, disregarding all that has to do with them and pronouncing them fetish or evil. This led to identify crisis among blacks who want to be white by all means since they believe that would make them "beautiful and better" hence the bleaching and fixing of weaves. We are still suffering from mental slavery, which is the belief that white is still SUPERIOR.

2. Well...there you have it. We blacks are very very sensitive.
      A slogan like WhitePower, White lives matter or White is beautiful will provoke a reaction but would be okay if it were the other way.