Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: UNICEF Says 100 Million Nigerians Lack Access To Toilet.

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

UNICEF Says 100 Million Nigerians Lack Access To Toilet.

children doing their toilet biz in the open!

The United Nations Children Education Fund (UNICEF) on Monday in Abuja revealed that about 100 million Nigerians lack access to toilet facilities.

The UN body said the situation is responsible for the increase in the spread of diseases in the country.

According to the UNICEF Chief Sanitary, Water and Hygiene Officer, Kannan Nadar, who described the situation as critical said in 2013 alone, 124 deaths and 2,771 cases of cholera epidemics was reported.

"Nigeria has about 100 million people without access to toilets, this is worrisome, as it is possible for everyone to own toilet. It doesn't cost much.Sanitation and toilets are fundamental human rights. Since it is possible for everyone to own toilet, it is not justified for people to die of diseases related infections due to open defecation," 

*Na wah..even Toilet na scarce commodity for the common man…which way Nigeria?All these stories are really irritatingly depressing abeg!

23 comments:

1. Na lie joor...which kain 100million children....so we av 100million homless children roaming every street in nigeria abegi...

1. Read again before you type! 100 million NIGERIANS, not children! "rme

2. It is only Nigeria that does not have everything.
    Fucking idiots

3. Am tired of dis country. Bad news everywhere.

4. nawao.pls try this out its real.

http://Earn4Family.com/?share=7604

5. It's a very sad situation especially in the rural areas. Most families there don't own a toilet or bathroom. It's a luxury for them. The ones that manage to have, own pit toilets and that thing can smell for Africa! SMH

6. Are we surprised? The Politicians are busy stealing all the money!

7. This comment has been removed by the author.

8. Dis is the gospel truth abeg, toilet is a luxury some peeps cannot afford.. It is seriously irritating becos come to tink of it na everytin d common Nigerian go struggle to get? Some people have more dan dey will eva use abeg! God help us

9. WHO/UNICEF are always picking on Nigeria, it could true shah cos we wey dey North dey see things.

10. Which way Nigeria ?

11. That's true oo if u go to rural area mehn toilet is a luxury. Even. Sum part of lagos. The water side area n d likes of ajegunle n mushin. Mehn life is terrible dose places. Kai May God help us! We must survive!

12. And some of them are now grown adults and are the bitter ones on blogs spewing hate comments on successful people. Their younger ones and parents still dey do shotput for bush.

13. Hmmmm. This is not how it was in the begining. Is the clock tickling backward? or is it static? no security, no toilet, no water, no good roads, no light, no good health care system, fake rice, fake beans, fake yam, fake gari, fake vegetables,fake husband,fake wife, fake wine, fake drugs. Nigeria is now tagged the home of the destitutes. Which way my people? what have we done wrong or what have we not done at all? God help us

14. Truth is bitter but we have to say it.come to Ibadan there are areas with no toilet facilty.they still use bushes around thier neighbour hood.If only our goverment can rise to to do the right thing all this will be history.God let your help come.

15. The report is so true. When you have more than 80% of nigerians living in extreme poverty, how will they have access to good toilets? This 80% also dont have access to education, healthcare, proper nutrition, good houses etc. Poverty robs one of a decent life. Even toilets cost money u know. The recent cholera outbreak is as a result of the way nigerians dispose of human waste. Even the so called rich arent exempted cause they sink their million naira boreholes close to septic tanks. Not to talk of the poor who are constantly short putting and doing number two in the open. Tell me how wont there be cholera outbreak? Remove poverty from nigeria and you would have solved problems like what the report highlighted. But then again how does one solve the problem of poverty without tackling corruption first? Nigeria has a lot issues. I do hope we are sent our nigerian messiah soonest.

Mr anonymous

16. Most things they say are all lies. Thats how they showed one scene on CNN some time ago, saying its Nig. With mud houses evry wia, and lions chasing and eating ppl. *Rme*. Lik seriously, how many lions do we evn hav in d zoo? Talk more of among us. Mtchewww

17. This is very true. Most NYSC camps don't have toilets.

Belledazzy.blogspot.com

18. Oh please, they shud STFU. Hundred million nigerians, and hw many r we, 1billion? So it means we all dnt av access to toilet facilities. They shud stop exagerrating joor

19. true..so true
    www.justjobsng.com

20. 600 million Indians lack access to toilet facilities, but they just launched a spacecraft to Mars.
    I think it's a thing with developing countries...misplaced priorities