Saturday, September 05, 2015

The Olu Of Warri.....

According to Bini and Itsekiri histories Ginuwa, a prince of Benin founded the Iwerre (Warri) Kingdom about 1480. 

In the 15th century Warri was visited by Portuguese missionaries. At the beginning of the 17th century, a son of the reigning Olu was sent to Portugal and returned with a Portuguese wife. Their son Antonio Domingo was Olu of Warri in the 1640s.

Olu Erejuwa, who reigned from about 1720 to 1800, expanded Warri politically and commercially, using the Portuguese to further Warri's independence of Benin and to establish control over a wider area.

Later Warri served as the base for Portuguese and Dutch slave traders. Warri became a more important port city during the late 19th century, when it became a centre for the palm oil trade and other major items such as rubber, palm products, cocoa, groundnuts, hides, and skins.

Warri was established as a provincial headquarters by the British in the early 20th century. In May 1952 the government of Western Nigeria changed the title of the Itsekiri ruler from the Olu of Itsekiri to the Olu of Warri, at the request of the Itsekiri. The Ijaw, Urhobo and other people of the community objected to the change, since they felt the new title implied that the Olu was ruler of Warri, not just of the Itsekiri.

Hmmmmm...The Olu of Warri Ogiame Atuwatse 11 is my favourite traditional King.

65 comments:

1. Na wa for this subject o lecturer. Olu of warri, history101.

1. Because no unity between the urhobos the itserkiris have claimed warri. The main title of the king is Olu of itsekiri not Olu of warri. Warri is owned by the Urhobos, ijaws n the itsekiri.

2. The current Olu of warri is a true christian. He even has a church in his palace along ajahmoga(abi na hw dey tak dey spell am)?which is quite wierd since he's a traditional ruler.

3. I suppose he was d one dat wanted 2 abolish d serving of the river goddess and its likes.....Gentle man he is.......

4. Warri na itsekiri get am ..
      People that don't know their history would argue

5. The fact that there are two churches in the palace (Foursquare and C.A.C) doesn't stop him from performing his rituals. That serves the Urhobos right, when they will not stop selling their rights for a cup of Ogogoro.

6. No wonder d lecture,so stellz u knew he was dead bt u jst wntd 2kip d news 2ursef,rip 2him

1. I wish I have your email or any way to contact u. YourvI.D is tasteless to say the least. I'm in my 30s too and not married so I know how it feels. But this isvan insult to Sunmbo her husband and the body of Christ.

Change your I.D pls.

2. In her mind, she thinks she's funny! SMDH!!! Keep heaping curses on your own head and see what kind of husband will come for you! Mumu!!

3. Na olu of itsekiri oh.stella u want to start war for warri again abi.

1. Please make verifications before commenting. He is OLU OF WARRI.

4. Na olu of itsekiri oh.stella u want to start war for warri again abi.

1. He's the Olu of warri, kill urself. The place known as warri today is a con ur baton of alot of small towns. The olu of warri has always been the traditional ruler of the real warri. Unless u are from agbarha or igbudu as an urhobo u are not from warri.

2. He is olu of iteskiri,keep ranting.Na so una dey do.soon una go say effurun na warri.

5. Nice info stella, I love history so much. It was my major in university

6. I am sure most Urhobos will not read this trend. because they did not accept the term "Olu of Warri" they will rather prefer you say Olu of Itsekiri. However he is Olu of Warri as we know.

1. He is Olu of Itsekiri. You can stick to what you choose to accept though.

7. I wonder why my grandpa no marry one of the portugese women sef.

Ogiame is a respected ruler.

Omi were dede

Ogiame!!!! Stuoooooo

1. Choi.. I am a lost itsekiri girl. Wish I could speak my language. Too late to learn

8. Nawa for this history class this early morning

9. Abeg na weytin dis story teach person nw? Jst askin askin tho cus I no be ART student, I be science student so cn anybodi pls explain further for me? LOL

10. Am not interested. May he rule well.

11. Stellastical of life, abeg post car sales ooo shuu, I wan buy car from your blogsphere

12. Omere mi...ere wu ro...tse ara ni?
    Proudly itsekiri..

13. Stella, o ranti ile lol. Ogiame suo!! *old warri tinz*
    Sherry's Daughter

14. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Not interested at all....

15. My mum's people! Itsekiri pple like shakara ehnn! Lol. But I love us like that. ;) Ogiame! Swooooooh!

1. Sweetie are u Rev. Fr enwefah's sis?

16. Is this some sort of revision for exam? Okay...

Question 1: Give brief history of the Warri kingdom, taking into cognizance the founding father(s). Comment on the notoriety or otherwise of Warri being found Ginuwa and support your answer with proof. 25mks

Question 2: "The government of Western Nigerian changed the title from Olu of Itsekiri to Olu of Warri". Identity the problems associated with the govt dabbling into traditional affairs. Do you think the govt was right in doing so? Expantiate on the efficacy of such action and give reasons for your answer. 25mks

Question 3: What is the name of the current Olu of Warri? 15mks

17. Okpe Kingdom in Delta State is larger than the Warri Kingdom... and the Orodje of Okpe Maj. Gen. Felix Mujakperuo is also an astute christian... he even attends all night services... and invites Bishops and other men of God for Prayers in his Palace.

1. Abeg today we are celebrating the olu of warri.. ..After the raggae play the blues 😅

18. Replies
    1. Buhahahha.....Temisan, u r a staunch Iwere boy kai.....as e rish olu post, u comment with full name, so u are a bv?

2. Mrs okpanz hehe I wld munch this n show u soon.....see time wen u dey comment I go tell for u.

19. "the olu of Warri.... " is he dead? He has bn down wit stroke for long long time.

20. His real name is Godwin Toju Emiko, he succeeded his father Gbesimi Emiko (Erejuwa the 2nd) in 1987. He's a lawyer. The four square that was inside the palace has been moved out.
    Afowere se were may ur reign be long
    Ogiame suooooo
    I'm going back to pretending to be sick to get my much needed TLC

21. No wonders the Ibrus look like half casts. They have oyibo blood in them

22. Ibrus are URHOBOS! Na Urhobos whole pepper pass for waffi! Na dem hustle pass too. The waffi pidgin wein the whole of naija love na 100% Urhobo language influenced. The term "Warri nor dey carry last" na Urhobo doings.

1. Lmao urhobo's hating on the itsekiris since the time of dom dom migos hahaha. So tey u claim pidgin English? I raise yansh for you. Stingy urhobo wen lazy pass church rat, I greet u. Lmao. Usobo no ku......u for say na una get all the oil Wells for bayelsa sef hahahaha gerrahere

2. If people dey talk.....Urhobo go dey talk, which money Urhobo get? Who Urhobo be for d film?

23. Stella olu of warri is with his ancestors...confirmed!!!

24. Traditional rulers claiming Christianity is the biggest lie from hell

25. Am in Warri n d rumour is all arnd town. He's gone. U knw wot I mean

26. Kai, all this fight b/w urhobos and itsekiris... Me, I'm half urhobo, half itsekiri, so this Una fight ehn.. RIP Olu of Warri.