Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Top Ten Female Vocalists...

Friday, November 13, 2015

Nigeria's Top Ten Female Vocalists...

Assembled below are 10 totally 'badazz' musical sensations you’ll ever hear from the Nigerian shore orginally done by Marapolsa but re-written here on SDK. 
Just to be clear, the reference point here is still “vocalists”, and not just anybody who can open their bucca to make melodies from it. It takes more than just the singing art or form to be conferred with such a revered yet simple title. So with that understanding, please peruse this list and let us know what you think about it...

10-CYNTHIA MORGAN

Cynthia Ikponmwenosa Morgan (born 23 September 1991), popularly known by her stage name Cynthia Morgan, is a Nigerian born songwriter and singer whose style of music is a fusion of pop, hip hop, dancehall and rap. Though she's more into rap and dancehall, but bae can sing. This is very obvious from her "Don't Break My Heart" single which brought her into limelight. A song she followed with another hit single “Lead Me On”, both of which received significant airplay.

..............................................................................................................

9-NIYOLA

Niyola has been into music since she was 8, and in 2000 emerged at the first runner up in the AMEN starlet competition. She later linked up with Trybe records, and then Westside music where she released her debut album with singles Me n U, No More and Dem Say. Her profile took a serious upturn when she signed with EME and everyone really started taking notice. Her single Toh Bad became her IT song, and show cased not only her singing ability, but her ability to convey emotions through her song so effortlessly. Song writing wise she’s also quite stellar, and her subsequent singles, No Comment, Love To Love You, and Last Bus Stop have done well to cement her name as one of the top divas in Nigerian music.

..............................................................................................................

8-CHIDINMA

This Project Fame winner from 2010 hit the ground running right after she was crowned with the hit single, Jankolikoko featuring Sound Sultan. Though she’s not your stereotypical vocalist, she knows how to deliver songs in a way that every class of people in Nigeria can rock with. Her single, Kedike has become her trademark tune winning her awards after awards including Best Female West African Act at the KORA awards in 2012, and giving her the tag name Ms Kedike. Following that up shortly after with another mega hit Emi Ni Baller. Her more recent singles, Oh Baby, Jolie, and Kite have done well to keep her status at a consistent level. Giving her all the makings of someone that’ll be around for the long haul.

7-SEYI SHAY

If there was anything else Seyi Shay could have done better than singing, I bet it would still be singing. She’s like one of the baddest female singers to come outta Nigeria. Ms Shay boasts of an impressing list of international music credits from singing to songwriting.

She was privileged to be the lead act for a now defunct UK-based girl group where she got the opportunity to not only tour with, but also open a show for one of the world’s utterly successful music divas, Beyoncé. After working with a fine crop of international artistes including Michelle Williams, Justin Timberlake and Chip (just to mention a few), she returned to her home country and began to shine right from her very first release, Loving Your Way. It was succeeded by other breaking singles Irawo, Ragga Ragga, Murda, Crazy, Jangilova and more recently, Right Now. Seyi’s voice is quite the rare type, her heart is deeply souled up in it and the sound is totally disarming. Ms Shay is signed to Island Music and most recently, a Pepsi Brand Ambassador.

6-RUBY GYANG

Although Ruby might need an introduction to some, but that moment when she opens up her mouth to belt out riveting notes is all the announcement that does her perfect and fitting justice. 

That she doesn’t have an exhaustive list of a musical discography like most her counterparts do, still doesn’t undermine the fact that she is very well made up for in the voice department with a crazy pitch on which she bathes her savvy dexterity over. With a vocal range that covers four octaves, Ruby has slayed songs Okay, Down and Good Man to spectacular relish. Her soul-stirring appeal has won her the hearts of many good music lovers, even MI, Jesse Jags, ClassiQ and Ese Peters. She is currently signed to the indestructible crew of Choc Boi Nation.

5 - TIWA SAVAGE

Nobody badder than Mrs Billz, I tell you. First, she boasts a degree in professional music from the Berklee College of Music, and in 2006, she featured on the UK platform for X-factor where she placed third in runner-up. A vocalist per excellence, Tiwa has lent her sonorous voice to international music legends like Mary J Blige, Chaka Khan, George Michael, Whitney Houston and Andrea Bocelli just to mention a few. 

After she had amassed an exhaustive amount of vocal and lyrical credit, she returned back to Nigeria's shores with the motive to dominate and rule....AND SHE DID!

Tiwa blessed us with sound treaties that showed her acuity in the vocal department. Kele Kele Love, Love Me, Without My Heart, Ife Wa Gbona, Olorun Mi and Wanted, are some of the songs she slayed with her voice. She has an impressive list of vocal features with Waje, Sean Tizzle, Solidstar, Skuki, Pasuma, Isaac Geralds and many many others, as well as mates from her record label, the Supreme Mavin Dynasty.

4-OMAWUMI

First daughter of Warri soil, Omawumi Megbele is a born certified music diva. At the premiere edition of West African Idols, Omawonder placed first runner-up in the year 2007 and her profile has not gone down since then. Her selling point?

Having an uber strong voice that just cannot be missed and then a very out-going personality. Omawumi began to thrill us with records from her repertoire which she slayed with rich vocal flavour. Music releases that have become reminiscent of her signature soprano will include Serious Love Nwantiti and In The Music off her debut LP, Wonder Woman. She continued the trend with If You Ask Me, I Go Go and Bottom Belle, all of which served as promotional singles for her second album, Lasso of Truth – an afro-themed musical collection that culled some real life experiences. We definitely cannot miss other material like Stay Alive (Jeje Laye) and Warn Yourself. Before she entered into hiatus, Somori, Finally and Megbele are the treaties she left us with while we earnestly anticipate her re-emergence.

3- YEMI ALADE

Yemi rose from total obscurity and worked her way relentlessly to becoming unarguably Africa’s best female artiste at present. Girl can SING for the world! 

She blew our minds with her majestic poise and her sweet ringing soprano at the debut edition of Peak’s talent hunt show in 2009 and welcomed us officially to her music world with the release of Fimisile which followed that closely with more stellar efforts Ghen Ghen Love, Bamboo and Johnny especially, which later became the lead single for her debut album, King of Queens. Ms Alade laced her fierce voice on Duro Timi, Catch You, Temperature and a couple other tracks that showed how recklessly skilled she is in the vocal artistry. Fresh off a music tour that saw her heating up the stage in choice locations around the world, she is set to drop her second studio album, already titled “Mama Africa“. You can always bank on Yemi Alade’s voice at any time of day and it’s an unusual feat that has given her quite the edge. Rather than impede her, she’s usurped the opportunity to enjoy a healthy musical association with her colleagues.

2-ASA

Asa can very much be likened to the African Adele. Not because they sound alike or anything of such, but for the similarities they share in their music and how it propels emotion. Asa can sing to save a dying soul, I mean literally. And hers is an art that she has perfected over time, having tailored after the likes of Erykah Badu, Lauryn Hill and D’Angelo. When you add that with the sojourn she enjoys abroad, it perfectly explains why she is a force to reckon with. 

Asa’s self-titled debut contained records that were hugely successful hits especially 360, Fire On The Mountain, Eye Adaba and Jailer. In like manner, her sophomore disc contains notable releases like Be My Man, Why Can’t We and Baby Gone. Her latest effort, Bed of Stone is still pulling reviews globally by reason of it’s musical showmanship. Asa credits music legends Fela, Bob Marley, King Sunny Ade and Ebenezer Obey as her influences.

1-WAJE

It is not so surprising that Waje seats unopposed at the number one spot. I mean, this is what you get when you are otherwise referred to as ‘The African Soul’ and have been conferred (although unofficially) with the title of Africa’s Vocal Powerhouse. 

Since her days with P-Square and Mr Incredible where she was the vocal sensation behind their music hits Do Me and One Naira respectively, Waje’s beacon has continued to burn the brightest and she drew inspiration from music legends Beyoncé, Whitney Houston and Aretha Franklin to showcase on her self-styled singles Oko Mi, Onye, Grind, I Wish, Higher, No Be You, and Black and White all housed on her debut album, W.A.J.E (Words Aren’t Just Enough). 

Waje has stayed consistent in her craft by churning out newer singles Omini Knowest, Coco Baby, Mma Mma and the very latest, Left For Good. Her big, strong voice covers over three octaves which leaves her without a rival...for ow!

Tomorow we will look at the male folk....

125 comments:

1. I'm proud of all of them. Goodluck dearies

1. (1)ASA
      (2)TIWA
      (3)OMOWUNMI
      (4)SHEYI SHAY.........am thinking of moving her 2 no 3 tho
      (5)CHIDINMA

Niyola is not a musician...does she have any hit song?

2. They are all good though in their craft but the arrangement of the list doesn't balance well abeg.

3. Wait! Yemi alade get voice pass tiwa and sheyi? Whosover compiled it was on cheap drugs in the process. My list: 1.waje, 2.tiwa, 3.sheyi, 4.omawunmi et al

4. Lmao how can waje come before Asa. This list is disrespectful to Asa

5. Potable viv you are so on point, seyi shay needs to be in number 2, I love her to the moon and back,!!!

6. 1.ASA
      2.Omawunmi
      3.Chidinma
      4.Waje
      5.Tiwa
      ...then the rest..

7. If this list is really about vocals, where is Ms Ige?

2. The only thing l love about Waje is her big boobs

1. BTW,waje can't be no 1......
      Whoever composed the list is on cheap drugs.

2. They are all good but where is my KIMANI?????

3. just hearing about rubygyang for the first time

4. Nice compilation..but I don't think Cynthia Morgan should have been there..
    Funny enough I think these are the only female artistes we have in naija..
    Lemme wait for the male compilation tomorrow...

1. Cythia morgan is there, no eva alordiah?? Rubbish list.

2. Asa tiwa yemi shey

5. Its is a useless list! The only vocalist here is omawunmi.The rest is rubbish.

1. Who are you again? Remind me?

2. Are u mad? Have u heard of Asa before lami philps isn't even here

3. Am telling u lami philps the. Best

6. What of kemistry? Hahahahahaa...omotola nko? Muma gee...

1. Am with u BB------ what about Tonto a.k.a pokolee, what about genevive? Hian lol

2. Lmao, kemistry ke? Wonder where she's sef. Lol
      This list tho

7. Waje number 1?
    Biko I don't agree with this list..

1. I don't agree either
      Asa should be first
      Cynthia morgan should be out of that list sef

2. exactly my tots..... Tiwa or omawunmi is suppose to be in the number one

3. Da Legal Drug Baron13 November 2015 at 14:13

Waje deserves it abeg,It's vocals they are talking about,not just entertainment. This babe hit d Octaves in 'no be you', trust me none of them up there can do dt, maybe Ruby sha. BTW, Yemi and Omawunmi are my favs.

8. So SIMI didn't make the list.
    Unbelievable! !!!!

1. Don't mind the.list.compiler lol
      Simi can sign ehn.. i love that girl.

And how is it possible Waje is number one? Granted she has a nice voice but no hit song

2. Na WA o

People don't read to understand again

They are not asking for those with hit songs bit good vocalist

Hope you all know the difference between someone with hit songs and vocalist??

9. I love Seyi Shay. Where is Eva Alordiah? I feel this list is incomplete.

1. Eva Alordiah ke? They ain't talking abt rappers!

2. Chidema that shouts instead of singing

3. Chidinma can't sing to me o

10. Replies
    1. My opinion, our female 'vocalists' are

ASA
      Nnenna
      Waje
      Omawunmi
      Seyi shay
      Yemi alade
      Tiwa savage
      Jodie
      Eva
      Others...

Your male should include
      Timi Dakolo
      Praiz
      Adekunlegold
      Cobhams
      And others

11. This List is ridden with errors. First, Yemi Alade is not meant to be on that list. Her Stage performance is terrible. Secondly, Jodie is meant to be on that list (if truly the compilation of this list was not based on familiarity). Lastly, Tiwa Savage shouldn;t be ranked above Seyi Shay.

1. In fact chop knuckle. 87% likes.

2. Abeg abeg, Tiwa's voice is stronger that Seyi's own. And she's 'gooder'

3. Vocals vocals voice prowess bikonu

4. And Yemi Alade shldnt be on d list? U are kidding right?

5. Lol ur right jodie simi

6. I agree with you, if it is about vocals in the Nigeria female artiste we have waje,tiwa,sheyi,jodie,simi,omawunmi,asa others can follow biko

7. They are asking for vocalist oooo

Ah ah, are people really this dumb here??

12. What is this?? So Morgan is 24?? I thought she was from Kenya?? How can Waje be ahead of asha? Poster are u mad???,what about Nnenna the German and Nigerian girl she is the best....why do u ladies like menstruating under kehinde Ake comment??? Whenever you ladies see his comment, you ladies start hving Orgasm, SMH

1. You again? BE CIVIL OR I'LL GROUND YOU FROM USING THE INTERNET FOR ONE WEEK...

Momma.. still love you though but be a lady

2. I was shocked when I didn't see Nneka's name oooh

No be onle Asha,Ashers nko? Lolzz

3. Anon, calm down. Kehinde has this artistic way of writing that makes his comments interesting to read. Take it or leave it, he is a good writer. Why not give him some credit rather than being hateful...

4. Kay knows how to blow breeze on our G-Spots with his comments

13. Congrats to all of them. They are kings in their own beautiful talents

1. Shey Shay is massive just that I think when she gets to high she starts shouting on stage

14. Dig Waje.But Got eyes only for Asa and Yemi Babies! Lolz

1. I will keep saying it. ..Yemi is overhyped. Where is Jodie? Nneka nko? Was e's voice is powerful but I personally prefer Omawumi's voice cuz just like Rihanna's, it's unique and rare.Cynthia shouldn't be anywhere near that list abeg.

2. I love my Tiwa and Chidinma

I downloaded German Juice,i will try and listen to it...Don't really know much about Cynthia..

I know Yemi Alade can singgggggg!!!
      Niyola too

3. Sassy,Yemi overhyped kwa?as in the Overhype I know?
      *my eyeballs in ma hands*

Nwa baby m,Kai u like Tiwa eh.and I know why.
      *lips sealed*

15. Waje's voice is powerful. Nobody can contend with her on dis list. But I think yemi alade is over rated. Am a fan anyway.

16. Abeg no vex o. who compiled this list? you're talking of vocal power house n ure putting Cynthia Morgan. where's lara George,jodie and aseesat abi what's her name. its not by sales o. na u talk am Ur self. omawumi should be number one. her pitch is out of this world.

1. Cynthia Morgan shldnt even be there...Lara George was excluded prolly cos she does gospel despite her heavenly voice...Hmm..not satisfied with this list

17. Seyi shay's voice abi vocals or whatever is everything

18. I think Omawunmi should be the first, though Waje is good

19. I think immaculate or Nikki laoye shld replace Cynthia morgan.

20. Fallacy!
    (1)Tiwa Savage(2)Asa(3)Seyi Shay and the rest follows.
    Cynthia Morgan shouldn't even make the list.

21. cynthia morgan born in 1991?okay then!

1. I cant imagine shes My agemate and she's looking washed already!!kontunu until theres no skin left to bleach!awkward looking human being !1991 kor

22. Nice list.....They are all good in their own way but I have mad love for Yemi Alade and Tiwa Salvage.

23. If in that order then I disagree. Niyola is better than yemi alade and chidima. Simi should be on that list and Cynthia Morgan out. Tiwa is overrated. She use to sing well but now auto tune is her master. Plus her live performances wack with all the "eh eh" she keeps shouting. Waje is so on spot. Can't stop listening to the remix of her song with navio, coke studio. So much auto tune these days... Sheyi shay too is good. In short undisputable Waje and Asa, Sheyi shay, niyola, chidima, yemi alade, Simi and the rest can come in any order

24. Yemi Alade over Tiwa savage? Fucking jokers

1. Asin enhh morafucking jokers. Whr is yemi alade's vocals pls? Or is it * he go Canada he go tokiyo*?

25. Why is Tonto Dikeh Churchill not there? This is pure rubbish *runsaway*

26. Who made this list biko? Yemi Alade ahead of Tiwa! naaa.

27. The vocalist I know in no particular order are kemistry,waje,Jodie,omawonder,ASA,saying shay,nnenna,tiwa and maybe chidimma. Yemi alade and Cynthia Morgan shouldn't be on that list..

28. Niyola should be No 1 on that list. That girl is darn too talented and yet underrated

29. Proud of them all plus I love seyi shey. Wait o who's Ruby Gyang?

30. Strange things in d list.

Cynthia Morgan made d list
    Waje topped asa
    Yemi alade topped Omawumi.

Issoke

1. Asa takes the lead anytime or day. Babe is a strong staunch vocalist. Waje, omawonder, seyi shay.. Cynthia is a big NO! Tiwa, over rated. Yemi????? My love for her can win her the spot.

31. Not a very good list, zero research . Wishing them the best still .

32. Tiwa should be 3rd, Omawunni 2nd and Ads 1st IMO

33. Waje has got it!

Hey..Tuscany U are admired!

34. To me asa should av been no1 they are all wonderful singers

35. biko biko who dash Cynthia Morgan..Niyola and Chidinma are supposed to be among the first five..mago mago evrywhr.

36. ASA
    Omawunmi
    Waje
    Yemi alade
    Tiwa savage.dat's all.

1. Essence..,
      The super story sound track crooner.

37. Plus leme assume Eva is no 1 for best female rapper n no2 mocheddah..dah gurl Eva is too gifted and doesnt do no ass lickn like some artistes..#Eva would always be my talented A.F queen#, she raps, sings, writes, an amazing makeup artiste, what else can't that chick do?...If i wer a guy, na to marry am immediately, no time. Lol..boo, gat it all

38. If you really know much about music,you would know that Waje has no rival when it comes to VOCALS!!!. Una hear? Vocals and not stage performance

39. If you really know much about music,you would know that Waje has no rival when it comes to VOCALS!!!. Una hear? Vocals and not stage performance

40. Cynthia morgan, chidinma, yemi alade are not vocalists. Gra gra isnt music. It's insulting to have them on the same list with Asa. Tiwa Savage isn't putting as much effort as she started with, but still has s good voice. Never heard of Ruby, Simi has good vicals too.

1. Yemi Alade can't sing . She shouts when performing & would do anything outrageous on stage to draw attentions on her- ' by force ' attention seeker ' . Now she has a jewellery line. I laff tire!

41. Stella I no gree ooo....as for me 1.Asa 2.seyi shay 3.tiwa 4. Omawumi 5. Waje 6. chidinma 7 anyone can come after

42. Yimu at the list, though I can't sing but the order in which they were placed is unacceptable....*runs away*

43. It's vocalist they said I!! Not singers or entertainers or who has d most interesting music or who has sold d most.... going by that Waje isn't bad to be no. 1 sha, but there r some people that shouldn't be on d list that r there!!

44. Ruby first!!! Then Asa, simi, Omawumi, Niyola, Chidinma and Seyi. The rest can't sing to save africa abeg

45. Asa 1 her voice can save truly
    Seyi shay God she got talent
    3 simi beautiful voice
    4 omawunmi
    5 waje
    D rest can continue

46. Azeezat should be there

47. Waje, Omawunmi, Asa, Seyi Shay,Niyola,Simi,Chidimma....who are the rest again? They can like to arrange themselves in any order after these ones. And oh,cynthia morgan has no reason being on this list

48. Am a die hard yemi Alade fan, but I for vex If Waje wasn't number one.I agree.She is the best vocalist ie female.N for those saying Yemi is over rated.Go an listen to her jingle for ambo.."Gbogbo wa la leko"Infact that was when I fell in love with her voice.As for Tiwa,I have nothing nice to say abt her voice.

49. Which kine Nigerian I be sef? I have only heard 4 of them, I never hear the rest people song before! Make I go YouTube this wkend to listen.

50. Ojoro how can waje come bfor asa

Which kain ojoro b that?? In fact I don vex..
    Buh come o sheyi shay dey diz list?? Let me check again

51. Me I cant sing to save my life! So I no go say anything. . I jst knw I like Asa, Tiwa, Niyola, yemi, chidinma.. in no particular order ..

52. Nd my beutiful WAJE desrves her spot on dat list!!! She's so damn gud jor!!! Den Omawumi,Niyola,TIwa bt her autotune don dey too much dese days...den odas can follow kai hw can I forget Sheyi or Shay!!! Dat girl is a hardworker she can sing nytin!!!

53. My list
    1. Waje
    2. Omawunmj
    3. Yemi alade
    4. Chidinma
    5. Simi
    6. Seyi shay
    7. Niyola

54. My list

1). Asa
    2). Seyi shay
    3). Omawumi
    4).Tiwa Savage
    5). Niyola
    6). Waje
    7). Simi

That's all

55. the idiot that did this list is really one asshole. Why is niyola far back as no 9? And Stormrex who is the best this year is not even here. the person must be an opo or a bloody tribo. dont take this list serious. Yemi and seyi shay deserve better. where is toyi tones sef?