Some say Afro Candy is a prostitute. Some say she’s not or at least, not yet. A few others say she’s a porn star, which is not in the same league as prostitution. Porn stars are taxed, prostitutes are not. So Afrolicious baybay, you have to up your game to get into the league of prostitutes, if it is what you really desire.
My suggestion would be; instruct your agent or booker to get you appearances in any of the political campaign videos, so you can put to use that floppy behind
your mama gave you. And if you are lucky enough, you can get cameos and wiggle that thing around the aspirants themselves. You have to get your bum (sorry your hands) bloodied to earn the highly coveted “Political prostitute” tag. Now my Candilicious Afrolistic baybay, these are a few names of the latest political prostitutes in the country: Olamide, Banky W, Don Jazzy, Flavour, Duncan Mighty, D banj, Mercy Johnson, Ibinabo, Ini Edo, Mama Gee, Naeto C, Joseph Yobo, Daddy Showkey, Kanu Nwankwo, and Sammie Okposo.
I have been asked several times if our celebs should get involved with politics. But today, let me push the same question in different words to everyone reading this article. Do politicians making affiliations with celebs prompt you to vote for them? For me, it’s a definite No. Nigerians are not influenced by celebs to indulge in certain acts because their favourite celeb says so. For instance, I like Kate Henshaw but expecting me to vote for a candidate she supports in the forthcoming elections is like asking me to start buying a particular milk brand because Don Jazzy endorsed it. Puh-leez, things like that don’t cut it here in Naija. Naija is a different kettle of fish compared to what is obtainable in places like the US.
The politicians using celebs for their campaigns should ask themselves what on earth the average person has got in common with Dbanj. He has millions and he may never have to lift a finger again in his life if he so desires. And you think the boys in Okokomaiko who are not smiling will listen to his unrealistic rants on TV and radio? Using a celeb for election campaigns is as stupid as the political aspirants themselves dancing in their campaign musicalvideos.
Imagine Jimmy Agbaje and Ambode dancing in their campaign videos? Ok, I am sorry, no imagination is needed. I feel sorry for the politicians that Nigerians are not fooled by all the media images of celebs pushed at them every day on TV. It has become so much that we can’t tell the difference anymore between political campaign videos and the Nigerian musical videos.
The only cocktail of politics and celebrity that the masses are bound to endorse is that of creating useful awareness that will benefit the larger society. People like Bono have political views which bring attention to real, humanitarian issues that transcend the established political doctrines and have nothing to do with producing those plastic karaoke like political jingles our entertainers are paid to produce.
Those entertainers who see nothing wrong in frolicking with politicians will say I am speaking from a misguided perspective. Go ahead, defend your support for that politician. Tell me you are campaigning for change. You can’t fool anyone but yourselves.
Hey, my Afro Candilicious baybay, you go ahead with your trade okay? Don’t let the criticisms of your fellow entertainers bother you anymore. Tell them your porn is definitely a kinder and gentler version when placed side by side with their political prostitution. Now, good day ladies and gentlemen. Please don’t forget to tip the waitress on your way out. -Punch cullage
Hmm i see someone has diarhea of the mouth today......
I would have applauded this beautiful article but comparing them with Afrocandy is like comparing day and night.....lol
He's pained that all I can say
ReplyDeleteHe writes beautifully but he could be a pain in the posterior
DeleteTrow punches under the influence of his media account, that's all he does best.
DeleteAll I know is that this Etcetera writes the truth 95% of the time, like him or not. I love Donjazzy very very very well but it doesn't mean I'll go and start using Loya milk...... So if ANYONE campaign for anyone, it's in their pocket o, I'm voting who I think is best for Nigeria.
DeleteAfrocandy, I have nothing to say about you.
@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy
Chai!Afrocandy don suffer!Etc',there is God o!u should av compared them to Cossy actually #says and turns face#okbye
DeleteAm sure this write up is coming as a result of ambode's advert...Keep writing while their accounts keep getting fat
ReplyDeleteToday should have been election but naija gals una juju no be here
Hapi falantaine btw
Is it only Ambode or your hand just scratch you to type.
DeleteHian, this time around he has gone bunkers patapata by calling names. He go hear am today.
ReplyDeleteBtw, where is Maheeda? She seems to be quiet these days.
ReplyDeleteDid Afro Candy still get the money to pay her daughter's school fees?
Etcetera, good you now have a job with punch. Finally! If I have to buy punch, Heaven knows I won't read your column.
Your article or whatever is boring.
Cousin maheeda is fine n she's been doing her thing...na stella no gree post about her
DeleteI will look for her on youtube now.
DeleteShe is fine oh ,maheeda maheeda
DeleteBitchplis. U ehn!!!!
DeleteThis guy attention seeking is just getting boring...why are you always attacking the celebs??how about you attack all these politicians...envy and jealousy much?? Tante Stells why una they promote this guy madness na??if una no post his trash nobody will be checking for his azz...he needs to pick a personality abeg...
ReplyDeletenice tip
ReplyDeleteHappy Vals day Tante Stells and other BVs...yall have a sweet day
ReplyDeleteHahahaha...this guy is 'phucking' hilarious.
ReplyDeleteAeegurl...
Ds guy, u sha dey write
ReplyDeleteAfro afro oya naaa...but na true oo using celebs for campaign doesn't make so much sense.
ReplyDeleteD comparism is valid. Stella d only reason u don't agree is bcos u are one of dem!
ReplyDeleteAfro afro oya naaa...but na true oo using celebs for campaign doesn't make so much sense.
ReplyDeleteJargons. The most stupid article i've ever read in my enire life. May Amadioha strike dis guy down. Foolish jobless man
ReplyDeleteAs much as his write up could have make a lot of sense, he compares politics with porn!! That's a NO and absolute rubbish!! I hope he is not shagging afrocandy's Punani behind close doors.
ReplyDeleteWhy is it a NO? When the other day I read Okupe liken it (politics)or say it was Online Masturbation or something of the sort........
DeleteMethinks, his write up is absolutely fantastic, albeit biased! Look,for instance APC has been throwing parties and enriching these entertainers, there's a party today at intercontinental...... is that what we truly need in this country? the entertainers are only going with the highest bidder....if that isn't prostitution, pray tell what it is?????
Right now,for the entertainers it's who phucks them best with the fatest wad of cash.............
As for Stella, you've provoked me to commenting today.... weldone!!!
Madam, you're the one with diarrhoea of the mouth today..... this is his usual style of writing... if you didn't have anything good to say about his write up u should have just kept a lid on it......its that simple ma'am! I love you but this.........tell me how they're better than Afrocandy? Asides from just enriching their pockets..... what are they doing to help improve their little areas of influence? What humanitarian things are they doing? Do they even come here to assist people in need?? Abegi madam..... make we talk where talk deh
As for the biased side of Etcetera's post....... I wonder what "song" he'll start singing if they offer him a fat wad to come perform with the rest of the "prostitutes "???? #justThinkingALOUD
Anon...sit down please.
DeleteYours truly,
Other Anons on this page
I enjoy dis guy article any day any time
ReplyDeleteIf you start,u wouldn't want to finish.
Ride on etcetera.
But u and charles novia mouth can leak tho
I love this guy but why use Afrocandy?.
ReplyDeleteOk,i gerrit.
He has a huuuuuuuuge crush on floppy behind Afrocandilicious baybay.
Hahaha. Love me some et cetera.
ReplyDeleteI like the guy sha.
Not afraid to say his mind.
All companies using celebrities to advertise their products are simply wasting their money.
They have never influenced my buying and never will.
Gbam! Gbamer!! Gbamest!!!
DeleteAll these endorsements don't move me one bit.
E fit work for Obodo yonder but for our Obodo hia, wosai!!!!!
I only see it as an avenue to enrich the pockets of the "endorsee" by the "endorser".
They don't work on you but they work on a great number of people. You all forget you are just 1 person, even if everyone on this blog lies and says o it doesn't affect me. There are millions of people that follow what celebs say. If Genny do fine style now, half the girls will rush and do. The Brazilian etc, it did not start with you so stop being hypocritical people. Celebs influence folks daily lives more than you know it.
DeleteLol. He has a point anyway
ReplyDeleteSo because they are "celebs" they ain't permitted to support politicians of their choice? abi na werrin again? Even in the states,Oprah n co all campaigned for Obama,so what's this busybody saying again?
ReplyDelete*sigh* what the "busybody" is saying is......... asides from just enriching their pockets alone(which is all they're doing)..... how does their alliance with the powers that be affect us the masses?? What policies are they influencing that would trickle down in our favour!
DeleteFor your information, madam-i'm-familiar-with-the-states-thru-TV, no influential celeb in the states supports a political party/person without first securing, influencing OR discussing a policy change that would affect them and in turn the masses...... those guys know what they're doing that's why you never see Obama associate publicly with celebs like lady Gaga, meek mill, what's that tout that's with Khloe etc what do they have to offer??? Politicians should go for "celebs" with content if at all they want to go that route.....not just seemingly lyrical content.
In essence, " busybody " is saying y"all should use ya brain
At least he's bold enough to speak out what a lot of us only think about or mutter under our breath......
And NO!!! I'm not Etcetera's family, friend etc. I've never met him before......
I'm anonymous cos I don't have an id....
Etc the failed musician, get a life and a job while at it. Noone has ever used you for endorsement body dey bite you. You talking like if them come meet you you go talk no. Fyi some people actually buy a product because of the person the coy used e.g I bought loya milk because of don jazzy, I voted gej last election because of dbanj. Instead of you to look for who'll endorse you you dey vex dey write nonsense. Nor irritate me this morning abeg
ReplyDeleteMzAnon......eiiya! ooo'ma shey ooh!
Delete*loud whisper*
psst.... she sounds like one without a mind of her own.
This Anon, go and sleep and stop commenting after everyone *coughs Etcetera*
DeleteLmao
ReplyDeleteEtcetera, you have time sha..
Still a fan!!!
Stella hmmmmm comparing day and night mogbe you get mouth I always like his article he hit the nail on the head simple no qualms guy
ReplyDelete#GODWIN
If it doesn't work for u because u r a nobody it works for me.... I started drinking Loya because of #donjazzy so quit the beef and start something useful with ur life
ReplyDeleteUnfortunately I am not a fan of Naija celeb, even if Eminem or Lil Wayne dances shoki ahnn with anyone one I still won't be moved, when my pastor won't be able to change my mind how will a celeb achieve that
ReplyDeleteEtcetera should take one of your sits, I'm fed up of his unending diatribes. Even Charles Novia give this one road.
ReplyDeleteThere is no diarrhea of d mouth here jor. The aforementioned political prostitutes are worse than Maheeda and Afro Candy sef coz they collect money 4rm polithifians 2 tryna deceive d masses and sell black as white.
ReplyDeleteI can see dt ETC is one of those realist artists that are tired of dz failed and clueless government and wants CHANGE like the voices on d streets.
@ETC, ride on jare
*lips sealed and watching*
I'm your unofficial groupie..... love love love love your comment!
DeleteToo many H**#s on these streets are too loyal to madam stellzzzzz
Eesah the Mesah! Well said.
DeleteThis guy will not kill me,he is so bold,I pray all this write up doesn't put him behind bars one of this days,I like the article sha.
ReplyDeleteEtc yaff come again, this guy sef
ReplyDeleteI use Olympic and Peak but kemgbe they started using Peter P-Square for adverts,i now use it in loads.
ReplyDeleteP is my everlasting crush and holding a can of Olympus,no ,Olympic feels like i'm holding Peter.
Lola,be dont be offended. That's what you get for marrying the object of our dreams.
It's Valentine so i'm entitled to my hallucinations
Hian. Easy please
DeleteWhat is he on about? Wharever mehn.
ReplyDeleteBest article ever!!!
ReplyDeleteEtcetera I don't agree with you on this one. If given the opportunity, I'm sure you'll join politicians in their campaign so leave those who are called to enjoy the pay cos at the end, each one will defend his/her vote based on who they deem fit for the seat.
ReplyDeleteOur celeb re so stupid when it comes to money, imagine sm of them campaigning for Abacha then Just because of money, let them sell their conscience and their children's children must suffer for it...Nobody can be like Fela
ReplyDeleteI've always been a fan of ur writeups but today's own is a total failure. I won't even bother to explain
ReplyDeleteI totally agree with him on d basis that celebs do nit influence my decision to buy any products or services they endorse and will totally not add an iota of influence on any political party they campaign for...Nigeria and Nigerians are not wired that way,we are not westerners who influence their fans...as for d comparison with the porn star,I'm still trying to find the relevance in this otherwise beautifully penned article....Devyne
ReplyDeleteWell,as much as it seems a dire need for attention and boredom makes this chap writes... i am one of the people who enjoys reading his write up.
ReplyDeleteI just love love how he writes.i love how he uses words......ohhhhhh.
I dont care what you write about bro,so long as i got a good read like i just did now.
Someone must be the ''one'' to bash celebs,and Etc took the seat and same time provides a good read for people like me.
Ectera should write about val. I think he write because he has no political offer- pst.Chekeleke
ReplyDeleteLol at the word: plastic karaoke. We have a kind of lively scenario bcos of these plastic karaoke, such as « Ambo o, Ambo, Eko sese bere ni o Ambo o, # #Everybody love Jimmy Agbaje, everybody everybody, everybody love Jimmy agbaje» Even my kids love the songs and they sing those songs. Nothing bad in that. However I can understand the desperation of our artistes especially the nollywood stars of endorsing GEJ, do you expect an old soldier like Buhari leave important things that needs to be done and start dashing millions to nollywood stars of course GEJ has promised them the second phase of the money. Like ETC said their endorsement to an average Nigerian means nothing. The average Nigerian want a system that works for every body not for a selected few.
ReplyDeletejealousy de worry u ECT.
ReplyDeleteSDK, not everytime u post an article an article and leave an inciting remark towards the end. at least, let some of your visitors think for themselves for a change.
ReplyDeleteThis man made SENSE - Role models/Celebs happy to dance for people destroying our country just to line their pockets. It is a SHAME! At least they can bloody wait till they have seen results before selling themselves!
:( my comment didn't show
ReplyDeletePeople like him if given the opportunity he will join the politicians in their campaign.lol
ReplyDeletewhenever i see the response of Nigerians to real life issues, i bow my head and weep. i guess most of the blog visitors are either too young to understand facts and realities and too ignorant to wallow into fictions and fantacies.
ReplyDeletei enjoy this guy whenever he speaks. as an avid reader of the punch newspaper i was look forward to reading his column. now to the points he raised. how many of us vote for a particular candidate just because Olamide said so or banky w wants us to vote for? certainly not up to 0.2%. in the united states for example we know the magic a Benounce, Bono or Jay Z can perform if they endorse a candidate because of their cult-like figure. Our celebrities get monies from Candidates while the reverse is the case in the US. Please next time before u condemn be introspective in your analysis and never join the bandwagon. happy valentines day
I like dis guy, Etcetera. One gud tin abt him is dat he says the bitter truth, wat most of us are scared of saying. I so luv ur choice of words Etcetera!
ReplyDeleteGEJ give Etc political appointment, make we hear word abeg; u fit take am replace Doyin Okupe sef, u hear? Thanks in anticipation. -D Power of Alchemy
ReplyDeleteMr Oversabi-nus
ReplyDeleteUr message is so on point I mean it's true it funny how dis politicians think because I love omotola she koms out to advise her fans to vote 4 who eva candidate she gets paid to campaign i'll leave my house and vote 4 dat person lol lol my dear we don reason like white pple o dey can go gaga 4 dier role models we Nigerians our role models r d ones dat put food on our table and worship every other person or celebrity is jst tlk sersly etcetera u made sense except d afro candy tho I would vote who I will vote even if Julia Roberts kom advise me I will laugh and vote 4 whoeva I will only vote 4 someone if I get paid like dem celebrities and I won't get paid so y bother lol lol all dis celebrities make una go sleep we love ur movies and songs dat is where it ends continue making noise Cos u're paid to but we viewers would watch laugh and go about our various activities and vote who we want
ReplyDeleteHe is right at what some of our celebrities have turn themselves to for the politicians,when push comes to shove,will they have the moral ground to ask questions,when such politicians aren't doing the job if they get voted in.
ReplyDeleteIt shouldn't be about what they stand to gain from these politicians,but understanding that they can be the voice of the masses too,by doing what is right.Thereby in their own little way,bringing about a change that can touch lives.
Please and please Stella, rise above this pettiness and let's listen to this guy. So he used a metaphor how does it take away from his message. I have never ever been this disappointed in your comment on an issue like this. Jeez!
ReplyDeleteHis writing gets better by the day. There's nothing wrong with what he writes about, he is a columnist and thats what they are paid for ''Highlight issues'' so retards will look at them from different angles.
ReplyDeleteEvery one has the right to support whoever they wish. I think this guy is just frustrated. Restrategise so you can meet up.
ReplyDeleteHe just wants attention. Go hold transformer Ecsetra or what ever you call yourself.