Nigerian Tribune reports that the remains of the late Aare Musulumi of Yorubaland, Alhaji Chief Abdul-Azeez Arisekola-Alao,has been laid to rest at his Oluwokekere, Bashorun, Ibadan residence.
His corpse, which arrived Ibadan at exactly 10:59 a.m. was received with tears by sympathisers who have stormed Arisekola-Alo's residence as early as 7:00 a.m.
Efforts made by security officials to maintain sanity in and around the premises proved abortive as sympathisers who trooped in in their large numbers forced their way into the house to catch a glimpse of the body of the man whom many described as a great philantropist.
Earlier before his burial, Islamic clerics offered funeral prayers for the late Ibadan bussiness mogul and Deputy President General of Nigerian Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs, at Lekan Salami Stadium, Adamasingba, Ibadan.
Eminent personalities which included former Lagos State governor, Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Chief Bode George, ace musician, King Sunny Ade and others were present at Lekan Salami Stadium to give last honour to the late Aare Musulumi of Yoruba land Alhaji Abdul-Azeez Arisekola-Alao.
The remains of the billionaire businessman was led to the stadium complex by Oyo State governor,Senator Abiola Ajimobi,Speaker Oyo State House of Assembly,Hon Monsurat Sunmonu, Oba Otudeko and one of Arisekola-Alao's sons.
The protocol officers and burial committee had difficult times in controlling the crowd which struggled to have a glimpse of the body.
It took the intervention of Muslim clerics who created a little space before the corpse was removed from a white space wagon Escalade ambulance with registration number Ebony 11.
The corpse was later moved from the stadium for final burial in Arisekola Alao's house, while the programme continued at the stadium.
Arisekola Alao,69, on Wednesday, died in London, few hours before he was due to return to Nigeria.
The Aare Musulumi of Yorubaland had gone for a medical check up earlier on Wednesday morning in a London hospital and opted to have a little rest.
That could not however be as he failed to wake up from his sleep which drew the attention of his family members. Attempts to wake him led to the discovery that he had passed on.
The great Islamic leader was said to have departed the shores of the country for medical check up in London, England, last week Thursday.
For them to be wailing like this then there must have been something good about this man, rip
ReplyDeleteNigerians are one of the dumbest set of people on the planet. They praise people that give them crumbs after having looted them dry (this is what is meant to be rightfully theirs o).
DeleteTell them, they'll say at least he's giving something back, what if he doesn't give anything at all? Dumbos!
He passed in Switzerland and not London. It doesn't even matter again sef. RIP baba
DeleteRip.
ReplyDeleteFunny how some people can be so two-faced,they are already going about saying the man was a tyrant and inhuman!God bless the dead.
ReplyDeleteEveryone has a good side and a bad side. For example, let's say a man feeds several homeless people everyday but puts voodoo in the food. To the homeless, he is a saviour. To an observer, he is wicked. All said and done, God is the ultimate judge.
Deletechaii humans ehn... RIP Tho
ReplyDeleteRest in peace baba khadijah, may God comfort his loved ones.
ReplyDeleteAh Whirlwind Arisekola is a great philanthropist.
ReplyDeleteBack then when he was living in Rotimi Williams Close Bodija at Ibadan;(my aunt lived on same close back then) you'd see beggars line up from the entrance gate to his house. I think on Wednesdays and fridasy or so.
..and he will ensure that all are given money, food etc.
Each time I see how he gives out, I always said to myself, this man has a heart for the poor.
May his soul rest in peace.
Owo Abu ni won fi se Abu lalejo
DeleteAh Whirlwind Arisekola is a great philanthropist.
ReplyDeleteBack then when he was living in Rotimi Williams Close Bodija at Ibadan;(my aunt lived on same close back then) you'd see beggars line up from the entrance gate to his house. I think on Wednesdays and fridasy or so.
..and he will ensure that all are given money, food etc.
Each time I see how he gives out, I always said to myself, this man has a heart for the poor.
May his soul rest in peace.
No best way to die but I think this seems to be the better out of all. He was young tho. May he rest in Peace.
ReplyDeleteRip...may God gv hz family the fortitude to bear hz loss.
ReplyDeletePls visit my shoe blog
www.glowysofiscated.blospot.com
All those people that spoilt naija, no so God go dey take them commot one by one. Nigeria's money that you shared with Abacha, God will demand it from you. RIP.
ReplyDeleteFiery Ray
Guy....chill naa!!!!. R.i.p sir.
DeleteU sef go die one day so be yaking rubbish.....
DeleteA great philanthropist indeed. Gives momey n food out every friday, I know some girls he helped with their school fees even tho he doesn't know them. God bless his soul n grant him eternal rest.
ReplyDeleteCant help but notice u mentioned london 3 times.. we get it...
ReplyDeleteR.I.P
ReplyDeleteAll I knew about the man was that he was stinking rich. The Boo explained to me this evening that this man has sent hundreds of children/youths to school... not ordinary schools but top notch schools both home and abroad. That explains why so many families are devastated as their benefactor is gone. I was told that there was permanent open kitchen in his house where pple could walk into and get a meal....
ReplyDeleteThat touched me. Nothing beats making an impact in people's lives to the extent that a whole city will mourn one man because at some point in their journey, he changed their lives.
Like I said earlier on, I don't know the man that well. All I know is that he's written the words 'I WAS HERE' in his own way on this planet. A life well SPENT!
RIP Sir.
i think it is high time google creates a like button 4 intelligent comments such as dis 1.
DeleteBlue IvY
May Allah rest his soul
ReplyDelete"There is time for everthing". May his soul rest in peace.
ReplyDeleteSisi eko it was London. The line up of people for handouts was Sara. Low thinking peeps.
ReplyDelete@sisi eko........get ur facts right, he passed on in London and his remains flown back on Virgin Atlantic flight that arrived yesterday morning. I was on the same flight with his children and some Muslim clerics that accompanied the body.
ReplyDeleteOkay
ReplyDeleteSo death is inevitable like dey say,after eating day old babies and all d rituals,six foot is where u return,chai!GOD is great indeed.evryone wil die bt once,after death comes judgement,who am I to judge?I ain't perfect tho.all over to d creator.
ReplyDeleteHello Stella, am cmmenting for the 1st time on your blog. Keep up the good work.Arosekola-Alao was a good man, a man who cared for the poor and needy. He lived not so far away from my parents residence and i can say that the no of beggars found in front of his residence always amazed me. I heard they were feed and given money every week or so. They never chased them away for once. Its well, may his soul RIP. Its good to be good, and touch lives in what ever way you can. That's what God wants us to do, to help the poor and needy and if you are blessed remember to be a blessing to others as well.